DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 15-23, 25-26 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (EP 4593488 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moon appears to disclose an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories and to cause the UE to (Fig. 1 nodes 130; [0039]-[0042], [0045] disclosing communication nodes such as user equipment 130 can be configured as a processor and memory storing instructions to perform the disclosed embodiments):
receive configuration information indicating, for a network entity operating in a subband full duplex (SBFD) mode, discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles and discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycles (Fig. 7, [0118]-[0122] disclosing a terminal receives configuration information for subbands corresponding to resource block (RB) sets and slot formats for each of the RB sets that can be downlink, uplink for SBFD),
wherein each DRX cycle has an inactive DRX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”) and an active DRX period (Fig. 7, [0122] disclosing “The uplink period of the second RB set may correspond to the downlink period, flexible period, and uplink period of the first RB set”) and each DTX cycle has an inactive DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”) and an active DTX period (Fig. 7, [0122] disclosing “the downlink period of the first RB set may correspond to the downlink period, flexible period, and uplink period of the second RB set.);
determine that an SBFD slot occurs during an overlap of 1) an active DRX period and an inactive DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”) or 2) an inactive DRX period and an active DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”); and
perform one or more actions during the SBFD slot, based on the determination and whether the UE is configured to communicate on an uplink subband or a downlink subband in the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, second RB set corresponding to the subband; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources… periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]).
Regarding claim 2, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the overlap comprises an overlap of an active DRX period and an inactive DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”).
Regarding claim 3, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the UE is configured to communicate on an uplink subband in the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4; [0126]).
Regarding claim 4, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit signals on the uplink subband (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4; [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]).
Regarding claim 5, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, UL portions of each RB set in the slot including frequency portions of periods G3 and G4 seen as the frequency band; [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]), and the frequency band includes the uplink subband (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4) and a subband allocated for downlink communications (Fig. 7, [0121], DL portion of second RB set).
Regarding claim 6, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the UE is configured to communicate on a downlink subband (Fig, 7, DL portion of any RB set; [0126]).
Regarding claim 8, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 6, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit signals on an uplink subband (Fig. 7, UL portion of any RB set; [0126]).
Regarding claim 9, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 6, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]), and the frequency band includes the downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of any RB set) and a subband allocated for uplink communications (Fig. 7 UL portion of any RB set).
Regarding claim 10, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the overlap comprises an overlap of an inactive DRX period and an active DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”).
Regarding claim 15, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the UE is configured to communicate on a downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G1 and G2; [0126]).
Regarding claim 16, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive signals in the downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G1 and G2; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”; [0126]).
Regarding claim 17, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, DL portions of each RB set in the slot including frequency portions of periods G1 and G2 seen as the frequency band; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”; [0126]), and the frequency band includes the downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G1 and G2) and a subband allocated for uplink communications (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set).
Regarding claim 18, Moon appears to disclose an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: one or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories and to cause the network entity to (Fig. 1 nodes 110; [0039]-[0042], [0044] disclosing communication nodes such as base station 110 can be configured as a processor and memory storing instructions to perform the disclosed embodiments):
transmit configuration information for a user equipment (UE), the configuration information indicating discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles and discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycles (Fig. 7, [0118]-[0122] disclosing a terminal receives configuration information from the base station for subbands corresponding to resource block (RB) sets and slot formats for each of the RB sets that can be downlink, flexible or uplink),
wherein each DRX cycle has an inactive DRX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”) and an active DRX period (Fig. 7, [0122] disclosing “The uplink period of the second RB set may correspond to the downlink period, flexible period, and uplink period of the first RB set”) and each DTX cycle has an inactive DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”) and an active DTX period (Fig. 7, [0122] disclosing “the downlink period of the first RB set may correspond to the downlink period, flexible period, and uplink period of the second RB set.);
determine, while the network entity is operating in a subband full duplex (SBFD) mode ([0119] disclosing configuring resources for SBFD), that an SBFD slot occurs during an overlap of 1) an active DRX period and an inactive DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”) or 2) an inactive DRX period and an active DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”); and
perform one or more actions during the SBFD slot, based on the determination and whether the UE is configured to communicate on an uplink subband or a downlink subband in the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, second RB set corresponding to the subband; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources… periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]).
Regarding claim 19, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the overlap comprises an overlap of an active DRX period and an inactive DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”).
Regarding claim 20, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the configuration information configures the UE to communicate on an uplink subband in the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4; [0126]).
Regarding claim 21, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 20, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to receive signals on the uplink subband (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4; [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]).
Regarding claim 22, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 20, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to receive signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, UL portions of each RB set in the slot including frequency portions of periods G3 and G4 seen as the frequency band; [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]), and the frequency band includes the uplink subband (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4) and a subband allocated for downlink communications (Fig. 7, [0121], DL portion of second RB set).
Regarding claim 23, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the configuration information configures the UE to communicate on a downlink subband (Fig, 7, DL portion of any RB set; [0126]).
Regarding claim 25, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 23, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to at least one of:
receive signals on an uplink subband (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4; [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]), or receive signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, UL portions of each RB set in the slot including frequency portions of periods G3 and G4 seen as the frequency band; [0124] disclosing “periods G3 and G4 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for uplink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all uplink resources”; [0126]), the frequency band including the downlink subband (Fig, 7, DL portion of the second RB set; [0126]) and a subband allocated for uplink communications (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G3 and G4, [0126]).
Regarding claim 26, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the overlap comprises an overlap of an inactive DRX period and an active DTX period (Fig. 7, [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”).
Regarding claim 28, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 26, wherein:
the configuration information configures the UE to communicate on a downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G1 and G2; [0126]), and in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to at least one of:
transmit signals in the downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G1 and G2; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”; [0126]), or
transmit signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot (Fig. 7, DL portions of each RB set in the slot including frequency portions of periods G1 and G2 seen as the frequency band; ; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”; [0126]), wherein the frequency band includes the downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of second RB set) and a subband allocated for uplink communications (Fig. 7, UL portion of second RB set).
Regarding claim 29, the claim is directed towards the method performed by the apparatus of claim 1; accordingly, claim 29 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is directed towards the method performed by the apparatus of claim 18; accordingly, claim 30 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (EP 4593488 A1) in view of vivo, “Discussions on enhancements on cell DTX/DRX mechanism.”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – August 25th, 2023, R1-2306763, hereafter D1.
Regarding claim 7, Moon does not disclose the following; however, D1 suggests the apparatus of claim 6, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to enter a low power state during the SBFD slot (pp 4-5, Section 2.2.4, Figure 1, Case 2 disclosing when cell is active on downlink transmissions (i.e., cell DTX active) and the UE is configured during that time for a C-DRX non-active that he UE follow behavior for non-active C-DRX period. Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art that UEs are configured to enter a low power state in the non-active portion of C-DRX in order to save power in the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Moon as suggested by D1 because this can provide power savings in the UE (pg. 1 Section 2.1 first paragraph).
Regarding claim 24, Moon does not expressly disclose the following; however, D1 suggests the apparatus of claim 23, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to refrain from communicating with the UE during the SBFD slot (pp 5-6, Section 2.3.2, Fig. 2, case 2 disclosing when cell is active on uplink transmissions (i.e., cell DRX active) and the UE is configured during that time for a C-DRX non-active that the UE follow behavior for non-active C-DRX period. Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art that UEs are configured not to transmit during C-DRX non-active periods which would result in the base station not communicating with the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Moon as suggested by D1 because this can provide power savings in the UE (pg. 1 Section 2.1 first paragraph).
Claim(s) 11, 13-14 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (EP 4593488 A1) in view of CATT, “Discussion on subband non-overlapping full duplex”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #114, Toulouse, France, August 21st – 25th, 2023, R1-2307084, hereafter D2.
Regarding claim 11, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein a UE can be configured for both uplink and downlink communications in the same set of symbols causing a conflict which can be resolved based on priority ([0090] disclosing a transmission direction conflict that a UE may decide which way to communicate based on priority of the communication), but does not expressly disclose the following; however, D2 appears to disclose the UE is configured to communicate on an uplink subband in the SBFD slot (pp 7-8, Section 2.1.4 disclosing a time domain conflict of the UEs UL and DL operation in the same SBFD symbol for SBFD aware UE, for example, case 4 collisions between configured UL transmissions which may be unavoidable by the gNB).
One of ordinary skill in the art when viewing the disclosure of D2 would be aware that such conflicts can occur in SBFD frames based on the disclosure of D2 and It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider such factors in the invention of Moon because D2 teaches certain outcomes are unavoidable and one of ordinary skill in the art, using common sense as a guide, would readily understand these conflicts could reduce communication efficiency unless they are mitigated.
Regarding claim 13, Moon discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive signals in a downlink subband (Fig. 7, DL portion of second RB set in the slot with periods labeled G1 and G2; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission and downlink measurement because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”; [0126]).
Regarding claim 14, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot, and the frequency band includes a subband allocated for downlink communications (Fig. 7, DL portions of each RB set in the slot including frequency portions of periods G1 and G2 seen as the frequency band; [0124] disclosing “periods G1 and G2 shown in FIG. 7 may be used for downlink transmission…because RB sets adjacent to the respective guard bands are all downlink resources.”; [0126]).
Moon does not expressly disclose the following; however, D2 appears to disclose the frequency band includes the uplink subband (pp 7-8, Section 2.1.4 disclosing a time domain conflict of the UEs UL and DL operation in the same SBFD symbol for SBFD aware UE, for example, case 4 collisions between configured UL transmissions which may be unavoidable by the gNB).
One of ordinary skill in the art when viewing the disclosure of D2 would be aware that such conflicts can occur in SBFD frames based on the disclosure of D2 and It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider such factors in the invention of Moon because D2 teaches certain outcomes are unavoidable and one of ordinary skill in the art, using common sense as a guide, would readily understand these conflicts could reduce communication efficiency unless they are mitigated.
Regarding claim 27, Moon appears to disclose the apparatus of claim 26, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to at least one of:
refrain from communicating with the UE during the SBFD slot,
transmit signals in a downlink subband (Fig, 7, DL portion of any RB set; [0126]), or
transmit signals in a frequency band of the SBFD slot, the frequency band including the uplink subband and a subband allocated for downlink communications.
Moon discloses a UE can be configured for both uplink and downlink communications in the same set of symbols causing a conflict which can be resolved based on priority ([0090] disclosing a transmission direction conflict that a UE may decide which way to communicate based on priority of the communication), but does not expressly disclose the following; however, D2 appears to disclose wherein: the configuration information configures the UE to communicate on an uplink subband in the SBFD slot (pp 7-8, Section 2.1.4 disclosing a time domain conflict of the UEs UL and DL operation in the same SBFD symbol for SBFD aware UE, for example, case 4 collisions between configured UL transmissions which may be unavoidable by the gNB).
One of ordinary skill in the art when viewing the disclosure of D2 would be aware that such conflicts can occur in SBFD frames based on the disclosure of D2 and It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider such factors in the invention of Moon because D2 teaches certain outcomes are unavoidable and one of ordinary skill in the art, using common sense as a guide, would readily understand these conflicts could reduce communication efficiency unless they are mitigated.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (EP 4593488 A1) in view of D2, further in view of D1.
Regarding claim 12, Moon does not disclose the following; however, D1 suggests the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, in order to perform the one or more actions, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to enter a low power state during the SBFD slot (pp 4-5, Section 2.2.4, Figure 1, Case 2 disclosing when cell is active on downlink transmissions (i.e., cell DTX active) and the UE is configured during that time for a C-DRX non-active that he UE follow behavior for non-active C-DRX period. Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art that UEs are configured to enter a low power state in the non-active portion of C-DRX in order to save power in the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Moon as suggested by D1 because this can provide power savings in the UE (pg. 1 Section 2.1 first paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 10 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the features of the independent claims are not teaches or suggests the features of the independent claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues, “the claimed DRX cycles and DTX cycles are fundamentally different concepts. As described in Applicant's Specification, discontinuous communications "refer to a mode where transmissions from or reception by a particular device is unavailable." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0032]. Applicant's Specification further explains that "during an active DRX period, the network entity may receive uplink transmissions, and during an active DTX period, the network entity may transmit on the downlink. In contrast, during an inactive DRX period, the network entity may refrain from (e.g., or may disable) reception of uplink transmissions, and during an inactive DTX period, the network entity may refrain from (e.g., or may disable) transmission on the downlink. The inactive DRX/DTX periods may allow the network entity to conserve power." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0032].”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "during an active DRX period, the network entity may receive uplink transmissions, and during an active DTX period, the network entity may transmit on the downlink. In contrast, during an inactive DRX period, the network entity may refrain from (e.g., or may disable) reception of uplink transmissions, and during an inactive DTX period, the network entity may refrain from (e.g., or may disable) transmission on the downlink. The inactive DRX/DTX periods may allow the network entity to conserve power.") are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant has provided the broadest reasonable interpretation of the disputed features (i.e. “DTX and DRX”) in light of specification. At applicant’s paragraph [0032] the broadest reasonable interpretation is provided as, “discontinuous communications may refer to a mode where transmissions from or reception by a particular device is unavailable. For example, a device may be configured for a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode and/or a discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode.”
Moon appears to provide a prima facie showing of the features DTX and DRX. Moon discloses the time period depicted for features G1 and G2 in Fig. 7 as all downlink (DL) communications, i.e., transmission by the terminal is unavailable (DTX) and/or reception by the base station is unavailable (DRX), because there is no uplink (UL) transmission configured during that interval of time; as opposed to, the time periods marked as UL in the second RB set in which active transmission period by the terminal and an active reception period by the base station is configured. Further, Moon discloses the time period depicted for the features G3 and G4 in Fig. 7 as all UL communications, i.e., reception at the terminal is unavailable (DRX) and/or transmission by the base station is unavailable (DTX), because there is no DL transmission configured; as opposed to, the time periods marked as DL in the first and third resource sets in which active reception period by the terminal and an active transmission by the base station is configured. (Fig. 7, [0118]-[0122], [0124]).
Applicant argues, “Moon never mentions DRX, DTX, active DRX periods, inactive DRX periods, active DTX periods, inactive DTX periods, or any concept of the network entity cyclically alternating between active and non-active states to conserve power. The terms "discontinuous reception" and "discontinuous transmission" do not appear anywhere in Moon.”
Anticipation "is not an 'ipsissimis verbis' test." In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 832 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (citing Akzo N. V. v. United States Int'l Trade Comm 'n, 808 F.2d 1471, 1479 & n.11 (Fed. Cir. 1986)). "An anticipatory reference ... need not duplicate word for word what is in the claims." Standard Havens Prods. v. Gencor Indus., 953 F.2d 1360, 1369 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("However, a reference can anticipate a claim even if it 'd[oes] not expressly spell out' all the limitations arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would 'at once envisage' the claimed arrangement or combination.") (quoting In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681 (CCPA 1962)).
Based on the above disclosure, Moon appears to satisfy the disputed claim features when the features are given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lauridsen et al. (US 2025/0056661 A1) discloses cell discontinuous reception (DRX) allows a network device to receive data within a period and sleep within another period when there are no packets to be received. The term “cell discontinuous transmission (DTX)” used herein refers to a technique that allows the network device to transmit data within a period and sleep within another period when there are no packets to be transmitted. The cell DRX/DTX can be used in mobile communication to conserve the battery and/or save energy of the network device ([0042]).
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461