DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/26/2026 regarding claims 1-30 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection; however, examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s characterization of the previously applied prior art Tapio (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0055524).
(i) Applicant argues that the previously applied prior art Tapio (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0055524) does not teach the limitation(s) “receive reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) configuration information for the vehicle responsive to the transmission of the acknowledgement information” (please see page 12 under argument(s) and remarks).
(i) (Response) In the previous office action, examiner equated said request transmitted by the WTRU to the RIS controller as said acknowledgement especially since, in response to discovering the RIS controller, the WTRU sends said request (please see paragraph [0122]). The request triggers the RIS controller to response with an RACK indicating its availability reserved for the WTRU (please see paragraph [0122]). Also, said RACK contains information regarding the available resources reserved for the WTRU (please see paragraph [0119], now incorporated in the office action). And thus, the cited portion(s) of Tapio address the amended limitation(s).
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 2, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0374024) in view of Fujishiro (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0055524)
As per claim 1:
Tapio teaches a device for wireless communication (see Figure 6, WRTU), comprising:
at least one processor (see paragraph [0033], processor 118);
and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (see Figure 1B, non-removable memory 130 and removable memory 132 coupled to processor 118), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
receive a discovery beacon from a RIS controller … (see paragraph [0100], the RIS controller may advertise certain information (via a beacon signal) associated with the RIS (e.g., available resources). The WTRU, with the help of the gNB may receive and/or decode information advertised by the RIS(s) in the cell. In certain scenarios, a RIS beacon signal sent by the RIS controller may be synchronized with other control signal transmissions from a gNB);
transmit acknowledgement information in response to the discovery beacon (see paragraph [0101], based on the information advertised by the RIS controller, the WTRU may determine to use one or more RIS resources by initiating an RIS configuration procedure. The WTRU may send an RIS resource request to the RIS controller as part of the RIS configuration procedure);
and receive reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) configuration information … responsive to the transmission of the acknowledgement information (see paragraphs [0119], [0122], in response to the RIS reservation request from the WTRU, the RIS or RIS controller may transmit an indication to the WTRU. Said indication could be RACK, RNACK or any other indication detailing the availability for the RIS for use by the WTRU), the RIS configuration information indicating one or more RIS configurations of a plurality of RIS configurations for one or more RISs (see paragraph [0084], the RIS configuration are associated with parameters of the RIS. Said parameters includes phase response, amplitude response, phase and amplitude response and/or on-off information)….
Tapio does not clearly disclose RIS controller …of a vehicle.
Fujishiro teaches RIS controller …of a vehicle (see paragraph [0062], the NCR-UE 100B may be installed in, for example, a vehicle. Said NCR-UE 100B refers to a type of control terminal for controlling the NCR apparatus 500A, please see paragraph [0061]. NCR refers to an apparatus capable of reflection or refraction, please see paragraph [0129]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the use of RIS controller or NCR-UE installed in the vehicle (as disclosed in Fujishiro) into Tapio as a way of achieving efficient coverage extension using the RIS apparatus and mobility (please see paragraphs [0132]-[0133] of Fujishiro).
As per claim 2:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the RIS configuration information indicates a RIS configuration for a single RIS configuration of the plurality of RIS configurations (Tapio, see paragraphs [0089], [0100]-[0102], [0120], i.e. the RIS request reservation is RIS for a single RIS configuration of the plurality of RIS configurations received).
As per claim 25:
Tapio teaches teaches a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) controller (see Figure 2, RIS controller 204), comprising:
transmit a discovery beacon (see paragraph [0100], the RIS controller may advertise certain information (via a beacon signal) associated with the RIS (e.g., available resources). The WTRU, with the help of the gNB may receive and/or decode information advertised by the RIS(s) in the cell. In certain scenarios, a RIS beacon signal sent by the RIS controller may be synchronized with other control signal transmissions from a gNB);
receive acknowledgement information responsive to the transmission of the discovery beacon (see paragraph [0101], based on the information advertised by the RIS controller, the WTRU may determine to use one or more RIS resources by initiating an RIS configuration procedure. The WTRU may send an RIS resource request to the RIS controller as part of the RIS configuration procedure);
and transmit RIS configuration information for one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RISs) associated with the RIS controller responsive to the acknowledgement information (see paragraphs [0119], [0122], in response to the RIS reservation request from the WTRU, the RIS or RIS controller may transmit an indication to the WTRU. Said indication could be RACK, RNACK or any other indication detailing the availability for the RIS for use by the WTRU), the RIS configuration information indicating one or more RIS configurations of a plurality of RIS configurations for the one or more RISs (see paragraph [0084], the RIS configuration are associated with parameters of the RIS. Said parameters includes phase response, amplitude response, phase and amplitude response and/or on-off information).
Tapio does not clearly disclose said RIS controller including at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the RIS controller to.
Fujishiro teaches at least one processor (see paragraph [0071], controller 130 includes at least one processor and at least one memory);
and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (paragraph [0071], disclose the processor executes the program stored in memory and thus it is evident that the processor is connected to the memory), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the RIS controller to (see paragraph [0071], discloses the controller 130 comprising the processor and memory performs various types of control in the NCR-UE 100B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the application to incorporate said controller comprising processor and memory (as disclosed in Fujishiro) into Tapio as a way of performing various types of control in the NCR-UE (please see paragraph [0071] of Fujishiro).
4. Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro in view of Tapio.
As per claim 29:
Fujishiro teaches a vehicle for wireless communication (see paragraph [0062], NCR-UE 100B and NCR 500A may be installed in a “vehicle”), comprising:
one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RISs) (see Figure 8, NCR apparatus 500A);
and a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) controller (see Figure 8, NCR-UE 100B).
Fujishiro does not clearly teach the RIS controller configured to:
transmit a discovery beacon;
receive acknowledgement information responsive to the transmission of the discovery beacon;
and transmit RIS configuration information … responsive to the acknowledgement information, the RIS configuration information indicating one or more RIS configurations of a plurality of RIS configurations for the one or more RISs ….
Tapio teaches the RIS controller configured to (see paragraph [0100], RIS controller):
transmit a discovery beacon (see paragraph [0100], the RIS controller may advertise certain information (via a beacon signal) associated with the RIS (e.g., available resources). The WTRU, with the help of the gNB may receive and/or decode information advertised by the RIS(s) in the cell. In certain scenarios, a RIS beacon signal sent by the RIS controller may be synchronized with other control signal transmissions from a gNB);
receive acknowledgement information responsive to the transmission of the discovery beacon (see paragraph [0101], based on the information advertised by the RIS controller, the WTRU may determine to use one or more RIS resources by initiating an RIS configuration procedure. The WTRU may send an RIS resource request to the RIS controller as part of the RIS configuration procedure);
and transmit RIS configuration information … responsive to the acknowledgement information (see paragraphs [0119], [0122], in response to the RIS reservation request from the WTRU, the RIS or RIS controller may transmit an indication to the WTRU. Said indication could be RACK, RNACK or any other indication detailing the availability for the RIS for use by the WTRU), the RIS configuration information indicating one or more RIS configurations of a plurality of RIS configurations for the one or more RISs (see paragraph [0084], the RIS configuration are associated with parameters of the RIS. Said parameters includes phase response, amplitude response, phase and amplitude response and/or on-off information)….
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the exchange of beacon signal and RIS reservation signal (as disclosed in Tapio) into Fujishiro as a way of achieving target quality, thereby enhancing/enabling the coverage of a wireless system with an RIS provided (please see paragraph [0076] of Tapio).
As per claim 30:
Fujishiro in view of Tapio teaches the vehicle of claim 29, wherein each RIS has multiple modes, wherein the multiple modes include a reflective mode, a transmissive mode, and an inactive mode (Fujishiro, see paragraph [0135], patterns or modes include mode of transmitting an incident radio wave, a mode for transmitting a part of a radio wave and reflecting a part thereof, and a mode of reflecting all radio waves. Paragraph [0113] disclose, NCR-UE 100B may be in the RRC idle or RRC inactive state).
5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Zhu (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0158661).
As per claim 3:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro teaches the device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the RIS configuration information indicates RIS configurations for multiple RIS configurations of the plurality of RIS configurations.
Zhu teaches wherein the RIS configuration information indicates RIS configurations for multiple RIS configurations of the plurality of RIS configurations (see paragraph [0037], disclose receiving a control signal from the controller for reconfigurable intelligent surface to control a configuration of elements of the reconfigurable intelligent surface. The control signal includes a pair of parameters corresponding to two orthogonal directions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate sending such a control signal for representing individual metaadoms (as disclosed in Zhu) into both Tapio and Fujishiro as a way reducing signaling overhead (please see paragraph [0063] of Zhu).
6. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0096850).
As per claim 4:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro teaches the device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the RIS configuration information comprises RIS configuration index information for a single RIS configuration of the plurality of RIS configurations and RIS settings information corresponding to the single RIS configuration.
Liu teaches wherein the RIS configuration information comprises RIS configuration index information for a single RIS configuration of the plurality of RIS configurations and RIS settings information corresponding to the single RIS configuration (see paragraph [0045], controller 608 may inform the network, BS 602, UE 606 regarding changes in configurations or availability of sub-panels. The signaling can also indicate when the change of subpanel will be applied, such as indicating a time interval, as well as suggested transmission or reception parameters for the BS 602 or UE 606, please see paragraph [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of control signal indicating the configurations or available sub-panels (as disclosed in Liu) into both Tapio and Fujishiro as a way of indicating to the BS and UE which subpanels are reserved for a particular time period, thereby helping to facilitate joint optimization (please see paragraph [0052] of Liu).
As per claim 5:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu teaches the device of claim 4.
The combination of Tapio and Fujishiro do not teach wherein the RIS configuration information further includes RIS configuration timing information corresponding to the single RIS configuration.
Liu teaches wherein the RIS configuration information further includes RIS configuration timing information corresponding to the single RIS configuration (The signaling can also indicate when the change of subpanel will be applied, such as indicating a time interval, as well as suggested transmission or reception parameters for the BS 602 or UE 606, please see paragraph [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of control signal indicating the configurations or available sub-panels (as disclosed in Liu) into both Tapio and Fujishiro as a way of indicating to the BS and UE which subpanels are reserved for a particular time period, thereby helping to facilitate joint optimization (please see paragraph [0052] of Liu).
7. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Fakhreddine (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0138179).
As per claim 6:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro teaches the device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the RIS configuration information comprises RIS configuration index information for multiple RIS configurations of the plurality of RIS configurations and RIS settings information corresponding to the multiple RIS configurations.
Fakhreddine teaches wherein the RIS configuration information comprises RIS configuration index information for multiple RIS configurations of the plurality of RIS configurations and RIS settings information corresponding to the multiple RIS configurations (see paragraph [0100], discloses sending instructions to controllers for base stations to transmit detection signals at specified time slots. For example, the instruction to transmit a detection signal to the RIS 106 in a first configuration as managed by the RIS configuration subsystem 1104. Paragraph [0102] disclose sending instructions to controllers for base stations to transmit localization signals at specific timeslots. Said localization signals can be reflected off of RIS instances in a second configuration that is configured to direct a single signal at a specific angle for each time slot to localize the signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of instructions to trigger the sending of configuration information (as disclosed in Fakhreddine) into both Tapio and Fujishiro as a way of directing a signal at a specific angle for each time slot (please see paragraph [0102] of Fakhreddine).
As per claim 7:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Fakhreddine teaches the device of claim 6 with the exception of:
wherein the RIS configuration information further includes RIS configuration timing information corresponding to the multiple RIS configurations.
Fakhreddine teaches wherein the RIS configuration information further includes RIS configuration timing information corresponding to the multiple RIS configurations (Paragraph [0102] disclose sending instructions to controllers for base stations to transmit localization signals at specific timeslots. Said localization signals can be reflected off of RIS instances in a second configuration that is configured to direct a single signal at a specific angle for each time slot to localize the signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of instructions to trigger the sending of configuration information (as disclosed in Fakhreddine) into both Tapio and Fujishiro as a way of directing a signal at a specific angle for each time slot (please see paragraph [0102] of Fakhreddine).
8. Claim 8 is rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Fakhreddine and Hemadeh (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0171447).
As per claim 8:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Fakhreddine teaches the device of claim 6 with the exception of:
wherein the RIS configuration index information indicates an identifier for each RIS configuration of the vehicle included in the RIS configuration information, and wherein the RIS settings information comprises a bitmap indicating configuration settings of each RIS of the vehicle.
Hemadeh teaches wherein the RIS configuration index information indicates an identifier for each RIS configuration of the vehicle included in the RIS configuration information, and wherein the RIS settings information comprises a bitmap indicating configuration settings of each RIS of the vehicle (see paragraph [0143], the reflected signal characteristics of the RIS elements are adjusted by the controller 904 based on input information (e.g., input bits) and/or control signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the control signal (as disclosed in Hemadeh) into Tapio, Fujishiro and Fakhreddine as a way of controlling reflected signal characteristics of the RIS (please see paragraph [0143] of Hemadeh).
9. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0310470).
As per claim 9:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro teaches the device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
transmit RIS configuration command information based on the RIS configuration information;
and perform one or more measurement operations on transmissions received from a second device based on the RIS configuration information and responsive to the transmission of the RIS configuration command information.
Schweizer teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
transmit RIS configuration command information based on the RIS configuration information (see paragraph [0070], disclose codebook 76 that maps different sets of settings (i.e., phase settings) may be populated by either BS 34, UE 10 or dedicated controller. The RIS 50 may be controlled to configure (program) adjustable devices to form beams necessary for RIS to reflect wireless signals);
and perform one or more measurement operations on transmissions received from a second device based on the RIS configuration information and responsive to the transmission of the RIS configuration command information (paragraph [0070] disclose configuring (programming) adjustable devices involves selection/calculation of the appropriate set of phase settings for adjustable devices 74 to form the RIS beams).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the different settings (as disclosed in Schweizer) into Tapio and Fujishiro as a way of enabling the RIS to direct their respective beams to the appropriate direction(s) (please see paragraph [0070] of Schweizer).
As per claim 10:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro teaches the device of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
transmit a RIS configuration command based on the RIS configuration information;
receive a RIS configuration confirmation message based on the transmission of the RIS configuration command;
and perform one or more measurement operations on transmissions received from a second device using the one or more RIS configurations.
Schweizer teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
transmit a RIS configuration command based on the RIS configuration information (see paragraph [0070], disclose codebook 76 that maps different sets of settings (i.e., phase settings) may be populated by either BS 34, UE 10 or dedicated controller. The RIS 50 may be controlled to configure (program) adjustable devices to form beams necessary for RIS to reflect wireless signals);
receive a RIS configuration confirmation message based on the transmission of the RIS configuration command (see paragraph [0089], receipt of response to the transmitted signal from the RIS’s in the system that received the transmitted signal);
and perform one or more measurement operations on transmissions received from a second device using the one or more RIS configurations (paragraph [0070] disclose configuring (programming) adjustable devices involves selection/calculation of the appropriate set of phase settings for adjustable devices 74 to form the RIS beams).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the different settings (as disclosed in Schweizer) into Tapio and Fujishiro as a way of enabling the RIS to direct their respective beams to the appropriate direction(s) (please see paragraph [0070] of Schweizer).
10. Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer and Zhu (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0407222).
As per claim 11:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer teaches the device of claim 10 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform the one or more measurement operations includes to:
perform a plurality of measurements responsive to the RIS configuration confirmation message, each measurement corresponding to a particular transmission from the second device and using a particular RIS configuration of the plurality of RIS configurations indicated by the RIS configuration information;
select a RIS configuration from among the plurality of RIS configurations based on comparisons of the plurality of measurements;
and transmit an indication of the selected RIS configuration to the RIS controller configured to cause the RIS controller to set the selected RIS configuration as a final configuration.
Zhu teaches wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform the one or more measurement operations (see paragraph [0063], the UE may measure the corresponding L1-RSRP and feedback the information to the gNB on a reverse path via a reflection at the IRS or via a dedicated wireless or wired feedback) includes to:
perform a plurality of measurements responsive to the RIS configuration confirmation message, each measurement corresponding to a particular transmission from the second device and using a particular RIS configuration of the plurality of RIS configurations indicated by the RIS configuration information (see paragraph [0076], the UE may measure the L1-RSRP of SSB and transmit the corresponding L1-RSRP information back to the gNB via the IRS. The measurements corresponding to the arrival angles, the phase setting in the IRS);
select a RIS configuration from among the plurality of RIS configurations based on comparisons of the plurality of measurements (see paragraph [0073], the UE receive the SSB burst signals and measure L1-RSRP of each SSB block. In addition the UE or IRS may transmit the measured L1-RSRP vales back to the gNB. The UE or IRS may also report selected L1-RSRP corresponding to departure angles);
and transmit an indication of the selected RIS configuration to the RIS controller configured to cause the RIS controller to set the selected RIS configuration as a final configuration (see paragraph [0069], the CRI feedback may be provided from the UE to pick which CSI-RS resource is the best among the set of CSI-RS resources).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of L1-RSRP of burst SSBs corresponding to the respective departure angles (as disclosed in Zhu) into Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer as a way of enabling the gNB to transmit phase control signals for the REs in the IRS (please see paragraph [0071] of Zhu).
As per claim 12:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer and Zhu teaches the device of claim 11.
The combination of Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer do not teach wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform the plurality of measurements includes to:
perform measurements on Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) transmissions from a base station which are redirected by the one or more RISs of the vehicle.
Zhu teaches wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform the plurality of measurements includes to:
perform measurements on Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) transmissions from a base station which are redirected by the one or more RISs of the vehicle (see paragraph [0073], UE can be configured to perform L1-RSRP measurement on the received SSB burst signals).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of L1-RSRP of burst SSBs corresponding to the respective departure angles (as disclosed in Zhu) into Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer as a way of enabling the gNB to transmit phase control signals for the REs in the IRS (please see paragraph [0071] of Zhu).
As per claim 13:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer and Zhu teaches the device of claim 12.
The combination of Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer do not teach wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform measurements on SSB transmissions includes to:
perform a first measurement on a first SSB transmission from the base station using a first RIS configuration of the RIS configuration information;
and perform a second measurement on a second SSB transmission from the base station using a second RIS configuration of the RIS configuration information.
Zhu teaches wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform measurements on SSB transmissions includes to:
perform a first measurement on a first SSB transmission from the base station using a first RIS configuration of the RIS configuration information (see paragraph [0059], discloses SSBs are transmitted from gNB to the IRS using beams at specific angle of arrival-departure. The UE may receive and measure CSI signals and report the corresponding measurements, i.e., L1-RSRP);
and perform a second measurement on a second SSB transmission from the base station using a second RIS configuration of the RIS configuration information (see paragraph [0063], in each subsequent SSB block that is associated with the best tranmit beam from the gNB to the IRS, the IRS may apply one phase shift setting to the REs and reflect the SSB to the pre-selected UE. UE may measure the corresponding L1-RSRP and feedback the information to the gNB on a reverse path).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of L1-RSRP of burst SSBs corresponding to the respective departure angles (as disclosed in Zhu) into Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer as a way of enabling the gNB to transmit phase control signals for the REs in the IRS (please see paragraph [0071] of Zhu).
As per claim 15:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further view of Schweizer and Zhu teaches the device of claim 13.
The combination of Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer do not clearly teach wherein the first measurement corresponds to a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR).
Zhu teaches wherein the first measurement corresponds to a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) (see paragraph [0073], UE performs L1-RSRP measurements of the received SSB burst signals).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of L1-RSRP of burst SSBs corresponding to the respective departure angles (as disclosed in Zhu) into Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer as a way of enabling the gNB to transmit phase control signals for the REs in the IRS (please see paragraph [0071] of Zhu).
11. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer, Zhu and Li (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0343576).
As per claim 14:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer and Zhu teaches the device of claim 13 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to select the RIS configuration includes to:
compare the first measurement to the second measurement;
and select the first RIS configuration based on determining the first measurement is greater than the second measurement.
Li teaches wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to select the RIS configuration includes to:
compare the first measurement to the second measurement (see paragraph [0369], comparing the measurement results at RIS’s from the on duration with that of the off-duration);
and select the first RIS configuration based on determining the first measurement is greater than the second measurement (see paragraphs [0377]-[0378], SSBs with high signal strength (i.e., higher than a threshold) are prioritized to assist the UE to provide substantial gain at the received signal strength).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of beams associated with SSBs with high signal strength (as disclosed in Li) into Tapio, Fujishiro, Schweizer and Zhu as a way of providing significant gain by a beamformed path from the network node such as gNB and an RIS to the UE (please see paragraph [0377] of Li).
12. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer and Schellmann (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0309945).
As per claim 16:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Schweizer teaches the device of claim 10 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform the one or more measurement operations includes to:
perform a first measurement responsive to the RIS configuration confirmation message;
receive a second RIS configuration confirmation message based on the transmission of the RIS configuration command;
and perform a second measurement responsive to the second RIS configuration confirmation message.
Schellmann teaches wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to perform the one or more measurement operations includes to:
perform a first measurement responsive to the RIS configuration confirmation message (see paragraph [0083] at a first step of the first procdure, the IRS 120 receives first plurality of reflection configurations from the base station. In a second step of the first procedure, the UE may estimate the CCM based on channel measurements over several successive time slots 161, 163, please see paragraph [0084]);
receive a second RIS configuration confirmation message based on the transmission of the RIS configuration command (see paragraph [0085], the UE may determine T individual beams of the second plurality of reflection configurations 153 from the CCM for accurate estimation of the instantaneous channels between base station, IRS and UE);
and perform a second measurement responsive to the second RIS configuration confirmation message (see paragraph [0085], since the UE determines T individual beams of the second plurality of reflection configurations 153 from the CCM, accurate channel estimations between base station, IRS and UE could be performed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the second plurality of reflection configurations (as disclosed in Schellmann) into Tapio, Fujishiro and Schweizer as a way of achieving more accurate estimation of the instantaneous channels between the base station, IRS and UE (please see paragraph [0078] of Schellmann).
13. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapio in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Tang (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0007568).
As per claim 26:
Tapio in view of Fujishiro teaches the RIS controller of claim 25 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the RIS controller to:
transmit a control signal to at least one RIS of the one or more RISs based on received RIS configuration selection information, the control signal configured to adjust a configuration of the at least one RIS.
Tang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the RIS controller to:
transmit a control signal to at least one RIS of the one or more RISs based on received RIS configuration selection information, the control signal configured to adjust a configuration of the at least one RIS (see paragraph [0016], in order to adjust the on/off state of each array element, an adjustment information may be generated based on the initial configuration information. In this way, the plurality of array elements included in the intelligent reflection surface may adjust their respective on/off states based on the adjustment information).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the adjustment of the on/off states of the array elements of the intelligent reflection surface (as disclosed in Tang) into Tapio and Fujishiro as a way of enabling the plurality of array elements to adjust the first signal to an appropriate phase, to reduce the attenuation of a signal sent by the first wireless device (please see paragraph [0016] of Tang).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claims 17-21, 22-24, 27, 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474