DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Stevenson et. al (US 11147977 B2) hereafter referred to as Stevenson.
Regarding claim 1, Stevenson teaches an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, comprising: a base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprising a first opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a first conductor (114 lead wire) from which an electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically non-conductive carrier layer (118 insulator), an electrically conductive first layer section (110 capacitor), and an electrically conductive second layer section (112 hermetic seal), wherein the first layer section comprises a shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) configured to connect the first layer section to a shielding in an electrically conductive manner (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the second layer section comprises a first conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to connect the second layer section to the first conductor in an electrically conductive manner (col 25 lines 13-22) , and wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the first layer section (110 capacitor) and the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) are arranged in a common plane. (Fig 56)
Regarding claim 3, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the first layer section (110 capacitor) and the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor (Fig 48).
Regarding claim 4, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114’ and 114’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Regarding claim 5, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) is ring-shaped (Fig 41) and wherein the first conductor interface (120 ferrule), extends around the first opening in a circumferentially closed manner. (Fig 41 and 48)
Regarding claim 6, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprises a second opening (opening to accommodate 114’’ lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a second conductor from which the electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60, Fig 48), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically conductive third layer section (other side of 112 hermetic seal), wherein the third layer section comprises a second conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to connect the third layer section to the second conductor in an electrically conductive manner (Fig 48), and wherein the first layer section and the third layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two second discrete capacitor elements (col 25 lines 13-22).
Regarding claim 7, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least two second discrete capacitor elements (114’’’ and 114’’’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Regarding claim 8, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprises a second opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to receive a second conductor from which the electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60, Fig 48), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically conductive third layer section (other side of 112 hermetic seal), wherein the third layer section comprises a second conductor interface (120 ferrule) configured to connect the third layer section to the second conductor in an electrically conductive manner (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically conductive fourth layer section (110 capacitor), wherein the fourth layer section comprises a shielding interface configured to connect the fourth layer section to the shielding in an electrically conductive manner (col 3 lines 20-25), and wherein the third layer section and the fourth layer section are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the third layer section and the fourth layer section form a capacitor (Fig 48) or wherein the third layer section and the fourth layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two second discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 56).
Regarding claim 9, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 8, wherein the at least two second discrete capacitor elements (114’’’ and 114’’’’ lead wires) are evenly distributed around a circumference of the first opening (Fig 48 and 56).
Regarding claim 10, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) comprises a plurality of shielding interface sections spaced from one another (102 and 104 internal electrodes, Fig 8).
Regarding claim 11, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 10, wherein each shielding interface section (102 and 104) at least partially extends around a respective shielding connection hole configured to receive a shielding connection bolt (Fig 8 shows 1022 and 104 extending around the opening).
Regarding claim 12, Stevenson teaches the electromagnetic filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) comprises at least one shielding interface section extending along an edge of the first layer section (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 13, Stevenson teaches a feedthrough assembly, comprising: an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, the electromagnetic filter assembly comprising: an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, comprising: a base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprising a first opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a first conductor (114 lead wire) from which an electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically non-conductive carrier layer (118 insulator), an electrically conductive first layer section (110 capacitor), and an electrically conductive second layer section (112 hermetic seal), wherein the first layer section comprises a shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) configured to connect the first layer section to a shielding in an electrically conductive manner (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the second layer section comprises a first conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to connect the second layer section to the first conductor in an electrically conductive manner (col 25 lines 13-22) , and wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 56) and a first conductor, wherein the first conductor extends through the first opening (Fig 56) and is connected to the second layer section in an electrically conductive manner via the first conductor interface (Fig 56).
Regarding claim 14, Stevenson teaches an enclosure assembly for at least one electric component, comprising: an electromagnetic filter assembly for attenuating electromagnetic interferences, the electromagnetic filter assembly comprising: a base plate (comprised of 118, 112, 116, and 110) comprising a first opening (opening to accommodate 114 lead wire) configured to be penetrated by a first conductor (114 lead wire) from which an electromagnetic interference at least partially originates (col 2 lines 38-60), wherein the base plate comprises an electrically non-conductive carrier layer (118 insulator), an electrically conductive first layer section (110 capacitor), and an electrically conductive second layer section (112 hermetic seal), wherein the first layer section comprises a shielding interface (102 and 104 internal electrodes) configured to connect the first layer section to a shielding in an electrically conductive manner (col 3 lines 20-25), wherein the second layer section comprises a first conductor interface (120 metal ferrule) configured to connect the second layer section to the first conductor in an electrically conductive manner (col 25 lines 13-22) , and wherein the first layer section and the second layer section are capacitively coupled via at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114 lead wire, Fig 3); and an enclosure comprising at least one wall (200 insulative washer), wherein the wall comprises a wall opening at least partially covered by the base plate of the electromagnetic filter assembly (Fig 56), and wherein the first layer section is connected to the wall in an electrically conductive manner via the shielding interface (Fig 56 and 48).
Regarding claim 15, Stevenson teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, further comprising: a first conductor, wherein the first conductor extends through the first opening and is connected to the second layer section in an electrically conductive manner via the first conductor interface.
Regarding claim 16, Stevenson teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the enclosure assembly forms part of a drivetrain of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Stevenson teaches an enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the first layer section (110 capacitor) and the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) are arranged in a common plane. (Fig 56)
Regarding claim 18, Stevenson teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the first layer section (110 capacitor) and the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) are arranged at least partially opposite each other such that the first layer section and the second layer section form a capacitor (Fig 48).
Regarding claim 19, Stevenson teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the at least two first discrete capacitor elements (114’, 114’’, 114’’’, and 114’’’’ lead wires.
Regarding claim 20, Stevenson teaches the enclosure assembly of claim 14, wherein the second layer section (112 hermetic seal) is ring-shaped (Fig 41) and wherein the first conductor interface (120 ferrule, extends around the first opening in a circumferentially closed manner. (Fig 41 and 48)
Conclusion
/E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Acting Patent Examiner, 2841/2800