DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 4-16 and 19-24 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments made to independent claims 1, 13, and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-16, and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevenson et. al (US 11147977 B2) hereafter referred to as Stevenson in view of Johler et. al (US 11303188 B2) hereafter referred to as Johler
Regarding claim 1, Stevenson teaches an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, comprising: a base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprising a first opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a first conductor (114 lead wire) from which an electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically non-conductive carrier layer (118 insulator), a first layer section that is electrically conductive (110 capacitor), and a second layer section that is electrically conductive (112 hermetic seal), wherein the first layer section comprises a shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) configured to that is electrically conductively connect the first layer section to a shielding (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the second layer section comprises a first conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to connect the second layer section to the first conductor in an electrically conductive manner (col 25 lines 13-22) , and wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 3).
MPEP §2144.05 states In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965 "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.") Stevenson teaches a base plate comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements into one base layer.
Stevenson fails to teach wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor
However, Johler teaches wherein the first layer section (212 b second conductive layer), and the second layer section (212c third conductive layer) are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor (207 capacitor Fig 2, col 3 lines 33-42). Stevenson and Johler are both in the industry of EMI filers using capacitors, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Stevenson to include the capacitor structure of Johler in order to have fewer layers in the assembly and therefore reduce the number of leads and manufacturing steps (col 5 lines 1-7)
Regarding claim 4, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114’ and 114’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Regarding claim 5, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) is ring-shaped (Fig 41) and wherein the first conductor interface (120 ferrule), extends around the first opening in a circumferentially closed manner. (Fig 41 and 48)
Regarding claim 6, Stevenson in view of Johler teach the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprises a second opening (opening to accommodate 114’’ lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a second conductor from which the electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60, Fig 48), wherein the base plate comprises a third layer section that is electrically conductive (other side of 112 hermetic seal), wherein the third layer section comprises a second conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to electrically conductively connect the third layer section to the second conductor (Fig 48), and wherein the first layer section and the third layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two second discrete capacitor elements (col 25 lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 7, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least two second discrete capacitor elements (114’’’ and 114’’’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Regarding claim 8, Stevenson in view of Johler teach the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprises a second opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to receive a second conductor from which the electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60, Fig 48), wherein the base plate comprises a third layer section that is electrically conductive (other side of 112 hermetic seal), wherein the third layer section comprises a second conductor interface (120 ferrule) configured to electrically conductively connect the third layer section to the second (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the base plate comprises a fourth layer section that is electrically conductive (110 capacitor), wherein the fourth layer section comprises a shielding interface configured to electrically conductively connect the fourth layer section to the shielding (col 3 lines 20-25), and wherein the third layer section and the fourth layer section are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the third layer section and the fourth layer section form a capacitor (Fig 48) or wherein the third layer section and the fourth layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two second discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 56).
Regarding claim 9, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 8, wherein the at least two second discrete capacitor elements (114’’’ and 114’’’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Regarding claim 10, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) comprises a plurality of shielding interface sections spaced from one another (102 and 104 internal electrodes, Fig 8).
Regarding claim 11, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 10, wherein each shielding interface section (102 and 104) at least partially extends around a respective shielding connection hole configured to receive a shielding connection bolt (Fig 8 shows 1022 and 104 extending around the opening).
Regarding claim 12, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) comprises at least one shielding interface section extending along an edge of the first layer section (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 13, Stevenson teaches a feedthrough assembly, comprising: an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, the electromagnetic filter assembly comprising: an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, comprising: a base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprising a first opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a first conductor (114 lead wire) from which an electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically non-conductive carrier layer (118 insulator), a first layer section that is electrically conductive (110 capacitor), and a second layer section that is electrically conductive (112 hermetic seal), wherein the first layer section comprises a shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) configured to that is electrically conductively connect the first layer section to a shielding (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the second layer section comprises a first conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to electrically conductively connect the second layer section to the first conductor (col 25 lines 13-22) , and wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 3).
MPEP §2144.05 states In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965 "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.") Stevenson teaches a base plate comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements into one base layer.
Stevenson fails to teach wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor
However, Johler teaches wherein the first layer section (212 b second conductive layer), and the second layer section (212c third conductive layer) are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor (207 capacitor Fig 2, col 3 lines 33-42). Stevenson and Johler are both in the industry of EMI filers using capacitors, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Stevenson to include the capacitor structure of Johler in order to have fewer layers in the assembly and therefore reduce the number of leads and manufacturing steps (col 5 lines 1-7)
Regarding claim 14, Stevenson teaches an enclosure assembly for at least one electric component, comprising: an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, the electromagnetic filter assembly comprising: a base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprising a first opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a first conductor (114 lead wire) from which an electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically non-conductive carrier layer (118 insulator), an electrically conductive first layer section (110 capacitor), and an electrically conductive second layer section (112 hermetic seal), wherein the first layer section comprises a shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) configured to that is electrically conductively connect the first layer section to a shielding (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the second layer section comprises a first conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to electrically conductively connect the second layer section to the first conductor (col 25 lines 13-22) , and wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 3); and an enclosure comprising at least one wall (200 insulative washer), wherein the wall comprises a wall opening at least partially covered by the base plate of the electromagnetic filter assembly (Fig 56), and wherein the first layer section is electrically conductively connected to the wall via the shielding interface (Fig 56 and 48).
MPEP §2144.05 states In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965 "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.") Stevenson teaches a base plate comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements into one base layer.
Stevenson fails to teach wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor
However, Johler teaches wherein the first layer section (212 b second conductive layer), and the second layer section (212c third conductive layer) are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor (207 capacitor Fig 2, col 3 lines 33-42). Stevenson and Johler are both in the industry of EMI filers using capacitors, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Stevenson to include the capacitor structure of Johler in order to have fewer layers in the assembly and therefore reduce the number of leads and manufacturing steps (col 5 lines 1-7)
Regarding claim 15, Stevenson in view of Johler teach the enclosure assembly of claim 14, further comprising: wherein the first conductor extends through the first opening and is electrically conductively connected to the second layer section via the first conductor interface.
Regarding claim 16, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the enclosure assembly forms part of a drivetrain of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 19, Stevenson teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114’, 114’’, 114’’’, and 114’’’’ lead wires.
Regarding claim 20, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) is ring-shaped (Fig 41) and wherein the first conductor interface (120 ferrule, extends around the first opening in a circumferentially closed manner. (Fig 41 and 48)
Regarding claim 21, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the feedthrough assembly of claim 13, wherein at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114’ and 114’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Regarding claim 22, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the feedthrough assembly of claim 13, wherein the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) is ring-shaped (Fig 41) and wherein the first conductor interface (120 ferrule), extends around the first opening in a circumferentially closed manner. (Fig 41 and 48)
Regarding claim 23, Stevenson in view of Johler teach the feedthrough assembly of claim 13, wherein the base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprises a second opening (opening to accommodate 114’’ lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a second conductor from which the electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60, Fig 48), wherein the base plate comprises a third layer section that is electrically conductive (other side of 112 hermetic seal), wherein the third layer section comprises a second conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to electrically conductively connect the third layer section to the second conductor (Fig 48), and wherein the first layer section and the third layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two second discrete capacitor elements (col 25 lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 24, Stevenson in view of Johler teaches the feedthrough assembly of claim 13, wherein the at least two second discrete capacitor elements (114’’’ and 114’’’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/ Acting Patent Examiner, 2841/2800