DETAILED ACTION
This is a FINAL REJECTION in response to applicant’s claim amendments and arguments filed July 6, 2026. Claims 2, 4-6, and 8-11 are currently amended. Claims 1-12 are pending review in this correspondence.
Response to Amendment
Rejection of claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pfost et al (US 6,485,690 B1) is maintained in view of applicant’s claim amendments and arguments.
Rejection of claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pfost et al (US 6,485,690 B1) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s arguments.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Testa et al (US 2011/0189782 A1) is maintained in view of applicant’s claim amendments and arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pfost et al (US 6,485,690 B1).
With respect to claim 1 Pfost discloses a histological system for preparing histological samples (cassette 225, See Fig. 35) comprising:
A container (vacuum mechanism 232, See Fig. 36) configured to support histological samples for at least applying reagents to the histological samples and having an at least partially open top (See Fig. 36); and
a humidity control lid (combination of mother plate 231 and well plate 228) configured to be coupled with the container (See Fig. 35 for depiction of assembled cassette) and having at least one lid portal (wells in well plate 228) configured to be accessed through to an inside of the container, and comprising a humidifying layer (mother plate 231) having at least one humidifying portal (larger capacity wells for capturing effluent materials ejected from the wells in the well plate) aligned with the lid portal, the humidifying layer configured to create a humidifying zone in the humidifying portal having a humidity greater than the lid portal without the humidifying layer (See Col. 15, line 27 – Col. 16, line 18). Applicant should note the italicized limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Pfost and the apparatus of Pfost is capable of the recitations of claim 1. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Pfost (see MPEP §2114). Furthermore, it is noted that applicant has provided figures that demonstrate that the at least one lid portal is disposed over the at least one humidifying portal, but no description of any differences in the composition of the humidifying layer vs the layer comprising the at least one lid portion. As such, the configuration of the mother plate and well plate of Pfost suffices to read upon the recitation describing the differences in humidity for the humidifying layer and the layer comprising the at least one lid portal.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Testa et al (US 2011/0189782 A1) (provided by applicant in IDS dated 5/7/2024).
With respect to claim 1 Testa discloses a histological system (Para. 0002 for discussion of the invention pertaining to the field of cytology and histology) for preparing histological samples comprising:
A container (See Figs. 4-6, 16) configured tosupport histological samples for at least applying reagets to the histological samples (See Para. 0077 for discussion of the apparatus comprising a bottom member arranged to support at least one carrier member carrying at least one biological sample) and having an at least partially open top (See Figs. 1-2, 4 and Para. 0116 for discussion of the bottom member 12 and the lid member 14 being connected through an unshown hinge, wherein the open configuration creates an open top for bottom member 12); and
A humidity control is configured to be coupled with the container (See Figs. 4-6, 16 and Para. 0169 for discussion of the lid member being provided with holding means, such as a grid, slots, and/or fingers, supporting two humidity control strips) and having at least one lid portal (See Figs. 6, 16 and Para. 0211 for discussion of the lid being provided with a hole that provides an inlet for fluid to the reservoir 18 and enabling the robot to provide a fluid, such as water or a reagent to the reservoir and/or to the sample) configured to be accessed through to an inside of the container, and comprising a humidifying layer (humidity control strips comprise layer inside inner surface of the lid) having at least one humidifying portal aligned with the lid portal (See Figs. 6, 16 and Para. 0211 for discussion of the lid being provided with a hole that provides an inlet for fluid to the reservoir 18 and enabling the robot to provide a fluid, such as water or a reagent to the reservoir and/or to the sample), the humidifying layer configured to create a humidifying zone in the humidifying portal having a humidity greater than the lid portal without the humidifying layer (See Para. 0075 for discussion of how the proximity of the fluid reservoir and the sample is important in order to ensure that vapor from the reservoir can be generated at a rate able to maintain a constant high relative humidity in the chamber; Para. 0117 discusses how a higher amount of water in the reservoir is important to obtain a high rate of exchange of humid air to maintain the desired humidity above and within the sample; also See Para. 0180-181).
Applicant should note the italicized limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Testa and the apparatus of Testa is capable of the recitations of claim 1. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Pfost (see MPEP §2114). Furthermore, it is noted that applicant has provided figures that demonstrate that the at least one lid portal is disposed over the at least one humidifying portal, but no description of any differences in the composition of the humidifying layer vs the layer comprising the at least one lid portion. As such, the configuration of the mother plate and well plate of Testa suffices to read upon the recitation describing the differences in humidity for the humidifying layer and the layer comprising the at least one lid portal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest cited prior art of reference fails to disclose or teach the incorporation of a shutter that is movably coupled to the top of the thermal control cover and having at least one shutter portal, wherein the shutter portal selectively aligns with the top portal by movement of the shutter relative to the top for selective access through the shutter portal and top portal and through the lid portal into the container. Claim 9 depends upon claim 8, and thus, inherits the same status.
With respect to claim 10, the closest cited prior art of reference fails to disclose or fairly teach the system of claim 10, specifically the incorporation of a thermal control cover with a removable top and configured to be placed at least partially over the container with the humidity control lid, the top covering the at least one lid portal of the humidity control lid. Specifically, Pfost's temperature plate is integral to the sealed processor stack and is not a removable cover that sits over a container and that can be removed for intermittent access. Pfost's architecture, as a sealed multi-layered system, has no concept of a removable thermal cover that a robot (or a human) lifts to access lid portals beneath.
Claims 11 and 12 are ultimately dependent upon claim 10 and inherit the same status.
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest cited prior art of reference fails to disclose or teach:
A thermal control cover comprising a top having at least one top portal, the top portal being aligned with the lid portal, and a shutter that is movably coupled to the top of the thermal control cover and having at least one shutter portal, wherein the shutter portal selectively aligns with the top portal by movement of the shutter relative to the top for selective access through the shutter portal and top portal and through the lid portal into the container (claim 2). Claims 3 and 4 are dependent upon claim 2 and inherits the same status;
A thermal control cover with a removable top and configured to be placed at least partially over the container with the humidity control lid, the top covering the at least one lid portal of the humidity control lid (claim 5);
That the container comprises a water compartment and a waste compartment fluidically separated from the water compartment, the waste compartment aligned under a flow of fluid from the histological samples (claim 6); Claim 7 is dependent upon claim 6 and inherits the same status; and
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
APPLICANT ARGUES:
A. Pfost Is Not a Histological System and Does Not Disclose a Container Configured to Support Histological Samples with an At Least Partially Open Top
Claim 1 recites "a container configured to support histological samples for at least applying reagents to the histological samples and having an at least partially open top." Pfost does not disclose this element.
Pfost discloses a "Multiple Fluid Sample Processor and System" designed for high- throughput chemical synthesis and biological assays. (Pfost, Title. Pfost's stated objects include use in "combinatorial chemistry," "drug discovery," "catalyst discovery," and "diagnostic applications." (Pfost, col. 4, I. 64 - col.5, I. 36.) Pfost is a sealed, multi-layered microfluidic processor with micro-sized channels, capillary valves, and pressure-driven fluid delivery. Pfost's wells hold reagents, solid supports, particles, and other materials for chemical reactions-not histological tissue samples (i.e., tissue sections on slides or supports) for staining or other histological preparation.
Pfost's system does not have "an at least partially open top." Applicant acknowledges that Pfost's top plate 226 has apertures through which fluids are introduced. However, these apertures do not render the system "at least partially open." To the contrary, Pfost explicitly describes the top plate 226 as being "for sealing from atmosphere and for interface with pressure and vacuum systems." (Pfost, col. 15, Il. 28-31.) The injection gasket 226A positioned below the top plate is specifically "manufactured to enable the introduction of liquids and resealing following liquid delivery" using "a pre-scored perfluro elastomer gasket" that provides "a self-sealing interface." (Pfost, col. 15, Il. 43-44.) The entire system is sealed-the apertures in the top plate are sealed by the self-sealing gasket after each liquid delivery, maintaining a sealed condition. This is fundamentally different from a container with "an at least partially open top" to which a lid is coupled. (Pgs.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion that the container (vacuum mechanism 232) of Pfost of does have a partially open top. Specifically, Fig. 36 of Pfost clearly depicts that upper portion of the vacuum mechanism is open and allows for positioning of mother plate 231 within the opening. The examiner did not intend for the interpretation of the aperture of the top plate of 226 as the recited partially open top of the container.
APPLICANT ARGUES:
B. Pfost's Apertures in the Top Plate Are Not "Lid Portals Configured to Be Accessed Through to an Inside of the Container"
Claim 1 recites "a humidity control lid configured to be coupled with the container and having at least one lid portal configured to be accessed through to an inside of the container." The claim language is precise: the lid portal is "configured to be accessed through to an inside of the container." This requires that the portal provides access through the lid and into the container's interior volume where the histological samples are supported. Pfost does not disclose this.
Applicant acknowledges that Pfost discloses apertures in top plate 226 through which a liquid handling robot deposits fluids, and that an injection gasket 226A below the top plate allows introduction of liquids while maintaining a seal. However, the mode of access in Pfost is fundamentally different from the claimed invention:
In the claimed invention, a robot inserts a dispenser through the lid portal and into the container's interior volume-physically passing through the portal to directly access the inside of the container where the histological samples are supported. The lid portal opens directly into an open container space.
In Pfost, the robot deposits liquid into the apertures of the top plate 226. The liquid then travels through sealed microchannels via pressure pumping to reach the reaction wells located in a separate, lower layer (well plate 228). (See also, Figs. 10-18 and col. 7, Il. 47-60 describing cross-sectional views with top plate 12' having microchannels that pass through a middle layer 14' into a well plate layer 16'). The robot does not physically pass through the top plate apertures into an open container volume below. There is no open container volume to access. Rather, the apertures lead into sealed microfluidic passages that distribute fluid through pressure-driven delivery systems.
This distinction is not merely semantic-it reflects a fundamentally different architecture. In the claimed invention, the lid sits atop an open container, and the portals in the lid provide direct physical access into that open container space. In Pfost, the top plate is part of a sealed, multi- layered stack, and the apertures in the top plate connect to sealed microchannels-not to an open container volume. No robot or dispenser passes "through" the aperture "to an inside of the container" because there is no open container interior to access.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: The applicant has not positively recited the incorporation of the robot, merely that a robot is designed to be utilized with the claimed system. Additionally, the current recitation reads more broadly than applicant’s interpretation. Being “accessed through to an inside of the container” merely implies that the inside of the container is connected to the lid portal, and that could be a direct connection (i.e. the container is directly below the lid portal) or via other structural features (i.e. via microchannels, as disclosed in Pfost). The applicant should consider the incorporation of language that will more clearly define the structural relationship between various claimed embodiments of the current invention.
APPLICANT ARGUES:
C. Pfost's Injection Gasket 226A Is Not a "Humidifying Layer" and Does Not Create a "Humidifying Zone"
Claim 1 recites "a humidifying layer having at least one humidifying portal aligned with the lid portal, the humidifying layer configured to create a humidifying zone in the humidifying portal having a humidity greater than the lid portal without the humidifying layer." Pfost has no disclosure of a humidifying layer or a humidifying zone.
The Office Action may point to Pfost's injection gasket 226A as a "layer" positioned below the top plate. However, gasket 226A is a sealing gasket-not a humidifying layer. Its function is to seal between plates and to allow introduction of liquids while maintaining a liquid-tight seal. It is manufactured from "pre-scored perfluro elastomer" material specifically to provide "a self- sealing interface." (Pfost, col. 15, Il. 43-44. Its purpose is atmospheric isolation and pressure containment-the antithesis of humidity control through evaporation.
In the claimed invention, the "humidifying layer" performs a completely different function. It is wetted with fluid (e.g., sprayed or dosed) and through evaporation from the wetted layer creates a "humidified zone" across the humidifying portals. This humidified zone maintains elevated humidity at the portal openings, retarding the diffusion of moisture in and out of the container. The humidifying layer has discrete "humidifying portals" aligned with the lid portals- openings through which the robot can pass-and creates humidity specifically at those portal locations.
Pfost's gasket 226A has none of these attributes:
- It is not wetted with fluid to create humidity through evaporation;
- It does not create a "humidifying zone" at any portal;
- It does not function to maintain humidity inside a container;
- Its pre-scored openings are designed to reseal after liquid delivery-the
opposite of maintaining an open portal with a humidified zone; and
- Its material (perfluro elastomer) is chosen for chemical resistance and self- sealing properties, not for moisture retention or evaporative humidity generation.
Even if one were to consider the gasket's pre-scored openings as analogous to "portals," the gasket does not "create a humidifying zone in the humidifying portal having a humidity greater than the lid portal without the humidifying layer." The gasket's function is sealing-preventing atmospheric exposure-not humidity control. There is simply no analog to the claimed humidifying structure or function anywhere in Pfost.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Applicant should consider the incorporation of language that more precisely defines the structure/material of the recited humidifying layer. Currently, much of the language pertaining to the humidfying layer is drawn to what the layer does, and as noted above, applicant should note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
APPLICANT ARGUES:
D. Pfost Does Not Disclose the Additional Limitations of Claim 5
Claim 5 further recites "a thermal control cover with a removable top and configured to be placed at least partially over the container with the lid, the top covering the at least one lid portal of the lid, the lid being configured to be removable by a robot."
Pfost's temperature control is achieved via a temperature plate 230 that is attached to the well plate 228 for heating reaction well contents. (Pfost, col. 15, Il. 63-64.) This is not a "thermal control cover" placed over a container with a lid. Pfost's temperature plate is integral to the sealed processor stack-it is not a removable cover that sits over a container and that can be removed by a robot for intermittent access. Pfost's architecture, as a sealed multi-layered system, has no concept of a removable thermal cover that a robot lifts to access lid portals beneath.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Examiner agrees with the current arguments, and as such, the rejection has been withdrawn.
APPLICANT ARGUES:
E. Pfost Does Not Disclose the Combination Recited in Claim 10
Claim 10 independently recites the combination of the humidity control lid with portals and a humidifying layer creating a humidifying zone, together with a thermal control cover with a removable top placed over the container with the humidity control lid, with the lid being configured to be removable by a robot. For all the reasons set forth in Sections II.A through II.D above, Pfost does not anticipate Claim 10. Pfost does not disclose (1) a container with an open top configured to support histological samples, (2) a humidity control lid with lid portals providing access through to an inside of the container, (3) a humidifying layer with humidifying portals creating a humidifying zone, or (4) a thermal control cover with a removable top-let alone the claimed combination of these elements.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Examiner agrees with the current arguments, and as such, the rejection has been withdrawn.
APPLICANT ARGUES:
A. Testa Does Not Disclose a Humidity Control Lid Having at Least One Lid Portal Configured to Be Accessed Through to an Inside of the Container
Testa discloses an apparatus for processing biological samples with a bottom member 12 supporting carrier members (slides) 15 and a lid 14 that includes humidity control strips 18. However, Testa's lid 14 is opened entirely to access the samples. Testa's claim 104 states "wherein said lid may be opened to access said at least one biological sample and said reservoir." (Testa, claim 104.)
While FIG. 16 of Testa shows a "hole 24" in the lid for a robot arm to provide fluid to the
reservoir 18 and/or to the sample, this single hole is described for adding fluid to the reservoir. It is not an array of "lid portals" individually aligned with sample positions for intermittent access through the lid while it remains closed and coupled to the container.
The claimed invention requires "at least one lid portal configured to be accessed through to an inside of the container"-meaning discrete openings through which a dispenser passes into the container while the lid remains coupled. Testa does not teach this. Testa's system either opens the lid entirely for access or, at most, provides a single fluid-fill hole that is functionally and structurally distinct from the claimed lid portals.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: The applicant has not positively recited the incorporation of the robot or dispenser; there are merely later recitations that a robot or dispenser is designed to be utilized with the claimed system. Additionally, the current recitation reads more broadly than applicant’s interpretation. Being “accessed through to an inside of the container” merely implies that the inside of the container is connected to the at least one lid portal (not an array of lid portals), and that could be a direct connection (i.e. the container is directly below the lid portal) or via other structural features (i.e. via microchannels, as disclosed in Pfost). The applicant should consider the incorporation of language that will more clearly define the structural relationship between various claimed embodiments of the current invention.
APPLICANT ARGUES:
B. Testa Does Not Disclose a Humidifying Layer Having at Least One Humidifying Portal Aligned with the Lid Portal
Claim 1 requires "a humidifying layer having at least one humidifying portal aligned with the lid portal, the humidifying layer configured to create a humidifying zone in the humidifying portal having a humidity greater than the lid portal without the humidifying layer." Testa does not disclose this element.
Testa's humidity control strips 18 are solid sheets of absorbent material (non-woven bonded blends of hydrophilic modified polypropylene and polyethylene micro fibers). They do not have discrete openings or "portals." The claimed "humidifying layer" has "at least one humidifying portal aligned with the lid portal"-i.e., the humidifying layer has a discrete opening aligned with the lid portal, and the humidifying zone is created in that portal through evaporation from the wetted layer.
Testa's solid absorbent strips are positioned above slides and provide humidity through vapor exchange with the chamber atmosphere generally. They do not have portals creating humidified zones in specific aligned openings. The distinction is both structural (solid sheet vs. layer with discrete portal openings) and functional (general vapor exchange within a closed chamber vs. localized humidifying zone in an aligned portal that retards moisture diffusion during intermittent access).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: The examiner disagrees with applicant’s assertions that the strips do not have discrete openings or portals. Para. 0172 specifically discloses that the strips have large internal surfaces compared to their external surfaces as well as to their total volume. The material may be of a kind comprising pores, forming cavities accommodating the water. It is however presently preferred that the cavities are formed by spaces between randomly located bonded fibers, preferably having hydrophilic properties. Naturally, the multitude of pores that are intrinsic to the chosen material of the strips would result in a portion of the pores being positioned with the disclosed lid portal.
APPLICANT ARGUES:
C. Functional Distinction: Intermittent Access with Humidity Control
The claimed invention provides intermittent access through aligned portals while maintaining humidity control. The humidified zone at each portal retards diffusion of moisture in and out of the container through the portals. This allows a robot to access the container through the portals while the lid remains in place, maintaining controlled conditions inside the container.
Testa's system requires the lid to be fully opened for access, which disrupts the controlled humidity environment. This fundamental functional difference further confirms that Testa does not anticipate the claimed invention.
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Para. 0147 refutes applicant’s assertion that the Testa’s system requires the lid to be fully opened either for access, or during use of the system. Specifically, Para. 0147 states, “When carrying out the method of processing, it is preferred to supply the reservoir with water after the arrangement of the samples on the carrier members. If the lid with the reservoir material comprising the content of water is left open for a substantial time, the water may ooze downwards flowing out of the reservoir. Preferably, the lid is closed and positioned in its normal, horizontal position when it contains water--and during the processing of the samples.” Applicant should consider the incorporation of additional structural features to more precisely differentiate the claimed invention from the cited prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRITTANY I FISHER/Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794