DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendments filed 08/11/2026 have been entered. Applicant amendments overcomes the previous 112(b) rejections set forth in the Office Action mailed 05/11/2026, the previous 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application, with claims 6-12 being examined and claims 1-5 and 13-20 being withdrawn pursuant to the election made by phone on 04/23/2026. In the remarks filed 08/11/2026 applicant affirmed the oral election without traverse of invention II, claims 6-12.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has been amended to remove the semicolon on line 6 and “and” on line 8. It is believed that the semicolon and “and” should be placed at the end of line 7 as the claim would recite
… topside of the planar support
a spreader surface (20)…
Where there is nothing connecting the two limitations, and thus “; and” is believed to needed.
Claim 9 recites “an underside (30) of the cover pad” on line 5, where it is suggested to amend it to recite “[[an]] the underside .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the cover pad is supported over the planar support with a clearance space between the flow surface and the topside of the planar support” on lines 6-7 where it is unclear if this phrasing is meant to be describing how the cover pad is used with the planar support or if is including the planar support as a part of the system.
For examination, it will be interpreted that the phrasing is describing how the cover pad is used with the planar support, and that the planar support is not positively recited as part of the system.
Claims 7-12 are rejected by virtue of being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim 7 recites “a space (38)” on line 3 where it is unclear if this space (38) is the same or different from the clearance space described on lines 6-7 of claim 1, which recites “wherein the cover pad is supported over the planar support with a clearance space between the flow surface and the topside of the planar support”
For examination, it will be interpreted that they are the same space.
Claim 8 recites “the side flow guides” on line 5, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, as no side flow guides has been recited prior.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McLellan (US-2013/0078734-A1).
Regarding claim 6, McLellan teaches a histological containment system comprising a cover pad (cover 10) to be placed on a planar support (microscope slide 1) with a histological sample (sample 3) on a topside of the planar support (1), the planar support (1) being placed on an inclined container shelf (tray 21) such that the planar support (1) extends longitudinally upward toward a top of the shelf (21), the cover pad (10) comprising ([0049], [0050], [0065], [0066] see once tray 21 is loaded into the apparatus the slides 1 are held in position typically at an angle of 5 degrees to the horizontal, Figures 1-4, 7):
a flow surface (cavitied face 22) on an underside of the cover pad (10) facing the topside of the planar support (1), wherein the cover pad (10) is supported over the planar support (1) with a clearance space (reaction chamber 24) between the flow surface (22) and the topside of the planar support (1) ([0050], [0052], Figures 2a-c, 6)
a spreader surface on an outward surface (projection 13) of a top portion of the cover pad (10) and configured to direct fluids toward sides of the cover pad (10) to distribute flow across the surface of the planar support (1) under the cover pad (10) ([0051] see projection 13 further assists in spreading the fluid across the full width of cavity 18, [0056] see variations in cover constructions are shown in Figures 8-17, where specifically in Figures 16a-b this shows a projection at the top portion of the cover 10 (please note that in Figures 16a-b the projection 13 is not labelled however based on Figures 8-17 the projection will be at the right side of cover 10), the projection 13 is a three dimensional object and will thus have an outward surface where the outward surface is the spreader surface).
Please note that the planar support, histological sample, and container shelf have not been positively recited in the claim, and are thus not a part of the claimed containment system. However, McLellan does teach these components and thus they have been mapped to above for convenience.
Regarding claim 7, McLellan teaches the histological containment system of claim 6. McLellan further teaches further comprising a spacing strip (walls 20) on at least one of the sides of the cover pad (10) and configured to create a space (reaction chamber 24) between the cover pad (10) and the planar support (1) under the cover pad (10) ([0052] see cavitied face 22, wall portion 20, and sample holding regions 5 of a slide 1 form reaction chamber 24 when the cover 10 is placed at least partially over the sample holding region 5, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, McLellan teaches the histological containment system of claim 6. McLellan further teaches wherein the cover pad (10) comprises a shape of a parallelepiped with dimensions x,y,z, where x represents the longest dimension, y represents a medium-length dimension, and z represents a shortest dimension, further comprising two parallel spacing strips (wall portions 20) formed on an underside (underside face 19) of the cover pad (10) along two x edges of the cover pad (10), and an upper y edge of the cover pad (10) chamfered at least partially across the y edge to form the spreader surface (13) on the outward surface of the cover pad (10) to direct flow of the fluids under the cover pad (10) (Figure 2 where the length of the cover 10 (longest dimension) is in the x dimension, and the height of the cover is in the z dimension (see Figure 2b which shows a side profile, this being the height), see in particular Figure 2c where the wall portions 20 are along the longest dimension. Further as seen in Figure 16b the projection is seen to have a chamfered shape, which will extend along the width dimension (y dimension)).
Regarding claim 10, McLellan teaches the histological containment system of claim 9. McLellan further teaches wherein the spreader surface is fully across the y edge (see annotated Figure 16a below, where the chamfered geometry seen in Figure 16b will extend along this entire edge).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLellan (US-2013/0078734-A1).
Regarding claim 8, McLellan teaches the histological containment system of claim 6.
It has been held that changes in shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant, MPEP 2144.04 IV.B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the projection seen in Figure 16a such that the trapezoid shape is curved.
An annotated Figure 16a of McLellan has been provided below where the lateral center of the trapezoid has been indicated with an arrow, where instead of the trapezoid shape it will now be curved. The lateral center will be at the top of the curve. The curve is upward from the laterally center portion and the sides will slope away from the laterally center portion towards the sides.
The limitation “such that the curved spreader surface divides downward-flowing fluids into the lateral side paths directed toward the side flow guides and a central path.” is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by McLellan and the apparatus of McLellan is capable of dividing downward-flowing fluids into lateral side paths and a central path. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of McLellan (see MPEP §2114).
Please note that “the side flow guides” do not have antecedent basis. However, as the projection spreads the fluid across the entire width of the cavity, the areas where the projection meets the sidewalls will be the side flow guides.
Claim(s) 8 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLellan (US-2013/0078734-A1) in view of Stiene (US-2011/0136249-A1).
Regarding claim 8, McLellan teaches the histological containment system of claim 6. If it is determined that McLellan does not teach wherein the spreader surface is curved upwardly from the laterally center portion of the cover pad and sloping away from the laterally center portion toward the sides of the cover pad, such that the curved spreader surface divides downward-flowing fluids into the lateral side paths directed toward the side flow guides and a central path, in the same problem solving area of applying sample to a cavity, Stiene teaches where a sample application area is a convex curve (Stiene; [0062], Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the projection of McLellan, as seen in Figure 16a, such that the trapezoid shape is a convex curve shape as taught by Stiene because Stiene teaches that the convex curve shape allows for easier application of sample (Stiene; [0062]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., a cover) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., shape of the projection of the cover being a trapezoid) with other component(s) (i.e., shape being a convex curve), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., the trapezoid shape for a convex curve), and the results of the substitution (i.e., sample/fluid spreading across the entire width of the cavity) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to substitute the trapezoid shape of the projection reference McLellan with the convex curve of reference Stiene, since the result would have been predictable.
Please note that “the side flow guides” do not have antecedent basis. However, as the projection spreads the fluid across the entire width of the cavity, the areas where the now convex curved projection meets the sidewalls will be the side flow guides.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLellan (US-2013/0078734-A1) in view of Baba (US-2019/0195749-A1).
Regarding claim 11, McLellan teaches the histological containment system of claim 9. McLellan does not teach further comprising a layer of hydrophobic material formed as a fluid-retention barrier on an outward surface of the cover pad, distal from the shelf when the cover pad is placed on the shelf, the layer positioned to restrain the fluids from flowing over the cover pad.
In the same problem solving area of receiving and retaining a sample, Baba teaches a specimen collection tip with a specimen collection hole that is brought into contact with a liquid specimen that is then sucked up into a specimen holding region by capillary phenomenon (Baba; [0013]).
Specifically, Baba teaches where a specimen collection tip 10 is formed with two resin films 16 and double sided tape 18 (Baba; [0051], [0053], Figures 1-2). [0062] describes that the specimen collection tip 10 may be subjected to such a superhydrophobic treatment and hydrophilic treatment can be obtained by subjecting one face of the resin film 16 to superhydrophobic treatment while subjecting the opposite face to hydrophilic treatment, where therefore the outer surface of the resin film will be superhydrophobic. [0082] further describes that the superhydrophpobicity prevents adhesion of the specimen to the surface of the peripheral wall.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply a superhydrophobic treatment to an outward surface of the cover, the side opposite to the cavitied face 22 seen in Figure 6 of McLellan, of McLellan as taught by Baba because Baba teaches that the superhydrophobic treatment prevents droplets from adhering (Baba; [0060]).
The limitation “to restrain the fluids from flowing over the cover pad.” is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified McLellan and the apparatus of modified McLellan is capable of restraining fluids from flowing over the cover pad. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of McLellan (see MPEP §2114).
Please note that the shelf has not been positively recited, and is therefore not a part of the claimed system.
Regarding claim 12, McLellan teaches the histological containment system of claim 6. McLellan does not teach further comprising a layer of hydrophobic material formed as a fluid-retention barrier on an outward surface of the cover pad, distal from the shelf when the cover pad is placed on the shelf, the layer positioned to restrain the fluids from flowing over the cover pad.
In the same problem solving area of receiving and retaining a sample, Baba teaches a specimen collection tip with a specimen collection hole that is brought into contact with a liquid specimen that is then sucked up into a specimen holding region by capillary phenomenon (Baba; [0013]).
Specifically, Baba teaches where a specimen collection tip 10 is formed with two resin films 16 and double sided tape 18 (Baba; [0051], [0053], Figures 1-2). [0062] describes that the specimen collection tip 10 may be subjected to such a superhydrophobic treatment and hydrophilic treatment can be obtained by subjecting one face of the resin film 16 to superhydrophobic treatment while subjecting the opposite face to hydrophilic treatment, where therefore the outer surface of the resin film will be superhydrophobic. [0082] further describes that the superhydrophpobicity prevents adhesion of the specimen to the surface of the peripheral wall.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply a superhydrophobic treatment to an outward surface of the cover of McLellan, the side opposite to the cavitied face 22 seen in Figure 6 of McLellan, as taught by Baba because Baba teaches that the superhydrophobic treatment prevents droplets from adhering (Baba; [0060]).
The limitation “to restrain the fluids from flowing over the cover pad.” is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified McLellan and the apparatus of modified McLellan is capable of restraining fluids from flowing over the cover pad. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of McLellan (see MPEP §2114).
Please note that the shelf has not been positively recited, and is therefore not a part of the claimed system.
Other References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhullar (US-2007/0278097-A1) teaches where the dosing end of a biosensor may comprise a flat or straight edge or a curved profile (Bhullar; [0235], Figures 19A-C).
Response to Arguments
Due to amendments to the claims, the rejections in view of McLellan under 35 USC 102 have been modified to address this amendment.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and arguments, see page 11 of 14, filed 08/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 8 in view of McLellan in view of Asmann under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of McLellan (US-2013/0078734-A1) in view of Stiene (US-2011/0136249-A1). Please note that the 103 rejection in view of McLellan has been amended to address amendments to the claim.
With regards to applicant arguments First on page 8 of 14:
The projection 13 is a part of cover 10, where as the cover 10 is a three dimensional object it will have an “outer surface”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the cover is not “angled upward from a laterally center portion… toward the sides”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is noted that claim 8 appears to be related to this argument, but does not explicitly recite “angled upward”.
In response to applicant's argument that the outward surface does not receive “downward-flowing fluids deposited on the planar support above the cover pad” and laterally redirect those fluids towards sides of the cover, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Please see [0051] of McLellan which describes where projection 13 assists in spreading the fluid across the full width of the cavity 18, where [0050] describes the cover 10 having the cavity 18.
With regards to applicant arguments Second on page 8 of 14:
Applicant argues that McLellan relies on a projection/reservoir and cavity-filling mechanism and not an outward spreader surface on a cover pad that receives downward-flowing fluids from the planar support and directs them laterally toward side flow guide surfaces formed at side portions of the cover pad and into a clearance space under the cover pad. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, it is noted that receiving downward-flowing fluids is not recited in claim 6, additionally receiving downward-flowing fluids is directed to the intended use of the device. Further, the outward surface of projection 13 will be making contact with fluid and spreading it across the full width of the cavity 18.
With regards to applicant arguments Third on page 9 of 14:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., side flow guide surfaces formed at respective side portions of the cover pad where the spreader surface meets the respective side portions) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Please note that while claim 8 does describe “the side flow guides” there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, and the additional details argued are not present in claim 8. Further please see the rejections of claim 8 supra describing the instance where the side flow guides have antecedent basis.
With regards to applicant arguments Fourth on page 9 of 14:
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 6. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation the planar support extends upward toward the shelf top is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Applicant argues on page 10 of 14 that McLellan’s end geometries, projection, and fluid receiving zone remain part of a reservoir/cavity system for filling a reaction chamber and do not disclose a y-edge chamfer forming the same outward spreader surface of claim 6 positioned on the cover pad to receive downward-flowing fluids from the planar support and direct those fluids laterally and under the cover pad.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in Figure 16b the side view of the projection is chamfered, and as the cover (and thus projection) is a three dimensional object it will have an outer surface and thus an outward spreader surface. The projection spreads the fluid across the width of the cavity. Further, it is again reiterated that receiving downward-flowing fluids is directed to the intended use of the cover.
Applicant arguments on page 10 of 14 are with regards to the rejection of claim 8 and change of shape. Applicant arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, in response to applicant's argument that the convex/angled-up curvature directs incoming downward-flowing fluids into sideways flow paths and a central path, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Further, applicant argues that McLellan provides no teaching or motivation to curve the projection in a manner that would convert it from a reservoir-bounding structure into an upwardly-angled external spreader surface that divides downward-flowing fluids. It is respectfully noted that by changing the shape of the projection it is not changing the reservoir-bounding structure and it would be upwardly-angled due to it being a convex curve, and as described above would be capable of dividing downward-flowing fluids. Applicant further argues that changing the projection to the claimed curved spreader surface would fundamentally alter McLellan’s principle of operation and render McLellan unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Examiner respectfully disagrees. If the trapezoid shape seen in Figure 16a of McLellan is instead curved, it would still perform the function of spreading fluid across the width of the cavity.
In response to applicant's argument that Baba is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both Baba and the present invention are solving the same problem regarding receiving and retaining a sample/fluid.
In response to applicant's argument that the function of restraining the fluids from flowing over the cover path is entirely different from Baba, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, applicant argues that McLellan does not face the problem of fluid flowing over the cover pad on an inclined shelf. The motivation to make the outer surface of the cover superhydrophobic is provided in Baba which teaches that the superhydrophobic coating would prevent liquid droplets from adhering.
Applicant further argues that the superhydrophobic treatment to McLellan’s fluid-contacting surfaces would actively frustrate McLellan’s intended capillary wicking and fluid spreading mechanism. It is respectfully noted that this is not the area getting the superhydrophobic treatment. The treatment would be on the outer side of the cover. Please note that the rejections of claims 11 and 12 have been modified due to applicant amendments to the claims, where there is now an outer surface in claim 1, and the outer surfaces described in claims 11 and 12 are different from the outer surface of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MELVIN C. MAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759