Response to an Amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 03/17/2026.
Claims 8-15 are canceled.
Claims 1, 4, 16, 18, 23-24 and 27 are currently amended.
Claims 1-7 and 16-28 are pending for this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/14/2026 was filed before the mailing date of the final action on 04/30/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant: Applicant’s arguments, see remarks 11-14, filed 03/17/2026, applicant argues that, “Applicant respectfully submits that the office action's reliance on Kirkpatrick et al. to provide what is missing from Sanchez et al. and/or Jang et al. is based on an unreasonable reading of "delivery completion information" and "delivered." For example, claim 1 recites receiving "a notification message including delivery completion information of a purchased electronic device," then displaying that message "to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered." As described in the subject application by way of example without limitation, the "purchased electronic device" is the IoT device the user bought, and the "delivered" event is the physical delivery to the user (e.g., shipment delivered), after which the registration UI is presented.”
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Sanchez teaches Col-4, II. 50-52, teaches the preconfigured device representation may be created when a purchase order is being processed by the electronic marketplace, or after the IoT device has shipped and is enroute to the user's location (i.e. physical location). In some cases, the preconfigured device representation may be created after the IoT device has been delivered to the user, but before the IoT device initially connects to the service provider environment.
However, Sanchez in view of Jang remain silent on a notification message including delivery completion information of a purchased electronic device, wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location; based on a receipt of the notification message, display, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered; execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message; display, on an execution screen of the executed application, a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device by the device identification information included in the notification message to the user according to a registration procedure.
Kirkpatrick teaches a notification message including delivery completion information of a purchased electronic device because ¶0025, teaches the consumer 12 may interact with the online retailer 16 to register those products that have been purchased from the online retailer 14 and for which the online Registration system 16 provides registration services, ¶0026, teaches the e-mail notifications (i.e. notification message) are delivered to the respective manufacturers, 18A and 18B, and the products are deemed registered, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer.
Kirkpatrick also teaches wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location because ¶0035, ¶0038, ¶0043 and ¶0046, teaches a Web order confirmation page 20 that may be completed by a consumer 12 and delivered to the online retailer 14 during a purchase transaction…the WebServer for the online registration system 16 may receive with the request the product identification code's (i.e. device identification information) provided by the online retailer 14. In one practice, the product identification code are representative of uniform product identification codes provided by the manufacturer to identify the particular goods…Once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12. One such confirmation page is depicted in FIG. 5. Once registration has been confirmed, the process terminates… the system 16 may allow a consumer to control how information is delivered to the consumer for particular product…a manufacturer may be allowed to access information about geographic location of consumers (i.e. physical location of the consumer), products purchased by consumers, online retail services used by consumers, and other such demographic information.
Kirkpatrick further teaches based on a receipt of the notification message, display, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered because ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product.
Kirkpatrick teaches execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message because ¶0011, teaches registration process will be understood to encompass the collection of data from consumers after the purchase of a product, service or other item from a business, ¶0025-¶0026, teaches the consumer 12 may interact with the online retailer 16 to register those products that have been purchased from the online retailer 14 and for which the online Registration system 16 provides registration services…once the consumer 12 has provided the online registration system 16 with sufficient information to complete the registration process, the online Registration system 16 may generate e-mail registration notifications, such notifications being depicted in FIG. 1 as e-mail notifications 28A and 28B.
Kirkpatrick also teaches a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device by the device identification information included in the notification message to the user according to a registration procedure because ¶0026, teaches the e-mail notifications are delivered to the respective manufacturers, 18A and 18B, and the products are deemed registered. Optionally, as again will be described below the manufacturers 18 A and 1 8B may acknowledge the registration of these products to the online registration system 16, that may, in turn, provide the consumer 12 with acknowledgment that the product registration process has been completed and accepted by the manufacturer, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0037, teaches The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product (i.e. device identification information), ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12, ¶0043, teaches For example, FIG. 6 depicts one user interface that may be provided to consumer 12 for allowing the consumer to control (i.e. guide), typically at the consumers option, to receive different types of notification)… The user interface 32 may be presented to the consumer 12 at the time of product registration, or alternatively at the time to consumer launched into the registration system 16 to view their buy file.
For further clarification, please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 23-25and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez et al. (US 10498598B1), hereinafter “Sanchez” in view of Jang et al. (US 2019/0296932), hereinafter “Jang”, and further in view of Kirkpatrick et al. (US2001/0042022), hereinafter “Kirkpatrick”. Jang cited in applicant IDS filed 09/18/2023.
With respect to claim 1, Sanchez discloses an electronic device associated with a user account registered to an Internet-of-Things (IoT) server for providing an IoT service, the electronic device comprising:
a communication circuit (Fig. 8, communication interface 818 as a communication circuit);
a display (Fig. 8, an I/O device is display screen);
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 8, Col-9, II.20-22, teaches the processor 812 may represent multiple processors and the memory 820 may represent multiple memory units that operate in parallel to the processing circuits); and
memory (Fig. 8, Col-9, II.20-22, teaches the processor 812 may represent multiple processors and the memory 820 may represent multiple memory units that operate in parallel to the processing circuits),
wherein the memory stores instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively (Col-19, 3-15), cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
wherein the first user interface (Fig. 1, user interface 132) includes an icon indicating the purchased electronic device (Col-5, II. 29-42, teaches the IoT device 140 may be an IoT button (i.e. icon)… the IoT button may be linked to an IoT user account… The program code may be written or updated during a time period in which a purchase order for the IoT button is being processed and/or the IoT button is being delivered) and the registration of the purchased electronic device to the user account enables the loT server to manage an IoT service provided to the purchased electronic device according to information of the user account (Col-2, II. 56-62, teaches after the IoT device is in the possession of the user that purchased the IoT device, the IoT device may be powered on and send a registration request message to a device registration service, Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation);
However, Sanchez remain silent on receiving inputs to the first user interface; and communicating a registration request to the IoT server based on the inputs for registering the purchased electronic device the user account.
Jang discloses receiving inputs to the first user interface (¶0067, teaches the user may control the home appliance 300 through a user interface (UI) of the display 340 of the home appliance 300, ¶0121-¶0122, teaches the user selects “registration of a new home appliance” through an interface that is provided by an application of the user terminal 200 (S242), ¶0145, teaches the user terminal 200 displays on a screen an interface as to whether to “register a new appliance” (step 5).); and
communicating a registration request to the IoT server based on the inputs for registering the purchased electronic device to the user account (¶0060, teaches the user may use the cloud services through the applications on the user terminal 200, ¶0076, teaches the cloud server 400 provides various cloud service. Accordingly, a variety of cloud services may be used, ¶0102, teaches the user terminal 200, in this case, may display on a screen a message that asks “Would you register an unregistered appliance?”, wherein unregistered appliance is an purchased electronic device, ¶0121, teaches the user selects “registration of a new home appliance” through an interface that is provided by an application of the user terminal 200 (S242), ¶0131, teaches the user terminal 200 registers an unregistered home appliance 300 with the user account through the cloud server 400 (S280)).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s registration request message and purchased IoT device with receiving inputs to the first user interface; and communicating a registration request to the IoT server based on the inputs for registering the purchased electronic device for the IoT service of Jang, in order to ensure that the device is associated with the correct user and account before it connects to the IoT network and ensure access control to prevent unauthorized use (Jang, ¶0022 and ¶0028).
However, Sanchez in view of Jang remain silent on receiving, from the IoT server via the communication circuit, a notification message including delivery completion information of a purchased electronic device, wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location; based on a receipt of the notification message, display, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered; execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message; display, on an execution screen of the executed application, a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device by the device identification information included in the notification message to the user according to a registration procedure.
Kirkpatrick discloses receiving, from the IoT server via the communication circuit (¶0027, teaches a network client capable of accessing a network server and interacting with a server to exchange information with the server), a notification message including delivery completion information of a purchased electronic device (¶0025, teaches the consumer 12 may interact with the online retailer 16 to register those products that have been purchased from the online retailer 14 and for which the online Registration system 16 provides registration services, ¶0026, teaches the e-mail notifications (i.e. notification message) are delivered to the respective manufacturers, 18A and 18B, and the products are deemed registered, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12), wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location (¶0035, ¶0038, ¶0043 and ¶0046, teaches a Web order confirmation page 20 that may be completed by a consumer 12 and delivered to the online retailer 14 during a purchase transaction…the WebServer for the online registration system 16 may receive with the request the product identification code's (i.e. device identification information) provided by the online retailer 14. In one practice, the product identification code are representative of uniform product identification codes provided by the manufacturer to identify the particular goods…Once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12. One such confirmation page is depicted in FIG. 5. Once registration has been confirmed, the process terminates… the system 16 may allow a consumer to control how information is delivered to the consumer for particular product…a manufacturer may be allowed to access information about geographic location of consumers, products purchased by consumers, online retail services used by consumers, and other such demographic information),
based on a receipt of the notification message, display, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered (¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product),
execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message (¶0011, teaches registration process will be understood to encompass the collection of data from consumers after the purchase of a product, service or other item from a business, ¶0025-¶0026, teaches the consumer 12 may interact with the online retailer 16 to register those products that have been purchased from the online retailer 14 and for which the online Registration system 16 provides registration services…once the consumer 12 has provided the online registration system 16 with sufficient information to complete the registration process, the online Registration system 16 may generate e-mail registration notifications, such notifications being depicted in FIG. 1 as e-mail notifications 28A and 28B. );
display, on an execution screen of the executed application (¶0036, teaches the online registration system 16 may presents a query screen, such as the query screen depicted in FIG. 3 to the consumer 12. The query screen may query the consumer 12 as to whether they wish to register one or more of the purchased products), a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device by the device identification information included in the notification message to the user according to a registration procedure (¶0026, teaches the e-mail notifications are delivered to the respective manufacturers, 18A and 18B, and the products are deemed registered. Optionally, as again will be described below the manufacturers 18 A and 1 8B may acknowledge the registration of these products to the online registration system 16, that may, in turn, provide the consumer 12 with acknowledgment that the product registration process has been completed and accepted by the manufacturer, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0037, teaches The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product (i.e. device identification information), ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12, ¶0043, teaches For example, FIG. 6 depicts one user interface that may be provided to consumer 12 for allowing the consumer to control (i.e. guide), typically at the consumers option, to receive different types of notification)… The user interface 32 may be presented to the consumer 12 at the time of product registration, or alternatively at the time to consumer launched into the registration system 16 to view their buy file).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location with receiving, from the IoT server via the communication circuit, a notification message including delivery completion information of a purchased electronic device, wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location; based on a receipt of the notification message, display, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered; execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message; display, on an execution screen of the executed application, a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device by the device identification information included in the notification message to the user according to a registration procedure of Kirkpatrick, in order to seamlessly transition the user from receiving a delivery notification to setting up or registering the device in the IoT service, ensuring the purchased device can be used without unnecessary delays, and registering ensures the device is tied to the right user account and protected by IoT server security settings (Kirkpatrick, ¶0026 and ¶0037-¶0038).
For claim 27, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1. Therefore claim 27 is rejected under the same ground as claim 1.
With respect to claim 23, Sanchez discloses a system comprising:
an Internet-of-Things (oT) server for providing an IoT service and an electronic device associated with a user account registered to the IoT server (col-2, II. 6-8, teaches the IoT device may first generically register with the service provider environment and then receive a non generic registration associated with a user account),
wherein the IoT server comprises a first communication circuit (Fig. 8, communication interface 818 as a communication circuit), at least one first processor comprising processing circuitry, and first memory (¶0064, ¶006 and ¶0068), and
wherein the first memory stores instructions which, when executed by the at least one first processor individually and/or collectively (Fig. 8, Col-9, II.20-22, teaches the processor 812 may represent multiple processors and the memory 820 may represent multiple memory units that operate in parallel to the processing circuits, Col-19, 3-15), cause the IoT server to interact with the electronic device by performing operations comprising:
receiving, via the first communication circuit, user information associated with a purchased electronic device purchased by a user (Col-13, II. 9-32, teaches the user interface may be provided when a user purchases the IoT device 320 (i.e. purchased device) from an electronic marketplace… the preconfigured device representation may be associated with a specific user account (i.e. user information). For example, the user account may be accessed using the client device 310, and then the preconfigured device representation may be created when a user is logged into the user account) and delivery completion information of the purchased electronic device (Col-3, II. 32-35, teaches the request (i.e. message) may include the device identifier (i.e. delivery information) associated with the IoT device ( i.e. , the device identifier that was assigned to the IoT device), Col-4, II. 42-55, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a purchase order for the IoT device 140 is being processed by the electronic marketplace, or when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location. Alternatively, the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created after the IoT device 140 has been delivered to the user),
identifying the user account registered to the IoT server, by comparing information associated with the user account registered to the IoT server with the received user information (Col-17, II. 35-39, teaches a registration of the device may be performed when the device initially connects to the service provider environment. The registration may assign a device identifier to the device and associate the user account with the device, Col-21, II. 11-12, teaches the customer account (i.e. user account) information may include a unique identifier (i.e. user information) for a customer); and
registering the purchased electronic device to the user account upon receiving a request for registration of the purchased electronic device (Col-2, II. 56-62, teaches after the IoT device is in the possession of the user that purchased the IoT device, the IoT device may be powered on and send a registration request message to a device registration service, Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation), and
manage an IoT service provided to the purchased electronic device according to information of the user account (Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation, Col-4, II. 13-18, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be associated with a specific user account 134. For example, the user account 134 may be accessed using the client device 130, and then the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a user is logged into the user account 134), and
wherein the electronic device associated with the user account comprises a second communication circuit, a display, at least one second processor comprising processing circuitry, and second memory (Col-19, II. 20-26, teaches the local interface 818 may be used as a network to facilitate communication between any of the multiple processors and multiple memories).
wherein the second memory stores instructions which, when executed by the at least one second processor individually and/or collectively (Col-19, II. 20-26), cause the electronic device associated with the user account to perform operations comprising:
wherein the first user interface (Fig. 1, user interface 132) includes an icon indicating the purchased electronic device (Col-5, II. 29-42, teaches the IoT device 140 may be an IoT button (i.e. icon)… the IoT button may be linked to an IoT user account… The program code may be written or updated during a time period in which a purchase order for the IoT button is being processed and/or the IoT button is being delivered).
However, Sanchez remain silent on receiving inputs to the first user interface; and communicating a registration request to the IoT server based on the inputs for registering the purchased electronic device to the IoT server.
Jang discloses receiving inputs to the first user interface (¶0067, teaches the user may control the home appliance 300 through a user interface (UI) of the display 340 of the home appliance 300, ¶0121-¶0122, teaches the user selects “registration of a new home appliance” through an interface that is provided by an application of the user terminal 200 (S242), ¶0145, teaches the user terminal 200 displays on a screen an interface as to whether to “register a new appliance” (step 5).); and
communicating a registration request to the IoT server based on the inputs for registering the purchased electronic device to the user account (¶0102, teaches the user terminal 200, in this case, may display on a screen a message that asks “Would you register an unregistered appliance?”, wherein unregistered appliance is an purchased electronic device, ¶0121, teaches the user selects “registration of a new home appliance” through an interface that is provided by an application of the user terminal 200 (S242), ¶0131, teaches the user terminal 200 registers an unregistered home appliance 300 with the user account through the cloud server 400 (S280)).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s registration request message and purchased IoT device with receiving inputs to the first user interface; and communicating a registration request to the IoT server based on the inputs for registering the purchased electronic device for the IoT service of Jang, in order to ensure that the device is associated with the correct user and account before it connects to the IoT network and ensure access control to prevent unauthorized use (Jang, ¶0022 and ¶0028).
However, Sanchez in view of Jang remain silent on wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location; transmitting a notification message comprising the delivery information to the electronic device associated with the user account, based on receiving the notification message, displaying, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered, execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message, display, on an execution screen of the executed application, a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device to the user account according to a registration procedure.
Kirkpatrick discloses wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location (¶0035, ¶0038, ¶0043 and ¶0046, teaches a Web order confirmation page 20 that may be completed by a consumer 12 and delivered to the online retailer 14 during a purchase transaction…the WebServer for the online registration system 16 may receive with the request the product identification code's (i.e. device identification information) provided by the online retailer 14. In one practice, the product identification code are representative of uniform product identification codes provided by the manufacturer to identify the particular goods…Once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12. One such confirmation page is depicted in FIG. 5. Once registration has been confirmed, the process terminates… the system 16 may allow a consumer to control how information is delivered to the consumer for particular product…a manufacturer may be allowed to access information about geographic location of consumers, products purchased by consumers, online retail services used by consumers, and other such demographic information),
transmitting a notification message comprising the delivery information to the electronic device associated with the user account (¶0025, teaches send a message to the online registration system 16 that consumer 12 wishes to register a purchased product, ¶0030, teaches The server 14 may couple to a database 16 that stores information representative of a consumer's account, including information about the different products the consumer has purchased, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product).
based on receiving the notification message, displaying, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered (¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12),
execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message (¶0011, teaches registration process will be understood to encompass the collection of data from consumers after the purchase of a product, service or other item from a business, ¶0025-¶0026, teaches the consumer 12 may interact with the online retailer 16 to register those products that have been purchased from the online retailer 14 and for which the online Registration system 16 provides registration services…once the consumer 12 has provided the online registration system 16 with sufficient information to complete the registration process, the online Registration system 16 may generate e-mail registration notifications, such notifications being depicted in FIG. 1 as e-mail notifications 28A and 28B. );
display, on an execution screen of the executed application (¶0036, teaches the online registration system 16 may presents a query screen, such as the query screen depicted in FIG. 3 to the consumer 12. The query screen may query the consumer 12 as to whether they wish to register one or more of the purchased products), a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device to the user account according to a registration procedure (¶0026, teaches the e-mail notifications are delivered to the respective manufacturers, 18A and 18B, and the products are deemed registered. Optionally, as again will be described below the manufacturers 18 A and 1 8B may acknowledge the registration of these products to the online registration system 16, that may, in turn, provide the consumer 12 with acknowledgment that the product registration process has been completed and accepted by the manufacturer, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12, ¶0043, teaches For example, FIG. 6 depicts one user interface that may be provided to consumer 12 for allowing the consumer to control (i.e. guide), typically at the consumers option, to receive different types of notification)… The user interface 32 may be presented to the consumer 12 at the time of product registration, or alternatively at the time to consumer launched into the registration system 16 to view their buy file).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location with wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location; transmitting a notification message comprising the delivery information to the electronic device associated with the user account, based on receiving the notification message, displaying, on the display, the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered, execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message, display, on an execution screen of the executed application, a first user interface for guiding registration of the purchased electronic device to the user account according to a registration procedure of Kirkpatrick, in order to seamlessly transition the user from receiving a delivery notification to setting up or registering the device in the IoT service, ensuring the purchased device can be used without unnecessary delays, and registering ensures the device is tied to the right user account and protected by IoT server security settings (Kirkpatrick, ¶0026 and ¶0037-¶0038).
with respect to claim 2, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
verifying whether a first application capable of interworking with the IoT server is installed on the electronic device (Sanchez, Col-20, II. 55-66, teaches the configuration may include an operating system , provide one or more applications to be installed in computing instances 904a – d, Jang, ¶0060, teaches various applications that are needed to use cloud services may be installed on the user terminal 200, and the user may use the cloud services through the applications on the user terminal 200, ¶0079, teaches authentication has to be performed such that the user connects a home appliance 300 with a gateway 120, and the home appliance 300 connected to the gateway 120 has to be registered with the user account); and
based on verifying that the first application is installed (Sanchez, Col-20, II. 55-66, teaches the configuration may include an operating system , provide one or more applications to be installed in computing instances 904a – d, Jang, ¶0060, teaches various applications that are needed to use cloud services may be installed on the user terminal 200, and the user may use the cloud services through the applications on the user terminal 200), executing the first application in response to receiving the notification message to configure and display the first user interface and perform the registration procedure (Sanchez, Col-11, II. 8-18, teaches the registration request message may be sent based on a device registration representation (e.g., generic configuration) that is installed on the IoT device 290. The registration request message may include an authentication certificate. The device registration module 252 may verify that the authentication certificate included in the registration request message received from the IoT device 290 is a valid authentication certificate. If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration module 252 may perform a device registration procedure to register the IoT device 290 with the service provider environment 200, Jang, ¶0079, teaches authentication has to be performed such that the user connects a home appliance 300 with a gateway 120, and the home appliance 300 connected to the gateway 120 has to be registered with the user account, ¶0121, teaches the user selects “registration of a new home appliance” through an interface that is provided by an application of the user terminal 200 (S242, Kirkpatrick, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product,).
With respect to claim 4, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the notification message further includes at least one of model identification information, device identification information, or setup guide information of the purchased electronic device (Sanchez, Col-10, II. 64-66, teaches the request may device 290 registers with the device registration service 240. 65 include a device identifier (i.e. device identification information) associated with the IoT device The dynamic device representation 235 may not be present until the IoT device 290 initiates the registration procedure 290, Jang, ¶0047-¶0048, teaches the gateway 120 has a unique SSID and PW and may wirelessly connect with an external device (e.g., a user terminal 200 or a home appliance 300, Kirkpatrick, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product).
With respect to claim 24, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the server of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to perform operations comprising registering the purchased electronic device to the user account, in response to receiving the registration request (Sanchez, Col-2, II. 56-62, teaches after the IoT device is in the possession of the user that purchased the IoT device, the IoT device may be powered on and send a registration request message to a device registration service, Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation, Jang, ¶0076, teaches the user may log in to the user account of the cloud server 400 using the user terminal 200, receive information on the current state of the home appliance 300 that is registered with the user account in advance or control the home appliance that is registered in advance remotely).
With respect to claim 25, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the system of claim 23, wherein the instructions stored in the first memory, when executed by the at least one first processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to perform operations comprising receiving delivery information of the purchased electronic device from an external server (Sanchez, Col-3, II. 32-35, teaches the request (i.e. message) may include the device identifier (i.e. device information as delivery information) associated with the IoT device (i.e. , the device identifier that was assigned to the IoT device), Col-4, II. 42-55, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a purchase order for the IoT device 140 is being processed by the electronic marketplace, or when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion information) and is enroute to the user's location. Alternatively, the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created after the IoT device 140 has been delivered to the user),and
wherein the delivery completion information is obtained from the delivery information (Sanchez, Col-3, II. 32-35, teaches the request (i.e. message) may include the device identifier (i.e. device information as delivery information) associated with the IoT device ( i.e. , the device identifier that was assigned to the IoT device), Col-4, II. 42-55, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a purchase order for the IoT device 140 is being processed by the electronic marketplace, or when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion information) and is enroute to the user's location. Alternatively, the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created after the IoT device 140 has been delivered to the user).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Jang in view of Kirkpatrick, and further in view of Clernon (US 9917903).
With respect to claim 3, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the electronic device of claim 2, Sanchez, Col-20, II. 55-66, teaches the configuration may include an operating system , provide one or more applications to be installed in computing instances 904a – d, Jang teaches ¶0060, various applications that are needed to use cloud services may be installed on the user terminal 200, and the user may use the cloud services through the applications on the user terminal 200, ¶0079, teaches authentication has to be performed such that the user connects a home appliance 300 with a gateway 120, and the home appliance 300 connected to the gateway 120 has to be registered with the user account. However, Sanchez in view of Jang in view of Kirkpatrick remain silent on wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to display link information for installing the first application on the display, upon verifying that the first application is not installed as the verification result.
Clernon discloses wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to display link information for installing the first application on the display, upon verifying that the first application is not installed as the verification result (Col-20,II. 4-7 and II. 45-51, teaches when user 155 is not able to verify that the IoT data was successfully communicated to IoT server 118, user 155 may still conclude that IoT device 130 has been successfully installed… IoT application (i.e. first application) store 210 presents a link for selection by user 155 to initiate the downloading and installation at end device 150 based on the selection).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s applications installed in computing instances in view of Jang’s applications and authentication in view of Kirkpatrick’s with display link information for installing the first application on the display, upon verifying that the first application is not installed as the verification result of Clernon, in order to provide with a direct path to install the application and making the process more user friendly and efficient (Clernon).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Jang in view of Kirkpatrick, and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0068068). Lee cited in applicant IDS filed 09/18/2023.
With respect to claim 5, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the electronic device of claim 1, however; Sanchez and Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick remain silent on wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising: searching for an unregistered device using the communication circuit, in response to obtaining information on the unregistered device, providing a second user interface for guiding registration for the unregistered device found by searching via a speaker device coupled to the display or the electronic device.
Lee discloses wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
searching for an unregistered device using the communication circuit, in response to obtaining information on the unregistered device (Lee, ¶0107, teaches The Wi-Fi module 112 b may generate a beacon signal to search for a nearby unregistered home appliance 10 a when the Wi-Fi module 112 b operates in the AP mode, see ¶0190); and
providing a second user interface for guiding registration for the unregistered device found by searching via a speaker device coupled to the display or the electronic device (Lee, ¶0019, teaches a re-registration guide screen for the unregistered home appliance based on the received connection selection input (i.e. second user interface), ¶0107, teaches The Wi-Fi module 112 b may generate a beacon signal to search for a nearby unregistered home appliance 10 a when the Wi-Fi module 112 b operates in the AP mode see ¶0135-¶0141).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s in view of Jang’s in view of Kirkpatrick’s system with searching for an unregistered device using the communication circuit, in response to obtaining information on the unregistered device, providing a second user interface for guiding registration for the unregistered device found by searching via a speaker device coupled to the display or the electronic device of Lee, in order to allow automatic discovery of new devices without requiring user to enter manually and ensure smoother onboarding process (Lee, ¶0097).
With respect to claim 6, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Sanchez, Col-4, II. 42-55, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a purchase order for the IoT device 140 is being processed by the electronic marketplace, or when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location. Alternatively, the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created after the IoT device 140 has been delivered to the user, Col-20, II. 10-20, Jang, ¶0047-¶0048, teaches the gateway 120 has a unique SSID and PW and may wirelessly connect with an external device (e.g., a user terminal 200 or a home appliance 300). However, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick remain silent on wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising: creating a virtual card corresponding to the purchased electronic device, based on the delivery completion information, display information on the purchased electronic device by using the virtual card.
Lee discloses creating a virtual card corresponding to the purchased electronic device, based on the delivery completion information (Lee, ¶0058, teaches the Wi-Fi module 112 a of the unregistered home appliance 10 a may include a virtual interface 113 a (i.e. virtual card). In this example, the unregistered home appliance 10 a may communicate with two devices at the same time by using the Wi-Fi module 112 a including the virtual interface 113 a, ¶0102, teaches the user terminal 200, in this case, may display on a screen a message that asks “Would you register an unregistered appliance?”, wherein unregistered appliance is an information regarding external electronic device) ; and
display information on the purchased electronic device by using the virtual card (¶0080, teaches the Wi-Fi module 112 b may be communicatively connected to the unregistered home appliance 10 a that recognizes the hidden SSID by using the virtual interface 113 b).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location in view of Jang’s a unique SSID with creating a virtual card corresponding to the purchased electronic device, based on the delivery completion information, display information on the purchased electronic device by using the virtual card of Lee, in order to ensure that only legitimate owner determined by delivery confirmation can register and control the device (Lee).
With respect to claim 26, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the IoT server of claim 16, however, Sanchez in view of Jang, and further in view of Kirkpatrick remain silent on wherein the first user interface includes a virtual card- type user interface.
Lee discloses wherein the first user interface includes a virtual card- type user interface (¶0058, teaches the Wi-Fi module 112 a of the unregistered home appliance 10 a may include a virtual interface 113 a (i.e. virtual card). In this example, the unregistered home appliance 10 a may communicate with two devices at the same time by using the Wi-Fi module 112 a including the virtual interface 113 a, ¶0102, teaches the user terminal 200, in this case, may display on a screen a message that asks “Would you register an unregistered appliance?”, wherein unregistered appliance is an information regarding external electronic device).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s the IoT device has shipped and is enroute to the user's location with the first user interface includes a virtual card- type user interface of Lee, in order to ensure that only legitimate owner determined by delivery confirmation can register and control the device (Lee).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Jang in view of Kirkpatrick in view of Lee, and further in view of Jhonson et al. (US 2019/0158353), hereinafter “Jhonson”.
with respect to claim 7, Sanchez in view of Jang in view of Kirkpatrick, and further in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
transmitting to the IoT server or an external server an ownership transfer request including information on a target for ownership transfer, upon obtaining a user input for the ownership transfer of the purchased electronic device (Col-6, II.65-67-Col-7, II. 1-2, teaches the user may show a possession of the IoT device 140 that the user is attempting to register with the device registration service 120, and an ownership of the IoT device 140 may be passed from the device registration service 120 to the IoT user account).
However, Sanchez in view of Jang in view of Kirkpatrick, and further in view of Lee remain silent on delete the virtual card, upon receiving a signal indicating completion of the ownership transfer from the IoT server.
Jhonson discloses deleting the virtual card, upon receiving a signal from the IoT server indicating completion of the ownership transfer from the IoT server (¶0297, teaches the reseller may then transfer ownership to a UDL 1Y-512 of the customer upon completing the configuration, ¶0312, teaches the user is presented with devices owned by the user and options for configuration and control. See operation 1Y-708. It should be noted that once a device is configured and associated with a service ID, the device may be removed (i.e. delete) from a network associated with the user and plugged into another network where the associated service ID may still be able to control it. This may therefore allow users to configure devices and retain ownership and control of such devices once deployed).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s ownership of the IoT device passed in view of Jang’s in view of Lee’s system with deleting the virtual card, upon receiving a signal indicating completion of the ownership transfer from the IoT server of Jhonson, in order to help maintain security and privacy for both the previous and new owners (Jhonson).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick.
With respect to claim 16, Sanchez discloses a IoT server for providing an IoT service, the IoT server comprising:
a communication module including a communication circuit (Fig. 8, communication interface 818 as a communication circuit);
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry coupled to the communication module (Fig. 8, Col-9, II.20-22, teaches the processor 812 may represent multiple processors and the memory 820 may represent multiple memory units that operate in parallel to the processing circuits); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor ((Fig. 8, Col-9, II.20-22, teaches the processor 812 may represent multiple processors and the memory 820 may represent multiple memory units that operate in parallel to the processing circuits) and storing a program interacting with an electronic device associated with a user account registered to the IoT server (col-2, II. 6-8, teaches the IoT device may first generically register with the service provider environment and then receive a non generic registration associated with a user account),
wherein the memory stores instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively (Fig. 8, Col-9, II.20-22, teaches the processor 812 may represent multiple processors and the memory 820 may represent multiple memory units that operate in parallel to the processing circuits, Col-19, 3-15), cause the IoT server to:
receive user information associated with a purchased electronic device purchased by a user via the communication module (Col-13, II. 9-32, teaches the user interface may be provided when a user purchases the IoT device 320 (i.e. purchased device) from an electronic marketplace… the preconfigured device representation may be associated with a specific user account (i.e. user information). For example, the user account may be accessed using the client device 310, and then the preconfigured device representation may be created when a user is logged into the user account);
identify the user account registered to the IoT server, by comparing information associated with the user account registered to the IoT server with the received user information (Col-17, II. 35-39, teaches a registration of the device may be performed when the device initially connects to the service provider environment. The registration may assign a device identifier to the device and associate the user account with the device, Col-21, II. 11-12, teaches the customer account (i.e. user account) information may include a unique identifier (i.e. user information) for a customer);
receive delivery information of the purchased electronic device via the communication module (Col-3, II. 32-35, teaches the request may include the device identifier (i.e. delivery information) associated with the IoT device ( i.e. , the device identifier that was assigned to the IoT device), Col-4, II. 42-55, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a purchase order for the IoT device 140 is being processed by the electronic marketplace),
a user interface (Fig. 1, user interface 132) which includes an icon indicating the purchased electronic device (Col-5, II. 29-42, teaches the IoT device 140 may be an IoT button (i.e. icon)… the IoT button may be linked to an IoT user account… The program code may be written or updated during a time period in which a purchase order for the IoT button is being processed and/or the IoT button is being delivered); and
register the purchased electronic device to the IoT server with the user account upon receiving a request for registration of the purchased electronic device via the user interface (Col-2, II. 56-62, teaches after the IoT device is in the possession of the user that purchased the IoT device, the IoT device may be powered on and send a registration request message to a device registration service, Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation); and
manage an IoT service provided to the purchased electronic device according to information of the user account (Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation, Col-4, II. 13-18, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be associated with a specific user account 134. For example, the user account 134 may be accessed using the client device 130, and then the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a user is logged into the user account 134).
However, Sanchez remain silent on wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location, provide a notification message comprising the delivery completion information of the purchased electronic device to the electronic device associated with the user account, so that the electronic device associated with the user account displays the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered, execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message and display, on an execution screen of the executed application, a user interface, and guides the user to register the purchased electronic device identified by the device identification information included in the notification message.
Kirkpatrick discloses wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location (¶0035, ¶0038, ¶0043 and ¶0046, teaches a Web order confirmation page 20 that may be completed by a consumer 12 and delivered to the online retailer 14 during a purchase transaction…the WebServer for the online registration system 16 may receive with the request the product identification code's (i.e. device identification information) provided by the online retailer 14. In one practice, the product identification code are representative of uniform product identification codes provided by the manufacturer to identify the particular goods…Once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12. One such confirmation page is depicted in FIG. 5. Once registration has been confirmed, the process terminates… the system 16 may allow a consumer to control how information is delivered to the consumer for particular product…a manufacturer may be allowed to access information about geographic location of consumers, products purchased by consumers, online retail services used by consumers, and other such demographic information),
provide a notification message comprising the delivery completion information of the purchased electronic device to the electronic device associated with the user account (¶0025, teaches send a message to the online registration system 16 that consumer 12 wishes to register a purchased product, ¶0030, teaches The server 14 may couple to a database 16 that stores information representative of a consumer's account, including information about the different products the consumer has purchased, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product),
so that the electronic device associated with the user account displays the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered (¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12),
execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message (¶0011, teaches registration process will be understood to encompass the collection of data from consumers after the purchase of a product, service or other item from a business, ¶0025-¶0026, teaches the consumer 12 may interact with the online retailer 16 to register those products that have been purchased from the online retailer 14 and for which the online Registration system 16 provides registration services…once the consumer 12 has provided the online registration system 16 with sufficient information to complete the registration process, the online Registration system 16 may generate e-mail registration notifications, such notifications being depicted in FIG. 1 as e-mail notifications 28A and 28B); and
display, on an execution screen of the executed application (¶0036, teaches the online registration system 16 may presents a query screen, such as the query screen depicted in FIG. 3 to the consumer 12. The query screen may query the consumer 12 as to whether they wish to register one or more of the purchased products), a user interface which includes guides the user to register the purchased electronic device identified by the device identification information included in the notification message (¶0026, teaches the e-mail notifications are delivered to the respective manufacturers, 18A and 18B, and the products are deemed registered. Optionally, as again will be described below the manufacturers 18 A and 1 8B may acknowledge the registration of these products to the online registration system 16, that may, in turn, provide the consumer 12 with acknowledgment that the product registration process has been completed and accepted by the manufacturer, ¶0037, teaches the online registration system 16 may then generates the e-mail messages (i.e. notification message) 28A and 28B each of which may be delivered (i.e. delivery completion) to a respective manufacturer. The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product, ¶0037, teaches The e-mail registration notification 28 may be received by the manufacturer 18 and the manufacturer 18 may register the purchased product (i.e. device identification information), ¶0038, teaches once the registration has been completed, the online registration system 16 may generate a confirmation page for delivery to the consumer 12, ¶0043, teaches For example, FIG. 6 depicts one user interface that may be provided to consumer 12 for allowing the consumer to control (i.e. guide), typically at the consumers option, to receive different types of notification)… The user interface 32 may be presented to the consumer 12 at the time of product registration, or alternatively at the time to consumer launched into the registration system 16 to view their buy file).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location with wherein the delivery completion information includes device identification information of a purchased electronic device and a delivery completion indication indicating a delivery of the purchased electronic device to a delivery location, provide a notification message comprising the delivery completion information of the purchased electronic device to the electronic device associated with the user account, so that the electronic device associated with the user account displays the notification message to indicate that the purchased electronic device is delivered, execute an IoT service-related application after receiving the notification message and display, on an execution screen of the executed application, a user interface, and guides the user to register the purchased electronic device identified by the device identification information included in the notification message of Kirkpatrick, in order to seamlessly transition the user from receiving a delivery notification to setting up or registering the device in the IoT service, ensuring the purchased device can be used without unnecessary delays, and registering ensures the device is tied to the right user account and protected by IoT server security settings (Kirkpatrick, ¶0026 and ¶0037-¶0038).
With respect to claim 17, Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the server of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to register the purchased electronic device to the IoT server with the user account, in response to receiving a registration request of the electronic device from the purchased electronic device or the electronic device associated with the user account (Sanchez, Col-2, II. 56-62, teaches after the IoT device is in the possession of the user that purchased the IoT device, the IoT device may be powered on and send a registration request message to a device registration service, Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation).
With respect to claim 18, Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the IoT server of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to obtain device information including at least one of a device type, model identification information, or the device identification information of the purchased electronic device (Sanchez, Col-3, II. 32-35, teaches the request (i.e. message) may include the device identifier (i.e. device information) associated with the IoT device ( i.e. , the device identifier that was assigned to the IoT device), Col-6, II. 8-11, teaches the IoT device 140 may send a registration request message to the device registration service 120. The registration request message may also indicate a type of IoT device 140 (i.e. device type)).
With respect to claim 19, Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the IoT server of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to obtain device information of the purchased electronic device from the delivery completion information (Sanchez, Col-3, II. 32-35, teaches the request (i.e. message) may include the device identifier (i.e. device information) associated with the IoT device ( i.e. , the device identifier that was assigned to the IoT device), Col-4, II. 42-55, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a purchase order for the IoT device 140 is being processed by the electronic marketplace, or when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location. Alternatively, the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created after the IoT device 140 has been delivered to the user).
With respect to claim 20, Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the IoT server of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to transmit the delivery completion information of the purchased electronic device to the electronic device associated with the user account (Sanchez, Col-3, II. 2-16, teaches If the authentication certificate is valid, the device registration service may perform a device registration procedure with the IoT device to register the IoT device with the service provider environment. The device registration procedure may involve dynamically assigning a device identifier to the IoT device. In addition, during registration, the IoT device may be associated with a user account (e.g., the user account that was used when creating the preconfigured device representation, Col-4, II. 42-55, teaches the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created when a purchase order for the IoT device 140 is being processed by the electronic marketplace, or when the IoT device 140 has shipped (i.e. delivery completion) and is enroute to the user's location. Alternatively, the preconfigured device representation 112 may be created after the IoT device 140 has been delivered to the user).
Claim(s) 21-22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick, and further in view of Lee.
With respect to claim 21 and 28, Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the IoT server of claim 16, however Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick remain silent on wherein the user interface includes a virtual card- type user interface indicating device information of the purchased electronic device.
Lee discloses wherein the user interface includes a virtual card- type user interface indicating device information of the purchased electronic device (¶0058, teaches the Wi-Fi module 112 a of the unregistered home appliance 10 a may include a virtual interface 113 a (i.e. virtual card). In this example, the unregistered home appliance 10 a may communicate with two devices at the same time by using the Wi-Fi module 112 a including the virtual interface 113 a, ¶0102, teaches the user terminal 200, in this case, may display on a screen a message that asks “Would you register an unregistered appliance?”, wherein unregistered appliance is an information regarding external electronic device).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s the IoT device has shipped and is enroute to the user's location with wherein the user interface includes a virtual card- type user interface indicating device information of the purchased electronic device of Lee, in order to ensure that only legitimate owner determined by delivery confirmation can register and control the device (Lee).
With respect to claim 22, Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick discloses the IoT server of claim 16, Sanchez, Col-2, II. 56-62, teaches after the IoT device is in the possession of the user that purchased the IoT device, the IoT device may be powered on and send a registration request message to a device registration service. However, Sanchez in view of Kirkpatrick remain silent on wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to provide information for guiding registration for an unregistered device, upon identifying the unregistered device not registered to the IoT server, based on the delivery completion information.
Lee discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the IoT server to provide information for guiding registration for an unregistered device, upon identifying the unregistered device not registered to the IoT server, based on the delivery completion information (¶0019, teaches a re-registration guide screen for the unregistered home appliance based on the received connection selection input, ¶0107, teaches The Wi-Fi module 112 b may generate a beacon signal to search for a nearby unregistered home appliance 10 a when the Wi-Fi module 112 b operates in the AP mode see ¶0135-¶0141, ¶0158, teaches the unique information of the unregistered home appliance (i.e. delivery completion information of the external electronic device) 10 a is used to identify a product and may include, for example, a serial number (i.e. delivery information). For example, products have different unique information. In some implementations, the unique information may be used to correspond a user account (or a user's mobile terminal) and the product in the server 40).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sanchez’s registration request message to a device registration service in view of Kirkpatrick’s system with upon identifying the unregistered device not registered to the IoT server, based on the delivery completion information of Lee, in order to allow automatic discovery of new devices without requiring user to enter manually and ensure smoother onboarding process (Lee, ¶0097).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458