DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 05/28/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Lee discloses wherein the display panel includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and
wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction DR2, respectively, and the second packages partially overlap (FPC1 and IC1 partially overlap as IC1 is only partially as big as FPC1) with the first packages in a second direction DR1 which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claims 1 and 11, “the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction, respectively, and the second packages partially overlap with the first packages in a second direction which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recites “the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction, respectively, and the second packages partially overlap with the first packages in a second direction which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction” is new matter.
Applicant fig. 5 discloses “the first packages 131s and the second packages 121/122 are attached to on opposite side surface and not on same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction 10, respectively, and the second packages partially overlap with the first packages in a second direction which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction”.
Note fig. 5 of applicant discloses “the first packages 131s and the second packages 121/122 are attached to on opposite side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction 10, respectively, and the second packages partially overlap with the first packages in a second direction which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction”. As such this is new matter.
Claims 1, 3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recites “the first packages” and “the second packages” in lines 4-9 lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear if the “the first packages” is a subset of the plurality of first packages and if “the second packages” is a subset of the plurality of second packages.
Claims 3, 5-7 and 11 recites “the first packages” and “the second packages” in lines 4-9 lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear if the “the first packages” is a subset of the plurality of first packages and if “the second packages” is a subset of the plurality of second packages.
Claims 6-7 recites “their surfaces” lacks antecedent basis. Is surfaces that of each packages or a single surface from each packages making surfaces as claimed. It is unclear and indefinite as to what surfaces are their surfaces.
Claim 6 recites “the same direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 8-10 recites “the first packages” and “two different first packages” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 recites “the other surface” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. 20210033909.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-2 of Lee discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel DP displaying data on a screen; and
a plurality of first packages (FPC1 as labeled by examiner above) and a plurality of second packages (IC1 as labeled by examiner above) where chips (both have chips in them) for driving the display panel are installed, the first packages and the second packages being attached to an end portion of the display panel,
wherein the display panel includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and
wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction DR2, respectively, and the second packages partially overlap (FPC1 and IC1 partially overlap as IC1 is only partially as big as FPC1) with the first packages in a second direction DR1 which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 12, figs. 1-2 of Lee discloses a substrate package attached to an end portion of a display panel, which displays data on a screen, comprising:
a plurality of first packages (FPC1 as labeled by examiner above) and a plurality of second packages (IC1 as labeled by examiner above) where chips (both have chips in them) for driving the display panel are installed, the first packages and the second packages being attached to an end portion of the display panel,
wherein the display panel includes a plurality of side surfaces, and the first packages and the second packages are attached to same side surface among the plurality of side surfaces, and
wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in a first direction DR2, respectively, and the second packages partially overlap (FPC1 and IC1 partially overlap as IC1 is only partially as big as FPC1) with the first packages in a second direction DR1 which is a direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, figs. 1-2 of Lee discloses a display device comprising: wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged in parallel to each other along a length direction of the display panel.
Regarding claim 5, figs. 6-10 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are chip-on-films (COFs – ACF1).
Regarding claim 6, fig. 1 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged such that their surfaces where the chips are installed are oriented in the same direction.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 1 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are arranged such that their surfaces where the chips are installed are oriented in opposite directions (left and right sides are opposite).
Regarding claim 8, fig. 2 of Lee discloses wherein among the first packages, two different first packages are attached at a distance from each other.
Regarding claim 11, figs. 6 and 9 of Lee discloses wherein the first packages and the second packages are bent (to a degree as bent is a term of degree) over toward one surface or the other surface of the display panel after attached to the display panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to form a display panel comprising wherein the distance between the two different first packages varies depending on a type of the display panel and the type of the display panel affects the side of the panel and therefore changes the distance to some degree.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to form a display panel comprising wherein the distance between the two different first packages varies depending on a length and channel quantity of the first packages, resolution, subpixel quantity, and a length of one side of the display panel as these variables affect the size of the display panel.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893