Response to Amendment
The 112b rejections of the claims have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copeland et al (US20050153453A1 published 07/14/2005; hereinafter Copeland) in view of McLellan et al (US20130078734A1 published 03/28/2013; hereinafter McLellan).
Regarding claim 1, Copeland teaches a histological containment system having a container for preparing histological samples (automated immunostaining apparatus – Fig. 2), comprising:
a shelf configured to fit the container (slide support 26 – Fig. 8), comprising:
a support body (a support plate 102 – Fig. 8) having a support surface (a top surface of the support plate 102 – Fig. 8) configured to support a histological sample at an inclined angle to a horizontal line (the top surface of the support plate 102 is capable of supporting a histological sample at an inclined angle to a horizontal line – Figs. 7-8); and
a wicking end support (a distal end 103 – Fig. 8) coupled to the support body (the distal end 103 is coupled to the support plate 102 – Fig. 8), comprising
a longitudinal extension that extends longitudinally from an end of the support surface (a lateral guide tab 110 extends longitudinally from an end of the support plate 102 – Figs. 8-9); and
an upright extension (a lateral guide tab 108 – Figs. 8-9) coupled to the longitudinal extension that extends transverse at a nonzero angle to a plane of the support surface (the lateral guide tab 108 is at a nonzero angle to a plane of the top surface of the support plate 102 – Figs. 8-9), the upright extension comprising a wicking surface (a surface of the lateral guide tab 108 vertical to the support plate 102 – Figs. 7-8) and an end that extends upward past the plane of the support surface to restrain longitudinal movement of the histological sample down the inclined shelf (a top surface of the lateral guide tab 108 above the top surface of the support plate 102 and is capable of restraining longitudinal movement of the slide – Figs. 7-8);
wherein the upright extension is coupled to the longitudinal extension and spaced from the end of the support surface (a space between the lateral guide tab 108 and the flexible arm 118 of the end of the support plate 102 – Fig. 8) by non-zero longitudinal distance from an end of the support body to a proximal surface of the upright extension (a proximal surface of the guide tab 108 is offset by a non-zero distance from the end of the support plate 102 with the flexible arm 118 – Figs. 8-10).
However, Copeland does not teach wherein the longitudinal extension is coupled to the support body with the wicking end support offset below the plane of the support surface by a non-zero offset distance from the plane of the support surface vertically; and wherein the wicking surface is disengaged from the end of the support surface along the longitudinal extension.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (longitudinal extension)]McLellan teaches a slide cover with a reservoir wherein the longitudinal extension is coupled to the support body (a locating means 16 coupled to a body 12 – Figs. 2a-c) with the wicking end support (a wicking end support – see annotated Fig. 4a) offset below the plane of the support surface by a non-zero offset distance from the plane of the support surface vertically (wicking end support is offset below the plane of the surface of the body 12 by a non-zero offset distance vertically – Figs. 2a-c); and
the wicking surface (a wicking surface – see annotated Fig. 4a) is disengaged from the end of the support surface along the longitudinal extension (the wicking surface is disengaged from the end of the body 12 along the longitudinal extension – see annotated Fig. 4a). McLellan teaches the cover geometry that enables fluid dispensed onto slide 1 to be held until required, without spilling off an edge of the slide (paragraph 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the geometry, as taught by Copeland, with the shape of the cover 10, taught by McLellan, to enable fluid dispensed onto slide 1 to be held until required, without spilling off an edge of the slide. One of ordinary skills would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Copeland and McLellan teach devices for wetting slides.
Regarding claim 2, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 1, wherein the offset distance is sufficient to prevent fluid at the end of the support surface from bridging to the upright extension (Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the offset is sufficient to prevent fluid from bridging to the wicking end support – McLellan Figs. 2a-c).
Regarding claim 3, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 1, wherein the longitudinal distance is sufficient to prevent fluid at the end of the support surface from bridging to the upright extension (Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the locating means 16 having a longitudinal distance sufficient to prevent fluid from bridging to the wicking end support – McLellan Figs. 2a-c).
Regarding claim 4, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 1, wherein the support surface is configured to support the histological sample at an inclined angle to a horizontal line (the top surface of the support plate 102 is capable of supporting a histological sample an inclined angle to a horizontal line – Figs. 8-10).
Regarding claim 5, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 4, wherein the wicking end support comprises a wicking surface (the wicking surface – see annotated McLellan Fig. 4a) configured to receive fluid flowing down the shelf by the inclined angle (Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the wicking surface is capable of receive fluid flow – see annotated McLellan Fig. 4a and Copeland Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 4, wherein the wicking surface is formed of one of a curved shape and a flat shape (the wicking surface is formed of a curved pivot pin 136 and a flat support plate 102 – Figs. 8-10).
Regarding claim 7, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 4, wherein the wicking surface is at least as wide as a width of a slide or support tile supported on the support surface (“a slide or support tile supported on the support surface” is not positively recited and per MPEP2115 the limitation is interpreted as a surface capable of supporting a slide having a width) (the wicking surface is at least as wide as a slide with a width of the length of the longitudinal extension and capable of supporting said slide – see annotated Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 8, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 1, further comprising a spacing strip (an opposed lateral guide 114 – Fig. 8) coupled to the support surface having a thickness (the opposed lateral guide 114 having a thickness – Fig. 8) to elevate an object resting on the spacing strip above the support surface to form a gap between the object and the support surface (the opposed lateral guide 114 is capable of forming a gap between an object resting on the opposed lateral guide 114 and the support plate 102 – Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 1, wherein the shelf is configured to support a plurality of histological samples across the support surface (the slide support 26 is capable of support a plurality of histological samples – Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 10, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim of claim 1, wherein the support surface of the shelf is divided into shelf sections by at least one guard rail (a flexible arm 118 divides the top surface of the support plate 102 into sections – Figs. 8-10)
Regarding claim 11, Copeland, modified by McLellan, teaches the histological containment system of claim 1, further comprising the container (a support plate 22 – Fig. 3), wherein the container comprises a container support configured to support the shelf (the support plate 22 comprising a carousel 24 supporting the slide support 26 – Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Point 1: The applicant argues that “the present invention uses a fixed, inclined shelf with a passive wicking end support” and is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,” a fixed, inclined shelf”, “a passive wicking end support”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Point 2: The applicant argues “elements 103 and 158 are not two coupled, distinct structures as the claim requires; rather, they are merely portions of the same monolithic support plate 102” and is not persuasive.
The examiner points out that different features on the same monolithic structure are no different from two coupled, distinct structures as claimed. The claim language does not exclude the wicking end support and longitudinal extension from being formed on a monolithic structure.
Applicant’s addition arguments with respect to the 102/103 rejections of the claims have been considered, and the prior art rejection has been modified in order to address the amended claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798