DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification states “a II-IV compound such as ZnSe as a layer material” in pages 20 and 21. However, ZnSe is not a II-IV compound but a II-VI compound.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 and 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 states “thickness of 10 [nm] or more and 150 [nm] or less” . It should read thickness of 10nm or more but less than 150nm.
Claim 7 states “10 [nm] or more and 50 [nm] or less”. It should read thickness of 10nm or more but less than 50nm.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 states “the passivation layer contains a II-IV compound semiconductor material as a layer material”. However, the Specification states “a II-IV compound such as ZnSe as a layer material” in pages 20-21; in addition, ZnSe appears 12 times in the Specification. However, ZnSe is a II-VI compound not a II-IV compound; consequently raise doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim 2-4, and 10-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 states “the passivation layer is a layer substantially lattice matched with the layered structure.”. It is not clear what the applicant means with the term “substantially” since the Specification does not provide further definition. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider “a layer substantially lattice matched with the layered structure” as “a layer lattice matched with the layered structure” .
Claim 4 states “the passivation layer contains a II-IV compound semiconductor material as a layer material”. However, the Specification indicates a ZnSe compound as a II-IV compound semiconductor material on pages 20-21 which is incorrect since ZnSe is a II-VI compound semiconductor material. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider “a II-IV compound semiconductor material” as a “a II-VI compound semiconductor material”.
Claims 3 are rejected due to their dependency with claim 2.
Claim 10 and 12 states the term “ultra-high vacuum”; however, it is not clear what ultra-high vacuum is considered since the Specification does not specifies a range to be consider ultra-high vacuum. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider the term “ultra-high vacuum” as any vacuum pressure value.
Claims 11, and 13-20 are rejected due to their dependency with claim 10 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (US Patent US-20100232464-A1) in view of Zhang (US Patent US-20170310077-A1), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi teaches a semiconductor laser device (Figs. 4 & 5a laser 10) comprising:
a layered structure (Figs. 5a structure 11) in which
a first conductivity type cladding layer (Figs. 5a n-cladding 12-2), an active layer (Fig. 5a active layer 12-4s), a second conductivity type cladding layer (Fig. 5a p-cladding 12-6), and a contact layer (Fig. 5a contact 12-7) are layered in a first direction (Fig. 5a layers in structure 11 are layered in “y” direction ass seen in Fig. 4),
the layered structure (Fig. 5a structure 11) including
a facet in a second direction (Fig. 4 side of the laser 10 in “z” direction) intersecting the first direction (Fig. 4 side of the laser 10 intersects the “y” direction) ,
the facet outputting laser light (Fig. 4 side of the laser 10 outputs laser light 18),
a non-window region formed at least in a central portion in the second direction (Figs. 4 & 5a non-window region 15b is formed in a central portion of “z” direction), and
a window region formed between the non-window region and the facet (Figs. 4 & 5a window region 15a formed between 15b and side of laser 10 ),
the window region having a bandgap larger than a bandgap of the non-window region (Fig. 5a bandgap of 15a larger than 15b, see [0062]);
a first electrode electrically connected to the first conductivity type cladding layer (Fig. 5 electrode 23 electrically connected to cladding 12-1);
a second electrode that is formed on the contact layer (Fig. 5a electrode 22 formed on top of layer 12-7) and
constitutes a current path through the layered structure with the first electrode (it is inherent that electrode 22 constitutes a current path through structure 11 with electrode 23);
a dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 5b reflection film 19 & 20 are made of dielectric material, see [0070]).
Taniguchi fails to teach a passivation layer formed on the facet and having a bandgap larger than the bandgap of the window region; a dielectric reflecting coating configured to cover an opposite side of the passivation layer from the facet.
However, Zhang teaches a passivation layer formed on the facet (Fig. 7 passivation epitaxial layer 702 is formed in the facet of laser 700 made of ZnSe or GaAs, see [0040]); a dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 7 AR704 & HR706 are made of dielectric material, see [0081]) configured to cover an opposite side of the passivation layer from the facet (Fig. 7 AR704 & HR706 configured to cover an opposite side of the passivation layer 702 from the facet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device with a passivation layer taught by Zhang (e.g. having passivation epitaxial layer 702 from Zhang in between the facet of laser 10 and the reflectors 10&20 from Taniguchi; it is inherent that this modification would result in a bandgap of the passivation layer larger than the bandgap of the window region because the passivation layer and the structured layer from the Taniguchi’s modified device are the same material as the applicant: from the Specification page 20 passivation layer is made of ZnSe , and the structure layer 11 from Taniguchi is a GaAs-based semiconductor, see [0049], which is the same as the Applicant, from the Specification page 20 states “ layered structure 10 made of a GaAs-based semiconductor material”) because it would reduce contamination that can lead to catastrophic optical mirror damage (from Zhang [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 1.
Taniguchi’s modified device fails to teach wherein the passivation layer is a layer substantially lattice matched with the layered structure.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the passivation layer (Fig. 7 passivation layer 702) is a layer substantially lattice matched with the layered structure (from Zhang see [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s in the view of Zhang with passivation layer is a layer substantially lattice matched with the layered structure as further taught by Zhang because having a passivation layer lattice matching the layered structure would limit the stress that is present in the passivation layer due to lattice mismatch preventing catastrophic optical mirror damage (from Zhang [0060]).
Regarding claim 4, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 2, wherein the layered structure is made of a GaAs-based semiconductor material (from Taniguchi Fig. 5a structure 11 is GaAs-based, see [0047]); and the passivation layer contains a II-IV compound semiconductor material as a layer material (from Zhang Fig. 7 passivation layer 702 is ZnSe, see [0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 4, wherein the passivation layer contains ZnSe as the layer material (from Zhang layer 702 is made of ZnSe, see [0081]).
Regarding claim 6, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 1, wherein the passivation layer has a thickness of 10 [nm] or more and 150 [nm] or less (from Zhang [0021] states “Each of the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer can include a thickness between about 10 nm and about 60 nm.”).
Regarding claim 7, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches wherein the thickness of the passivation layer is 10 [nm] or more and 50 [nm] or less (from Zhang [0021] states “Each of the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer can include a thickness between about 10 nm and about 60 nm.”).
Regarding claim 9, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 1, wherein holes are diffused in the window region (from Zhang [0040] “if the dielectric film 4 has the effect of absorbing the moving constituent atoms of the semiconductor layers 2-1 and 2-2 to 2-n or the moving holes, the effect of changing the crystalline state of the semiconductor layer is promoted”; window region is formed by hole diffusion hence holes are diffuse in the window region).
Regarding claim 10, Taniguchi teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device (Figs. 4 & 5a), the method comprising:
forming a layered structure (Fig. 5b layered structure 11) in which a first conductivity type cladding layer (Fig. 5b n-cladding 12-2), an active layer (Fig. 5b active layer 12-4), a second conductivity type cladding layer (Fig. 5b p-cladding 12-6), and a contact layer (Fig. 5b contact 12-7) are layered in a first direction (layers 12-2, 12-4, 12-6 & 12-7 are layered in “y” direction as seen in Fig. 4),
the layered structure (Fig. 5b layered structure 11) being formed with a non-window region and a window region adjacent to the non-window region (Fig. 5b window region 15a is adjacent to non-window region 15b) in a second direction intersecting the first direction (15a-b are in “z” direction as seen in Fig. 4 which intersects “y” direction) and
having a bandgap larger than a bandgap of the non-window region (Fig. 5a bandgap of 15a larger than 15b, see [0062]);
cleaving the layered structure in the window region to form a facet in the second direction (Fig. 5a layered structure 11 is cleaved in the window region to form facets of the laser 10 in Fig. 4 in “z” direction, see [0048] & [0070]);
and
forming a dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 4 reflection films 19&20 are made of dielectric material, see [0070]).
Taniguchi fails to teach cleaving the layered structure in atmosphere; purifying the facet in ultra-high vacuum; forming a passivation layer having a bandgap larger than the bandgap of the window region on the purified facet in ultra-high vacuum; forming a dielectric reflecting coating on an opposite side of the passivation layer from the facet.
However, Zhang teaches cleaving the layered structure in atmosphere ([0050] states “the multilayer waveguide structure is cleaved under ambient conditions (e.g., room temperature and no vacuum)”); forming a passivation layer on the purified facet in ultra-high vacuum (Fig. 7 passivation epitaxial layer 702 is formed on the facet from laser 700 in the second chamber of the multi-chamber UHV system, see [008]; the facet has been purified as seen in Fig. 1 steps 104 & 106 including plasma cleaning, see [0053]); forming a dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 7 AR704 & HR706 are made of dielectric material, see [0081]) on an opposite side of the passivation layer from the facet (Fig. 7 AR704 & HR706 configured to cover an opposite side of the passivation epitaxial layer 702 from the facet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device with cleaving the layered structure in atmosphere and forming passivation layer in ultra-high vacuum as taught by Zhang (e.g. having passivation epitaxial layer 702 from Zhang in between the facet of laser 10 and the reflectors 10&20 from Taniguchi; it is inherent that this modification would result in a bandgap of the passivation layer larger than the bandgap of the window region because the passivation layer and the structured layer from the Taniguchi’s modified device are the same material as the applicant: from the Specification page 20 passivation layer is made of ZnSe , and the structure layer 11 from Taniguchi is a GaAs-based semiconductor, see [0049], which is the same as the Applicant, from the Specification page 20 states “ layered structure 10 made of a GaAs-based semiconductor material”) because it would reduce contamination that can lead to catastrophic optical mirror damage (from Zhang [0041]).
Regarding claim 11, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 10, wherein in the purifying of the facet, the facet is irradiated with plasma to purify the facet (from Zhang [0053] states “a facet of the laser device 10 is cleaned using a hydrogen plasma”).
Regarding claim 12, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device (Figs. 4 & 5a), the method comprising:
forming a layered structure (Fig. 5b layered structure 11) in which a first conductivity type cladding layer (Fig. 5b n-cladding 12-2), an active layer (Fig. 5b active layer 12-4), a second conductivity type cladding layer (Fig. 5b p-cladding 12-6), and a contact layer (Fig. 5b contact 12-7) are layered in a first direction (layers 12-2, 12-4, 12-6 & 12-7 are layered in “y” direction as seen in Fig. 4),
the layered structure (Fig. 5b layered structure 11) being formed with a non-window region and a window region adjacent to the non-window region (Fig. 5b window region 15a is adjacent to non-window region 15b) in a second direction intersecting the first direction (15a-b are in “z” direction as seen in Fig. 4 which intersects “y” direction) and
having a bandgap larger than a bandgap of the non-window region (Fig. 5a bandgap of 15a larger than 15b, see [0062]);
cleaving the layered structure in the window region to form a facet in the second direction (Fig. 5a layered structure 11 is cleaved in the window region to form facets of the laser 10 in Fig. 4 in “z” direction, see [0048] & [0070]);
and
forming a dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 4 reflection films 19&20 are made of dielectric material, see [0070]).
Taniguchi fails to teach cleaving the layered structure in atmosphere; purifying the facet in ultra-high vacuum; forming a passivation layer having a bandgap larger than the bandgap of the window region on the purified facet in ultra-high vacuum; forming a dielectric reflecting coating on an opposite side of the passivation layer from the facet.
However, Zhang teaches cleaving the layered structure in atmosphere ([0050] states “the multilayer waveguide structure is cleaved under ambient conditions (e.g., room temperature and no vacuum)”); forming a passivation layer on the purified facet in ultra-high vacuum (Fig. 7 passivation epitaxial layer 702 is formed on the facet from laser 700 in the second chamber of the multi-chamber UHV system, see [008]; the facet has been purified as seen in Fig. 1 steps 104 & 106 including plasma cleaning, see [0053]); forming a dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 7 AR704 & HR706 are made of dielectric material, see [0081]) on an opposite side of the passivation layer from the facet (Fig. 7 AR704 & HR706 configured to cover an opposite side of the passivation layer 702 from the facet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device with cleaving the layered structure in atmosphere and a passivation layer in ultrahigh-vacuum as taught by Zhang (e.g. having passivation epitaxial layer 702 from Zhang in between the facet of laser 10 and the reflectors 10&20 from Taniguchi; ; it is inherent that this modification would result in a bandgap of the passivation layer larger than the bandgap of the window region because the passivation layer and the structured layer from the Taniguchi’s modified device are the same material as the applicant: from the Specification page 20 passivation layer is made of ZnSe , and the structure layer 11 from Taniguchi is a GaAs-based semiconductor, see [0049], which is the same as the Applicant, from the Specification page 20 states “ layered structure 10 made of a GaAs-based semiconductor material”) because it would reduce contamination that can lead to catastrophic optical mirror damage (from Zhang [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 10, wherein in the forming of the passivation layer, the passivation layer (from Zhang Fig. 1 passivation epitaxial layer) is formed by epitaxial growth (from Zhang [0061] layer 702 is formed by epitaxial growth).
Regarding claim 14, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 10.
Taniguchi’s modified device fails to teach wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in chambers connected to each other.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 7 passivation layer 702 & reflecting coatings 704&706) are performed in chambers connected to each other (Fig. 2 chamber 208 is used to form passivation layer, see [0063] while chamber 210 is used to form dielectric coatings, see [0074] which are both connected through control system 240).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device in the view of Zhang by forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in chambers connected to each other as further taught by Zhang because having performing both layers in chambers that are connected forming a multichambered device would simply and speed the process to transfer the device from one chamber to another to form each layer.
Regarding claim 15, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches The method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 10.
Taniguchi’s modified device fails to teach wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in separate chambers independent from each other.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 7 passivation layer 702 & reflecting coatings 704&706) are in separate chambers independent from each other (Fig. 2 chamber 208 is used to form passivation layer, see [0063] while chamber 210 is used to form dielectric coatings, see [0074]; chambers 208 and 210 are independent chamber because both have their own settings to form each layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device in the view of Zhang by forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in separate chambers independent from each other as further taught by Zhang having chambers independent from each other would allow to have a flexible process to form different type of layers.
Regarding claim 16, Taniguchi’s modified device the method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 10, wherein in the forming of the layered structure, the window region is formed by impurity diffusion or hole diffusion (from Zhang [0040] “if the dielectric film 4 has the effect of absorbing the moving constituent atoms of the semiconductor layers 2-1 and 2-2 to 2-n or the moving holes, the effect of changing the crystalline state of the semiconductor layer is promoted”; window region is formed by hole diffusion).
Regarding claim 17, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 12, wherein in the forming of the passivation layer, the passivation layer (from Zhang Fig. 1 passivation epitaxial layer) is formed by epitaxial growth (from Zhang [0061] layer 702 is formed by epitaxial growth).
Regarding claim 18, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 12.
Taniguchi’s modified device fails to teach wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in chambers connected to each other.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 7 passivation layer 702 & reflecting coatings 704&706) are performed in chambers connected to each other (Fig. 2 chamber 208 is used to form passivation layer, see [0063] while chamber 210 is used to form dielectric coatings, see [0074] which are both connected through control system 240).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device in the view of Zhang by forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in chambers connected to each other as further taught by Zhang because having performing both layers in chambers that are connected forming a multichambered device would simply and speed the process to transfer the device from one chamber to another to form each layer.
Regarding claim 19, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches The method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 12.
Taniguchi’s modified device fails to teach wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in separate chambers independent from each other.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating (Fig. 7 passivation layer 702 & reflecting coatings 704&706) are in separate chambers independent from each other (Fig. 2 chamber 208 is used to form passivation layer, see [0063] while chamber 210 is used to form dielectric coatings, see [0074]; chambers 208 and 210 are independent chamber because both have their own settings to form each layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device in the view of Zhang by forming of the passivation layer and the forming of the dielectric reflecting coating are performed in separate chambers independent from each other as further taught by Zhang having chambers independent from each other would allow to have a flexible process to form different type of layers.
Regarding claim 20, Taniguchi’s modified device the method for manufacturing a semiconductor laser device according to claim 12, wherein in the forming of the layered structure, the window region is formed by impurity diffusion or hole diffusion (from Zhang [0040] “if the dielectric film 4 has the effect of absorbing the moving constituent atoms of the semiconductor layers 2-1 and 2-2 to 2-n or the moving holes, the effect of changing the crystalline state of the semiconductor layer is promoted”; hence, window region is formed by hole diffusion).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (US Patent US-20100232464-A1) in view of Zhang (US Patent US-20170310077-A1), as per claim 2, in further view of Nishizawa (US Patent US-4331737-A), hereinafter Nishizawa.
Regarding claim 3, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 2, wherein the layered structure is made of a GaAs-based semiconductor material (from Taniguchi Fig. 5a structure 11 is GaAs-based, see [0047]).
Taniguchi’s modified device fails to teach the passivation layer contains GaAs as a layer material.
However, Nishizawa teaches the passivation layer contains GaAs as a layer material (column 3 lines 35-41).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device in the view of Zhang with a passivation layer made of GaAs as taught by Nishizawa because it would allow applied to multi-component compound semiconductors containing Ga and As (from Nishizawa column 3 lines 45-50).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (US Patent US-20100232464-A1) in view of Zhang (US Patent US-20170310077-A1), as per claim 2, in further view of Mannou (US Patent US-6590918-B1), hereinafter Mannou.
Regarding claim 8, Taniguchi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 1.
Taniguchi’s modified device teaches wherein impurities are diffused in the window region.
However, Mannou teaches impurities are diffused in a window region (Fig. 16 region 910; column 1 lines 64-68 states “an impurity diffusion region 910 containing Zn atoms diffused therethrough is provided as an end face window structure of the laser element 900”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s device in the view of Zhang with impurities are diffused in the window region as taught by Mannou (e.g. having impurities from Mannou being diffused in the window region 15a from Taniguchi) because it would allow to have higher band gap in the region (from Mannou column 2 and lines 48-51 states “the impurity diffusion region 910, the band gap in a disordered portion of a quantum well is larger than that in a non-disordered portion”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Taniguchi (US US-20140027809-A1) teaches a laser device with a window and non-window region.
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828