DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 5/29/26in which claims 1-11and 13-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 13-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,951490 to Kumaran et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 2010/0257007 to Chan et al..
a. As per claim 1, Kumaran teaches a method comprising: computing, by a controller and based on a metric associated with an application or application-group for one or more network devices a recommended service level agreement (SLA) metric for the application or application-group (See col. 2, lines 2-11); and sending, by the controller, the recommended SLA metric to at least a first network device of the one or more network devices to cause the first network device to compute, an intent-based SLA metric used to select a path on which to send traffic from the application or application-group (See col. 7, lines 39-50, Specifically, a supervisory service for a software-defined wide area network (SD-WAN) tracks a performance metric for a tunnel in the SD-WAN. The supervisory service computes a cumulative distribution function (CDF) for the tracked performance metric. The service assesses curvature of the CDF for the tracked performance metric relative to a service level agreement (SLA) threshold of an application for that performance metric. The service controls assignment of traffic for the application to the tunnel, based on the assessed curvature of the CDF for the tracked performance metric relative to the SLA threshold of the application for that performance metric). However, Kumaran fails to teach computing, by the network device and based on a user-configured intent model, an intent- based SLA metric, wherein the user-configured intent model defines a tolerance level with which to tune the recommended SLA metric received from the controller based on the defined tolerance level.
Chan teaches computing, by the network device and based on a user-configured intent model, an intent- based SLA metric, wherein the user-configured intent model defines a tolerance level with which to tune the recommended SLA metric received from the controller based on the defined tolerance level (See paragraph [0066 and 0069], users to customize metrics 308 by overwriting the default implementations of event handlers 330. This allows users to fine tune metrics 308 in the model 300).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Chan in the claimed invention of Kumaran in order to for the user accommodate the user’s restrictions and/or preferences.
b. As per claim 4, Kumaran teaches a method comprising: sending, by a network device and to a controller, a metric for the network device, wherein the metric is associated with an application or application-group (See col. 2, lines 2-11); receiving, by the network device and from the controller, a recommended service level agreement (SLA) metric associated with the application or application-group, wherein the recommended SLA metric is computed based on at least the metric from the metric for the network device; computing, by the network device, an intent-based SLA metric, wherein (See col. 7, lines 39-50, Specifically, a supervisory service for a software-defined wide area network (SD-WAN) tracks a performance metric for a tunnel in the SD-WAN. The supervisory service computes a cumulative distribution function (CDF) for the tracked performance metric. The service assesses curvature of the CDF for the tracked performance metric relative to a service level agreement (SLA) threshold of an application for that performance metric. The service controls assignment of traffic for the application to the tunnel, based on the assessed curvature of the CDF for the tracked performance metric relative to the SLA threshold of the application for that performance metric);; and selecting, by the network device and based on the intent-based SLA metric, a path on which to send traffic from the application or application-group (See col. 6, lines 52-55 and col. 8, lines 20-32, Selecting a tunnel on which the application traffic is routed is typically performed by comparing the SLA requirement of the application to what the tunnel is able to provide). However, Kumaran fails to explicitly teach computing, by the network device and based on a user-configured intent model, an intent- based SLA metric, wherein the user-configured intent model defines a tolerance level with which to tune the recommended SLA metric received from the controller based on the defined tolerance level
Chan teaches computing, by the network device and based on a user-configured intent model, an intent- based SLA metric, wherein the user-configured intent model defines a tolerance level with which to tune the recommended SLA metric received from the controller based on the defined tolerance level (See paragraph [0066 and 0069], users to customize metrics 308 by overwriting the default implementations of event handlers 330. This allows users to fine tune metrics 308 in the model 300)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Chan in the claimed invention of Kumaran in order to for the user accommodate the user’s restrictions and/or preferences.
c. AS per claim 13, Kumaran teaches a network device comprising: memory (See col. 4, lines 41-55); and one or more processors in communication with the memory (See col. 4, lines 41-55), the one or more processors configured to: send a metric of the network device to a controller, wherein the metric is associated with an application or application-group See col. 7, lines 39-50) ; receive, from the controller, a recommended service level agreement (SLA) metric associated with the application or application-group, wherein the recommended SLA metric is computed based on the metric of the network device; compute, an intent-based SLA metric (See col. 7, lines 39-50, Specifically, a supervisory service for a software-defined wide area network (SD-WAN) tracks a performance metric for a tunnel in the SD-WAN. The supervisory service computes a cumulative distribution function (CDF) for the tracked performance metric. The service assesses curvature of the CDF for the tracked performance metric relative to a service level agreement (SLA) threshold of an application for that performance metric. The service controls assignment of traffic for the application to the tunnel, based on the assessed curvature of the CDF for the tracked performance metric relative to the SLA threshold of the application for that performance metric); wherein the user-configured intent model comprises a defined tolerance level that is used to tune the recommended SLA metric based on the defined tolerance level; and select, based on the intent-based SLA metric, a path on which to send traffic from the application or application-group (See col. 6, lines 52-55 and col. 8, lines 20-32, Selecting a tunnel on which the application traffic is routed is typically performed by comparing the SLA requirement of the application to what the tunnel is able to provide). However, Kumaran fails to explicitly teach compute, based on a user-configured intent model, an intent-based SLA metric, wherein the user-configured intent model defines a tolerance level with which to comprises a defined tolerance level that is used to tune the recommended SLA metric received from the controller based on the defined tolerance level.
Chan teaches compute, based on a user-configured intent model, an intent-based SLA metric,wherein the user-configured intent model defines a tolerance level with which to comprises a defined tolerance level that is used to tune the recommended SLA metric received from the controller based on the defined tolerance level (See paragraph [0066 and 0069], users to customize metrics 308 by overwriting the default implementations of event handlers 330. This allows users to fine tune metrics 308 in the model 300).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Chan in the claimed invention of Kumaran in order to for the user accommodate the user’s restrictions and/or preferences.
d. As per claims 3 and 10, Kumaran teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Kumaran teaches wherein the metric is included in a batch of a plurality of metrics (See col. 6, lines 55-58, performance metrics such as loss, latency, or jitter. If the measured value of the metric).
e. As per claims 5 and 14, Kumaran teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Kumaran teaches wherein the metric for the network device comprises a metric for one or more links connected to the network device, wherein computing the intent-based SLA metric further comprises computing the intent- based SLA metric based on one or more characteristics of the one or more links, wherein the one or more links comprises a wireless link (See col. 2, lines 41-64), and wherein the one or more characteristics of the wireless link comprises at least one of a latency, signal strength, coverage, data rate, bandwidth per unit area, frequency, vendor or a combination thereof (See col. 6, lines 52-62).
f. As per claims 6 and 15, Kumaran teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Kumaran teaches wherein the metric for the network device comprises a metric for one or more links connected to the network device, wherein computing the intent-based SLA metric further comprises computing the intent- based SLA metric based on one or more characteristics of the one or more links, wherein the one or more links comprises a physical link (See col. 2, lines 15-40), and wherein the one or more characteristics of the physical link comprises at least a link type, support for data rate, transceiver, standard, vendor, or signal strength (See col. 2, lines 15-40).
h. As per claim20, Kumaran teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Kumaran teaches comprising: storing, by the network device, an indication of whether one or more links connected to the network device satisfy the intent-based SLA metric (See col. 10, lines 34-67 and col. 11, lines 1-3).
5. Claims 2, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,951490 to Kumaran et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 2013/0060933 to Tung et al as applied to claims 1 and 13 above and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2009/0018847 to Vanbeck et al.
a. As per claims 2, 11 and 19, Kumaran teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Kumaran fails to teach wherein computing the recommended SLA metric comprises determining a mean of an aggregate of the SLA metric received from each of the one or more network devices.
Vanbeck et al teaches wherein computing the recommended SLA metric comprises determining a mean of an aggregate of the SLA metric received from each of the one or more network devices (See paragraph [0009 and 0011]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Vanbeck et al in the claimed invention of Kumaran in order to predict long-term average number of failures against given performance targets of SLA metrics.
6. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U U.S. Patent No. 10,951490 to Kumaran et al in view U.S. Patent No. 2010/0257007 to Chan et al
as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0047999 to Wei et al.
a. As per claims 8 and 17, Kumaran teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Kumaran fails to teach selecting the path to send traffic from the application or application-group comprises determining a shortest path based on at least one of Dijkstra's algorithm, Bellman-Ford algorithm, Breadth-First Search (BFS), Depth- First Search (DFS), Floyd-Warshall algorithm, Johnson's algorithm, Kruskal's algorithm, Prim's algorithm, or Bornvka's algorithm, or a combination thereof.
Wei teaches selecting the path to send traffic from the application or application-group comprises determining a shortest path based on at least one of Dijkstra's algorithm, Bellman-Ford algorithm, Breadth-First Search (BFS), Depth- First Search (DFS), Floyd-Warshall algorithm, Johnson's algorithm, Kruskal's algorithm, Prim's algorithm, or Bornvka's algorithm (See paragraph [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wei et al in the claimed invention of Kumaran in view of Chan et al in order to select the shortest path accurately.
7. Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,951490 to Kumaran et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 2010/0257007 to Chan et al
as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0326598 to Vasseur et al
a. As per claim 9 and 18, Kumaran teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Kumaran fails to teach wherein the metric is determined using a measurement protocol comprising at least one of a real-time performance monitoring (RPM), one-way active measurement protocol (OWAMP), two-way active measurement protocol (TWAMP), active probing, passive-probing, or protocol deep packet inspection (DPI) engines, or a combination thereof.
Vasseur et al teaches wherein the metric is determined using a measurement protocol comprising at least one of a real-time performance monitoring (RPM), one-way active measurement protocol (OWAMP), two-way active measurement protocol (TWAMP), active probing, passive-probing, or protocol deep packet inspection (DPI) engines (See paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Vasseur et al in the claimed invention of Kumaran in view of Chan et al in order to measure metrics on the set of paths.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 7, 16 and 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444