DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment filed July 16, 2026, amended claims 1, 4, 7-8, 22-23 and 41; canceled claims 2-3, 6, 13, 15-17, 19, 21, 24-30, 33-36, 38-40, 42 and 44-59; and new claims 60-61 are acknowledged. The following new grounds of rejection are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
GROUND 2: Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-12, 20, 22-23, 41, 43 and 60-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,627,339 to Bushman.
In regard to claims 1 and 41, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, and method, which comprises:
a holding assembly 28/30/32/34 to hold an avocado, wherein the holding assembly comprises a first side and a second side laterally moveable relative to the first side (See Figs. 1, 6 and Col. 6, Lines 17-54);
a loading assembly 16/52/60 to load one avocado into the holding assembly from a plurality of avocados (see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 5, Lines 12-41);
a cutting assembly 18/20/74 to cut the avocado into a first part and a second part parts while the avocado is held in the holding assembly such that the first part is secured in the first side of the holding assembly and the second part is secured in the second side of the holding assembly (See Fig. 2, 7-8 and Col. 5, Lines 43-67);
a motor or actuator 32/34 arranged with the holding assembly to laterally separate the first side of the holding assembly from the second side of the holding assembly while the first side of the holding assembly carries the first part of the avocado and the second side of the holding assembly carries the second part of the avocado, thereby pulling the first part of the avocado from the second part of avocado (see Fig. 14 and Col. 6, Lines 17-54 and Col. 8, Line 65 - Col. 9, Line 3);
and a food collection assembly 40/42/44 to sort and collect edible parts from nonedible parts of the avocado (see Fig. 1 and Col. 4, Lines 47-64).
In regard to claim 4, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the cutting assembly further comprises at least one opposing blade 18, 20 for cutting the avocado into the first part and the second part (See Figs. 7-9 and Col. 5, Lines 42-68).
In regard to claim 7, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, further comprising at least one elongate member 18, 20 arranged to penetrate at least one of the first part of the avocado and the second part of the avocado while secured in the first side or second side of the holding assembly respectively (See Figs. 10-12 and Col. 5, Lines 42-68).
In regard to claims 8 and 43, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the first side is a first half, and the second side is a second half, and wherein each of said first half and second half comprises a first tool 102 operable to extract the flesh from the skin (see Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 9, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the first tool comprises a pair of rotating members 84/90/104/106 (See Fig. 10 and Col. 6, Line 55 - Col. 7, Line 2).
In regard to claim 10, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the rotating members are separated by a gap having an adjustable size, and spring loaded to prevent the gap from freely spreading (See Fig. 10 and Col. 6, Line 55 - Col. 7, Line 2). Pneumatic devices are well known in the art to include springs and/or hydraulics for producing a desired pressure of engagement.
In regard to claim 11, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein each rotating member comprises a gripping feature 70 (see Col. 6, Lines 1-9).
In regard to claim 12, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein each pair of rotating members are controllable to turn such that when a skin-side of an avocado half is in contact with the pair of rotating members, the skin is drawn into the gap, and the flesh is extracted from the skin (See Col. 6, Line 55 - Col. 7, Line 2).
In regard to claim 20, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the loading assembly further comprises an orientation assembly 16a-b for centering a main axis of the avocado along a target axis and presenting the avocado to the cutting assembly (See Figs. 5-8 and Col. 5, Lines 12-41).
In regard to claim 22, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the orientation assembly comprises radially adjustable opposing funnel-shaped members (See Figs. 5-8 and Col. 5, Lines 12-41).
In regard to claim 23, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the orientation assembly comprises a release mechanism arranged below the orientation assembly (See Figs. 5-8 and Col. 5, Lines 12-41).
In regard to claims 60-61, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system, wherein the at least one opposing blade comprises a first blade 18 that is arrangeable with the first side of the holding assembly to secure the first part of the avocado in the first side, and a second blade 20 that is arrangeable with the second side of the holding assembly to secure the second part of the avocado in the second side when the first side of the holding assembly is separated from the second side of the holding assembly, thereby pulling the first part of the avocado from the second part of the avocado (See Figs. 6-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
GROUND 2: Claim(s) 14, 18, 32 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,627,339 to Bushman in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0315252 to Crescenzo.
In regard to claims 14 and 18, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system (See rejections above) but is silent with respect to wherein the loading assembly comprises a hopper adapted to receive a plurality of avocados. Crescenzo teaches of an analogous avocado processing system comprising a known-type shuffle feeder 1 to hold a plurality of avocados waiting processing and meter the avocados from to a loading assembly (see Figs. 1, 3 and para 0031-0033). It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the system of Bushman to include a hopper for holding a plurality of avocados and metering the avocadoes to the loading system, making the system more efficient as taught by Crescenzo and is extremely well known in the art.
In regard to claims 32 and 37, Bushman discloses an automated avocado processing system (See rejections above) but is silent with respect to a tracker and/or a computing device, power supply, and a plurality of sensors programmed and operable to control the loading, cutting and food collection assemblies. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to automate the apparatus of Bushman, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192. Further evidence in the art of having a system controlled by computing means is provided by Crescenzo which teaches of an automated avocado processing system controlled by means of a programmable logic computer (see para 0043).
GROUND 3: Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,627,339 to Bushman in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0266196 to Mann et al.
In regard to claim 32, Bushman discloses a method for processing an avocado (see rejections above) but is silent with respect to wherein the food collection assembly is configured as a retractable drawer. Mann et al. teach of an analogous food processing machine having retractable drawer 6, 8 to store food (See Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the hopper of Bushman to be retractable to provide a more user-friendly storage component, as well as protection to the processed fruit, as taught by Mann et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 7-12, 14, 18, 20, 22-23, 31-32, 37, 41, 43 and 60-61 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J KASZTEJNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993