DETAILED ACTION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 15 filed on May 9, 2026, along with the accompanying arguments in the Remarks, have been fully considered. However, the arguments are unpersuasive, and the newly added limitations fail to overcome the combined teachings of Gorbachov et al. (US 2015/0015339 A1) and Xie et al. (US 2013/0257543 A1) .
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose or suggest controlling an inter-stage adjustment circuit based on a "detected index of the any stage" of a multi-stage power amplification circuit. Applicant further asserts that modifying Xie’s circuit to use a "detected index" instead of fixed, predetermined thresholds would render Xie’s circuit unsatisfactory for its intended purpose under In re Gordon. The Examiner disagrees with these contentions for the following reasons:
Applicant defines the "index" in dependent claim 6 as comprising a bias voltage or an operation current of the power amplifier.
Xie explicitly teaches a threshold-based comparator circuit that detects overcurrent or overvoltage by directly monitoring and sensing real-time operational parameters —specifically sensing current (Isense) and comparing it to a reference (Vref). This sensing mechanism inherently constitutes a "detected index" (voltage/current values dynamically read from the circuit).
Gorbachov similarly relies on dynamic circuit parameters, teaching input power detector voltages feeding a comparator circuit to activate protection.
Hence, mapping the generic term "detected index" to real-time parameters vs. static reference thresholds is a distinction without a patentable difference. The prior art must measure a variable circuit metric (the dynamic index) to compare it against a benchmark.
Applicant states that replacing Xie’s fixed thresholds with a "detected index" would make the circuit unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. However, the proposed combination does not replace thresholds entirely; rather, it uses Xie's method of evaluating circuit states to drive a timed delay switch within Gorbachov's multi-stage network.
Furthermore, Xie's baseline framework relies on sensing real-time internal levels. Incorporating a timed recovery state after an index falls below a designated safe zone does not destroy Xie's circuit utility; it optimizes it dynamically, matching the predictable outcome of combining known timing elements for power stabilization.
Applicant points to the functional language appended to claims 1 and 15 ("preventing damages... in a process of establishing a steady state") as a point of distinction not touched upon by the Examiner.
It is well-established that purely functional clauses detailing the intended result of an architecture do not impart patentable weight if the structural elements executing those functions are rendered obvious by the art. Because Gorbachov teaches multi-stage attenuation and Xie explicitly teaches an RC delay network designed to keep a protection switch off for a designated safety window to allow stabilization, the underlying physical structures are present. The capability to protect the circuit during steady-state transitions is an inherent property of the structural combination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorbachov et al. (US 2015/0015339 A1) in view of Xie et al. (US 2013/0257543 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gorbachov discloses a circuit for protecting a power amplifier (RF power-amplifier circuits and input-power limiter circuits … mitigating voltage and current overstress of transistors utilized in RF power amplifiers. Therefore, it is a circuit for protecting a power amplifier, §0013-§0016) comprising:
a multistage power amplifier circuit (first PA stage 20, second PA stage 22, inter-stage matching network 21, §0039-§0040, Fig. 1) with a matching/adjustment network (Provides an inter-stage adjustment network located in series between adjacent PA stages. Transistor Q3, controlled by control circuit 42, changes the inter-stage impedance and thereby adjusts gain or protects the PA from overstress—corresponds to inter-stage adjustment circuit, §0053-§0056, Fig. 5).
Gorbachov also teaches (§0043–§0049, §0054–0056 and FIG. 5 (control circuit 42, power detector 36, comparator logic: control circuit drives switch Q3 when input power detector voltage exceeds reference value: Q3 changes its impedance to reduce gain and protect the PA. This corresponds to overload detection and protection activation. Gorbachov thus discloses turning an inter-stage circuit from its nominal (ON) state to an altered (OFF or reduced-gain) state when overload protection is triggered. Gorbachov enables protection based on a detected index of any stage (Gorbachov teaches the general multi-stage architecture and tracking localized signal levels to trigger protection, wherein the control architecture utilizes an input power detector to track signal spikes. When the dynamic voltage generated by this power detector climbs past a designated benchmark level, the comparator logic commands a change in internal impedance states to mitigate operational overstress and lower the overall amplification gain, §0043-§0049). However, in this context Xie discloses the precise localized tracking mechanism. Xie teaches a comparator (in the block 201, in fig. 2) that continually measures a real-time current parameter (Isense) read directly from a localized internal circuit junction and matches it against a specified reference threshold (Vref) to determine an exact overcurrent or overvoltage state.
In terms of the amended claim limitation "control the inter-stage adjustment circuit to be in a turn-on state, after a preset time elapses...", Gorbachov describes a system that features a hysteresis block which automatically returns the amplifier network back to its normal, default bias configuration once an overstress situation has terminated. However, it lacks a dedicated, rigid clock delay (§0049).
Xie fills this exact gap by teaching a protection layout equipped with a deliberate resistor-capacitor (RC) delay network. This delay loop is specifically designed to suppress the immediate re-activation of the system, keeping the main power amplifier pathways locked down in a safe state for a distinct, pre-calculated interval (§0031-§0034). It only permits the system to return to a standard operational state after that specific temporal safety window has completely expired (§0072-§0088). This delay ensures the switch remains safe/off for a specified interval and only reenables after a preset time has elapsed (§0072- §0088, Fig. 5) following fault clearance, explicitly managing steady-state recovery. Xie also teaches tracking operational indices (sensed currents/voltages) across device junctions to determine fault states.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time of the invention to modify Gorbachov's control circuit to incorporate Xie's multi-parameter sensing structure and RC delay network. This integration ensures that when an overload index is triggered at any stage of Gorbachov's multi-stage device , the inter-stage attenuation switch Q3 locks open and waits for a preset relaxation window. This is a predictable use of an old timing element for its known function of preventing transient signal overstress during power stabilization. The resulting circuit holds the inter-stage switch open until the preset time expires, inherently fulfilling your functional clause of "preventing incoming signals from burning out the power amplifier after the circuit returns to a steady state".
Therefore, the combination of Gorbachov and Xie renders the subject matter of claim 1 obvious.
Regarding Claim 2, Gorbachov explicitly discloses an inter-stage matching and control network disposed between successive amplifier stages, including later stages of a multi-stage power amplifier (See Gorbachov, Fig. 1, inter-stage network 21 positioned between amplifier stages 12 and 13, and Fig. 5, adjustable inter-stage network 52 between later gain stages).
Regarding Claim 3, Gorbachov teaches that each amplifier stage may be provided with its own inter-stage matching and control circuitry, enabling stage-by- stage gain and protection control (See Gorbachov, Fig. 2, showing multiple amplifier stages 12a–12c with corresponding inter-stage networks 21a–21c, and § §0046–§0048).
Applying the same adjustment circuit between every adjacent stage is a predictable extension of the disclosed architecture.
Regarding Claim 4, Gorbachov discloses a power detector circuit that senses excessive power conditions and outputs a control signal to a controller (See Gorbachov, Fig. 1, power detector 36 feeding control circuit 42, and Fig. 2, overload detection block 36 coupled to controller 42). Xie further reinforces this structure by teaching overload detection circuitry outputting signals to a controller for protective action (see Xie, Fig. 3, detector 310 coupled to controller 320).
Regarding Claim 5, Gorbachov explicitly teaches reducing bias current and operating point of amplifier stages in response to overload detection (See Gorbachov, Fig. 2, control circuit 42 adjusting bias of amplifier 12, and §0049 describing quiescent current reduction. Xie further teaches turning off or disabling an amplifier during fault conditions (see Xie, Fig. 4, switch 410 disabling PA 400).
Regarding Claim 6, Xie expressly discloses comparing sensed voltage/current values against a threshold to determine overload (See Xie, Fig. 3), comparator 315 comparing sensed current Isense to reference Vref, §0036–§0038. Gorbachov similarly teaches threshold-based detection of excessive power conditions using detector 36.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Xie expressly teaches separate over-voltage and over-current detection circuits for amplifier protection (See Xie, Fig. 3, voltage detector 312 and current detector 311, §0037. Gorbachov’s power detector 36 inherently monitors voltage and current conditions associated with excessive RF power.
Regarding Claim 9, Gorbachov discloses hysteresis and recovery behavior, wherein the protection circuit restores normal amplifier operation once overload conditions cease (See Gorbachov, Fig. 2, hysteresis circuit 44, §0049 describing return to normal bias). Xie similarly teaches recovery after fault clearance (see Xie, §0042).
Regarding Claim 10, Gorbachov teaches the use of timing and hysteresis delays to allow amplifier stabilization before restoring full operation (See Gorbachov, Fig. 2, delay element within hysteresis circuit 44, §0049). Such timing delays are well-known and routine in amplifier protection circuits.
Regarding Claim 11, Gorbachov explicitly teaches that inter-stage networks remain fully conductive during normal operation and are modified only upon overload detection (See Gorbachov, Fig. 5, switch 53 in default closed state during non-overload conditions).
Regarding Claims 12–14, Gorbachov expressly discloses both: Switch-based inter-stage control (See Gorbachov, Fig. 5, switch 53 controlled by control circuit 42) and Adjustable attenuation networks (See Gorbachov, Fig. 7, variable attenuator 72 between amplifier stages). Claims 13 and 14 merely specify control of insertion loss and switching behavior already shown in these figures.
Claim 15 recites a method corresponding to circuit of claim 1, wherein, Gorbachov and Xie both disclose methods of detecting overload, modifying inter-stage signal paths, and restoring normal operation (See Gorbachov, §0046–§0049 and Xie, §0035–§0043).
Conclusion
/HAFIZUR RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843.