DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiments, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (EP 3460927) in view of Tian (CN 109560461), hereinafter Tian II.
With respect to claims 1 and 20, Tian discloses a laser projection device comprising: a light source (1000 in fig.22), configured to emit a laser beam (see the laser beam of laser light source 1000); an optical machine (see 2000 in fig.22), configured to modulate a beam incident to the optical machine based on an image signal (see video signal in fig.22); and a lens head (3000 fig.22), configured to form a projection image by projecting a beam incident to the lens head; wherein light source, comprising: a laser array (see the laser array of ), wherein the laser array comprises: a substrate (301); but does not disclose a first row of laser chips disposed on the substrate, wherein the first row of laser chips comprises at least one first-color laser chip and at least one second-color laser chip, the first-color laser chip and the second-color laser chip emitting laser beams of different colors; and a second row of laser chips disposed on the substrate, wherein the second row of laser chips comprises at least three third-color laser chips; wherein central wavelengths of two adjacent third-color laser chips in the second row of laser chips are different.
Tian II discloses a light source, comprising: a laser array (303 in fig.3), wherein the laser array comprises: a substrate (see 301 in fig.3); a first row of laser chips (see any row in fig.3, 302) disposed on the substrate (301), wherein the first row of laser chips comprises at least one first-color laser chip and at least one second-color laser chip (see 11th para.: the light emitting chip of the laser array beam can be emitted in blue, and can be can be green, or red, or part of the light emitting chip emits blue light, the other part of the luminous chip which gives out red light or green light, can also be part of the light-emitting chip emits blue light.), the first- color laser chip and the second-color laser chip emitting laser beams of different colors (see disclosed of red or green as discussed above); and a second row of laser chips disposed on the substrate, wherein the second row of laser chips comprises at least three third-color laser chips (and see disclosure 12th para.: on the same metal strip, which can be fixed with the emitting chip of one colour light )); wherein central wavelengths of two adjacent third-color laser chips in the second row of laser chips are different (see third para. from the claims In one embodiment of the invention, if there are multiple light emitting chips emit light of the same color in the laser array, a light emitting chip either blue, red or green, then the multiple light emitting chips in the adjacent light beam emitted wavelength is different, that is, there is a certain wavelength difference.” and see disclosure: on the same metal strip, which can be fixed with the emitting chip of one colour light ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tian with the teaching of Tian so that a first row of laser chips disposed on the substrate, wherein the first row of laser chips comprises at least one first-color laser chip and at least one second-color laser chip, the first-color laser chip and the second-color laser chip emitting laser beams of different colors; and a second row of laser chips disposed on the substrate, wherein the second row of laser chips comprises at least three third-color laser chips; wherein central wavelengths of two adjacent third-color laser chips in the second row of laser chips are different to reduce speckle.
With respect to claim 2, Tian in view of Tian II, hereinafter Tian II discloses the light source according to claim 1, Tan in combination with Tan II discloses wherein a central wavelength of each third-color laser chip in the second row of laser chips differs in sequence from an edge region to a central region along a row direction of the second row of laser chips (In one embodiment of the invention, if there are multiple light emitting chips emit light of the same color in the laser array, a light emitting chip either blue, red or green, then the multiple light emitting chips in the adjacent light beam emitted wavelength is different, that is, there is a certain wavelength difference” and see disclosure: on the same metal strip, which can be fixed with the emitting chip of one colour light (see Tan II)) but does not disclose increases in sequence from an edge region to a central region along a row direction of the second row of laser chips.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Tian in view of Tan II so that a central wavelength of each third-color laser chip in the second row of laser chips differs in sequence from an edge region to a central region along a row direction of the second row of laser chips increases in sequence from an edge region to a central region along a row direction of the second row of laser chips, since it would predictably reduce speckle and since it would be obvious to try by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (see 16 different configurations), with a reasonable expectation of success Id. at 903, 7 USPQ2d at 1681.
With respect to claim 3, Tian in view of Tian II discloses the light source according to claim 1, Tian in combination with Tian II wherein the third-color laser chip is configured to emit red laser beams (see disclosure of red laser diode: the light emitting chip of the laser array beam can be emitted in blue, and can be can be green, or red, or part of the light emitting chip emits blue light, the other part of the luminous chip which gives out red light or green light, can also be part of the light-emitting chip emits blue light, part of the light emitting chip emits red light, one light emitting chip emits green light. see Tian II).
With respect to claim 4, Tian in view of Tan II discloses the light source according to claim 3, Tian in combination with Tian II discloses wherein the second row of laser chips comprises at least one first red laser chip disposed in the central region and at least two second red laser chips disposed on two sides of the at least one first red laser chip (see disclosure of metal strip of all the same color and the disclosure of red led: see disclosure of red laser diode: the light emitting chip of the laser array beam can be emitted in blue, and can be can be green, or red, or part of the light emitting chip emits blue light, the other part of the luminous chip which gives out red light or green light, can also be part of the light-emitting chip emits blue light, part of the light emitting chip emits red light, one light emitting chip emits green light (see 13th para. of Tan) ) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one first red laser chip has a first central wavelength, and among the at least two second red laser chips, central wavelengths of two second red laser chips which are equidistant from the central region are equal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Tian in view of Tan II so that wherein the at least one first red laser chip has a first central wavelength, and among the at least two second red laser chips, central wavelengths of two second red laser chips which are equidistant from the central region are equal, since it would predictably reduce speckle and since it would be obvious to try by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (see 16 different configurations), with a reasonable expectation of success Id. at 903, 7 USPQ2d at 1681.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Tian in view of Tan II discloses The light source according to claim 3, Tian in combination with Tian II discloses wherein the first-color laser chip is configured to emit a blue laser beam, and the second-color laser chip is configured to emit a green laser beam (the other part of the luminous chip which gives out red light or green light, can also be part of the light-emitting chip emits blue light, part of the light emitting chip emits red light, one light emitting chip emits green light); but does not disclose at least one of two edge regions in a row direction of the first row of laser chips is provided with the first-color laser chip, wherein both the two edge regions in the row direction of the first row of laser chips are provided with the first-color laser chips; at least one first-color laser chip is disposed between two first-color laser chips respectively disposed in the two edge regions in the row direction of the first row of laser chips, and is disposed between two second-color laser chips.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Tian in view of Tan II so that at least one of two edge regions in a row direction of the first row of laser chips is provided with the first-color laser chip, wherein both the two edge regions in the row direction of the first row of laser chips are provided with the first-color laser chips; at least one first-color laser chip is disposed between two first-color laser chips respectively disposed in the two edge regions in the row direction of the first row of laser chips, and is disposed between two second-color laser chips, since it would predictably reduce speckle and since it would be obvious to try by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (see 4 possible different configurations), with a reasonable expectation of success Id. at 903, 7 USPQ2d at 1681.
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (EP 3460927) in view of Tian (CN 109560461), hereinafter Tian II and Li (US 20240004208 A1).
With respect to claims 7-9 , Tian in view of Tian II discloses the light source according to claim 3, wherein the first-color laser chip is configured to emit a blue laser beam, and the second-color laser chip is configured to emit a green laser beam (see disclosure of metal strip of all the same color and the disclosure of red led: see disclosure of red laser diode: the light emitting chip of the laser array beam can be emitted in blue, and can be can be green, or red, or part of the light emitting chip emits blue light, the other part of the luminous chip which gives out red light or green light, can also be part of the light-emitting chip emits blue light, part of the light emitting chip emits red light, one light emitting chip emits green light (see 13th para. of Tan) ), wherein a number of the third-color laser chips is more than the number of the second-color laser chips (see disclose all red row [(see third para. from the claims: In one embodiment of the invention, if there are multiple light emitting chips emit light of the same color in the laser array, a light emitting chip either blue, red or green, then the multiple light emitting chips in the adjacent light beam emitted wavelength is different, that is, there is a certain wavelength difference.” and see disclosure: on the same metal strip, which can be fixed with the emitting chip of one colour light )] and a blue and green row [see disclosure of metal strip of all the same color and the disclosure of red led: see disclosure of red laser diode: the light emitting chip of the laser array beam can be emitted in blue, and can be can be green, or red, or part of the light emitting chip emits blue light, the other part of the luminous chip which gives out red light or green light, can also be part of the light-emitting chip emits blue light, part of the light emitting chip emits red light, one light emitting chip emits green light (see 13th para. of Tan)] wherein 5 per row is discloses in the 303 of fig.2), wherein the number of the third-color laser chips is equal to a sum of the number of the first-color laser chips and the number of the second-color laser chips (wherein 5 per row is discloses in the 303 of fig.2) but does not disclose in the first row of laser chips, a number of the second-color laser chips is greater than a number of the first-color laser chips.
Li teaches having greater number of the second-color laser chips is greater than a number of the first-color laser chips (see 1214G in fig.12G than 1214B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first row of laser chips of Tian in view of Tian II with the teaching of Li so that a number of the second-color laser chips is greater than a number of the first-color laser chips to enhance the color gamut.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 – 14 are allowed.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious The light source according to claim 1, wherein the laser array further comprises three first conductive pins and one second conductive pin that are disposed on the substrate; wherein the three first conductive pins are respectively connected to a first end of a plurality of third-color laser chips connected in series, a first end of a plurality of first-color laser chips connected in series, and a first end of a plurality of second-color laser chips connected in series; the second conductive pin is connected to a second end of the plurality of third-color laser chips connected in series, a second end of the plurality of first-color laser chips connected in series, and a second end of the plurality of second-color laser chips connected in series; and one of the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin is a positive pin and another is a negative pin.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a laser array comprising a substrate, and a first row of laser chips and a second row of laser chips disposed on the substrate, wherein the first row of laser chips comprises at least one first- color laser chip and at least one second-color laser chip, the first-color laser chip and the second- color laser chip emitting laser beams of different colors; and wherein the second row of laser chips comprises at least three third-color laser chips, central wavelengths of two adjacent third-color laser chips in the second row of laser chips being different; a combining mirror group, configured to combine laser beams emitted by the laser array; and a shaping mirror group, configured to receive a beam exited from the combining mirror group and to shape the beam as received, such that a width of a light spot of the beam exited from the shaping mirror group in a long side direction of the light spot is less than a width of a light spot of the beam incident to the shaping mirror group in a long side direction of the light spot.
Claims 12-14 are allowed as being dependent from an allowed claim.
The closest prior art of record Tan II discloses a light source, comprising: a laser array (303 in fig.3), wherein the laser array comprises: a substrate (see 301 in fig.3); a first row of laser chips (see any row in fig.3, 302) disposed on the substrate (301), wherein the first row of laser chips comprises at least one first-color laser chip and at least one second-color laser chip (see 11th para.: the light emitting chip of the laser array beam can be emitted in blue, and can be can be green, or red, or part of the light emitting chip emits blue light, the other part of the luminous chip which gives out red light or green light, can also be part of the light-emitting chip emits blue light.), the first- color laser chip and the second-color laser chip emitting laser beams of different colors (see disclosed of red or green as discussed above); and a second row of laser chips disposed on the substrate, wherein the second row of laser chips comprises at least three third-color laser chips (and see disclosure 12th para.: on the same metal strip, which can be fixed with the emitting chip of one colour light )); wherein central wavelengths of two adjacent third-color laser chips in the second row of laser chips are different (see third para. from the claims In one embodiment of the invention, if there are multiple light emitting chips emit light of the same color in the laser array, a light emitting chip either blue, red or green, then the multiple light emitting chips in the adjacent light beam emitted wavelength is different, that is, there is a certain wavelength difference.” and see disclosure: on the same metal strip, which can be fixed with the emitting chip of one colour light ) but does not disclose the limitation of claim 10-14.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882