DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-14 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of the Invention I and species A in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all inventions and species presents no burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require separate field of search due to their different subclasses. The prior art that is applicable to one invention would not likely to be applicable to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120194764 A1 to Ishizumi.
Regarding Claim 1. Ishizumi discloses, a display engine, comprising: an arrayed light source panel including a light source array that includes a plurality of individually addressable light sources (Fig. 2 LEDs 32), each light source being configured to emit a first light beam associated with a first wavelength band (para 69-70); a beam reshaping module including a plurality of beam reshaping elements, each beam reshaping element being configured to reshape a first beam profile of the first light beam and output a second light beam with a second beam profile (Fig. 2 optical sheet 31, para 68); a transmissive display driver panel (Fig. 2 display panel 10) including a display driver module integrated with a pixelated color conversion module, the pixelated color conversion module including a plurality of color conversion units configured to at least partially convert the second light beam associated with the first wavelength band into a third light beam associated with a second wavelength band (Fig. 2 fluorescent layer 13, para 76 and para 82); and an active light modulation medium configured to be controllable by the transmissive display driver panel (Fig. 2 liquid crystal layer 17), and configured to modulate the third light beam received from the transmissive display driver panel for displaying an image (See Fig. 2 where light transmitted through layer 13 is received by layer 17 to be modulated).
Regarding Claim 8. Ishizumi further discloses the first light beam output from each light source is a blue light beam or a UV light beam (para 69-70).
Regarding Claim 9. Ishizumi further discloses the third light beam output from each pixelated color conversion module is one of a blue light beam, a green light beam, a red light beam, or a white light beam (para 82).
Regarding Claim 15. Ishizumi further discloses the pixelated color conversion module includes at least one of quantum dots, a fluorescent material, a phosphorescent material, a photoluminescent material, quantum wells, semiconductor nanowires, or quantum nano-wires (para 82).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizumi as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20130127927 A1 to IP et al.
Regarding Claim 10. As stated above Ishizumi discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Ishizumi does not specifically disclose that each light source is a laser light source.
However, Ip discloses that a light field for illuminating a display may be produced with various components and combination thereof, among which include a light source as a laser light source (See at least para 87 “light field may be generated by the plurality of optical components comprising one or more of .. light emitting diodes, lasers”), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that each light source is a laser light source.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizumi and Ip as applied to claim 10 in view of US 20140376261 A1 to Liu et al.
Regarding Claim 11. As stated above Ishizumi and Ip discloses all the limitations of base claim 10.
Ishizumi and Ip do not specifically disclose that the laser light source includes one of a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser, a photonic-crystal surface emitting laser, an in-plane cavity surface emitting laser, an edge-emitting laser, a laser diode, a fiber laser, a heterogeneously integrated laser, or a nonlinearly converted light source.
However, Liu discloses that a laser light source may include a laser diode (See para 65), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include that the laser light source includes one of a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser, a photonic-crystal surface emitting laser, an in-plane cavity surface emitting laser, an edge-emitting laser, a laser diode, a fiber laser, a heterogeneously integrated laser, or a nonlinearly converted light source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871