DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Fig. 2 of Lee as labeled by examiner below discloses the claimed invention.
Lee discloses wherein the display panel includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and
wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction DR2, respectively, and the second packages do not overlap or partially overlap with the first packages in a second direction DR3 which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. 20210033909.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-2 of Lee discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel DP displaying data on a screen; and
a plurality of first packages (left 2 GDR1 as labeled by examiner above) and a plurality of second packages (right 2 GDR1 as labeled by examiner above) where chips (IC1/iC1) for driving the display panel are installed, the first packages and the second packages being attached to an end portion of the display panel,
wherein the display panel includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and
wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction DR2, respectively, and the second packages do not overlap or partially overlap with the first packages in a second direction DR3 which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 12, figs. 1-2 of Lee discloses a substrate package attached to an end portion of a display panel, which displays data on a screen, comprising:
a plurality of first packages (left 2 GDR1 as labeled by examiner above) and a plurality of second packages (right 2 GDR1 as labeled by examiner above) where chips (IC1/IC1) for driving the display panel are installed, the first packages and the second packages being attached to an end portion of the display panel,
wherein the display panel includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and
wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction DR2, respectively, and the second packages do not overlap or partially overlap with the first packages in a second direction DR3 which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, figs. 1-2 of Lee discloses a display device comprising: wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in parallel (DR2 direction) to each other along a length direction of the display panel.
Regarding claim 5, figs. 6-10 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are chip-on-films (COFs – ACF1).
Regarding claim 6, fig. 1 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged such that their surfaces where the chips are installed are oriented in the same direction DR2.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 1 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged such that their surfaces where the chips are installed are oriented in opposite directions (left and right sides are opposite).
Regarding claim 8, fig. 2 of Lee discloses wherein among the first packages, two different first packages are attached at a distance from each other.
Regarding claim 11, figs. 6 and 9 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are bent (to a degree as bent is a term of degree) over toward one surface or the other surface of the display panel after attached to the display panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to form a display panel comprising wherein the distance between the two different first packages varies depending on a type of the display panel and the type of the display panel affects the side of the panel and therefore changes the distance to some degree.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to form a display panel comprising wherein the distance between the two different first packages varies depending on a length and channel quantity of the first packages, resolution, subpixel quantity, and a length of one side of the display panel as these variables affect the size of the display panel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893