Claim Status
Applicant’s Remarks and Amendments filed 18 June 2026 have been entered. Claims 2-3, 5, and 8 are canceled. Claims 9-11 are new. Claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 9-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Paragraph 0913 refers to the capsular device engaging with a patient’s iris, and further the specific devices cited in the rejection taught by Wortz disclose that the device may be sutured as needed by the patient or practitioner [0386]. Further, Wortz discloses that the devices and systems described in Figs. 7A and 10A can be combined and modified together [1045].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wortz et al. (US 2019/0307552 A1), “Wortz”.
Regarding claim 1, Wortz teaches
an artificial lens fixing sac for fixing an artificial lens for cataract surgery (Fig. 10A, prosthetic capsular device 1000), which is installed at a position of a lens that is removed by cataract surgery (Fig. 10A, device 1000 is positioned within the eye [0385]),
the artificial lens fixing sac (Fig. 10A, prosthetic capsular device 1000) comprising: an implantation hole in which an artificial lens, which is inserted into an internal space of the artificial lens fixing sac, is implanted (Fig. 10A, device 1000 comprises cavity 108 which holds an intraocular device within it [0295, 0306]); and
fixing threads installed at predetermined intervals on an outer peripheral edge of the artificial lens fixing sac to fix the artificial lens fixing sac to a sclera (Fig. 10A, device 1000 comprises recessed areas 1006 which are used to suture the device into a particular position within the eye [0386]),
wherein the artificial lens fixing sac is formed in a disk shape to be fixed on an iris (capsular device is positioned on the posterior iris [0913]),
wherein the artificial lens fixing sac comprises first (Fig. 10C, anterior side 102) and second plates (Fig. 10C, posterior side 104) having corresponding shapes and inner surfaces each having a concave disk shape (Fig. 10D, device 1000 comprises sidewalls 1002 of anterior and posterior 102, 104 sides which are curved),
the first and second plates being in contact with each other at circumferential surfaces thereof to define the internal space (Fig. 10A, cavity 108 is defined by anterior and posterior sides 102, 104 (i.e., is shaped in accordance with them) [0295]),
wherein the internal space (Fig. 10A, cavity 108) includes a guide surface configured to guide a haptic part of the artificial lens (Fig. 7C, notches 604A, B are configured for the insertion of haptics of an IOL [0360]) and defined such that a width of the internal space gradually decreases toward the circumferential surfaces (Fig. 10C, width of cavity 108 narrows where sidewalls 1002 meet of anterior and posterior sides 102, 104),
wherein the circumferential surfaces (Fig. 10A, external surfaces of anterior and posterior sides 102, 104) include a fixing groove having a valley shape and formed to fix and support the haptic part of the artificial lens (Fig. 7C, notches 604A, B comprise slots (i.e., valley shape) for the insertion of an IOL [0360]), and
wherein four to eight marking holes are formed around the implantation hole (Fig. 10A, device 1000 comprises 1-10 recessed areas 1006 which encircle cavity 108 [0386]).
Regarding claim 4, Wortz teaches
wherein one side of each of the marking holes (Fig. 74E, orientation designation indicators 7412 comprise visual markers 7414 that are holes [0997]) is cut out toward the implantation hole (Fig. 74E, orientation design indicators 7412 help to identify the current orientation of the prosthetic capsular device throughout the implantation of the device into the eye [0996]).
Regarding claim 6, Wortz teaches
wherein the artificial lens fixing sac (Fig. 10A, prosthetic capsular device 1000) is made of a 20d silicone material (Fig. 10A, device 1000 (similar to devices of Fig. 1A-9A [0383]) comprises silicone or soft silicone polymer [0303]) so that the artificial lens fixing sac is freely folded or unfolded when the artificial lens fixing sac is mounted in an iris (Fig. 10A, device 1000 (similar to devices of Fig. 1A-9A [0383]) can be folded, rolled, or otherwise compressed for insertion purposed [0301]).
Regarding claim 7, Wortz teaches
wherein the marking holes are formed in any one of circular, triangular, quadrangular, and hexagonal shapes (Fig. 10D, recessed areas 1006 are rectangular).
Regarding claim 9, Wortz teaches
wherein the fixing groove (Fig. 7C, notches 604A-B) is formed between the circumferential surfaces of the first and second plates (Fig. 10A, cavity 108 is defined by anterior and posterior sides 102, 104 (i.e., is shaped in accordance with them) [0295]). Wortz discloses that the devices and systems described in Figs. 7A and 10A can be combined and modified together [1045].
Regarding claim 10, Wortz teaches
wherein the marking holes are symmetrically arranged around the implantation hole (Fig. 10B, recessed areas 1006 are placed symmetrically around cavity 108 of device 1000).
Regarding claim 11, Wortz teaches
wherein the fixing threads are configured to fix the artificial lens fixing sac to a rear side of the iris (Fig. 10A, recessed areas 1006 are used to suture the device as needed, such as on the posterior iris [0913]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.G.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774