Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
07/24/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053271 A1; hereinafter "Islam"), in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0046714 A1; hereinafter “Zhou”), and further in view of Belleschi et al. (US 2023/0171810 A1; hereinafter “Belleschi”).
Regarding claim 1, Islam teaches an apparatus (FIG. 2 UE 115-a) (FIG. 10 device 1005) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (FIG. 10 memory 1025); and
one or more processors (FIG. 10 processor 1020) each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories, the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, operable to cause the apparatus to ([0221] These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1010)):
obtain a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
obtain a downlink reference signal from a network entity ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
send to the network entity a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
However, Islam does not teach a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions ([0295] discloses that each RACH resources set is associated with a respective RSRP threshold and corresponds to a CE level, [0297] discloses that, when the determined RA type is a 4-step RA type, the wireless device selects an SSB from plurality of SSBs based on the measured RSRP being greater than an RSRP threshold and determines a number of preamble repetitions based on the determined CE level of the selected RACH resource subset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
However, the combination of Islam and Zhou does not teach the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Belleschi teaches the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB ([0159] discloses RSRP measurements from different SSB beams and threshold values A and B, [0163] discloses determining respective SSBs based on their RSRP relative values A and B, [0164] discloses adopting a different RSRP threshold based on the measured RSRP for the cell/beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a RACH configuration as taught by Belleschi within the system of Islam and Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve RACH resource allocation for different beams, thereby improving system efficiency (Belleschi [0192]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches the downlink reference signal is the single SSB ([0273] a first RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB) for selection of SS block and corresponding PRACH resource, thereby disclosing that the downlink reference signal used for RACH selection is an SSB), and
the RACH message is sent based on the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0285] the configuration indicates a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets and that the UE determines a CE level based on comparing a measured RSRP and a RSRP threshold and then triggers the RA procedure accordingly, thereby disclosing that the RACH message transmission is based on multiple SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Islam teaches wherein the configuration is a system information block (SIB) including the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0072] configuring the UE comprises transmitting a system information block (SIB), [0163] UE 115-a determines configuration information based on a received SIB).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is sent according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0284] the configuration provides a plurality of RSRP thresholds and associates each CE level with a respective RACH resource set, [0285] FIG. 33B discloses transmitting a preamble with a number of repetitions based on the determined CE level, thereby showing that the RACH message is sent according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein SSBs including the single SSB that are respectively associated with different transmission beams are associated with a same number of RACH preamble repetitions ([0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted in different spatial directors using different beams, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with an SSB or an SSB group, enabling multiple SSBs (including beam-specific SSBs) to share one RACH configuration, [0329] each RACH configuration includes numRepetitionPerPreambleAttempt (a number of repetitions per preamble attempt), which applies to transmissions under that configuration, thereby SSBs within the same RACH configuration (e.g., within the same number of SSB group are associated with the same number of RACH preamble repetitions)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the configuration indicates different numbers of RACH preamble repetitions for SSBs including the single SSB that are respectively associated with different transmission beams ([0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted in different spatial directions using different beams, [0331] different 2-step RACH configurations have different values of (e.g.,numRepetitionPerPreambleAttempt) different numbers of repetitions per preamble attempt are configured, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with an SSB or an SSB group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a two-step RACH parameter indicating whether two-step random access is enabled in association with a specific SSB ([0297] discloses selecting an SSB from a plurality of SSBs based on an RSRP threshold and performing the RA procedure using the selected SSB, [0122] discloses that the UE measures reference signal power of multiple SSBs and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength, thereby using the selected SSB as a downlink reference signal), the downlink reference signal is the specific SSB, the configuration is system information indicating the two-step RACH parameter, and the RACH message includes a combination of a RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the two-step RACH parameter ([0202] disclose that a two-step random access procedure includes a MsgA comprising a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission, [0295]-[0296] disclose that RSRP thresholds determine selection of RA type and corresponding RACH resource sets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the two-step RACH parameter is a bitmap associated with a plurality of SSBs including the specific SSB, or a set of identifiers respectively associated with the SSBs, indicating whether two-step random access is enabled in association with respective ones of the SSBs ([0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted in different spatial directions using different beams, establishing a plurality of beam-specific SSBs including a specific SSB, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with an SSB or an SSB group. Enabling different RACH configurations to be applied per SSB or per group of SSBs, [0202] configuration parameters for the two-step RACH procedure are transmitted to the UE via system information and/or RRC signaling and include SSB information and parameters for MsgA transmission, thereby establishing that two-step RACH parameters are provided per SSB context, [0144] a MAC CE uses a bitmap (e.g., one bit per SCell) to indicate activation or deactivation status for a plurality of configured cells, demonstrating a bitmap or per-identifier mechanism for enabling or disabling functionality on a per-entity basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a PUSCH resource for two-step random access, and the PUSCH transmission is sent in the PUSCH resource ([0202] a MsgA configuration for a two-step RACH includes uplink radio resources for PUSCH transmission, [0166] the UE determines, based on two-step RACH parameters, a time-frequency resource for PUSCH transmission and sends the PUSCH in that resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a two-step RACH as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being a two-step SSB RSRP threshold for selection of an SSB for two-step random access, and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the SSB based on the two-step RACH threshold ([0285] configuration parameters indicate a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets, and that the UE determines a coverage enhancement (CE) level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted using different beams, establishing beam-specific SSBs for selection, [0241] the wireless device transmits repeated preambles using PRACH occasions associated with a selected SSB, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the selected SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being an RSRP threshold for selection between two-step random access and four-step random access, and the RACH message includes either a RACH preamble or a combination of the RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the RSRP threshold ([0285] the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with a plurality of RSRP thresholds, [0278] initializing the RA procedure comprises determining whether to perform 2-step RA type or a 4-step RA type, [0202] for a two-step RA type, the RACH message (Msg1) comprises a combination of a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission, [0161] for a four-step RA type, the RACH message comprises a PRACH preamble (Msg1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RSRP threshold is configured such that two-step random access is only enabled in association with the downlink reference signal ([0285] configuration parameters include a plurality of RSRP thresholds and that the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0202] configuration parameters for the two-step RACH procedure are transmitted via system information and/or RRC signaling and indicate parameters for performing the two-step RA procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) RSRP threshold for PUSCH transmission repetitions in four-step random access ([0283] configuration parameters including a plurality of RSRP thresholds used to determine a CE level for the RA procedure, each CE level being associated with a respective number of transmission repetitions, [0295] RSRP thresholds are associated with RACH resource sets and CE levels used for selecting resources for RA procedures, [0282] in a four-step random access procedure, the UE transmits a preamble and subsequently transmits an uplink message (Msg3) including a PUSCH transmission based on the selected RACH resources), and the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission based on the PUSCH RSRP threshold ([0305] the wireless device repeats transmission when a transmission counter does not exceed a configured maximum number, including repeating transmission with a configured number of repetitions, [0363] different wireless devices transmit MSGA (including PUSCH) with different numbers of repetitions, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission controlled by configuration parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a SUL supplementary uplink (SUL) RSRP threshold for selection between a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and a SUL carrier for random access ([0273] the RACH parameters for the 4-step RA type include a second RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL) for selection of a SUL or a NUL for the RA procedure, [0185] one or more RACH parameters indicate one or more thresholds based on which the UE determines at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., NUL and/or SUL)), and
the RACH message is sent in the SUL carrier or the NUL carrier based on the SUL RSRP threshold ([0192] the UE is configured with both SUL and NUL carriers, and that the UE determines the SUL carrier if a measured quality of one or more reference signals is lower than a broadcast threshold, and that uplink transmissions of the random access procedure (Msg1/Msg3) remain on the selected carrier, [0278] FIG. 31 discloses that, after triggering the RA procedure, the UE initializes parameters including determining a SUL or a NUL for performing the RA procedure based on measured RSRP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 15, Islam teaches the downlink reference signal is the CSI-RS ([0164] a beam quality report in the RACH message includes RSRP of beams including CSI-RS, thereby using CSI-RS as a downlink reference signal in the RACH procedure), and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS RSRP threshold ([0179] UE 115-c conveys a strongest downlink SS/CSI-RS beam index, selects a transmission beam based on received SS/CSI-RS signals, selects a RACH Msg1 preamble corresponding to the selected SS/CSI-RS beam, and transmits the RACH message including the selected preamble index).
However, Islam does not teach wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) RSRP threshold for selection of a CSI-RS for four-step random access.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) RSRP threshold for selection of a CSI-RS for four-step random access ([0146] discloses that the RACH transmission parameter includes an RSRP threshold for selecting a CSI-RS, [0282] discloses that, in a four-step random access procedure, the UE selects resources including selecting a reference signal such as an SSB or CSI-RS based on an RSRP threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Islam teaches wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of CSI-RS resources including a CSI-RS resource associated with the CSI-RS ([0143] transmission parameters may be based on an associated SSB or CSI-RS and depends on resources corresponding to the dedicated RACH preamble associated with the SSB or CSI-RS, thereby indicating that the configuration is resource-dependent and includes CSI-RS associated resources), and
the configuration further indicates a plurality of CSI-RS RSRP thresholds including the CSI-RS RSRP threshold which are respectively associated with the plurality of CSI-RS resources ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes an RSRP threshold for selecting a CSI-RS, [0143] discloses that transmission parameters are selected based on the resources associated with the CSI-RS, thereby supporting that CSI-RS based resources are configured with corresponding RSRP thresholds).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is sent in a RACH occasion (RO) mapped to an SSB index associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0273] RACH parameters include “an indication of association between RACH occasion and SSB (e.g., ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB)” and that this indication specifies how many SSBs are associated with RACH occasions and the number of preambles per SSB. This establishes that RACH occasions are explicitly mapped to SSB indices via configuration parameters, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with a RACH configuration based on at least one of: an SSB or an SSB group, and that the association is performed when the RACH configuration has the same SSB index (or SSB group index) as a corresponding RA search space. This establishes that the RACH configuration (beam-specific RACH parameter) determines the SSB index used for RA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 18, Islam teaches a method (FIG. 2) of wireless communication performable at a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 2 UE 115-a) (FIG. 10 device 1005), comprising:
obtaining a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
obtaining a downlink reference signal from a network entity ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
sending to the network entity a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
However, Islam does not teach a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions ([0295] discloses that each RACH resources set is associated with a respective RSRP threshold and corresponds to a CE level, [0297] discloses that, when the determined RA type is a 4-step RA type, the wireless device selects an SSB from plurality of SSBs based on the measured RSRP being greater than an RSRP threshold and determines a number of preamble repetitions based on the determined CE level of the selected RACH resource subset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
However, the combination of Islam and Zhou does not teach the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Belleschi teaches the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB ([0159] discloses RSRP measurements from different SSB beams and threshold values A and B, [0163] discloses determining respective SSBs based on their RSRP relative values A and B, [0164] discloses adopting a different RSRP threshold based on the measured RSRP for the cell/beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a RACH configuration as taught by Belleschi within the system of Islam and Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve RACH resource allocation for different beams, thereby improving system efficiency (Belleschi [0192]).
Regarding claim 19, Islam teaches an apparatus (FIG. 2 base station 105-a) (FIG. 14 device 1405) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (FIG. 14 memory 1425); and
one or more processors (FIG. 14 processor 1420) each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories, the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, operable to cause the apparatus to ([0257] These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1410)):
send a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
send a downlink reference signal to a user equipment (UE) ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
obtain from the UE a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
However, Islam does not teach a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions ([0295] discloses that each RACH resources set is associated with a respective RSRP threshold and corresponds to a CE level, [0297] discloses that, when the determined RA type is a 4-step RA type, the wireless device selects an SSB from plurality of SSBs based on the measured RSRP being greater than an RSRP threshold and determines a number of preamble repetitions based on the determined CE level of the selected RACH resource subset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
However, the combination of Islam and Zhou does not teach the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Belleschi teaches the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB ([0159] discloses RSRP measurements from different SSB beams and threshold values A and B, [0163] discloses determining respective SSBs based on their RSRP relative values A and B, [0164] discloses adopting a different RSRP threshold based on the measured RSRP for the cell/beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a RACH configuration as taught by Belleschi within the system of Islam and Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve RACH resource allocation for different beams, thereby improving system efficiency (Belleschi [0192]).
Regarding claim 20, Islam teaches the configuration is a system information block (SIB) including the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0146] the RACH transmission parameter includes a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for selecting an SSB, [0072] configuring the UE comprises transmitting a system information block (SIB), [0163] UE 115-a determines configuration information based on a received SIB).
However, Islam does not teach the downlink reference signal is the single SSB, and the RACH message is sent based on the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches the downlink reference signal is the single SSB ([0273] a first RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB) for selection of SS block and corresponding PRACH resource, thereby disclosing that the downlink reference signal used for RACH selection is an SSB), and
the RACH message is sent based on the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0285] the configuration indicates a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets and that the UE determines a CE level based on comparing a measured RSRP and a RSRP threshold and then triggers the RA procedure accordingly, thereby disclosing that the RACH message transmission is based on multiple SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is obtained according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds ([0284] the configuration provides a plurality of RSRP thresholds and associates each CE level with a respective RACH resource set, [0285] FIG. 33B discloses transmitting a preamble with a number of repetitions based on the determined CE level, thereby showing that the RACH message is sent according to a number of repetitions based on a measured RSRP of the single SSB compared to the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SSB as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a two-step RACH parameter indicating whether two-step random access is enabled in association with a specific SSB ([0297] discloses selecting an SSB from a plurality of SSBs based on an RSRP threshold and performing the RA procedure using the selected SSB, [0122] discloses that the UE measures reference signal power of multiple SSBs and determines a beam direction having the highest signal strength, thereby using the selected SSB as a downlink reference signal), the downlink reference signal is the specific SSB, the configuration is system information indicating the two-step RACH parameter, and the RACH message includes a combination of a RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the two-step RACH parameter ([0202] disclose that a two-step random access procedure includes a MsgA comprising a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission, [0295]-[0296] disclose that RSRP thresholds determine selection of RA type and corresponding RACH resource sets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being a two-step SSB RSRP threshold for selection of an SSB for two-step random access, and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the SSB based on the two-step RACH threshold ([0285] configuration parameters indicate a plurality of RSRP thresholds and a plurality of RACH resource sets, and that the UE determines a coverage enhancement (CE) level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0156] different SS/PBCH blocks are transmitted using different beams, establishing beam-specific SSBs for selection, [0241] the wireless device transmits repeated preambles using PRACH occasions associated with a selected SSB, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the selected SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a two-step RACH threshold, the two-step RACH threshold being an RSRP threshold for selection between two-step random access and four-step random access, and the RACH message includes either a RACH preamble or a combination of the RACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission based on the RSRP threshold ([0285] the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with a plurality of RSRP thresholds, [0278] initializing the RA procedure comprises determining whether to perform 2-step RA type or a 4-step RA type, [0202] for a two-step RA type, the RACH message (Msg1) comprises a combination of a PRACH preamble and a PUSCH transmission, [0161] for a four-step RA type, the RACH message comprises a PRACH preamble (Msg1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RSRP threshold is configured such that two-step random access is only enabled in association with the downlink reference signal ([0285] configuration parameters include a plurality of RSRP thresholds and that the UE determines a CE level for the RA procedure based on comparing a measured RSRP with the RSRP thresholds, [0202] configuration parameters for the two-step RACH procedure are transmitted via system information and/or RRC signaling and indicate parameters for performing the two-step RA procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) RSRP threshold for PUSCH transmission repetitions in four-step random access ([0283] configuration parameters including a plurality of RSRP thresholds used to determine a CE level for the RA procedure, each CE level being associated with a respective number of transmission repetitions, [0295] RSRP thresholds are associated with RACH resource sets and CE levels used for selecting resources for RA procedures, [0282] in a four-step random access procedure, the UE transmits a preamble and subsequently transmits an uplink message (Msg3) including a PUSCH transmission based on the selected RACH resources), and the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission based on the PUSCH RSRP threshold ([0305] the wireless device repeats transmission when a transmission counter does not exceed a configured maximum number, including repeating transmission with a configured number of repetitions, [0363] different wireless devices transmit MSGA (including PUSCH) with different numbers of repetitions, thereby establishing that the RACH message includes a repetition of a PUSCH transmission controlled by configuration parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a SUL supplementary uplink (SUL) RSRP threshold for selection between a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and a SUL carrier for random access ([0273] the RACH parameters for the 4-step RA type include a second RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL) for selection of a SUL or a NUL for the RA procedure, [0185] one or more RACH parameters indicate one or more thresholds based on which the UE determines at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., NUL and/or SUL)), and
the RACH message is sent in the SUL carrier or the NUL carrier based on the SUL RSRP threshold ([0192] the UE is configured with both SUL and NUL carriers, and that the UE determines the SUL carrier if a measured quality of one or more reference signals is lower than a broadcast threshold, and that uplink transmissions of the random access procedure (Msg1/Msg3) remain on the selected carrier, [0278] FIG. 31 discloses that, after triggering the RA procedure, the UE initializes parameters including determining a SUL or a NUL for performing the RA procedure based on measured RSRP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 28, Islam teaches the downlink reference signal is the CSI-RS ([0164] a beam quality report in the RACH message includes RSRP of beams including CSI-RS, thereby using CSI-RS as a downlink reference signal in the RACH procedure), and the RACH message includes a RACH preamble associated with the CSI-RS based on the CSI-RS RSRP threshold ([0179] UE 115-c conveys a strongest downlink SS/CSI-RS beam index, selects a transmission beam based on received SS/CSI-RS signals, selects a RACH Msg1 preamble corresponding to the selected SS/CSI-RS beam, and transmits the RACH message including the selected preamble index).
However, Islam does not teach wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) RSRP threshold for selection of a CSI-RS for four-step random access.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches wherein the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters further include a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) RSRP threshold for selection of a CSI-RS for four-step random access ([0146] discloses that the RACH transmission parameter includes an RSRP threshold for selecting a CSI-RS, [0282] discloses that, in a four-step random access procedure, the UE selects resources including selecting a reference signal such as an SSB or CSI-RS based on an RSRP threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Islam and Zhou, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the RACH message is obtained in a RACH occasion (RO) mapped to an SSB index associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0273] RACH parameters include “an indication of association between RACH occasion and SSB (e.g., ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB)” and that this indication specifies how many SSBs are associated with RACH occasions and the number of preambles per SSB. This establishes that RACH occasions are explicitly mapped to SSB indices via configuration parameters, [0334] a RACH configuration is associated with a RACH configuration based on at least one of: an SSB or an SSB group, and that the association is performed when the RACH configuration has the same SSB index (or SSB group index) as a corresponding RA search space. This establishes that the RACH configuration (beam-specific RACH parameter) determines the SSB index used for RA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
Regarding claim 30, Islam teaches a method (FIG. 2) of wireless communication performable at a network entity (FIG. 2 base station 105-a) (FIG. 14 device 1405), comprising:
sending a configuration including one or more beam-specific random access channel (RACH) parameters, the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters including ([0146] [0150] Base station 105-a transmits a configuration message 215 including RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, and the transmission parameters may be beam-specific):
sending a downlink reference signal to a user equipment (UE) ([0155] [0164] UE 115-a receives downlink reference signals transmitted from base station 105-a, including synchronization signals (SSs) transmitted within an SSB and/or CSI-RS, and measures their reference signal power for beam selection); and
obtaining from the UE a RACH message associated with the downlink reference signal based on the one or more beam-specific RACH parameters ([0146] [0150] base station 105-a provides beam-specific RACH transmission parameters to UE 115-a, [0156]-[0157] UE 115-a selects an SSB based on measured reference signal power and transmits the RACH message including information associated with the selected SSB).
However, Islam does not teach a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds associated with a transmission beam of a single SSB, the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds corresponding to selection of the single SSB for four-step random access and to respective quantities of preamble transmission repetitions ([0295] discloses that each RACH resources set is associated with a respective RSRP threshold and corresponds to a CE level, [0297] discloses that, when the determined RA type is a 4-step RA type, the wireless device selects an SSB from plurality of SSBs based on the measured RSRP being greater than an RSRP threshold and determines a number of preamble repetitions based on the determined CE level of the selected RACH resource subset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SSBs as taught by Zhou within the system of Islam. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve system throughput and/or robustness with high reliability (Zhou [0334]).
However, the combination of Islam and Zhou does not teach the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB.
In an analogous art, Belleschi teaches the plurality of SSB RSRP thresholds associated with the transmission beam of the single SSB being configured with different values than multiple SSB RSRP thresholds associated with a different transmission beam of a different SSB ([0159] discloses RSRP measurements from different SSB beams and threshold values A and B, [0163] discloses determining respective SSBs based on their RSRP relative values A and B, [0164] discloses adopting a different RSRP threshold based on the measured RSRP for the cell/beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a RACH configuration as taught by Belleschi within the system of Islam and Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve RACH resource allocation for different beams, thereby improving system efficiency (Belleschi [0192]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0377799 A1 (MolavianJazi et al.) discloses methods for radio frequency exposure mitigation via beam selection for random access procedure.
US 2022/0386143 A1 (GUNTURU et al.) discloses a method and a base station for communication in a high frequency network.
US 2026/0059574 A1 (SHIBAIKE et al.) discloses a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413