DETAILED ACTION
Final Action
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1-15 are rejected below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The title amounts to little more than controlling an air condition system. The claims largely discuss energy storage based occupancy information but the title fails to mention these aspects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz (U.S. PG Pub. 2011/0204720) in view of Jayadev (U.S. PG Pub. 20050005621).
As to claim 1, Ruiz teaches a method for controlling an air conditioning system, the air conditioning system comprising a plurality of indoor units arranged in different regions, wherein the control method comprises: a step for acquiring occupancy information [0086], acquiring the occupancy information of a region[0086] in a specific region; a step for acquiring electric energy information, acquiring electric energy information containing an electric energy characteristic [0086 RTP for instance]; and a step for generating an energy storage instruction, generating an energy storage instruction for a specific region on the basis of the occupancy information when the electric energy information satisfies a predetermined energy storage condition[0069, 0090]. Ruiz teaches monitoring an occupancy and energy charteristics to determine how to use energy and storage energy.
Ruiz teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to teach all of the claimed invention however, this is an is an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art and taught by
Jayadev as follows:
As to claim 1 Jayadev teaches generating the energy storage instruction for the specific region on the basis of the occupancy information when the electric energy information satisfies a predetermined energy storage condition, wherein the energy storage instruction causes the specific region to store cold energy or heat energy[0075].
As to claim 2, Ruiz teaches wherein the electric energy characteristic refers to any one of a carbon emission index of a power grid, the cleanliness of a power grid, the percentage of clean electric energy, and the percentage of renewable energy sources[0073, 0079].
As to claim 3, Ruiz teaches wherein the electric energy characteristic varies over time[0086 RTP change].
As to claim 4, Ruiz teaches further comprising: a step for executing the energy storage instruction, making an indoor unit arranged in the specific region execute the energy storage instruction[0106] (fig. 17).
As to claim 5, Ruiz teaches wherein the indoor unit comprises a temperature controller, and making an indoor unit arranged in the specific region execute the energy storage instruction specifically comprises: adjusting the set temperature of a temperature controller in the specific region[0107, 0108].
As to claim 6, Ruiz teaches wherein the indoor unit further comprises a fan coil or an air valve, and making an indoor unit arranged in the specific region execute the energy storage instruction specifically comprises: making the air speed of a fan coil in the specific region change, or making the opening degree of an air valve in the specific region change, or performing any of the above actions in response to an input from the temperature controller in the specific region [0102].
As to claim 9, Ruiz teaches wherein the occupancy information is determined on the basis of any one of information about the number of people in the region[0086], pre-stored information about usage of the region, and information about a timetable of the set temperature of the temperature controller.
As to claim 10, Ruiz teaches further comprising: a step for generating an energy release instruction, generating an energy release instruction when a predetermined energy release condition is satisfied [0097].
As to claim 13, Ruiz teaches a computer-readable storage medium, storing a control program, wherein the control program implements the method for controlling an air conditioning system according to according to claim 1 when executed by a processor (element 26).
As to claim 14, Ruiz teaches mobile terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory, a processor-readable instruction being stored in the memory, and the processor executing the method for controlling an air conditioning system according to claim 1 by running the processor-readable instruction [0087].
As to claim 15, Ruiz teaches a server, comprising: a processor and a memory, a processor-readable instruction being stored in the memory, and the processor executing the method for controlling an air conditioning system according to claim 1 by running the processor-readable instruction (element 26).
As to claim 16, Jayadev teaches wherein the energy release instruction causes the stored cold energy or heat energy to be used for cooling or heating one or more other regions of the different regions [0075].
As to claim 17, Jayadev teaches wherein the stored cold energy or heat energy is stored in a space, a wall, or furniture of the specific region [0075].
As to claim 18, Jayadev teaches wherein the energy storage instruction is generated when the occupancy information indicates that the specific region is unoccupied[0075].
As to claim 19, Jayadev teaches wherein executing the energy storage instruction comprises adjusting a set temperature of a temperature controller associated with an indoor unit arranged in the specific region to be lower than set temperatures in occupied regions of the different regions during cooling operation[0075].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Jayadev into the system and methods of Ruiz. The motivation to combine is that Jayadev teaches an air conditioner or air conditioning systems under customer control for realizing cost savings to the customer, this strategy may be applied by the utility where it has control of customer systems of the type described, and it seeks to curtail peak energy demands and avert a brown-out or blackout, while minimizing adverse effects of reduced energy supply to the customers [0007].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz (U.S. PG Pub. 2011/0204720) in view of Jayadev (U.S. PG Pub. 20050005621) in view of Chen (U.S. PG Pub. 2017/0236222).
Ruiz teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly teach all of claim 7, however, this is an obvious variation by Chen which is analogous art in that they both control energy consumption including air conditioning.
As to claim 7, Chen teaches wherein the electric energy information is historical electric energy information containing a historical electric energy characteristic, and in the step for generating an energy storage instruction, the predetermined energy storage condition is determined on the basis of the result of a comparison of the historical electric energy characteristic with a threshold value [0137, 0139, 0141, 0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Chen into the system and methods of Ruiz. The motivation to combine is that Chen teaches using a comparison participants can be notified on how to use energy to save money [0145].
Claim(s) 8, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz (U.S. PG Pub. 2011/0204720) in view of Clement (U.S. PG Pub. 2024/0011659).
Ruiz teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly teach all of claims 8, 11 and 12, however, this is an obvious variation by Clement, which is analogous art in that they both control teach air conditioning based on occupancy.
As to claim 8, Clement teaches wherein the electric energy information comprises real-time electric energy information containing a real-time electric energy characteristic [output 0070,0077] and historical electric energy information containing a historical electric energy characteristic [energy model information].s the control method further comprises: a step for generating an electric energy prediction point[0077], generating an electric energy prediction point on the basis of the historical electric energy information ( energy models ); in the step for generating an energy storage instruction, the predetermined energy storage condition is determined on the basis of the result of a comparison of the electric energy prediction point with the real-time electric energy information[0077].
As to claim 11, Clement teaches wherein the predetermined energy release condition comprises at least any one of that the temperature of the specific region reaches a specified value, the occupancy information of the specific region changes in response to an input, and the execution time of the energy storage instruction reaches a specified value[0127].
As to claim 12, Clement teaches an air conditioning system, comprising: a plurality of indoor units arranged in different regions (each zone)[0050], the indoor unit comprising an air supply port and an air exhaust port (304 and 310); an air supply duct (element 310), communicated with the plurality of air supply ports arranged in the different regions[0091]; and an air exhaust duct (element 322), communicated with the plurality of air exhaust ports arranged in the different regions, the air exhaust duct being communicated with the air supply duct (fig. 3); the air conditioning system executing the method for controlling an air conditioning system according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Chen into the system and methods of Ruiz in view of Jayadev. The motivation to combine is that Clement teaches verifying that control strategies commanded by integrated control layer 418 or demand response layer 414 are working properly (e.g., using data aggregated by AM&V layer 412, integrated control layer 418, building subsystem integration layer 420, FDD layer 416, or otherwise) [0077].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz (U.S. PG Pub. 2011/0204720) in view of Jayadev (U.S. PG Pub. 20050005621) in view of Giuffre (U.S. Pat. 4,314,601).
As to claim 20, Ruiz teaches The method for controlling the air conditioning system according to claim 1, wherein the stored cold energy or heat energy is released to one or more occupied regions of the different regions [0069,0086 0090]
Ruiz does not teach using a heat recycling heat exchanger. However, this is well known in the art as taught by Giuffre (col. 3 lines 26-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Giuffre into the system and methods of Ruiz in view of Jayadev. The motivation to combine is that Giuffre teaches A principal object of the present invention is to provide for simple but effective means and methods for recycling some of the waste heat that would otherwise be lost by discharge of waste gases from flues or stacks, or waste liquids into sewer systems, and utilizing same for useful purposes, such as to heat incoming fresh air where outside ambient temperatures require this, or tempering stored water of a hot water system col. 1 line 67 – col. 2 line 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 , filed 3-9-26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jayadev and Giuffree.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119