DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wilson et al. US 20220048831.
Wilson teaches, especially in paras 51 and 173-176, pyrolysis of biomass at 300 C in low oxygen and using it to promote tree growth by burying it.
For claim 2, see fig. 22 and para 6.
For claim 10, see para 51.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson.
Wilson (above) teaches a depth which overlaps the claimed range, rendering it obvious. See para 176.
In so far as claims 4, 5, 7 and 9 are not explicitly exemplified, it is obvious to achieve them using the taught depths in order for the char not to oxidize. When the depth is the same as claimed, so too is the effect.
For claim 4, see paras 142-145. Since there is a layer of earth, the atmosphere cannot contact the char, given the depth of the layers of all the ingredients added and the recitation of 12 inches deep (0.3 meters-compare to claimed value).
Claim 5 is functionally the same as claim 4 and is met for the same reasons.
Claim 7 is included in the 12-inch depth embodiment.
Claim 9 is met for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claims 3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson taken with Moore et al. 20220082506.
Claims 3 and 6 are not taught by Wilson, however Moore teaches oxygen measurement in paras 32-33 and 67-72 to monitor growth conditions. Using it in the process of Wilson is obvious to permit the buried char to assist growth of a new (CO2 capturing) plant.
Claim 3 does not require any particular values.
Claim 6 is contemplated in para 72, where no microbes are desired.
Claims 11, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson taken with Tenore et al. 20200369964.
Wilson (see above) does not teach the particulars of the apparatus used to make the char (claim 11), however Tenore teaches a twin conveyor, see figs 16, 21, to make char from waste.
For claim 14, see figs. 5, 7 and 8.
Claim 16 is noted above under Wilson.
Claims 17-18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson taken with Tenore and Dietrich 20150143787 and Grillot 3132459 respectively.
Wilson/Tenore above do not teach the biomass handling features, however for claims 17 and 18, Dietrich teaches- especially on para 8-10- the claimed hands and fingers to efficiently move biomass material. Using it in the process/apparatus of Wilson/Tenore is obvious to efficiently process the feed.
For claim 18, fingers are shown and function the same as claimed. See para 3.
For claim 19, see Grillot col. 5.
Using the features of Dietrich and Grillot in the process/apparatus of Wilson/Tenore is obvious to efficiently move biomass materials through the system.
Claims 12, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson taken with Tenore and McCabe et al. 5216821.
Wilson/Tenore do not teach the transfer fluid, however McCabe does in col. 4. Using it in the process/apparatus of Wilson/Tenore is obvious to efficiently process the feed. See also item 78.
For claim 13, col. 4 teaches eutectic salt. Using it as a heat source as claimed is obvious to provide the desired temperature.
For claim 15, see col. 12 lines 45-60.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-15, 17-38 of copending Application No. 18/468125 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter; compare the respective dependent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736