Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 has been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15-16, 18-19, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Islam et al. (US 2019/0053271 A1; hereinafter "Islam").
Regarding claim 1, Islam teaches an apparatus (FIG. 2 UE 115-a) (FIG. 10 device 1005) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (FIG. 10 memory 1025); and
one or more processors (FIG. 10 processor 1020) each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories, the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, operable to cause the apparatus to ([0221] These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1010)):
obtain a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including at least one of ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for selection of a single SSB for four-step random access ([0122] the UE listens according to multiple receive beams and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength, thereby measuring reference signal power for multiple SSBs, [0146] the RACH transmission parameter indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0156] UE 115-a selects an SSB that satisfies the threshold and transmits the RACH message based on the selected SSB, thereby selecting a single SSB for the RACH procedure),
obtain a downlink reference signal from a network entity ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
send to the network entity a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
Regarding claim 15, Islam teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the CSI-RS RSRP threshold ([0014] the first RACH transmission parameter indicates an RSRP threshold for selecting a CSI-RS), the downlink reference signal is the CSI-RS ([0164] a beam quality report in the RACH message includes RSRP of beams including CSI-RS, thereby using CSI-RS as a downlink reference signal in the RACH procedure), and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS RSRP threshold ([0179] UE 115-c conveys a strongest downlink SS/CSI-RS beam index, selects a transmission beam based on received SS/CSI-RS signals, selects a RACH Msg1 preamble corresponding to the selected SS/CSI-RS beam, and transmits the RACH message including the selected preamble index).
Regarding claim 16, Islam teaches wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the CSI-RS ([0143] transmission parameters may be based on an associated SSB or CSI-RS and depends on resources corresponding to the dedicated RACH preamble associated with the SSB or CSI-RS, thereby indicating that the configuration is resource-dependent and includes CSI-RS associated resources), and
the configuration further indicates a plurality of CSI-RS RSRP thresholds including the CSI-RS RSRP threshold which are respectively associated with the plurality of CSI-RS resources ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes an RSRP threshold for selecting a CSI-RS, [0143] discloses that transmission parameters are selected based on the resources associated with the CSI-RS, thereby supporting that CSI-RS based resources are configured with corresponding RSRP thresholds).
Regarding claim 18, Islam teaches a method (FIG. 2) of wireless communication performable at a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 2 UE 115-a) (FIG. 10 device 1005), comprising:
obtaining a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including at least one of ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for selection of a single SSB for four-step random access ([0122] the UE listens according to multiple receive beams and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength, thereby measuring reference signal power for multiple SSBs, [0146] the RACH transmission parameter indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0156] UE 115-a selects an SSB that satisfies the threshold and transmits the RACH message based on the selected SSB, thereby selecting a single SSB for the RACH procedure),
obtaining a downlink reference signal from a network entity ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
sending to the network entity a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
Regarding claim 19, Islam teaches an apparatus (FIG. 2 base station 105-a) (FIG. 14 device 1405) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (FIG. 14 memory 1425); and
one or more processors (FIG. 14 processor 1420) each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories, the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, operable to cause the apparatus to ([0257] These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1410)):
send a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including at least one of ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for selection of a single SSB for four-step random access ([0122] the UE listens according to multiple receive beams and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength, thereby measuring reference signal power for multiple SSBs, [0146] the RACH transmission parameter indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0156] UE 115-a selects an SSB that satisfies the threshold and transmits the RACH message based on the selected SSB, thereby selecting a single SSB for the RACH procedure),
send a downlink reference signal to a user equipment (UE) ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
obtain from the UE a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
Regarding claim 28, Islam teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the CSI-RS RSRP threshold ([0014] the first RACH transmission parameter indicates an RSRP threshold for selecting a CSI-RS), the downlink reference signal is the CSI-RS ([0164] a beam quality report in the RACH message includes RSRP of beams including CSI-RS, thereby using CSI-RS as a downlink reference signal in the RACH procedure), and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS RSRP threshold ([0179] UE 115-c conveys a strongest downlink SS/CSI-RS beam index, selects a transmission beam based on received SS/CSI-RS signals, selects a RACH Msg1 preamble corresponding to the selected SS/CSI-RS beam, and transmits the RACH message including the selected preamble index).
Regarding claim 30, a method (FIG. 2) of wireless communication performable at a network entity (FIG. 2 base station 105-a) (FIG. 14 device 1405), comprising:
sending a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including at least one of ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for selection of a single SSB for four-step random access ([0122] the UE listens according to multiple receive beams and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength, thereby measuring reference signal power for multiple SSBs, [0146] the RACH transmission parameter indicates a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0156] UE 115-a selects an SSB that satisfies the threshold and transmits the RACH message based on the selected SSB, thereby selecting a single SSB for the RACH procedure),
sending a downlink reference signal to a user equipment (UE) ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
obtaining from the UE a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-14, 17, 20-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0046714 A1; hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 2, Islam teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0150] the base station indicates beam-specific RACH transmission parameters, while [0122] the UE listens according to multiple receive beams and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength).
However, Islam does not teach the downlink reference signal is the single SSB, and the RACH message is sent based on the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches the downlink reference signal is the single SSB ([0273] a first RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB) for selection of SS block and corresponding PRACH resource, thereby disclosing that the downlink reference signal used for RACH selection is an SSB), and
the RACH message is sent based on the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0285] the configuration indicates a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets and that the UE determines a CE level based on comparing a measured RSRP and a RSRP threshold and then triggers the RA procedure accordingly, thereby disclosing that the RACH message transmission is based on multiple SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Islam teaches wherein the configuration is a system information block (SIB) including the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0072] configuring the UE comprises transmitting a system information block (SIB), [0163] UE 115-a determines configuration information based on a received SIB).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is sent according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0284] the configuration provides a plurality of RSRP thresholds and associates each CE level with a respective RACH resource set, [0285] FIG. 33B discloses transmitting a preamble with a number of repetitions based on the determined CE level, thereby showing that the RACH message is sent according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein SSBs including the single SSB that are respectively associated with different transmission beams are associated with a same number of RACH preamble repetitions ([0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted in different spatial directors using different beams, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with an SSB or an SSB group, enabling multiple SSBs (including beam-specific SSBs) to share one RACH configuration, [0329] each RACH configuration includes numRepetitionPerPreambleAttempt (a number of repetitions per preamble attempt), which applies to transmissions under that configuration, thereby SSBs within the same RACH configuration (e.g., within the same number of SSB group are associated with the same number of RACH preamble repetitions)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the configuration indicates different numbers of RACH preamble repetitions for SSBs including the single SSB that are respectively associated with different transmission beams ([0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted in different spatial directions using different beams, [0331] different 2-step RACH configurations have different values of (e.g.,numRepetitionPerPreambleAttempt) different numbers of repetitions per preamble attempt are configured, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with an SSB or an SSB group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the two-step RACH parameter, the downlink reference signal is the specific SSB, the configuration is system information indicating the two-step RACH parameter, and the RACH message includes a combination of a RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the two-step RACH parameter ([0156], [0202] disclose that beam-specific SSBs are used as downlink reference signals and that system information configures two-step RACH parameters, wherein the MsgA of the two-step RACH includes a combination of a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the configured two-step RACH parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the two-step RACH parameter is a bitmap associated with a plurality of SSBs including the specific SSB, or a set of identifiers respectively associated with the SSBs, indicating whether two-step random access is enabled in association with respective ones of the SSBs ([0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted in different spatial directions using different beams, establishing a plurality of beam-specific SSBs including a specific SSB, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with an SSB or an SSB group. Enabling different RACH configurations to be applied per SSB or per group of SSBs, [0202] configuration parameters for the two-step RACH procedure are transmitted to the UE via system information and/or RRC signaling and include SSB information and parameters for MsgA transmission, thereby establishing that two-step RACH parameters are provided per SSB context, [0144] a MAC CE uses a bitmap (e.g., one bit per SCell) to indicate activation or deactivation status for a plurality of configured cells, demonstrating a bitmap or per-identifier mechanism for enabling or disabling functionality on a per-entity basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a PUSCH resource for two-step random access, and the PUSCH transmission is sent in the PUSCH resource ([0202] a MsgA configuration for a two-step RACH includes uplink radio resources for PUSCH transmission, [0166] the UE determines, based on two-step RACH parameters, a time-frequency resource for PUSCH transmission and sends the PUSCH in that resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a two-step RACH as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being a two-step SSB RSRP threshold for selection of the SSB for two-step random access, and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the SSB based on the two-step RACH threshold ([0285] configuration parameters indicate a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets, and that the UE determines a coverage enhancement (CE) level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted using different beams, establishing beam-specific SSBs for selection, [0241] the wireless device transmits repeated preambles using PRACH occasions associated with a selected SSB, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the selected SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being an RSRP threshold for selection between two-step random access and four-step random access, and the RACH message includes either a RACH preamble or a combination of the RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the RSRP threshold ([0285] the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with a plurality of RSRP thresholds, [0278] initializing the RA procedure comprises determining whether to perform 2-step RA type or a 4-step RA type, [0202] for a two-step RA type, the RACH message (Msg1) comprises a combination of a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission, [0161] for a four-step RA type, the RACH message comprises a PRACH preamble (Msg1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RSRP threshold is configured such that two-step random access is only enabled in association with the downlink reference signal ([0285] configuration parameters include a plurality of RSRP thresholds and that the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0202] configuration parameters for the two-step RACH procedure are transmitted via system information and/or RRC signaling and indicate parameters for performing the two-step RA procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the PUSCH RSRP threshold ([0285] configuration parameters include a plurality of RSRP thresholds and that the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, thereby establishing that RACH configuration parameters include RSRP-based thresholds applicable to uplink procedure), and the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission based on the PUSCH RSRP threshold ([0305] the wireless device repeats transmission when a transmission counter does not exceed a configured maximum number, including repeating transmission with a configured number of repetitions, [0363] different wireless devices transmit MSGA (including PUSCH) with different numbers of repetitions, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission controlled by configuration parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the SUL RSRP threshold ([0273] the RACH parameters for the 4-step RA type include a second RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL) for selection of a SUL or a NUL for the RA procedure, [0185] one or more RACH parameters indicate one or more thresholds based on which the UE determines at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., NUL and/or SUL)), and
the RACH message is sent in the SUL carrier or the NUL carrier based on the SUL RSRP threshold ([0192] the UE is configured with both SUL and NUL carriers, and that the UE determines the SUL carrier if a measured quality of one or more reference signals is lower than a broadcast threshold, and that uplink transmissions of the random access procedure (Msg1/Msg3) remain on the selected carrier, [0278] FIG. 31 discloses that, after triggering the RA procedure, the UE initializes parameters including determining a SUL or a NUL for performing the RA procedure based on measured RSRP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is sent in a RACH occasion (RO) mapped to an SSB index associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0273] RACH parameters include “an indication of association between RACH occasion and SSB (e.g., ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB)” and that this indication specifies how many SSBs are associated with RACH occasions and the number of preambles per SSB. This establishes that RACH occasions are explicitly mapped to SSB indices via configuration parameters, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with a RACH configuration based on at least one of: an SSB or an SSB group, and that the association is performed when the RACH configuration has the same SSB index (or SSB group index) as a corresponding RA search space. This establishes that the RACH configuration (beam-specific RACH parameter) determines the SSB index used for RA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 20, Islam teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0150] the base station indicates beam-specific RACH transmission parameters, while [0122] the UE listens according to multiple receive beams and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength),
the configuration is a system information block (SIB) including the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0072] configuring the UE comprises transmitting a system information block (SIB), [0163] UE 115-a determines configuration information based on a received SIB).
However, Islam does not teach the downlink reference signal is the single SSB, and the RACH message is sent based on the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches the downlink reference signal is the single SSB ([0273] a first RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB) for selection of SS block and corresponding PRACH resource, thereby disclosing that the downlink reference signal used for RACH selection is an SSB), and
the RACH message is sent based on the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0285] the configuration indicates a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets and that the UE determines a CE level based on comparing a measured RSRP and a RSRP threshold and then triggers the RA procedure accordingly, thereby disclosing that the RACH message transmission is based on multiple SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is obtained according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0284] the configuration provides a plurality of RSRP thresholds and associates each CE level with a respective RACH resource set, [0285] FIG. 33B discloses transmitting a preamble with a number of repetitions based on the determined CE level, thereby showing that the RACH message is sent according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the two-step RACH parameter, the downlink reference signal is the specific SSB, the configuration is system information indicating the two-step RACH parameter, and the RACH message includes a combination of a RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the two-step RACH parameter ([0156], [0202] disclose that beam-specific SSBs are used as downlink reference signals and that system information configures two-step RACH parameters, wherein the MsgA of the two-step RACH includes a combination of a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the configured two-step RACH parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being a two-step SSB RSRP threshold for selection of the SSB for two-step random access, and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the SSB based on the two-step RACH threshold ([0285] configuration parameters indicate a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets, and that the UE determines a coverage enhancement (CE) level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted using different beams, establishing beam-specific SSBs for selection, [0241] the wireless device transmits repeated preambles using PRACH occasions associated with a selected SSB, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the selected SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being an RSRP threshold for selection between two-step random access and four-step random access, and the RACH message includes either a RACH preamble or a combination of the RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the RSRP threshold ([0285] the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with a plurality of RSRP thresholds, [0278] initializing the RA procedure comprises determining whether to perform 2-step RA type or a 4-step RA type, [0202] for a two-step RA type, the RACH message (Msg1) comprises a combination of a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission, [0161] for a four-step RA type, the RACH message comprises a PRACH preamble (Msg1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RSRP threshold is configured such that two-step random access is only enabled in association with the downlink reference signal ([0285] configuration parameters include a plurality of RSRP thresholds and that the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0202] configuration parameters for the two-step RACH procedure are transmitted via system information and/or RRC signaling and indicate parameters for performing the two-step RA procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the PUSCH RSRP threshold ([0285] configuration parameters include a plurality of RSRP thresholds and that the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, thereby establishing that RACH configuration parameters include RSRP-based thresholds applicable to uplink procedure), and the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission based on the PUSCH RSRP threshold ([0305] the wireless device repeats transmission when a transmission counter does not exceed a configured maximum number, including repeating transmission with a configured number of repetitions, [0363] different wireless devices transmit MSGA (including PUSCH) with different numbers of repetitions, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission controlled by configuration parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters include the SUL RSRP threshold ([0273] the RACH parameters for the 4-step RA type include a second RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL) for selection of a SUL or a NUL for the RA procedure, [0185] one or more RACH parameters indicate one or more thresholds based on which the UE determines at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., NUL and/or SUL)), and the RACH message is obtained in the SUL carrier or the NUL carrier based on the SUL RSRP threshold ([0192] the UE is configured with both SUL and NUL carriers, and that the UE determines the SUL carrier if a measured quality of one or more reference signals is lower than a broadcast threshold, and that uplink transmissions of the random access procedure (Msg1/Msg3) remain on the selected carrier, [0278] FIG. 31 discloses that, after triggering the RA procedure, the UE initializes parameters including determining a SUL or a NUL for performing the RA procedure based on measured RSRP).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is obtained in a RACH occasion (RO) mapped to an SSB index associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0273] RACH parameters include “an indication of association between RACH occasion and SSB (e.g., ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB)” and that this indication specifies how many SSBs are associated with RACH occasions and the number of preambles per SSB. This establishes that RACH occasions are explicitly mapped to SSB indices via configuration parameters, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with a RACH configuration based on at least one of: an SSB or an SSB group, and that the association is performed when the RACH configuration has the same SSB index (or SSB group index) as a corresponding RA search space. This establishes that the RACH configuration (beam-specific RACH parameter) determines the SSB index used for RA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the parameters of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0119697 A1 (WANG et al.) discloses methods for managing beam configurations and parameters for non-terrestrial networks.
US 2021/0242935 A1 (Sakhnini et al.) discloses systems, methods and apparatus for communicating a satellite behavior change.
US 2022/0095293 A1 (He et al.) discloses wireless communication systems and methods related to enhancing initial access for multi-beam operations.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413