Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative field arguments on 05/04/2026 with respect to independent claims 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant presented arguments on Pages 9-13 that the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA does not teach “the beam configuration information comprises at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identity (ID), a TCI state list, or a TCI state pattern comprising a set of ordered TCI state lists, and the beam configuration information is used for the terminal device to perform beam switch or cell switch; wherein: in the beam configuration information, at least two beam indexes corresponding to a same remote radio head (RRH) are reused, and beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern or the TCI state list are configured with a same TCI state.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA does not teach “the beam configuration information comprises at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identity (ID), a TCI state list, or a TCI state pattern comprising a set of ordered TCI state lists, and the beam configuration information is used for the terminal device to perform beam switch or cell switch; wherein: in the beam configuration information, at least two beam indexes corresponding to a same remote radio head (RRH) are reused, and beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern or the TCI state list are configured with a same TCI state.” Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang discloses beam configuration based on one or more TCI states, including selection of a TCI state with a lowest ID, configuration of one or two TCI states, and activation/configuration via RRC or MAC CE signaling. See Zhang [0069], [0088], [0116]-[0117]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, such configured and selectable TCI states, including TCI state IDs and ordered selection among multiple TCI states, constitute beam configuration information comprising at least one of a TCI state ID, a TCI state list, or a TCI state pattern.
Moreover, Zhang explicitly discloses dynamic selection and application of different TCI states for determining PDSCH/PDCCH beams during multi-TRP operation. See Zhang [0069], [0085] and [0088]. The UE selects and applies one or more TCI states based on slot index, TCI ID, QCL type, higher layer signaling, or MAC CE signaling, thereby changing the applied beam configuration. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, such dynamic selection and application of different beam-related TCI states teaches use of beam configuration information for performing beam switching.
Also, applicant argues that the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA does not teach wherein: in the beam configuration information, at least two beam indexes corresponding to a same remote radio head (RRH) are reused, and beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern or the TCI state list are configured with a same TCI state. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang discloses that, in multi-TRP operation, the default PDSCH beam is determined based on two active TCI states corresponding to a lowest TCI codepoint within the same BWP, and that one of the two TCI states is selectively applied based on slot, subframe, or frame index. See Zhang [0069], [0085]. Because the selected TCI state ID reasonably corresponds to an identifier/index for the associated beam under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Accordingly, Zhang teaches reuse and selective application of multiple beam identifiers corresponding to the same transmission point over time.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses that the same TCI state may be configured and applied for monitored CORESET operation. See Zhang [0116]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this teaches that beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern/list are configured with the same TCI state.
Therefore, as shown above the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA teaches the amended limitations of claims 8 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0083208 A1; hereinafter "Zhang"), in view of YOKOMAKURA et al. (US 2023/0389040 A1; hereinafter “YOKOMAKURA”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for beam configuration information ([0006]), comprising:
sending, by a network device (FIG. 2 base station 102), beam configuration information to a terminal device (FIG. 2 UE 106) ([0120] processing logic transmits, to a UE, beam configuration information), wherein the beam configuration information comprises at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identity (ID), a TCI state list, or a TCI state pattern comprising a set of ordered TCI state lists ([0116] discloses a beam configuration is based on one TCI state selected from multiple TCI states, including a TCI state with a lowest ID, and configured via RRC or MAC CE signaling, thereby teaching at least a TCI state identity (ID)), and the beam configuration information is used for the terminal device to perform beam switch or cell switch ([0069], [0085] and [0088] disclose that, in multi-TRP operation, a UE selects and applies one or more configured TCI states based on slot index, TCID, or higher layer signaling, thereby switching applied beams); wherein: in the beam configuration information, at least two beam indexes corresponding to a same remote radio head (RRH) are reused ([0069] in multi-TRP operation, the default PDSCH beam is determined based on two active TCI states corresponding to a lowest TCI codepoint in a same BWP, [0085] one of the two TCI states is selected based on a slot, subframe, or frame index, thereby teaching that multiple beam identifiers (TCI state IDs) corresponding to the same transmission point/RRH are selectively reused over time), and beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern or the TCI state list are configured with a same TCI state ([0116] when the default beam configuration is based on only one TCI state configured for a monitored CORESET, the same TCI state is applied and configured by RRC or MAC CE signaling).
However, Zhang does not teach wherein the beam configuration information is used for transmission and reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
In an analogous art, YOKOMAKURA teaches wherein the beam configuration information is used for transmission and reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0154] discloses that a gNB transmits beam configuration information to configure a common beam for PDCCH and PDSCH, activates a TCI state via MAC CE, and that the UE receives the PDCCH and the PDSCH based on the activated TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a beam configuration as taught by YOKOMAKURA within the system of Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve communication flexibility for the services to use the time, frequency, and spatial resources efficiently (YOKOMAKURA [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches configuring, by the network device, the TCI state pattern according to at least one of a cell, an RRH, or a beam deployed ([0116] discloses that the network device configures and selects TCI states via RRC or MAC CE signaling, thereby teaching configuration of a TCI state pattern, [0071] discloses that different TCI states are associated with different spatial parameters (QCL-TypeD), corresponding to different deployed beams).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the TCI state pattern corresponds to a set of TCI state IDs or a TCI state list configuration ([0116] discloses that one or two TCI states are identified by respective TCI state IDs and are configured by the network device).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein beams corresponding to the TCI state list have a same TCI state, and the same TCI state at least comprises a same TCI state ID and a same quasi co-location (QCL) type ([0116] when the beam configuration is based on only one TCI state configured for a monitored CORESET, the same TCI state identified by a TCI state ID is configured and activated, [0070] discloses that a TCI state includes QCL information and that the applied beam is based on a downlink reference signal configured with a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeD)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the beam switch comprises switch between beams corresponding to different RRHs in a same cell ([0053] discloses that a gNB is considered a cell and includes one or more transmission and reception points (TRPs), and that a UE is connected to multiple TRPs within the same gNB, thereby teaching beam switching between beams associated with different transmission points (RRHs) within a same cell).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the TCI state ID ([0116] lowest ID) further comprises: a quasi co-location (QCL) information type associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ([0070]-[0071] disclose that a TCI state includes quasi co-location (QCL) information),
wherein the QCL information type at least comprises QCL-type D ([0070] the QCL information comprises QCL-TypeD associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches a terminal device (FIG. 3 a communication device 106), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 3 processor 302);
a transceiver (FIG. 5 RF 540); and
a memory configured to store computer programs ([0047] program instructions stored on a memory medium);
wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer programs stored in the memory to ([0047] The processor 302 is configured to implement all of the features, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium):
cause the transceiver to receive beam configuration information sent by a network device (FIG. 2 base station 102) ([0120] processing logic transmits, to a UE, beam configuration information), wherein the beam configuration information comprises at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identity (ID), a TCI state list, or a TCI state pattern comprising a set of ordered TCI state lists ([0116] discloses a beam configuration is based on one TCI state selected from multiple TCI states, including a TCI state with a lowest ID, and configured via RRC or MAC CE signaling, thereby teaching at least a TCI state identity (ID)); and
perform beam switch or cell switch according to the beam configuration information ([0068] discloses that, in multi-TRP operation, a UE selects and applies one of multiple configured TCI states based on beam configuration information, thereby switching beams); wherein: in the beam configuration information, at least two beam indexes corresponding to a same remote radio head (RRH) are reused ([0069] in multi-TRP operation, the default PDSCH beam is determined based on two active TCI states corresponding to a lowest TCI codepoint in a same BWP, [0085] one of the two TCI states is selected based on a slot, subframe, or frame index, thereby teaching that multiple beam identifiers (TCI state IDs) corresponding to the same transmission point/RRH are selectively reused over time), and beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern or the TCI state list are configured with a same TCI state ([0116] when the default beam configuration is based on only one TCI state configured for a monitored CORESET, the same TCI state is applied and configured by RRC or MAC CE signaling).
However, Zhang does not teach wherein the beam configuration information is used for transmission and reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
In an analogous art, YOKOMAKURA teaches wherein the beam configuration information is used for transmission and reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0154] discloses that a gNB transmits beam configuration information to configure a common beam for PDCCH and PDSCH, activates a TCI state via MAC CE, and that the UE receives the PDCCH and the PDSCH based on the activated TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a beam configuration as taught by YOKOMAKURA within the system of Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve communication flexibility for the services to use the time, frequency, and spatial resources efficiently (YOKOMAKURA [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the TCI state pattern is configured according to at least one of a cell, an RRH, or a beam deployed by the network device ([0116] discloses that the network device configures and selects TCI states via RRC or MAC CE signaling, thereby teaching configuration of a TCI state pattern, [0071] discloses that different TCI states are associated with different spatial parameters (QCL-TypeD), corresponding to different deployed beams).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the TCI state pattern corresponds to a set of TCI state IDs or a TCI state list configuration ([0116] discloses that one or two TCI states are identified by respective TCI state IDs and are configured by the network device).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein one of the following:
the PDSCH or the PDCCH is configured with two TCI states and is associated with beams with different beam indexes ([0117] discloses that a CORESET or TCI codepoint may be configured with two TCI states, and that PDSCH or PDCCH transmission is associated with one or more of the configured TCI states, thereby associating the channel with beams having different beam indexes),
wherein each beam index is indicated by a reference signal index corresponding to a beam ([0116] discloses that TCI state is identified by a TCI state Id and determined based on an associated reference signal via a QCL type, such that a beam applied to the PDSCH or PDCCH is indicated by the reference signal corresponding to the TCI state).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern or the TCI state list have a same TCI state, and the same TCI state at least comprises a same TCI state ID and a same quasi co-location (QCL) type ([0116] when the beam configuration is based on only one TCI state configured for a monitored CORESET, the same TCI state identified by a TCI state ID is configured and activated, [0070] discloses that a TCI state includes QCL information and that the applied beam is based on a downlink reference signal configured with a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeD)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 3 processor 302) is further configured to: trigger change in the beam configuration information and switch of a TCI state corresponding to the PDSCH during the beam switch according to a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) configured by a network ([0120] discloses that a network determines and transmits beam configuration information identifying a default PDSCH beam configuration to a UE, and that application of the configuration by the UE results in a beam switch based on TCI state selection, [0121] discloses that the configuration information is provided via MAC-CE signaling).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 3 processor 302) is further configured to: when performing intra-cell beam switch ([0120] beam configuration information identifying a default beam configuration is determined for a serving cell and applied by the UE based on TCI state selection, thereby causing a beam switch within the same cell),
perform beam switch after switching to the target cell according to beam configuration information of a serving cell ([0120] the UE applies beam configuration information of a serving cell to select and apply a TCI state, resulting in a beam switch upon application of the configuration), wherein the beam configuration information is indicated by a DCI, a MAC-CE, or an RRC connection release message ([0121] the configuration information is provided via MAC-CE signaling).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the beam switch comprises switch between beams corresponding to different RRHs in a same cell ([0053] discloses that a gNB is considered a cell and includes one or more transmission and reception points (TRPs), and that a UE is connected to multiple TRPs within the same gNB, thereby teaching beam switching between beams associated with different transmission points (RRHs) within a same cell).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein: the processor (FIG. 3 processor 302) is further configured to obtain a measurement result by performing signal measurement according to the beam configuration information ([0070] discloses beam configuration information includes a TCI state associated with a downlink reference signal via a QCL type, and that a UE applies the configured beam to receive the reference signal, thereby performing signal measurement based on the beam configuration informaiton); and
the transceiver (FIG. 5 RF 540) is further configured to report the measurement result to the network device ([0121] the UE communicates with the network using configured signaling, and that measurement-related information obtained at the UE is reported to the network device via the UE transceiver).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically YOKOMAKURA teaches wherein the signal measurement comprises: radio resource management (RRM) measurement that are based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ([0089] NZP CSI-RS is used for radio resource management (RRM) measurement, transmitted in the downlink from a gNB to a UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a RRM measurement as taught by YOKOMAKURA within the parameter of Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve communication flexibility for the services to use the time, frequency, and spatial resources efficiently (YOKOMAKURA [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhang and YOKOMAKURA, specifically Zhang teaches wherein the transceiver (FIG. 5 RF 540) is further configured to:
send a request for updating the beam configuration information to the network device ([0120] the UE communicates with the network using control signaling, including MAC-CE/RRC signaling, [0126] program code executed by a UE causes transmission of data signals via a communication link, thereby enabling the UE to send signaling toward the network to request configuration updates),
wherein the request comprises an inter-cell switch request and an intra-cell switch request ([0053] a UE is connected to one or more transmission and reception points (TRPs) within one or more gNBs, [0069] operation supporting multi-TRP and beam switching, [0126] discloses that program code executed by a UE causes transmission of data signals via a communication link, thereby enabling UE-to-network signaling that includes inter-cell and intra-cell switch requests); and
receive updated beam configuration information sent by the network device ([0120] the network determines and transmits beam configuration information to a UE, and that the UE receives and applies the transmitted configuration).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches a network device (FIG. 4 BS 102), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 4 Processor 404);
a transceiver (FIG. 4 Radio 430, Communication Chain 432, Antenna 434); and
a memory configured to store computer programs ([0056] program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium));
wherein the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer programs stored in the memory to ([0056] The processor 404 is configured to implement all of the methods, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium):
cause the transceiver to send beam configuration information to a terminal device ([0120] processing logic transmits, to a UE, beam configuration information),
wherein the beam configuration information comprises at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identity (ID), a TCI state list, or a TCI state pattern comprising a set of ordered TCI state lists ([0116] discloses a beam configuration is based on one TCI state selected from multiple TCI states, including a TCI state with a lowest ID, and configured via RRC or MAC CE signaling, thereby teaching at least a TCI state identity (ID)), and
the beam configuration information is used for the terminal device to perform beam switch or cell switch ([0068] discloses that, in multi-TRP operation, a UE selects and applies one of multiple configured TCI states based on beam configuration information, thereby switching beams); wherein: in the beam configuration information, at least two beam indexes corresponding to a same remote radio head (RRH) are reused ([0069] in multi-TRP operation, the default PDSCH beam is determined based on two active TCI states corresponding to a lowest TCI codepoint in a same BWP, [0085] one of the two TCI states is selected based on a slot, subframe, or frame index, thereby teaching that multiple beam identifiers (TCI state IDs) corresponding to the same transmission point/RRH are selectively reused over time), and beams corresponding to the TCI state pattern or the TCI state list are configured with a same TCI state ([0116] when the default beam configuration is based on only one TCI state configured for a monitored CORESET, the same TCI state is applied and configured by RRC or MAC CE signaling).
However, Zhang does not teach wherein the beam configuration information is used for transmission and reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
In an analogous art, YOKOMAKURA teaches wherein the beam configuration information is used for transmission and reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0154] discloses that a gNB transmits beam configuration information to configure a common beam for PDCCH and PDSCH, activates a TCI state via MAC CE, and that the UE receives the PDCCH and the PDSCH based on the activated TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a beam configuration as taught by YOKOMAKURA within the system of Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve communication flexibility for the services to use the time, frequency, and spatial resources efficiently (YOKOMAKURA [0036]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0238335 A1 (CHECKO) discloses a method for radio source scheduling implemented in a communication network.
US 2017/0257155 A1 (Liang et al.) discloses methods for MU-MIMO wireless communication systems comprising a BS with plural of antennas, either closely located or distributed.
US 2018/0242158 A1 (Tang) discloses a method for intra-cell frequency reuse for an indoor wireless network and a baseband unit.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413