DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillat et al. (US patent 4,767,293) in view of (US2010/0187927).
With regards to claim 1, Caillat et al. discloses a rotary support shaft assembly comprising a support seat 48 which is provided with an orifice (fig. 1), and a thrust plate 85 which is supported on the support seat so that a through-hole of the thrust plate is axially aligned with the orifice of the support seat (fig. 1), wherein the thrust plate is floatable in an axial direction relative to the support seat (since thrust plate 85 is not rigidly attached to the support seat, there will be some movement in the axial direction), wherein the thrust plate is adapted to support a shoulder at a lower end of a rotary shaft, see figure 2. Although Caillat et al. does not explicitly disclose the thrust plate is supported in an accommodating region of the support seat through a support projection, so that a part, located radially outside the support projection, of the thrust plate is suspended and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact the shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft however, Oh et al. teaches a floating thrust plate 150 supported in an accommodating region of a support seat 120 through a support projection 122, so that the thrust plate is suspended, see figures 2 and paragraphs [0039, [0040] and [0046]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a support projection on the support seat of Caillat et al., in light of the teachings of Oh et al., in order to enhance floating of the thrust plate. Regarding the recitation “so that a part, located radially outside the support projection, of the thrust plate is suspended and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact the shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft”, Applicant should note that after modifying the support seat of Caillat with a support projection as taught by Oh et al., the recited functional and structural limitations will be met.
Regarding claim 3, see figures 2 and 3 of Oh et al.
Regarding claim 6, Oh et al. teaches the rotary shaft support assembly comprises a (hydrodynamic bearings in the inner face of sleeve 120), the orifice of the support seat is a through-hole (through-hole in sleeve 120) and the bearing is mounted in the through-hole (hydrodynamic bearings formed in the inner circumferential part of the sleeve), see paragraph [0039 of Oh et al.
Regarding claim 7, see figure 1 of Caillat et al. depicting thrust plate 85 confined within a surrounding flange.
Regarding claim 11, it is inherent that thrust plate 85 would be made of an elastically deformable material because it is described as a thrust washer, and as such, Official Notice is taken in that washer made of elastically deformable material are old and well-known in the art.
With regards to claim 12, Caillat et al./Oh et al. discloses a compressor comprising a compression mechanism comprising a non-orbiting scroll 36 and an orbiting scroll 34, and a drive mechanism (motor 18 and shaft 28), wherein a rotating shaft 28 of the drive mechanism is configured to drive the orbiting scroll (conventional in the art), wherein the compressor further comprises the rotary shaft support assembly according to claim 1, wherein a shoulder at a lower end of the rotary shaft is supported on the thrust plate of the rotary support shaft assembly, and a radial outer edge of a region in which the shoulder contacts with the thrust plate is located radially outside the support projection, see figure 1 of Caillat et al.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillat et al./Oh et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (WO2020143350).
Caillat et al./Oh et al. discloses a rotary shaft support assembly as shown above including an anti-release member in the form of a surrounding flange. Although Caillat et al./Oh et al. does not disclose the anti-release member comprising a head portion and a rod portion formed integrally, the rod portion being detachably mounted to the support seat so that a part of the head portion is located directly above the thrust plate and axially spaced apart from the thrust plate, however, Zhang et al. teaches such an anti-release member in the form of a pin or bolt (unnumbered) holding a thrust washer (unnumbered) between a bottom of a shaft 50 shoulder and a support seat (unnumbered) of the shaft as depicted in figure 3. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced the anti-release of Caillat et al. for the one taught by Zhang et al., as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 11 and 12 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillat et al. in view of Hirayama et al. (WO2021186713), also published as US 20230003427, which will be used for citations.
With regards to claim 1, Caillat et al. discloses a rotary support shaft assembly comprising a support seat 48 which is provided with an orifice (fig. 1), and a thrust plate 85 which is supported on the support seat so that a through-hole of the thrust plate is axially aligned with the orifice of the support seat (fig. 1), wherein the thrust plate is floatable in an axial direction relative to the support seat (since thrust plate 85 is not rigidly attached to the support seat, there will be some movement in the axial direction), wherein the thrust plate is adapted to support a shoulder at a lower end of a rotary shaft, see figure 2. Although Caillat et al. does not explicitly disclose that the thrust plate is supported in an accommodating region of the support seat through a support projection 206, so that a part, located radially outside the support projection, of the thrust plate is suspended and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact a shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact the shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft however, Hirayama et al. teaches a floating thrust plate 130 supported in an accommodating region of a support seat 110 through a support projection 122, so that the thrust plate is suspended (figure 4) and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact a shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact the shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft , see figures 2 and 4 and paragraphs [0070]-[0072] and [0103]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a support projection on the support seat of Caillat et al., so that a part, located radially outside the support projection, of the thrust plate is suspended and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact a shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft and the supported part of the thrust plate is adapted to contact the shoulder at the lower end of the rotary shaft however, in light of the teachings of Hirayama a., in order to enhance floating of the thrust plate.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Hirayama et al. teaches an anti-release member in the form of a bolt 131 having a head portion and a rod portion formed integrally, with a part of the head portion located directly above the thrust plate and axially spaced apart from the thrust plate, see figure 4. Although Hirayama et al. does not teach the anti-release member mounted on the support seat with the rod portion detachably mounted on the support seat however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that having the anti-release member mounted on the support seat with the rod portion detachably mounted on the support seat instead of having it mounted on the cover body 100 as taught by Hirayama et al is a mere reversal of the mounting arrangement and, as it has been held such modification is an obvious modification. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Regarding claim 11, it is inherent that thrust plate 85 would be made of an elastically deformable material because it is described as a thrust washer, and as such, Official Notice is taken in that washer made of elastically deformable material are old and well-known in the art.
With regards to claim 12, Caillat et al./Hirayama et al. discloses a compressor comprising a compression mechanism comprising a non-orbiting scroll 36 and an orbiting scroll 34, and a drive mechanism (motor 18 and shaft 28), wherein a rotating shaft 28 of the drive mechanism is configured to drive the orbiting scroll (conventional in the art), wherein the compressor further comprises the rotary shaft support assembly according to claim 1, wherein a shoulder at a lower end of the rotary shaft is supported on the thrust plate of the rotary support shaft assembly, and a radial outer edge of a region in which the shoulder contacts with the thrust plate is located radially outside the support projection, see figure 1 of Caillat et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 11 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746