Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, Figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 4A, 4B in the reply filed on 5/5/2016 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant includes claim 1-5, 8, 9, 12-14, and 16-18 as reading the claims. However, Claim 9 does not read on the elected species because it requires a sliding block which is in the species shown in Fig. 5 (p.[0051-0054]). Accordingly claims 6-7, 9-11 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). Claim 19 is rejoined due to its dependence from an allowable claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the aircraft and cabin fitting must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8, 12-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, line 4-6, it is unclear how the bush would be slidable in an unlocked position because in the unlocked position it appears that is would have to be fixed or it would initiate the locked position. In claim 14, there is no antecedent basis for “the frame” and it is unclear how the fastening device would be in the opening because the fastening device includes the bolt which is at least partially outside of the opening. In claim 16, lines 14-16, it is unclear how the retaining ring would be between the locator bush and shank in the perpendicular direction because as understood the retaining ring is located axially from the locator bush when the shank in inserted. The claims were examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Picard (US 11,976,461). Picard discloses a fastening system comprising: a support structure (36); a mechanical element (30) and a fastening device (28). The fastening device comprising: an enclosure (50) mounted to the support structure, a locator bush (64) housed in the enclosure slidable along a longitudinal axis from an unlocked position (Fig. 3A) to a locked position (Fig. 3B); a retaining element (62) positioned around the longitudinal axis mechanically coupled to the locator bush (at 100, 104); a locking bolt (34) including a head to mount to the mechanical element slidable into the locator bush (at 136) to bring the retaining element into positively-locking engagement with the bolt (Fig. 3B). The bolt includes a circumferential recess (40) for the retaining element and the retaining element is axially fixed in relation to the enclosure with a positioning element (56) fixed to the enclosure.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paasche (US 2007/0194173). Paasche discloses a fastening system comprising: a support structure in the form of an aircraft frame (14); a mechanical element in the form of a cabin fitting (22) and a fastening device (26). The fastening device comprising: an enclosure (50) mounted to an opening in the aircraft frame (Fig. 1), a locator bush (36) housed in the enclosure (32) slidable along a longitudinal axis from an unlocked position (Figs. 4-5) to a locked position (Figs. 6-7); a retaining element (42) positioned around the longitudinal axis mechanically coupled to the locator bush (34); a locking bolt (28) including a head (28b) to mount to the cabin fitting slidable into the locator bush (at 36a) and into positively-locking engagement with the bolt (Fig. 7). The bolt includes a circumferential recess (below the end 28a) for the retaining element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 appears would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-19 appear would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: in the context of the claimed invention the prior art does not disclose the retaining element being a retaining ring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wiley (US 10,927,874) and Droste (US 10,920,819) are cited to teach fastening devices with threaded bolts. Stultz (US 2,896,287) is cited to teach a retaining ring. Ciprian (US 8,220,222) is cited to teach anti-slip teeth. The other references cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675