DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1 in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 25-28 have been withdrawn. Currently, claims 23-24 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the metal sheet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallance (U.S. Patent No. 8,794,864).
Regarding claim 23, Vallance discloses a cam lock (1, Figs. 4a-7) capable of locking insulated panels in place (Fig. 2), comprising a cylindrical body having a key (20) formed from at least one of a protrusion and an indentation that gives the cam lock a distinct shape that is complementary to the shape of a hole in which the cam lock can be inserted, ensuring that the cam lock can only be inserted in the hole and subsequently twisted in the correct orientation a clockwise or counter-clockwise intended direction up to a rotation limit; an upper section of the cylindrical body formed by a flange (22) and an aperture (10) in which a tool can be inserted that allows for the twisting of the cam lock; a recess (space between 20 and 22, Fig. 4b) of gradual indentation and via the gradual indentation, permits the rotation of the cam lock in only the clockwise or counter-clockwise intended direction and up to a rotation limit; a section (15) forming a protrusion that, when the cam lock is twisted into place, to obtain a further frictional hold on the final position of the cam lock; and a section (16) forming a protrusion that, as the cam lock is twisted into place, pushes on the metal part of an insulated panel to bring that insulated panel in close connection with another insulated panel. Vallance discloses that it is known to have a cam lock having a flange as set forth above that is parallel to the surface of panels that extends away from the cylindrical body (Fig. 2), but does not disclose that the panels having metal sheets and being insulated, and wherein the recess aligns with the metal sheet and the cam lock crushes into the insulated foam of the insulated panels. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an insulated panel that comprised of metal sheets to have a durable and lightweight panel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. There would be no new or unpredictable results achieved from having panels that were insulated and comprised of metal sheets to provide a more durable and lightweight structure, further making it obvious to have the recess aligns with the metal sheet and the cam lock crushes into the insulated foam of the insulated panels.
Regarding claim 24, Vallance discloses one additional recess (21) as set forth above, but does not disclose the additional recess being aligned with tongue and groove connection mechanisms within the insulated panels, preventing the cam lock from being pulled out of the hole by engaging the metal skins of the insulated panels. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an insulated panel comprising of a metal skin along with tongue and grove connections, wherein the additional recess is aligned with the tongue and groove connection mechanisms to help further secure the connection of the panels together by allowing the cam lock to engage the metal skins of the tongue and groove, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. There would be no new or unpredictable results achieved from having a panel that comprised of a tongue and groove connection for better securing means between the two members.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633