Status
Claims 1, 5, 11 and 15 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending. The rejection under 35USC112b is withdrawn in view of claim amendments. The rejections under 35USC102 and 35USC103 are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feltham (US20220416359) and Tyler (US20150072209).
As to claim 1 and 11, Feltham teaches a battery assembly (100) defining a first axis and a second axis orthogonal thereto (length and width) (fig. 1), the battery assembly (100) comprising: a housing (fig 1: outer enclosure 120 and fig. 3: 330) wherein the outer enclosure is described as configured to house the modules wherein gas may be directed to vent ports away (fig. 1; [0010]) therefore while not explicit one of ordinary skill would appreciate the presence of side walls and a base necessarily given the plain meaning of “house” and directionality of flow and/or obvious in order to protect the modules from the external factors and keep them in place. Continuing with the housing (outer enclosure 120) which is depicted as containing a midline (fig. 1: between modules 101-104 and 105-108). Feltham teaches a plurality of modules (fig. 1: 101-108) each module having an inboard end facing another module opposite an outboard end facing a side wall opposite the midline; a plurality of cells arranged in the module (fig. 1: 131; [0030]) and a cover assembly (fig. 1: 135; [0030] and fig. 3: 311; [0034]) mounted on each of the modules wherein the modules comprise first and second modules adjacent each other along the second axis (fig. 1: top-bottom of page) with the midline therebetween wherein respective inboard ends of the first and second modules face one another and there is no battery module position between the outboard ends of the first and second module and the housing (fig. 1: columns comprise only two modules example 101 and 105). Feltham teaches directing the vented gas from modules along the outboard through at least one opening in a predetermined direction and depicted along the outboards (arrows) towards vent ports (110, 111) and away from undesired locations (fig. 1; [0010] and [0029-30]). However, Feltham is silent to the cover (fig. 1: 135 and fig. 3: 311) comprising inner and outer cover members as well as details thereof as required by claim 1.
Tyler teaches a battery module for use in vehicles (title and [0004]). Tyler teaches the battery module comprising a cover assembly with an outer cover (cover 52) and inner cover (lid 56) spaced apart therefrom (presence of 24/26/58) (fig. 49). Tyler teaches the outer cover (52), inner cover (56) and lower housing (50) are all connected to one another to hermetically seal the module therein from moisture, particulate matter and foreign agents ([0095-96]). Tyler teaches the outer member (52) having a single vent channel (chimney 356) for releasing vented gasses from the module (fig. 47). Tyler’s cover has four walls (fig. 48). Given that Tyler teaches flow towards this single opening (chimney 456) one of ordinary skill would appreciate all other sides to have no openings and/or find it obvious to have no openings in other sides walls to ensure efficient routing of venting gasses as desired by Tyler ([0213]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the module covers of Tyler in Feltham to both direct gasses towards Feltham’s vent ports (fig. 1) while ensuring module contents are protected for external factors as taught by Tyler ([0095-96]). As a result of the modification one of ordinary skill would appreciate facing the cover opening of each module on only the outbound end side walls of respective module covers to maintain the desired vented gas flow of Feltham (fig. 1: along outboard walls of 120 only).
Further regarding claim 11, modified Feltham teaches the battery assembly used in a vehicle with a drive motor mounted therein (Feltham: [0029] and Tyler: fig. 1-2; [0004]) and while not explicitly described in Feltham, Tyler’s vehicle includes a body with passenger compartment (seating) (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a passenger compartment as taught by Tyler for versatility in vehicle usage.
Regarding claim 2 and 12, modified Feltham teaches the cover (from Tyler) includes the outer (52) and inner (56) cover members as discussed above where the inner member (56) may further include the lid (290) and vent chamber cover (338) disposed on the bottom of the lid (290) as a result the cover comprises outer (52) intermediate (290 of 56) and inner (338 of 56) members (fig. 40, 43-44; [0205]) wherein the intermediate (290) and inner (338) members contain one or more vent openings (298 and 342 respectively: [0205]).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, modified Feltham (see Tyler) teaches the outer cover member (52) is spaced from the intermediate cover member (290) (fig. 49).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, modified Feltham (see Tyler) teaches that the gap defined between the intermediate cover member (290) and the outer cover (52) must be sufficient to contain desired interconnects/PCB (fig. 49) while balancing the desire to reduce overall packaging ([0123]). Therefore, while Tyler does not explicitly teach a gap width of about 10mm, Tyler appreciates that the gap width is an art recognized variable which would have been obvious at the time of filing to optimize for a desirable spatial configuration ([0123]) barring evidence of criticality and unexpected results.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, modified Feltham teaches that the cover is electrically insulative overall (Feltham: [0046]) and Tyler explicitly explains the intermediate member (290) be made of plastic, glass filled polymer or appropriate material ([0192]) where the intermediate member (290) contains apertures through which battery terminals extend ([0192]). One of ordinary skill would appreciate that Tyler’s cover member materials listed are conventionally considered electrically insulative unless expressed otherwise. Moreover, one of ordinary skill would necessarily envisage and/or obviate selection of electrically insulative materials to ensure the terminals extending therethrough do not short circuit one another given there is an additional bus bar component (222) which electrically connects them (Tyler: [0192]).
Regarding claim 6 and 16, modified Feltham teaches that the outer cover member includes a surface (top face: Feltham fig. 1 and Tyler fig. 49) extending across each cell therein having four sides spacing apart respective four ends (i.e. forming a rectangular top face shape).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, modified Feltham teaches the outer cover includes end walls extending from the first and second end surfaces and side walls extending from first and second side surfaces (Tyler: 52 box shaped; fig. 49) wherein the first and second end and side walls channel gasses from the cells toward the second end (Tyler: fig. 47; Feltham: fig. 1). That is walls of the cover assembly as a whole act to channel gasses to one side and therefore read on the instant claimed functional language.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, modified Feltham teaches the inner cover member (Tyler: 56) is also rectangular in shape (Tyler: fig. 49) thereby having a surface portion extending across each cell (Tyler: 54) including end portions at inboard/outboard sides and side portions (length) extending between spaced apart end potions (width).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, modified Feltham teaches the inner cover (Tyler: 56) includes end wall members (Tyler: outer 302s) side wall members (Tyler: middle 302) extending from the surface portion (top face) connecting these side walls to the outer cover member ([0194] and fig. 49). Tyler also depicts various protrusions in fig. 49 which may read on the members claimed.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feltham and Tyler as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Yin (US20210408934 previously presented).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, modified Feltham teaches is silent to connector elements of the cover assembly connecting the outer cover to the side wall of the housing.
Yin teaches a battery assembly for a vehicle including a similar array of modules (230) comprising a cover assembly (240/250) arranged in a housing (200) wherein the second end of the surface includes a connector (246) connecting the outer cover member with one of the plurality of side walls of the housing (220) (fig. 5-6)([0075]: tray). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to connect the module to the housing in modified Feltham according to actual needs including fixing the modules, as taught by Yin ([0075]). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this connection taught by Yin would minimize movement of modules in the housing potentially reducing damage given the application in a moving vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724