DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the communication filed on 04/21/2026. The claim(s) 1-19 is/are pending, of which the claim(s) 1, 6, & 15 is/are in independent form.
In light of the received amendment to the claim 6, the outstanding 112(b) rejections are rendered moot and therefore are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
II) Applicant's arguments (see pages 11- 13 filed 04-21-2026) with respect to claim 15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 15, applicant argues that claim 15 requires a same distribution transformer to perform two tasks (1) step down grid voltage to line voltage of 120V to provide 120V/240V service and (2) provide 480V and 100A service via a second set of service cables. However, the cited Phan reference discloses the use of more than one transformer, and additional transformers are required to step down the voltage for the residential consumers. See, Remarks, pages 11- 12. Specifically, applicant argues that Phan’s transformer is not being utilized to perform both tasks: step down a grid voltage to 120V/240V service to the first residential site and to 480V along a second set of service cables to provide 480V and 100A.
Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., see Remarks, page 11 “same distribution transformer steps down …discloses the use of more than one transformer, “) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). That is, the claim does not require using of only single distribution transformer to achieve the final result of providing of 120 v and 480 V. The distribution transformer 212 is being utilized to provide step down voltages to all sites/customers in Phan’s fig. 2 of the voltage at “transmission lines 206”. See Fig. 2 & associated texts.
Please note that the claim is silent about stating no other transformer’s can be utilized other than a single distribution transformer since the claim merely states “utilizing a distribution transformer” in both limitations without providing any specific details. Thus, as stated by the Office action, the claim merely requires some type of the utilization of a distribution transformer for “stepping down from a grid voltage to line voltages of 120V along a first set of service cables and providing 120V/240V service to the first residential site;” and “stepping down from the grid voltage to 480V along a second set of service cables to provide 480V and 100A for stepping down at the second residential site”. Here, in Phan, the usages of “distribution transformer 212.” (para. 067) is causing to step down the voltage of lines 206 to be provided to both residential consumers 232 and industrial consumers 218. That is, the supplied voltage at all sites are generated from secondary side of the “distribution transformer 212”. Thus, power provided to all sites of the power delivery system 201 are utilizing the distribution transformer 212.
Note: If claim 15 is amended to require only a single distribution transformer itself to perform both step down steps, Phan reference cannot meet such subject matter.
II) Applicant’s arguments (see pages 7-11) with respect to claim(s) 1 & 6 filed on 04-21-2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Juchem (US 20250030355 A1) reference is relied on for the challenged limitations.
Juchem teaches
[0040] The energy supply device 10 is described in detail below. The energy supply device 10 is connected to an energy supply grid 40 via a grid connection or terminal 15. An AC isolation unit 3 is arranged between the grid connection 15 and each of the transformers 2 and 4. The first transformer 2 is a multi-winding transformer and has a primary side 2P, connected to the grid connection 15, and a secondary side 2S. The secondary side 2S has a first secondary-side connection or terminal 2S1 and a second secondary-side connection or terminal 2S2. The first secondary-side connection 2S1 is connected to the electrolysis unit 20 via an auxiliary power output (or output terminal) 17 and supplies it with an alternating voltage with a first voltage amplitude .Math..sub.1. The second secondary-side connection 2S2 is connected to an AC connection 6.1 of a first AC/DC converter 6 via an AC isolation unit 5 with pre-charging means, mechanism or circuit VL, and supplies it with a second AC voltage amplitude .Math..sub.2. The first AC/DC converter 6 is connected with its DC connection 6.2 to a DC voltage output (or output terminal) 16 via an output capacitor 9 and a DC isolation unit 11. The first AC/DC converter 6 operates in a rectifying mode during operation of the electrolysis installation 50 and can convert the AC voltage at its AC connection 6.1 into a DC voltage at its DC connection 6.2, which is then also present at the DC voltage output 16 of the energy supply device 10 when the DC isolation unit 11 is closed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juchem (US 20250030355 A1, Priority Date: 2022-05-05) in view of Phan (US 20240135280 A1, filing date: 2022-10-23). Juchem and Phan were cited in prior mailed Office action, see PTO-892 mailed on 01-22-2026.
Regarding claim 1, Juchem teaches a distribution transformer [one of the multi-winding “first transformer 2” or “second transformer 4”, the transformer 4 has tap changer to allow voltage increase of the transformer] for use in a providing electrical power to sites, the distribution transformer comprising: (Fig. 3, [040, 007]);
[a] a Fig. 3 shows a core in transformer 2 or 4 between 2P/4P and 2S/4S with a vertical solid line);
[b] a primary winding [winding (“first transformer 2 is a multi-winding transformer”) at “primary side” 2P for transformer 2 or winding of “primary side” 4p for transformer 4 (“second transformer 4 is configured as a multi-winding transformer’)] configured to be connected to a source grid [“energy supply device 10 is connected to an energy supply grid 40 via a grid connection or terminal 15.”] at source grid voltage ([033, 040-041]); or
[c] a secondary winding [winding at “secondary-side connection” 2S1/2S2 or 4s3/4S3] having a plurality of connections [2s1/2s2 or 4s1/4S2 are plural connection of each transformer 2/4], including a first subset [connection of 2S1 for transformer 2 or connection of 4S3 for transformer 4] of the connections configured to be coupled to a first set of service cables to supply electrical energy to at least one of the sites [upper site/location (like item 17 that receives U1 in transformer 2)] at a first line voltage [“voltage amplitude” at U1 or U3], and a second subset of the connections [connection of 2S2 for transformer 2 or 4S4 for transformer 4] configured to be coupled to a second set of service cables to supply electrical energy to at least another of the sites [the lower site (like item 5 in transformer 2 that receives U2 amplitude) from each transformer] at a second line voltage [“voltage amplitude” at U2 or U4] ([033, 040-42], Fig. 3),
wherein the second line voltage is higher [“the transformation ratios of the transformers 2, 4 are selected, by way of example, such that the following holds for the voltage amplitudes: U2 , U3 , U4 : U2 >U4 >U3 .” Hence, the U4 is clearly larger than U3 and U2 can be larger than U1 as well] than the first line voltage ([023, 030, 046]).
Juchem teaches:
[0040] The energy supply device 10 is described in detail below. The energy supply device 10 is connected to an energy supply grid 40 via a grid connection or terminal 15. An AC isolation unit 3 is arranged between the grid connection 15 and each of the transformers 2 and 4. The first transformer 2 is a multi-winding transformer and has a primary side 2P, connected to the grid connection 15, and a secondary side 2S. The secondary side 2S has a first secondary-side connection or terminal 2S1 and a second secondary-side connection or terminal 2S2. The first secondary-side connection 2S1 is connected to the electrolysis unit 20 via an auxiliary power output (or output terminal) 17 and supplies it with an alternating voltage with a first voltage amplitude .Math..sub.1. The second secondary-side connection 2S2 is connected to an AC connection 6.1 of a first AC/DC converter 6 via an AC isolation unit 5 with pre-charging means, mechanism or circuit VL, and supplies it with a second AC voltage amplitude .Math..sub.2. The first AC/DC converter 6 is connected with its DC connection 6.2 to a DC voltage output (or output terminal) 16 via an output capacitor 9 and a DC isolation unit 11. The first AC/DC converter 6 operates in a rectifying mode during operation of the electrolysis installation 50 and can convert the AC voltage at its AC connection 6.1 into a DC voltage at its DC connection 6.2, which is then also present at the DC voltage output 16 of the energy supply device 10 when the DC isolation unit 11 is closed.
One can argue that Juchem’s transformer’s core may or may not be “ferromagnetic” type of the core as claimed. Specifically, Juchem is silent about clarifying the type of (ferromagnetic) the material the core of its transformer(s) can utilize.
However, Phan teaches an exemplary electric power delivery system 201 comprising a distribution transformer 212 for use in a providing electrical power to different sites [items 218 or 232] requiring different level of the line voltages (Fig. 2, [067- 070]),
the distribution transformer [“the distribution transformer 300 is an example of the distribution transformer 212 of FIG. 2”] comprising:
[a] a ferromagnetic [“The core 310 is comprised of ferromagnetic metal (e.g., iron or an iron alloy, such as silicon grain-oriented steel) and may be generally rectangular in shape.”] core (Fig. 3 [072-074]) and
[b] primary winding [winding where the “transmission lines 206” connect to the transformer 212] configured to be connected to a source grid at source grid voltage and a secondary winding [output winding for the transformer 212] to supply first line and second line of the voltage to different sites (fig. 2, [067-070]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Phan and Juchem because they both related to using to using a distributed transformer coupled with a power grid to provide power to multiple electric sites requiring different level of the voltages and (2) modified the distribution transformer of Juchem to have its core ferromagnetic core type so that the transformers of Juchem can be used to supply power in residential and industrial customers’ sites as in Phan. Furthermore, doing so would increase the efficiency of the transformer(s) of the Juchem due to the property of ferromagnetic core being high permeability and low eddy current losses over a vast frequency range as can be clear to PHOSTIA. See, attached NPL article from Custom coils for the documentary evidence. Furthermore PHOSITA would understand ferromagnetic core 310 of Phan as an exemplary type of core that the core of the Juchem’s transformers 2/4 can utilize.
Regarding claim 2, Juchem in view of Phan further teaches/suggests The distribution transformer according to claim 1, wherein first set of service cables are utilized to supply electrical energy to a first one of the sites at the first line voltage, and
wherein the first line voltage is 120V (Juchem [0046], claim 3 & Phan [069]). When Juchem’s transformers are being utilized to use their “tap changers” and supply power to the residential customers as in Phan to expand the usability of its transformers, the output voltage of the first line can be made 120 V to safely operate residential customer’s appliances. Please note that the device claim covers what it is, not what it does. See MPEP 2114 (II) Thus, the amount of the voltage being output has not patentable weight as long as the transformer is capable of producing such voltage output.
Regarding claim 3, Juchem in view of Phan teaches/suggests The distribution transformer according to claim 2, wherein second set of service cables are utilized to
supply electrical energy to a second one of the sites at the second line voltage,
and wherein the second line voltage is 480V [“service voltages (e.g., 120 V, 240 V, and 480 V)”]. See (Juchem [0046], claim 3 & Phan [067-069]) & MPEP 2114. PHOSITA can utilize the second service cables to supply power at the sites at second line voltage depending on their needs since the transformers of Juchem are capable of outputting various levels of voltage at one of its secondary terminals and also can utilize tap changer. Thus, the invention of this claim is not patentable over Juchem in view of Phan.
Regarding claim 4, Juchem in view of Phan teaches/suggests The distribution transformer according to claim 1, wherein the secondary winding [using the transformers 2/4 of Juchem to supply power to the customers 232s and “the voltage is stepped down further to service voltages (e.g., 120 V, 240 V, and 480 V)”. The claim does not restrict to use only one transformer] is configured to be coupled to a first plurality of the sites [e.g., houses 232] including the at least another of the sites, utilizing respective sets of the service cables, including the second set of service cables, to supply electrical energy at 480V. See (Juchem [0046], claim 3 & Phan [067-069]) & MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 5, Juchem in view of Phan teaches/suggests The distribution transformer according to claim 4, wherein the secondary winding is configured to be coupled to a second plurality of the sites, including the at least one of the sites, utilizing respective sets of the service cables, including the first set of service cables, to supply electrical energy at line voltages of 120V. See (Juchem [0046], claim 3 & Phan Fig. 2, [067-069]) & MPEP 2114.
Claim(s) 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BERNHEIM (US 20140368189 A1, reference of the record) in view of Phan (US 20240135280 A1, reference of the record), and further view of Juchem (US 20250030355 A1). The combination of Bernheim, Phan, and Juchem are referred as BPJ hereinafter.
Regarding claim 6, Bernheim teaches system [system of figs. 1/4] for connecting a source grid [power grid that provides power to the transformers 101/401] to residential sites including a first residential site [e.g., “service point/residence 405” with remote 402] and a second residential site [residence with remote 404], the system comprising: (fig. 4, [027]);
[a] a distribution transformer [“Service Transformer” like item 401/101] for use in providing electrical power, the distribution transformer having a primary winding having at least one primary voltage connection [connection from where the transformer 401 receives power from distribution system] to the source grid at source grid voltage, and a secondary winding having secondary connections, wherein see in figs.1/4 that show multiple power connections from transformer 401 to different residences 405] electrical energy to the first residential site and a second subset of the secondary connections provide electrical energy to the second residential site ([003-004, 027, 033]);
[b] a first set of service cables [power lines (“power lines 102”) from the transformer 401 to the home with remote 402] connecting the
[c] a second set of service cables [e.g., power lines from transformer 401/101 to the home with remote 404/403] connecting the second subset of secondary connections to the second residential site,
Bernheim teaches:
As shown above with strikethrough emphasis, Bernheim may not teach:
(1) the second set of service cables are at a higher line voltage than the residential line voltage for stepping down at the residential site;
(2) the a secondary winding of distribution transformer to include “a first subset of the secondary connections” and “second subset of the secondary connections”.
Phan teaches a system [“Power delivery system 201”] for connecting a source grid to a residential sites using a distribution transformer [item 212, which has structure as shown as item 300] (Figs. 2- 3). Specifically, Phan teaches the system comprising:
a distribution transformer [“distribution transformer 212 supplies power”, analogous to Bernheim’s transformer 401] for use in a providing electrical power having secondary voltage connections providing electrical energy to the first industrial site [“transmission lines 214 that are supported by poles 216. Power is then provided to industrial consumers 218”] and to the second residential site; a second set of service cables [cables from transformer 212 to the “secondary distribution station 220” and towards consumers 232] connecting the secondary voltage connections to the second residential site, at a higher line voltage [using of the another step-down transformer 226] than the residential line voltages for stepping down [“here the voltage is stepped down further to service voltages (e.g., 120 V, 240 V, and 480 V) using the pole-mounted distribution transformers 226.” Here, the voltage 120 is further stepped down voltage after the transformer 212 has already stepped down once] at the residential site ([067-070]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Phan and Bernheim because they both related to using a distribution transformer to supply power to the pluralities of the residential customers and (2) modify the second set of service cables (like cables to the house with meter 403/404) connecting the second connection to be at a higher line voltage (e.g., from 480 V rather than 120 V) than the residential line voltages for stepping down (later) at the residential site as in Phan. Doing so would allow the delivery of the power to the consumers (service point/residence 405 of Bernheim) that are located at very far distance from the distribution transformer 401 in an efficient and effective manner (Phan [0070] & Bernheim Fig. 4).
Bernheim in view of Phan combines still fails to teach secondary winding of the distribution transformer to include “a first subset of the secondary connections” and “second subset of the secondary connections” but this deficiency is cured by Juchem as discussed above in claim 1.
Juchem teaches a system [“electrolysis installation 50”] for connecting a source grid [“an energy supply grid 40 via a grid connection”] to
a distribution transformer [“a first transformer 2”] for use in providing electrical power, the distribution transformer having a primary winding having at least one primary connection to the source grid at source grid voltage, and a secondary winding having secondary connections [“secondary side 2S has a first secondary-side connection or terminal 2S1 and a second secondary-side connection or terminal 2S2.”], wherein a first subset [terminal 2S1] of the secondary connections provide electrical energy to the first [Fig. 3, items “auxiliary units 23, 24 are supplied with an alternating voltage by the energy supply device 10 via the auxiliary power output 17”] and a second subset of the secondary connections provide electrical energy to the second AC isolation unit 5 with pre-charging means” for the “electrolyzer 22”] (Fig. 3, [044]);
a first set of service cables connecting the first subset of secondary connections to the first econd secondary-side connection 2S2 is connected to an AC connection 6.1 of a first AC/DC converter 6”] connecting the second subset of secondary connections to the second site (Fig. 3 [040]). Accordingly, Juchem clearly shows a transformer with a primary winding and a secondary windings having first subset and second subset of connections to provide power to multiple loads from a single transformer.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have (1) combined Juchem and Bernheim in view of Juchem because they both related to using a single transformer providing power to the multiple power loads and (2) replaced transformer (like item 101) of the Bernheim in view of Phan for the multi-winding transformer (item transformers 2 and 4) of Juchem. Doing so would provide system flexibility and balanced loads including cost efficiency while provide power to the residences. Furthermore, doing so would allow a single transformer to provide different voltage amplitudes outputs to the different households 402-405 and this can be beneficial when one of the households have industrial equipment running (Bernheim, Fig. 2 & Juchem, [019]).
Accordingly, the combination of Bernheim, Phan, and Juchem (BPJ) teaches each limitation of the claim and renders invention thereof obvious to PHOSITA.
Regarding claim 7, BPJ teaches the system according to claim 6, wherein the first set of service cables connects the first subset of secondary connections to the first residential site at residential line voltages of 120V [PHOSITA knows that in typical US households like house with meter 403/405, the provided power is 120/240V], providing 120V/240V service (Bernheim, fig. 4 & Phan [069] & Juchem [040]).
Regarding claim 8, BPJ teaches/suggests the system according to claim 7, wherein the second set of service cables connects the second subset of secondary connections to the second residential site at the higher line voltage of 480V [some houses 405 of Bernheim can receive 480 V and 100 amperes depending on needs of the service location and types of the electric loads required], providing 480V and 100 amperes to the residential site (Phan [069], Fig. 2 & Juchem [040]).
Regarding claim 9, BPJ teaches/suggests the system according to claim 6, comprising a site transformer [“distribution transformers 226 adjust the electric voltage”] including a site core, a site primary winding around the site core and coupled to the second set of service cables, and a site secondary winding around the site core and coupled to site cables [“local transmission lines 230 provide power to residential consumers 232.”] providing service at the second residential site (Phan figs. 2-3, [069- 070] to efficiently extend the distance power is transmitted from the transformer 401 in Bernheim as suggested by Phan).
Regarding claim 10, BPJ teaches/suggests the system according to claim 9, wherein the site cables connect the site transformer to the second residential site at residential line voltages of 120V, providing 120V/240V and 200 amp service to the second residential site (Phan [069-070], fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, BPJ teaches/suggests the system according to claim 9, wherein the system is utilized to connect to further residential sites [“Additional distribution transformers may also be used to step the voltage either up or down at various points where there is a change in voltage in the electric power delivery system 201” suggests that the power delivery system can be expended to more houses that will need additional service cables], and the system comprises further sets of service cables, each further set of service cables connecting the secondary winding to respective ones of the further residential sites (Phan, fig. 2 [067-069]).
Regarding claim 12, BPJ teaches/suggests the system according to claim 11, wherein the further sets of service cables include further first sets of cables that connect the secondary winding to ones of the further residential sites, at line voltages of 120V, and provide 120V/240V service at the respective residential sites (Bernheim Fig. 4, Phan, fig. 2 [067-070]).
Regarding claim 13, BPJ teaches/suggests the system according to claim 11, wherein the further sets of service cables include further second sets of cables [cables needed to provide power to the additional households] that connect the secondary winding to respective other ones of the further residential sites, each at respective line voltages of 480V (Bernheim Fig. 4, Phan, fig. 2 [067-070]).
Regarding claim 14, BPJ teaches/suggests the system according to claim 13, comprising a plurality of further site transformers each having a further primary winding connected to a respective one of the further second sets of service cables, and a further secondary winding coupled to further site cables providing 120V/240V and 200 amp service at the respective other ones of the further residential sites (Bernheim Fig. 4, Phan, fig. 2 [067-070]).
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan (US 20240135280 A1, filing date: 2022-10-23) in view of Keihle (US 20080272090 A1, reference of record).
Regarding claim 15, Phan teaches a method [“diagram of an example electric power delivery system 201”] of delivering electrical energy from a source grid [“an electric generator 204 is installed”] to residential sites [“residential consumers 232” and “medium industrial customer (e.g., such as industrial consumers 218)”] including a first residential site [e.g., “industrial consumers 218” or another consumers 232 connected to industrial consumers since the fig. 2 is merely exemplary and is not limited type] and second residential site [area around “residential consumers 232”], the method comprising: (Fig. 2 [065-067]);
utilizing a distribution transformer [using of the “distribution transformer 212 “ that supplies power to secondary transmission lines 214” which is stepped down from the voltage at the lines 206], stepping down from a grid voltage [voltage at the “primary transmission lines 206” is higher than voltage at secondary transmission lines 214] to line voltages of 120V along a first set of service cables [“local transmission lines 230 provide power to residential consumers 232”, the cables that provide power to the consumer 232 located in lower/right side of the fig. 2 from “secondary distribution station 220” are mapped as first of service cables. The claim does not require only the single distribution transformer converts the grid voltage down to 120/240V] and providing 120V/240V service to the first residential site ([067-070);
utilizing the distribution transformer, stepping down [using of the transformer 212 is required to further lower the voltage of the “transmission lines 206”, “where the voltage is stepped down further to service voltages (e.g., 120 V, 240 V, and 480 V) using the pole-mounted distribution transformers 226.”] from the grid voltage to 480V along a second set of service cables [cables from “secondary distribution station 220” to the upper house 232 in fig. 2] to provide
Phan does not specifically state that its residential customer(s)/industrial customers is/are provided with 100 Ampere current as claimed. That is, Phan is silent about the amount describing the current that can be provided when the provided voltage is at 480 V.
Keihle teaches a method of delivering electrical energy from a source grid to a power load 10, the method comprising: utilizing the distribution transformer, stepping down from the grid voltage to 480V along a second set of service cables to provide 480V and 100A [“The main breaker 52 may be a 480 volt/100 amp breaker. From the main breaker 52, two (2) phases of the three-phase alternating current electricity may be carried to a step-down transformer 54, such as a 480 volt/110 volt step-down transformer”] for stepping down at the second residential site (Fig. 4, [041]). In summary, Keihle demonstrates that the provided current to the residential customers can be at 100 Amp when the provided line voltage is at 480V.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Keihle and Phan because they both related to providing current from a power source to 480 V power service cables and (2) modify the 480 V service cables of Phan to use 100 A current as in Keihle. Keihle teaches an exemplary level of the current (100 Amp) that 480 V power service cables are known to carry to operate pluralities of the power loads of a residential building to PHOSITA. Therefore, the invention of the claim 15 is not patentable over Phan in view of Keihle.
Regarding claim 16, Phan in view of Keihle further teaches/suggests the method according to claim 15, comprising utilizing a site transformer [e.g., item 226 or other downstream transformers that can be provided in the exemplary power delivery system 201 of Phan], stepping down from the 480V and 100A along the second set of service cables, to line voltages of 120V along second site cables and providing 120V/240V and 200A service to the second residential site (Phan, Fig. 2 [067- 070] & Keihle [041])
Regarding claims 17 -19, Phan in view of Keihle further teaches/suggests delivering power to the pluralities of the residential consumers 232 and “additional distribution transformers may also be used to step the voltage either up or down at various points where there is a change in voltage in the electric power delivery system 201 (067-070]).
However, as required by the claims 17- 19, Phan in view of Keihle does not explicitly teach its method of delivering power electrical energy comprising:
upgrading to 200A service by stepping down from the grid voltage to 480V along the first set of service cables to provide 480V and 100A to the first residential site;
adding a further site transformer at the first residential site and, utilizing the further site transformer, stepping down from the 480V and 100A to line voltages of 120V along first site cables and providing 120V/240V and 200A service to the first residential sites;
utilizing existing site service entry cables as the second set of service cables to provide 480V and 100A for stepping down at the second residential site.
However, these method steps of the claims 17- 19 set forth the specific values of the voltage and current to be delivered to the different electric loads/power lines in the exemplary electric power delivery system 201. PHOSITA would understand that the “electric power delivery system 201” of Phan not to be limited to explicit values of the voltage and currents provided at different nodes and end units of the delivery system 201.
Therefore, PHOSITA can modify the “electric power delivery system 201” to arrive at the claimed values of the voltage and current as in claims 17- 19 based on the design needs, specific sites (jurisdictions) where the power delivery system is installed and available electrical elements to the power distribution engineer. Here, neither the claims nor the specification has demonstrated the criticality of the values of the voltage and current in the limitations of the claims 17- 19. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV). Accordingly, the inventions of the claims 17- 19 are not patentably distinguishable over Phan in view of Keihle. Thus, the claims 17- 19’s inventions fall within the “Many modifications and variations will be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art without departing from the scope and spirit of the described embodiments.” (Phan, 0129). Therefore, claims 17- 19 are not patentable over Phan in view of Keihle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contacts
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115