Examiner’s Note
Providing supporting paragraph(s) for each limitation of amended/new claim(s) in Remarks is strongly requested for clear and definite claim interpretations by Examiner (e.g., to avoid rejections under 35 U.S.C § 112(a) “Lack of written description”)
Applicant can schedule interviews (via Automated Interview Request (AIR)) at any stage of the prosecution (e.g., Non-Final, Final, and After-Final) to discuss any issues related to, for example, rejections under 35 U.S.C § 101 and § 102/103, for moving toward allowance.
If a limitation has bold brackets (i.e., [·]) around claim languages, the bracketed claim languages indicate that they have not been taught yet by the current prior art reference but they will be taught by another prior art reference afterwards.
If a limitation has one or more bold underlines, the one or more bold underlined claim languages indicate that they are taught by the current prior art reference, while the one or more non-underlined claim languages indicate that they have been taught already by one or more previous art references.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for the present application filed on 09/18/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7-10, 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 7 recite(s) the limitation “the layer of a second task-specific branch” (line 2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear what it is referring to. It appears it may need to read “a layer of a second task-specific branch”, or something else. For the purposes of examination, “a layer of a second task-specific branch” is used. In addition, claim(s) 26 is/are rejected for the same reason.
Claim(s) 7, 26 each recite(s) limitations that raise issues of indefiniteness as set forth above, and their dependent claims are rejected at least based on their direct and/or indirect dependency from the claims listed above. Appropriate explanation and/or amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 17
Step 1: “Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?”
The claim is directed to a method. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
perform the shared function on shared features of the input data for the first task using at least one of the one or more shared channels of the shared branch to generate a shared feature map; (i.e., mental process)
perform the first task-specific function on first task-specific features of the input data using at least one of the one or more first task-specific channels associated with the first task-specific function to generate a first task-specific feature map; and (i.e., mental process)
generate an output for the first task-specific branch based on performing the shared function on the shared features of the input data and performing the first task-specific function on the first task-specific features of the input data (i.e., mental process)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 2: “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” The following elements are directed to additional elements:
An apparatus for performing at least one task, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to: (well-understood, routine, and conventional generic computer and/or model, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
receive input data for a first task in a layer in a neural network (insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data, see MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the layer is associated with a shared function of a shared branch and a first task-specific function of a first task-specific branch, and wherein the shared function is associated with one or more shared channels of the shared branch, and wherein the first task-specific function is associated with one or more first task-specific channels of the first task-specific branch; (a particular type or source of model/data, Field of Use and Technological Environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, no.
Step 2B: “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, the claimed inventions simply append well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, both when viewed independently and as an ordered combination, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, (e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry). Therefore, no.
Regarding claim 18
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
perform the shared function on shared features of the input data for the second task using at least one of the one or more shared channels of the shared feature map to generate a second shared feature map; (i.e., mental process)
perform the second task-specific function on second task-specific features of the input data for the second task using at least one of the one or more second task-specific channels to generate a second task-specific feature map; and (i.e., mental process)
generate an output for the first task-specific branch based on performing the shared function on the shared features of the input data and performing the first task-specific function on the first task-specific features of the input data. (i.e., mental process)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 2: “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” The following elements are directed to additional elements:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: (well-understood, routine, and conventional generic computer and/or model, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
receive input data for a second task in the layer in the neural network (insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data, see MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the layer is further associated with a second task-specific function, and wherein the second task-specific function is associated with one or more second task-specific channels; (a particular type or source of model/data, Field of Use and Technological Environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, no.
Step 2B: “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, no.
Regarding claim 19
Step 2A Prong 1: “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?”
perform the third task-specific function on third task-specific features of the output using at least one of the plurality of third task-specific channels to generate a first subsequent feature map; (i.e., mental process)
perform the second shared function on shared features of the output using at least one of the plurality of shared channels to generate a second subsequent feature map; and (i.e., mental process)
generate a subsequent output for the first task-specific branch based on performing the second shared function on the shared features of the output and performing the third task-specific function on the third task-specific features of the output. (i.e., mental process)
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, yes.
Step 2A Prong 2: “Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?” The following elements are directed to additional elements:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: (well-understood, routine, and conventional generic computer and/or model, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
receive the output in a subsequent layer of the neural network (insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving data, see MPEP 2106.05(g)), wherein the subsequent layer includes a third task-specific function of the first task-specific branch and a second shared function of the shared branch, and wherein the third task-specific function includes a plurality of third task-specific channels, and wherein the second shared function includes a plurality of shared channels; (a particular type or source of model/data, Field of Use and Technological Environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, no.
Step 2B: “Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?”
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, no.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-23, 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bragman et al. (Stochastic Filter Groups for Multi-Task CNNs: Learning Specialist and Generalist Convolution Kernels)
Regarding claim 1
Bragman teaches
An apparatus for training a neural network to perform at least one task, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:
(Bragman [sec(s) A] “All networks were trained with ADAM optimiser [36] with an initial learning rate of 10−3 and β = [0.9,0.999]. We used values of λ1 = 10−6 and λ2 = 10−5 for the weight and entropy regularisation factors in Equation (5) in Section 3.2. All stochastic filter group (SFG) modules were initialised with grouping probabilities p=[0.2, 0.6, 0.2] for every convolution kernel. Positivity of the grouping probabilities p is enforced by passing the output through a soft plus function f(x) = ln(1 + ex) as in [37]. The scheduler τ = max(0.10,exp(−rt)) recommended in [31] was used to anneal the Gumbel-Softmax temperature τ where r is the annealing rate and t is the current training iteration. We used r = 10−5 for our models. Hyper-parameters for the annealing rate and the entropy regularisation weight were obtained by analysis of the net work performance on a secondary randomly split on the UTK dataset (70/15/15). They were then applied to all trained models (large and small dataset for UTKFace and medical imaging dataset). … We used Tensorflow and implemented our models within the NiftyNet framework [41]. Models were trained on NVIDIA Titan Xp, P6000 and V100. All networks were trained in the Stochastic Filter Group paradigm.”;)
--
obtain training data for a first task in a layer in a neural network, wherein the layer is associated with a first gating mechanism configured to determine whether to process shared features of the training data for the first task using a shared function of a shared branch or first task-specific features of the training data for the first task using a first task-specific function of a first task-specific branch, wherein the shared function is associated with one or more shared channels of the shared branch, and wherein the first task-specific function is associated with one or more first task-specific channels of the first task-specific branch;
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] [sec(s) 3] “At l = 0, input image x is simply convolved with the first set of filter groups to yield F(1)i = h(1) x∗G(1)i ,i∈{1,2,s}.” [sec(s) 4] “UTKFace dataset: We tested our method on UTKFace [18], which consists of 23,703 cropped faced images in the wild with labels for age and gender. We created a dataset with a 70/15/15% split. We created a secondary separate dataset containing only 10% of images from the initial set, so as to simulate a data-starved scenario.” [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “For simplicity, we describe SFGs for the case of multitask learning with two tasks, but can be trivially extended to a larger number of tasks. At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3.”;)
perform, based on a determination from the first gating mechanism, the shared function on the shared features of the training data for the first task using at least one of the one or more shared channels to generate a shared feature map;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
perform, based on the determination from the first gating mechanism, the first task-specific function on the first task-specific features of the training data for the first task using at least one of the one or more first task-specific channels to generate a first task-specific feature map;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
generate an output for the first task-specific branch based on performing the shared function on the shared features of the training data and performing the first task-specific function on the first task-specific features of the training data; and
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] “This process repeats in the remaining SFG modules in the architecture until the last layer where the outputs of the final SFG module are combined into task-specific predictions y^1 and y^2.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Feature Routing: as shown in Fig. 4 (i), the features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 are routed to the filter groups G(l+1)1, G(l+1)s, G(l+1)2 in the subsequent (l+1)th layer in such a way to respect the task-specificity and sharedness of filter groups in the lth layer. Specifically, we perform the following routing for l > 0:
where each h(l+1) defines the choice of non-linear function, * denotes convolution operation and | denotes a merging operation of arrays (e.g. concatenation). … The merging modules, denoted as black circles, combine the task-specific and shared features appropriately, i.e. [F(l)i | F(l)s]; i = 1; 2 and pass them to the filter groups in the next layer. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
update at least one parameter of the first gating mechanism based on the output.
(Bragman [fig(s) 4] “The task-specific groups G1, G2 are only updated based on the associated losses, while the shared group Gs is updated based on both” [sec(s) 3.2] “As the posterior distribution over the convolution kernels in SFG modules p(WjX;Y(1);Y(2)) is intractable, we approximate it with a simpler distribution qФ(W) … The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
. …
where λ1 > 0; λ2 > 0 are regularization coefficients. We note that the discrete sampling operation during filter group assignment (eq. (2)) creates discontinuities, giving the first term in the objective function (eq. 5) zero gradient with respect to the grouping probabilities {p(l);k}. We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.”;)
Regarding claim 2
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
wherein each shared channel of the one or more channels respectively corresponds to each first task-specific channel of the one or more first task-specific channels.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.”;)
Regarding claim 3
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
the first gating mechanism includes a gate for each set of corresponding shared channels and first task-specific channels.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.” [sec(s) 3.2] “
where z(l),k is the one-hot encoding of a sample from the categorical distribution over filter group assignments, and M(l),k denotes the parameters of the pre-grouping convolution kernel. The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
.”;)
Regarding claim 4
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
the at least one parameter of the first gating mechanism includes a plurality of weights.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3.2] “The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
. …
where λ1 > 0; λ2 > 0 are regularization coefficients. We note that the discrete sampling operation during filter group assignment (eq. (2)) creates discontinuities, giving the first term in the objective function (eq. 5) zero gradient with respect to the grouping probabilities {p(l);k}. We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.” [sec(s) A] “All stochastic filter group (SFG) modules were initialised with grouping probabilities p=[0:2, 0:6, 0:2] for every convolution kernel. Positivity of the grouping probabilities p is enforced by passing the output through a softplus function.”;)
Regarding claim 6
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
determine a loss for first task-specific branch based on the output of the first task-specific branch; and
(Bragman [fig(s) 4] “The task-specific groups G1, G2 are only updated based on the associated losses, while the shared group Gs is updated based on both.” [sec(s) 3.2] “As the posterior distribution over the convolution kernels in SFG modules p(WjX;Y(1);Y(2)) is intractable, we approximate it with a simpler distribution qФ(W) … The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
. …
where λ1 > 0; λ2 > 0 are regularization coefficients. We note that the discrete sampling operation during filter group assignment (eq. (2)) creates discontinuities, giving the first term in the objective function (eq. 5) zero gradient with respect to the grouping probabilities {p(l);k}. We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.”;)
update, using backpropagation, the at least one parameter of the first gating mechanism based on the loss.
(Bragman [fig(s) 4] “The task-specific groups G1, G2 are only updated based on the associated losses, while the shared group Gs is updated based on both.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.” [sec(s) 3] “We employ variational inference to learn the distributions over the possible grouping of kernels and network parameters that determines the connectivity between layers and the shared and task-specific features. This naturally results in a learning algorithm that optimally allocate representation capacity across multi-tasks via gradient-based stochastic optimization, e.g. stochastic gradient descent.”;)
Regarding claim 7
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
obtain training data for a second task in the layer of a second task-specific branch in the neural network, wherein the layer is further associated with a second gating mechanism configured to determine whether to process shared features of the training data for the second task using the shared function of the shared branch or second task-specific features of the training data for the second task using a second task-specific function, and wherein the second task-specific function is associated with one or more second task-specific channels of the second task-specific branch;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “At l = 0, input image x is simply convolved with the first set of filter groups to yield F(1)i = h(1) x∗G(1)i ,i∈{1,2,s}.” [sec(s) 4] “UTKFace dataset: We tested our method on UTKFace [18], which consists of 23,703 cropped faced images in the wild with labels for age and gender. We created a dataset with a 70/15/15% split. We created a secondary separate dataset containing only 10% of images from the initial set, so as to simulate a data-starved scenario.” [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “For simplicity, we describe SFGs for the case of multitask learning with two tasks, but can be trivially extended to a larger number of tasks. At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3.”;)
perform, based on a determination from the second gating mechanism, the shared function on the shared features of the training data for the second task using at least one of the one or more shared channels of the shared feature map to generate a second shared feature map;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
perform, based on a determination from the second gating mechanism, the second task-specific function on the second task-specific features of the training data for the second task using at least one of the one or more second task-specific channels to generate a second task-specific feature map;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
”;)
generate a second output for the second task-specific branch based on performing the shared function on the shared features of the training data and performing the second task-specific function on the second task-specific features; and
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] “This process repeats in the remaining SFG modules in the architecture until the last layer where the outputs of the final SFG module are combined into task-specific predictions y^1 and y^2.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Feature Routing: as shown in Fig. 4 (i), the features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 are routed to the filter groups G(l+1)1, G(l+1)s, G(l+1)2 in the subsequent (l+1)th layer in such a way to respect the task-specificity and sharedness of filter groups in the lth layer. Specifically, we perform the following routing for l > 0:
where each h(l+1) defines the choice of non-linear function, * denotes convolution operation and | denotes a merging operation of arrays (e.g. concatenation). … The merging modules, denoted as black circles, combine the task-specific and shared features appropriately, i.e. [F(l)i | F(l)s]; i = 1; 2 and pass them to the filter groups in the next layer.”;)
update at least one parameter of the second gating mechanism based on the second output.
(Bragman [fig(s) 4] “The task-specific groups G1, G2 are only updated based on the associated losses, while the shared group Gs is updated based on both” [sec(s) 3.2] “As the posterior distribution over the convolution kernels in SFG modules p(WjX;Y(1);Y(2)) is intractable, we approximate it with a simpler distribution qФ(W) … The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
. …
where λ1 > 0; λ2 > 0 are regularization coefficients. We note that the discrete sampling operation during filter group assignment (eq. (2)) creates discontinuities, giving the first term in the objective function (eq. 5) zero gradient with respect to the grouping probabilities {p(l);k}. We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.”;)
Regarding claim 8
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 7.
Bragman teaches
determine a second loss for the second task-specific branch based on the output of the second task-specific branch; and
(Bragman [fig(s) 4] “The task-specific groups G1, G2 are only updated based on the associated losses, while the shared group Gs is updated based on both.” [sec(s) 3.2] “As the posterior distribution over the convolution kernels in SFG modules p(WjX;Y(1);Y(2)) is intractable, we approximate it with a simpler distribution qФ(W) … The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
. …
where λ1 > 0; λ2 > 0 are regularization coefficients. We note that the discrete sampling operation during filter group assignment (eq. (2)) creates discontinuities, giving the first term in the objective function (eq. 5) zero gradient with respect to the grouping probabilities {p(l);k}. We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.”;)
update, using backpropagation, the at least one parameter of the second gating mechanism based on the second loss.
(Bragman [fig(s) 4] “The task-specific groups G1, G2 are only updated based on the associated losses, while the shared group Gs is updated based on both.” [sec(s) 3.2] “We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.” [sec(s) 3] “We employ variational inference to learn the distributions over the possible grouping of kernels and network parameters that determines the connectivity between layers and the shared and task-specific features. This naturally results in a learning algorithm that optimally allocate representation capacity across multi-tasks via gradient-based stochastic optimization, e.g. stochastic gradient descent.”;)
Regarding claim 9
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 7.
Bragman teaches
wherein a first subset of the one or more shared channels is allocated to a first subset of the training data for the first task and a second subset of the one or more shared channels is allocated to the first subset of the training data for the second task.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “For simplicity, we describe SFGs for the case of multitask learning with two tasks, but can be trivially extended to a larger number of tasks. At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3.”;)
Regarding claim 10
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 7.
Bragman teaches
wherein a classification of the first task is different from a classification of the second task.
(Bragman [sec(s) 4] “We tested stochastic filter groups (SFG) on two multitask learning (MTL) problems: 1) age regression and gender classification from face images on UTKFace dataset [18] and 2) semantic image regression (synthesis) and segmentation on a medical imaging dataset. Full details of the training and datasets are provided in Sec. A in the supplementary materials.”;)
Regarding claim 11
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
based on the first gating mechanism, select between at least one channel of the one or more first task-specific channels and at least one corresponding channel of the one or more shared channels; and
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “For simplicity, we describe SFGs for the case of multitask learning with two tasks, but can be trivially extended to a larger number of tasks. At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3.”;)
prune unselected channels based on the selection by the first gating mechanism.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3.1] “At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.”;)
Regarding claim 12
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
a number of active first task-specific channels is different from a number of active shared channels.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “For simplicity, we describe SFGs for the case of multitask learning with two tasks, but can be trivially extended to a larger number of tasks. At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3.”;)
Regarding claim 13
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
wherein a first channel of the one or more shared channels corresponds to a first channel of the one or more first task-specific channels.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3.1] “At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.”;)
Regarding claim 14
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 13.
Bragman teaches
the first channel of the one or more shared channels is active and the first channel of the one or more first task-specific channels is inactive.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3.1] “At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.”;)
Regarding claim 15
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 13.
Bragman teaches
the first channel of the one or more shared channels in inactive and the first channel of the one or more first task-specific channels is active.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3.1] “At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.”;)
Regarding claim 16
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 1.
Bragman teaches
the first task is one of image segmentation, surface normal estimation, depth estimation, or classification.
(Bragman [sec(s) 4] “We tested stochastic filter groups (SFG) on two multitask learning (MTL) problems: 1) age regression and gender classification from face images on UTKFace dataset [18] and 2) semantic image regression (synthesis) and segmentation on a medical imaging dataset. Full details of the training and datasets are provided in Sec. A in the supplementary materials.”;)
Regarding claim 17
Bragman teaches
An apparatus for performing at least one task, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:
(Bragman [sec(s) A] “All networks were trained with ADAM optimiser [36] with an initial learning rate of 10−3 and β = [0.9,0.999]. We used values of λ1 = 10−6 and λ2 = 10−5 for the weight and entropy regularisation factors in Equation (5) in Section 3.2. All stochastic filter group (SFG) modules were initialised with grouping probabilities p=[0.2, 0.6, 0.2] for every convolution kernel. Positivity of the grouping probabilities p is enforced by passing the output through a soft plus function f(x) = ln(1 + ex) as in [37]. The scheduler τ = max(0.10,exp(−rt)) recommended in [31] was used to anneal the Gumbel-Softmax temperature τ where r is the annealing rate and t is the current training iteration. We used r = 10−5 for our models. Hyper-parameters for the annealing rate and the entropy regularisation weight were obtained by analysis of the net work performance on a secondary randomly split on the UTK dataset (70/15/15). They were then applied to all trained models (large and small dataset for UTKFace and medical imaging dataset). … We used Tensorflow and implemented our models within the NiftyNet framework [41]. Models were trained on NVIDIA Titan Xp, P6000 and V100. All networks were trained in the Stochastic Filter Group paradigm.”;)
receive input data for a first task in a layer in a neural network, wherein the layer is associated with a shared function of a shared branch and a first task-specific function of a first task-specific branch, and wherein the shared function is associated with one or more shared channels of the shared branch, and wherein the first task-specific function is associated with one or more first task-specific channels of the first task-specific branch;
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] [sec(s) 3] “At l = 0, input image x is simply convolved with the first set of filter groups to yield F(1)i = h(1) x∗G(1)i ,i∈{1,2,s}.” [sec(s) 4] “UTKFace dataset: We tested our method on UTKFace [18], which consists of 23,703 cropped faced images in the wild with labels for age and gender. We created a dataset with a 70/15/15% split. We created a secondary separate dataset containing only 10% of images from the initial set, so as to simulate a data-starved scenario.” [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “For simplicity, we describe SFGs for the case of multitask learning with two tasks, but can be trivially extended to a larger number of tasks. At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3.”;)
perform the shared function on shared features of the input data for the first task using at least one of the one or more shared channels of the shared branch to generate a shared feature map;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
perform the first task-specific function on first task-specific features of the input data using at least one of the one or more first task-specific channels associated with the first task-specific function to generate a first task-specific feature map; and
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
generate an output for the first task-specific branch based on performing the shared function on the shared features of the input data and performing the first task-specific function on the first task-specific features of the input data.
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] “This process repeats in the remaining SFG modules in the architecture until the last layer where the outputs of the final SFG module are combined into task-specific predictions y^1 and y^2.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Feature Routing: as shown in Fig. 4 (i), the features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 are routed to the filter groups G(l+1)1, G(l+1)s, G(l+1)2 in the subsequent (l+1)th layer in such a way to respect the task-specificity and sharedness of filter groups in the lth layer. Specifically, we perform the following routing for l > 0:
where each h(l+1) defines the choice of non-linear function, * denotes convolution operation and | denotes a merging operation of arrays (e.g. concatenation). … The merging modules, denoted as black circles, combine the task-specific and shared features appropriately, i.e. [F(l)i | F(l)s]; i = 1; 2 and pass them to the filter groups in the next layer. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
Regarding claim 18
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 17.
Bragman teaches
receive input data for a second task in the layer in the neural network, wherein the layer is further associated with a second task-specific function, and wherein the second task-specific function is associated with one or more second task-specific channels;
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] [sec(s) 3] “At l = 0, input image x is simply convolved with the first set of filter groups to yield F(1)i = h(1) x∗G(1)i ,i∈{1,2,s}.” [sec(s) 4] “UTKFace dataset: We tested our method on UTKFace [18], which consists of 23,703 cropped faced images in the wild with labels for age and gender. We created a dataset with a 70/15/15% split. We created a secondary separate dataset containing only 10% of images from the initial set, so as to simulate a data-starved scenario.” [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “For simplicity, we describe SFGs for the case of multitask learning with two tasks, but can be trivially extended to a larger number of tasks. At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3.”;)
perform the shared function on shared features of the input data for the second task using at least one of the one or more shared channels of the shared feature map to generate a second shared feature map;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
perform the second task-specific function on second task-specific features of the input data for the second task using at least one of the one or more second task-specific channels to generate a second task-specific feature map; and
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
generate an output for the first task-specific branch based on performing the shared function on the shared features of the input data and performing the first task-specific function on the first task-specific features of the input data.
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] “This process repeats in the remaining SFG modules in the architecture until the last layer where the outputs of the final SFG module are combined into task-specific predictions y^1 and y^2.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Feature Routing: as shown in Fig. 4 (i), the features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 are routed to the filter groups G(l+1)1, G(l+1)s, G(l+1)2 in the subsequent (l+1)th layer in such a way to respect the task-specificity and sharedness of filter groups in the lth layer. Specifically, we perform the following routing for l > 0:
where each h(l+1) defines the choice of non-linear function, * denotes convolution operation and | denotes a merging operation of arrays (e.g. concatenation). … The merging modules, denoted as black circles, combine the task-specific and shared features appropriately, i.e. [F(l)i | F(l)s]; i = 1; 2 and pass them to the filter groups in the next layer. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices. In the simplest form with no additional transformation (i.e. the grey circles in Fig. 5 are identity functions), we define the merging operation [F(l)i|F(l)s], i = 1; 2 as pixel-wise summation.”;)
Regarding claim 19
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 17.
Bragman teaches
receive the output in a subsequent layer of the neural network, wherein the subsequent layer includes a third task-specific function of the first task-specific branch and a second shared function of the shared branch, and wherein the third task-specific function includes a plurality of third task-specific channels, and wherein the second shared function includes a plurality of shared channels;
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] “This process repeats in the remaining SFG modules in the architecture until the last layer where the outputs of the final SFG module are combined into task-specific predictions y^1 and y^2.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Feature Routing: as shown in Fig. 4 (i), the features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 are routed to the filter groups G(l+1)1, G(l+1)s, G(l+1)2 in the subsequent (l+1)th layer in such a way to respect the task-specificity and sharedness of filter groups in the lth layer. Specifically, we perform the following routing for l > 0:
where each h(l+1) defines the choice of non-linear function, * denotes convolution operation and | denotes a merging operation of arrays (e.g. concatenation). … The merging modules, denoted as black circles, combine the task-specific and shared features appropriately, i.e. [F(l)i | F(l)s]; i = 1; 2 and pass them to the filter groups in the next layer. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices. In the simplest form with no additional transformation (i.e. the grey circles in Fig. 5 are identity functions), we define the merging operation [F(l)i|F(l)s], i = 1; 2 as pixel-wise summation.”;)
perform the third task-specific function on third task-specific features of the output using at least one of the plurality of third task-specific channels to generate a first subsequent feature map;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.”;)
perform the second shared function on shared features of the output using at least one of the plurality of shared channels to generate a second subsequent feature map; and
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. …
… At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices”;)
generate a subsequent output for the first task-specific branch based on performing the second shared function on the shared features of the output and performing the third task-specific function on the third task-specific features of the output.
(Bragman [fig(s) 5] “This process repeats in the remaining SFG modules in the architecture until the last layer where the outputs of the final SFG module are combined into task-specific predictions y^1 and y^2.” [sec(s) 3.1] “Feature Routing: as shown in Fig. 4 (i), the features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 are routed to the filter groups G(l+1)1, G(l+1)s, G(l+1)2 in the subsequent (l+1)th layer in such a way to respect the task-specificity and sharedness of filter groups in the lth layer. Specifically, we perform the following routing for l > 0:
where each h(l+1) defines the choice of non-linear function, * denotes convolution operation and | denotes a merging operation of arrays (e.g. concatenation). … The merging modules, denoted as black circles, combine the task-specific and shared features appropriately, i.e. [F(l)i | F(l)s]; i = 1; 2 and pass them to the filter groups in the next layer. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices. In the simplest form with no additional transformation (i.e. the grey circles in Fig. 5 are identity functions), we define the merging operation [F(l)i|F(l)s], i = 1; 2 as pixel-wise summation.”;)
Regarding claim 20
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 1, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 21
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 2, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 22
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 3, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 23
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 4, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 25
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 6, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 26
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 7, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 27
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 8, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 28
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 9, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 29
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 10, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Regarding claim 30
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 11, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bragman et al. (Stochastic Filter Groups for Multi-Task CNNs: Learning Specialist and Generalist Convolution Kernels) in view of Hu et al. (Squeeze-and-Excitation Networks)
Regarding claim 5
The combination of Bragman teaches claim 4.
Bragman teaches
process the at least one parameter using a [sigmoid] function to generate a value;
(Bragman [sec(s) 3.2] “The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
. …
where λ1 > 0; λ2 > 0 are regularization coefficients. We note that the discrete sampling operation during filter group assignment (eq. (2)) creates discontinuities, giving the first term in the objective function (eq. 5) zero gradient with respect to the grouping probabilities {p(l);k}. We therefore, as employed in [16] for the binary case, approximate each of the categorical variables Cat(p(l),k) by the Gumbel-Softmax distribution, GSM(p(l),k, τ) [30, 31], a continuous relaxation which allows for sampling, differentiable with respect to the parameters p(l),k through a reparametrisation trick.” [sec(s) A] “All stochastic filter group (SFG) modules were initialised with grouping probabilities p=[0:2, 0:6, 0:2] for every convolution kernel. Positivity of the grouping probabilities p is enforced by passing the output through a softplus function.”;)
compare the value to a threshold value to provide a binary selection; and
(Bragman [sec(s) 3.2] “
where z(l),k is the one-hot encoding of a sample from the categorical distribution over filter group assignments, and M(l),k denotes the parameters of the pre-grouping convolution kernel. The set of variational parameters for each kernel in each layer is thus given by
.”;)
select, based on the binary selection, between the first task-specific function and the shared function.
(Bragman [sec(s) 3] “We propose stochastic filter groups (SFG), a probabilistic mechanism to partition kernels in each convolution layer into “specialist” groups or a “shared” group, which are specific to or shared across different tasks, respectively.” [sec(s) 3.1] “At the lth convolution layer in a CNN architecture with Kl kernels {w(l),k}Klk=1, the associated SFG performs two operations: 1. Filter Assignment: each kernel w(l)k is stochastically assigned to either: i) the “task-1 specific group” G(l)1, ii) “shared group” G(l)s or iii) “task-2 specific group” G(l)2 with respective probabilities p(l);k = [p(l);k1 ; p(l);ks ; p(l);k2] ϵ [0; 1]3. Convolving with the respective filter groups yields distinct sets of features F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2. Fig. 2 illustrates this operation and Fig. 3 shows different learnable patterns. … At each SFG module, we first convolve the input features with all kernels, and generate the output features from each filter group by zeroing out the channels that root from the kernels in the other groups, resulting in F(l)1, F(l)s, F(l)2 that are sparse at non-overlapping channel indices.”;)
However, the combination of Bragman does not appear to explicitly teach:
process the at least one parameter using a [sigmoid] function to generate a value;
Hu teaches
process the at least one parameter using a sigmoid function to generate a value;
(Bragman [fig(s) 2-3] [sec(s) 3] “To fulfil this objective, the function must meet two criteria: first, it must be flexible (in particular, it must be capable of learning a nonlinear interaction between channels) and second, it must learn a non-mutually-exclusive relationship since we would like to ensure that multiple channels are allowed to be emphasised opposed to one-hot activation. To meet these criteria, we opt to employ a simple gating mechanism with a sigmoid activation: s =Fex(z,W) = σ(g(z,W)) = σ(W2δ(W1z)), (3) where δ refers to the ReLU[30]function, W1 ∈ RC/r ×C and W2 ∈RC×C/r . To limit model complexity and aid generalisation, we parameterise the gating mechanism by forming a bottleneck with two fully connected (FC) layers around the non-linearity, i.e. a dimensionality-reduction layer with parameters W1 with reduction ratio r (this parameter choice is discussed in Sec. 6.4), a ReLU and then a dimensionality increasing layer with parameters W2.” [sec(s) 2] “It is typically implemented in combination with a gating function (e.g. a soft max or sigmoid) and sequential techniques [12, 41]. Recent work has shown its applicability to tasks such as image captioning [4, 48] and lip reading [7]. In these applications, it is often used on top of one or more layers rep resenting higher-level abstractions for adaptation between modalities.”;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bragman with the sigmoid of Hu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to combine in order to improve the accuracy by a large margin at minimal increases in computational cost.
(Hu [sec(s) 6] “Finally, we evaluate on two representative efficient architectures, MobileNet [13] and ShuffleNet [52] in Table 3, showing that SE blocks can consistently improve the accuracy by a large margin at minimal increases in computational cost. These experiments demonstrate that improvements induced by SE blocks can be used in combination with a wide range of architectures. Moreover, this result holds for both residual and non-residual foundations.”)
Regarding claim 24
The claim is a method claim corresponding to the system claim 5, and is directed to largely the same subject matter. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejections of the system claim.
Conclusion
/SEHWAN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2129