DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the routed ammonia gas is obtained from a reaction where the ammonia is burned or catalytically destroyed.” This language is indefinite since the requirement that ammonia is “burned or catalytically destroyed” results in a product that cannot function as ammonia gas, and therefore cannot produce ammonia for the “routed ammonia gas.”
Claim 6 recites “the sulfur dioxide is routed to a mixer comprising an aqueous solution…” Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 which recites “adding sulfur dioxide into a circulating aqueous solution…” It is unclear from this language whether the aqueous solution of claim 6 should be that of the limitation of claim 1 or should be different in identity. This renders the scope of the claim indefinite. Claims 9-16 depend upon claim 6 and are therefore similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue of indefiniteness.
Claim 9 additionally recites “the aqueous solution containing sulfur dioxide…” Claim 9 is dependent upon claims 6 and 1, and it is therefore unclear whether the aqueous solution required by claim 9 should be the solution from claim 6, or claim 1, if different in identity. Claim 9 is therefore indefinite in scope, and claims 10-16 are similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue of indefiniteness.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 recites "the routed ammonia gas is obtained from a reaction where the ammonia is burned or catalytically destroyed;" this reaction would produce either a gas that cannot function as ammonia or a product that is not ammonia, such as nitrogen or nitrogen oxides. This limitation therefore does not include all the limitations of claim 1 since the "routed ammonia gas" resulting from the claimed reaction cannot contain ammonia given the scope of the claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoubye 2006, CZ 297100 B6. An English translation, as provided with this office action, is cited herein.
Regarding claim 1, Schoubye discloses a process that produces ammonium thiosulfate via producing ammonium bisulfite and ammonium sulfite (0010) comprising:
routing at least one stream of ammonia gas to a vessel (first absorption step, 0010, 0030, 0031)
adding sulfur dioxide into a circulating aqueous solution (first absorption step, 0010) to maintain the pH at a predetermined range (5 to 6, 0033)
and selectively eliminating ammonia from the gas stream by reacting the ammonia with the sulfur dioxide and water to produce ammonium sulfite and ammonium bisulfite, 0034
Regarding claim 2, Schoubye teaches contact zones (absorbers 8, 25, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Schoubye teaches a reaction where the gas containing ammonia is burned (0048). Schoubye also teaches that the gases used as feed gases can come from hydrocarbon desulfurization, fuel gasification, and coking processes (0029).
Regarding claim 6, Schoubye teaches ammonium sulfite, ammonium bisulfite, and ammonium thiosulfate in second absorber 25 (0031).
Regarding claim 7, Schoubye teaches that the sulfur dioxide in the solution is added at a pH maintained at 5-6 (0033).
Regarding claim 9, Schoubye teaches that aqueous solution containing sulfur dioxide is circulated to the vessel (0010, 0011).
Regarding claim 10, Schoubye teaches that the aqueous solution containing sulfur dioxide and the ammonia gas is configured to flow in a countercurrent or co-current pattern for a predetermined time (0010).
Regarding claim 11, Schoubye teaches that the ammonia content in the waste gas is about 0.5% (0047).
Regarding claim 12, Schoubye teaches that the vessel comprises a top and a bottom surface (absorber 8, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Schoubye teaches the ammonium bisulfite and sulfite discharged from the bottom of the vessel (0044, line 21).
Regarding claim 14, Schoubye teaches that the stream is partially diverted to line 21 (0036).
Regarding claim 15, Schoubye teaches that a portion of the stream is recycled to the vessel in line 10 (0036).
Regarding claim 17, Schoubye teaches two gas streams containing ammonia: feed line 11, waste gas line 26 (Figure 1, 0036, 0048).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoubye as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Jakobsson et al. 2020, WO 2020160998 A1, provided in the IDS filed 2/16/2024, herein referred to as Jakobsson.
Regarding claim 4, Schoubye teaches the process as applied to claim 1. Schoubye does not teach that the routed ammonia gas is obtained from an air stream used to strip ammonia out of a water stream. However Jakobsson teaches a process for producing fertilizer (abstract) which creates ammonia gas in an analogous form by extracting or stripping ammonia from a digestate (ammonia (NH.sub.3) passes from the digestate to the stripping gas, Example 1). Jakobsson also teaches that obtaining ammonia from a stripping process is known in the art (p. 3 lines 4-14). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Schoubye with the step of obtaining ammonia from an air stream used to strip ammonia out of a water stream, as Jakobsson teaches, and arrive at the claimed invention. One would be motivated to do so to better obtain ammonia from sources that are rich in nitrogen already, as Jakobsson teaches (p. 1, lines 24-25).
Regarding claim 5, Schoubye teaches the process as applied to claim 1. Schoubye does not teach that the routed ammonia gas is obtained from a digestate liquid stream. However Jakobsson teaches a process for producing fertilizer (abstract) wherein the ammonia is obtained from a digestate liquid stream (Example 1, liquid phase indicated by the discussion of equilibrium between ammonium hydroxide and ammonia). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Schoubye with the step of obtaining ammonia from a liquid digestate, as Jakobsson teaches, and arrive at the claimed invention. One would be motivated to do so to better obtain ammonia from sources that are rich in nitrogen already, as Jakobsson teaches (p. 1, lines 24-25).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoubye.
Regarding claim 8, Schoubye teaches the process as applied to claim 1, and teaches that the pH of the solution containing sulfur dioxide is maintained at 5-6 (0033). Schoubye additionally discloses that the amount of ammonia added controls the pH (0036). It would therefore be obvious to one skilled in the art that the quantities of sulfur dioxide and ammonia added are parameters that directly affect the pH of the solution, which is a critical parameter of the disclosed invention, since Schoubye states that it influences the solubility of ammonium bisulfite and ammonium thiosulfate and the partial pressure at the equilibrium state of the solution (0038). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform the process as suggested by Schoubye where the pH of the solution is in any workable or optimum range within 5-6 as taught by Schoubye in order to control the solubility of the ammonium products, as Schoubye teaches (0038), and therefore arrive at a pH that falls within the claimed pH range of 5.5 to 6.5.
Regarding claim 16, Schoubye teaches the process as applied to claim 1, and teaches that the recycled stream line 10 is directed to the heat exchanger 14 (0036). Schoubye does not explicitly disclose that the heat exchanger 14 is used to cool the liquid. However, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to use the heat exchanger to cool the liquid stream entering the heat exchanger since Schoubye teaches that the gas can be cooled in heat exchanger 6 (0033) and that the temperature of the second absorber is also controlled by heat exchanger 33 (0046). One would be motivated to do so in order to prevent sulfur dioxide and ammonia from exiting the first absorber, as Schoubye teaches (0039). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention before the effective filing date with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoubye, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Ray et al. US 20080213147 A1, herein referred to as Ray.
Regarding claim 18, Schoubye teaches the process as applied to claims 1, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 above, and further teaches that two sources of sulfur dioxide may be routed to the vessel (line 7, line 26, Figure 1, 0031, 0048). Schoubye does not teach that line 26 is routed directly to the vessel; however Ray teaches an analogous process for the reaction of sulfur dioxide and ammonia for removal from a gas stream (abstract), in which two streams of sulfur dioxide are routed to a vessel (0016, streams 5 and 10, Figure 1). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the invention taught by Schoubye with the multiple streams of SO2 taught by Ray; one would be motivated to do so in order to provide a sufficient amount of SO2 in order to react with ammonia as Ray teaches (0016). One skilled in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention with reasonable prediction of success.
Regarding claim 19, in Schoubye modified by Ray, Ray teaches that the SO2 streams are passed in line with the ammonia vapor stream, to the lower section of the scrubber 20 (0016). This meets the limitation of the at least two SO2 streams routed in line with gaseous ammonia required by the instant claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 7390470, in view of Schoubye. Claims 3 and 24 of '470 each recite “(b) contacting a second gas comprising sulfur dioxide with a third gas, the third gas comprising ammonia, and a feed liquid in a second contact zone to produce ammonium bisulfite and ammonium sulfite, the second contact zone producing a second contact zone overhead gas and a second contact zone effluent liquid comprising ammonium bisulfite and ammonium sulfite.” This limitation meets the limitations of “routing at least one stream of ammonia gas to a vessel, adding sulfur dioxide into an aqueous solution to adjust the pH to be within a predetermined range, and selectively eliminating ammonia from the gas stream by reacting the ammonia with the sulfur dioxide and water to produce ammonium sulfite and ammonium bisulfite” required by the instant claim. While ‘470 does not require that the aqueous solution be a circulating aqueous solution, Schoubye teaches that the solution is circulating (0010). The modification would be obvious to one skilled in the art and one would be motivated to do so in order to construct a continuous process as Schoubye teaches (0003).
Conclusion
/Eileen Moudou/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738