Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al.
Referring to claim 1, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 an electronic device (terminal 10), comprising:
…
At least one antenna (not specifically disclosed, but transmission unit 1820/2520 must include antenna for transmitting signals; Sections 0075. 0076, and 0083; refer to Szini et al rejection below).
A RF circuit (transmission unit 1820/2520; not specifically disclosed by transmission unit 1820/2520 must be a RF circuit to transmit RF signals; refer to Szini et al rejection below) including at least one antenna tuning circuit (control unit 1810/2510; not specifically disclosed but control unit 1810/2510 adjusts the transmission power and preamble repetition level of the random access preambles transmitted by the antenna of the transmission unit 1820/2520; refer to Szini et al rejection below) connected to the at least one antenna.
At least one communication processor (control unit 1810/2510) operatively connected to the RF circuit, wherein the at least one communication processor is configured to:
Control (step 1402) the RF circuit to transmit a random access preamble signal based on first transmission power (transmission power) and a first tuning value (initial preamble repetition level). Step 1402/2502: terminal 10 transmits, via transmission unit 1820/2520, a random access preamble using a transmission power (claimed “first transmission power”) determined based on an initial preamble repetition level and using the initial preamble repetition level (claimed “first tuning value”).
Identify (step 1404) whether a RAR signal is received via the RF circuit in response to the random access preamble signal. Step 1404: terminal 10 determines whether a RAR for a transmitted random access preamble has been received.
Identify whether a set condition (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power) is satisfied (step 1408), based on the RAR signal not being received. Step 1408: when it is determined that the RAR for the transmitted random access preamble has not been received, terminal 10 increases the random access preamble transmission power in step 1408, and determines if the increased random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power. When the random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 retransmits the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1406.
Change (step 1410) a tuning value … from the first tuning value to a second tuning value (increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level), based on the set condition being satisfied (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power). Step 1410: when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 performs a repetition level ramping by increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level, and determines the random access preamble transmission power based on the increased preamble repetition level in step 1412.
Control (step 1402) the RF circuit to transmit the random access preamble signal based on the first transmission power (Sections 0177 and 0156; terminal 10 may maintain the random access preamble transmission power of the time before the repetition level ramping being performed) and the second tuning value. Step 1402: Terminal 10 then retransmits, via the via transmission unit 1820/2520, the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1412, and using the increased the preamble repetition level at the next level. Section 0177: terminal 10 can increase only the repetition level of the random access preamble transmission power, while maintaining the current transmission power; Section 0256: when terminal 10 performs the repetition level ramping, terminal 10 may maintain the random access preamble transmission power of the time before the repetition level ramping being performed. So, terminal 10 can retransmit the random access preamble using the claimed “first transmission power”. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Park et al do not specifically disclose an electronic device, comprising: at least one sensor including a grip sensor; at least one antenna; a RF circuit including at least one antenna tuning circuit connected to the at least one antenna …
Szini et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0033-0052 wherein a UE 400 includes sensors 417/418/419 including grip sensors, antenna 305/407, RF circuitry 411 connected to antenna tuning logic 407, and processor 410. Refer to Sections 0018-0067. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an electronic device, comprising: at least one sensor including a grip sensor; at least one antenna; a RF circuit including at least one antenna tuning circuit connected to the at least one antenna … One would have been motivated to do so to include a grip sensor to sense UE grip motions, antenna for communication with other devices, RF circuitry for communicating radio frequency signals with other devices, and antenna tuning logic to tune the antennas to better communication quality.
Park et al and Szini et al do not disclose … change a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor from the first tuning value to a second tuning value, based on the set condition being satisfied …
Thorson et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0006, 0019, and 0030-0039 wherein a grip sensor on UE generates sensing signals corresponding to a user grip, and a control unit in UE identifies a grip pattern based on the sensing signals to control transmit power and antenna tuning. A controller 602 tunes antennas based on grip profiles 604, wherein each grip profile indicates the relationship between a grip type and one or more of the RSSI, BER, RSRP, RSRQ, etc. of the antenna. Based on the grip type, controller 602 tunes the antenna according to the grip profile. For example: four fingers in the user's grip are positioned in close proximity to the antenna A1 and one finger is positioned in close proximity to the antenna A2, so antenna A1 is shadowed more than antenna A2, and controller 602 de-tunes the antennae such that RSSI of antenna A2 is greater than RSSI of antenna A1. Refer to Sections 0006 and 0017-0042. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … change a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor from the first tuning value to a second tuning value, based on the set condition being satisfied … One would have been motivated to do so to tune the antenna according to user grip to improve communication quality of the antenna according to different user grips, since different user grips affect antenna communication quality differently.
Referring to claim 4, Park et al and Szini et al do not disclose wherein the second tuning value corresponds to a second status different from a first status of the grip sensor which corresponds to the first tuning value.
Thorson et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0006, 0019, and 0030-0039 wherein a grip sensor on UE generates sensing signals corresponding to a user grip, and a control unit in UE identifies a grip pattern based on the sensing signals to control transmit power and antenna tuning. So, a first grip pattern (claimed “first status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a first antenna tuning (claimed “first tuning value”) and a second grip pattern (claimed “second status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a second antenna tuning (claimed “second tuning value”). A controller 602 tunes antennas based on grip profiles 604, wherein each grip profile indicates the relationship between a grip type and one or more of the RSSI, BER, RSRP, RSRQ, etc. of the antenna. So, a first grip profile/type (claimed “first status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a first antenna parameter (claimed “first tuning value”) and a second grip profile/type (claimed “second status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a second antenna parameter (claimed “second tuning value”). Refer to Sections 0006 and 0017-0042. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second tuning value corresponds to a second status different from a first status of the grip sensor which corresponds to the first tuning value. One would have been motivated to do so to tune the antenna according to user grip to improve communication quality of the antenna according to different user grips, since different user grips affect antenna communication quality differently.
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20110051609 to Ishii et al.
Referring to claim 2, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 wherein the set condition (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power) includes a condition that the first transmission power is greater to threshold transmission power. Step 1408: UE determines if the increased random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power. When the random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 retransmits the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1406. When the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 performs a repetition level ramping by increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Park et al, Szini et al, and Thorson et al do not disclose wherein the set condition includes a condition that the first transmission power is equal to threshold transmission power.
Ishii et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0069, 0088 wherein MS transmits a random access preamble at a first transmission power level and waits for a response from BS. Unless the transmission power level of the preamble is equal to the maximum transmission power level, the transmission power level of the preamble is increased, and MS retransmits the preamble. Refer to Sections 0035-0105. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the set condition includes a condition that the first transmission power is equal to threshold transmission power. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to perform tuning when the transmission power is equal to a threshold transmission power, thereby meeting a threshold to perform tuning.
Referring to claim 6, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 wherein the threshold transmission power includes maximum transmission power usable for transmitting the random access preamble signal. Sections 0009-0018, 0023-0035, 0105-0108, 0135, 0150, 0175-0179, and 0246-0250: the maximum transmission power PCMAX,c--(i) is the maximum transmission power for transmitting the random access preamble signal. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Claim 3 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200187258 to Lee et al.
Park et al, Szini et al, and Thorson et al do not disclose wherein the at least one communication processor is configured to: control the RF circuit to transmit the random access preamble signal a set number of times until the RAR signal is received.
Lee et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Section 0109 wherein UE transmits, via antenna in Figure 11, a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response in response to the random access preamble. Refer to Sections 0036-0152. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one communication processor is configured to: control the RF circuit to transmit the random access preamble signal a set number of times until the RAR signal is received. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to transmit a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response, thereby ensuring UE random access response to facilitate random access control.
Claim 5 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190142120 to Alghazi et al.
Park et al, Szini et al, and Thorson et al do not disclose wherein the first status of the grip sensor includes one of grip touch or grip release.
Alghazi et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0037 wherein a node includes sensors 706 and 708 that sense a user touching the outer grip 702 and releasing the outer grip 702. Refer to Sections 0020-0085. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first status of the grip sensor includes one of grip touch or grip release. One would have been motivated to do so to since conventional grip positions are grip touch and grip release.
Claims 7 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240259159 to Demir et al.
Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 an electronic device (terminal 10), comprising:
…
At least one antenna (not specifically disclosed, but transmission unit 1820/2520 must include antenna for transmitting signals; Sections 0075. 0076, and 0083; refer to Szini et al rejection below).
A RF circuit (transmission unit 1820/2520; not specifically disclosed by transmission unit 1820/2520 must be a RF circuit to transmit RF signals; refer to Szini et al rejection below) including at least one antenna tuning circuit (control unit 1810/2510; not specifically disclosed but control unit 1810/2510 adjusts the transmission power and preamble repetition level of the random access preambles transmitted by the antenna of the transmission unit 1820/2520; refer to Szini et al rejection below) connected to the at least one antenna.
At least one communication processor (control unit 1810/2510) operatively connected to the RF circuit, wherein the at least one communication processor is configured to:
Transit (Figure 1, Sections 0092-0097) to a RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) … Terminal 10 and BS 20 performs a random access procedure at step S116, and terminal 10 may be in an RRC connected state in an RRC idle state.
Control (step 1402) the RF circuit to transmit a random access preamble signal based on first transmission power (transmission power) and a first tuning value (initial preamble repetition level). Step 1402/2502: terminal 10 transmits, via transmission unit 1820/2520, a random access preamble using a transmission power (claimed “first transmission power”) determined based on an initial preamble repetition level and using the initial preamble repetition level (claimed “first tuning value”).
Identify (step 1404) whether a RAR signal is received via the RF circuit in response to the random access preamble signal. Step 1404: terminal 10 determines whether a RAR for a transmitted random access preamble has been received.
Identify whether a set condition (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power) is satisfied (step 1408), based on the RAR signal not being received. Step 1408: when it is determined that the RAR for the transmitted random access preamble has not been received, terminal 10 increases the random access preamble transmission power in step 1408, and determines if the increased random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power. When the random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 retransmits the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1406.
Change (step 1410) a tuning value from the first tuning value to a second tuning value (increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level), based on the set condition being satisfied (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power). Step 1410: when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 performs a repetition level ramping by increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level, and determines the random access preamble transmission power based on the increased preamble repetition level in step 1412.
Control (step 1402) the RF circuit to transmit the random access preamble signal based on the first transmission power (Sections 0177 and 0156; terminal 10 may maintain the random access preamble transmission power of the time before the repetition level ramping being performed) and the second tuning value. Step 1402: Terminal 10 then retransmits, via the via transmission unit 1820/2520, the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1412, and using the increased the preamble repetition level at the next level. Section 0177: terminal 10 can increase only the repetition level of the random access preamble transmission power, while maintaining the current transmission power; Section 0256: when terminal 10 performs the repetition level ramping, terminal 10 may maintain the random access preamble transmission power of the time before the repetition level ramping being performed. So, terminal 10 can retransmit the random access preamble using the claimed “first transmission power”. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Park et al do not specifically disclose an electronic device, comprising: at least one sensor including a grip sensor; at least one antenna; a RF circuit including at least one antenna tuning circuit connected to the at least one antenna …
Szini et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0033-0052 wherein a UE 400 includes sensors 417/418/419 including grip sensors, antenna 305/407, RF circuitry 411 connected to antenna tuning logic 407, and processor 410. Refer to Sections 0018-0067. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an electronic device, comprising: at least one sensor including a grip sensor; at least one antenna; a RF circuit including at least one antenna tuning circuit connected to the at least one antenna … One would have been motivated to do so to include a grip sensor to sense UE grip motions, antenna for communication with other devices, RF circuitry for communicating radio frequency signals with other devices, and antenna tuning logic to tune the antennas to better communication quality.
Park et al and Szini et al do not disclose … transit to a RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state, … a first tuning value which is a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor …
Thorson et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0006, 0019, and 0030-0039 wherein a grip sensor on UE generates sensing signals corresponding to a user grip, and a control unit (claimed “one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor”) in UE identifies a grip pattern based on the sensing signals to control transmit power and antenna tuning. A controller 602 tunes antennas based on grip profiles 604, wherein each grip profile indicates the relationship between a grip type and one or more of the RSSI, BER, RSRP, RSRQ, etc. of the antenna. Based on the grip type, controller 602 tunes the antenna (claimed “a first tuning value which is a tuning value …”) according to the grip profile. For example: four fingers in the user's grip are positioned in close proximity to the antenna A1 and one finger is positioned in close proximity to the antenna A2, so antenna A1 is shadowed more than antenna A2, and controller 602 de-tunes the antennae such that RSSI of antenna A2 (claimed “a first tuning value which is a tuning value …”) is greater than RSSI of antenna A1 (claimed “a first tuning value which is a tuning value …”). Refer to Sections 0006 and 0017-0042. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transit to a RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state, … a first tuning value which is a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor … One would have been motivated to do so to tune the antenna according to user grip to improve communication quality of the antenna according to different user grips, since different user grips affect antenna communication quality differently.
Park et al, Szini et al, and Thorson et al do not disclose … transit to a RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state, and maintain a first tuning value which is a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor before transition to the RRC IDLE state or the RRC INACTIVE …
Demir et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0210-0216 wherein WTRU transitions from an active state to an inactive/idle state. WTRU is configured to keep using the same downlink FCRS transmissions during the inactive state which WTRU was using during the active state before transition from the active state to the inactive/idle state. By applying Demir et al to Park et al: When transiting to the idle state, the terminal of Park et al can use the same tuning values that the terminal was using before transition to the idle state, as disclosed by Demir et al since Demir et al teach keeping the same parameters after WTRU transits from an active state to an inactive state. Refer to Sections 0030-0238. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transit to a RRC_IDLE state or an RRC_INACTIVE state, and maintain a first tuning value which is a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor before transition to the RRC IDLE state or the RRC INACTIVE … One would have been motivated to do so to simplify the system by maintaining the same parameters after a terminal transits from an active state to an inactive/idle state.
Referring to claim 12, Park et al, Szini et al, Thorson et al, and Demir et al do not disclose wherein the second tuning value corresponds to a second status different from a first status of the grip sensor which corresponds to the first tuning value.
Thorson et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0006, 0019, and 0030-0039 wherein a grip sensor on UE generates sensing signals corresponding to a user grip, and a control unit in UE identifies a grip pattern based on the sensing signals to control transmit power and antenna tuning. So, a first grip pattern (claimed “first status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a first antenna tuning (claimed “first tuning value”) and a second grip pattern (claimed “second status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a second antenna tuning (claimed “second tuning value”). A controller 602 tunes antennas based on grip profiles 604, wherein each grip profile indicates the relationship between a grip type and one or more of the RSSI, BER, RSRP, RSRQ, etc. of the antenna. So, a first grip profile/type (claimed “first status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a first antenna parameter (claimed “first tuning value”) and a second grip profile/type (claimed “second status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a second antenna parameter (claimed “second tuning value”). Refer to Sections 0006 and 0017-0042. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second tuning value corresponds to a second status different from a first status of the grip sensor which corresponds to the first tuning value. One would have been motivated to do so to tune the antenna according to user grip to improve communication quality of the antenna according to different user grips, since different user grips affect antenna communication quality differently.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240259159 to Demir et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20110051609 to Ishii et al.
Referring to claim 8, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 wherein the set condition (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power) includes a condition that the first transmission power is greater to threshold transmission power. Step 1408: UE determines if the increased random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power. When the random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 retransmits the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1406. When the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 performs a repetition level ramping by increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Park et al, Szini et al, Thorson et al, and Demir et al do not disclose wherein the set condition includes a condition that the first transmission power is equal to threshold transmission power.
Ishii et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0069, 0088 wherein MS transmits a random access preamble at a first transmission power level and waits for a response from BS. Unless the transmission power level of the preamble is equal to the maximum transmission power level, the transmission power level of the preamble is increased, and MS retransmits the preamble. Refer to Sections 0035-0105. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the set condition includes a condition that the first transmission power is equal to threshold transmission power. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to perform tuning when the transmission power is equal to a threshold transmission power, thereby meeting a threshold to perform tuning.
Referring to claim 9, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 wherein the threshold transmission power includes maximum transmission power usable for transmitting the random access preamble signal. Sections 0009-0018, 0023-0035, 0105-0108, 0135, 0150, 0175-0179, and 0246-0250: the maximum transmission power PCMAX,c--(i) is the maximum transmission power for transmitting the random access preamble signal. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240259159 to Demir et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200187258 to Lee et al.
Park et al, Szini et al, Thorson et al, and Demir et al do not disclose wherein the at least one communication processor is configured to: control the RF circuit to transmit the random access preamble signal a set number of times until the RAR signal is received.
Lee et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Section 0109 wherein UE transmits, via antenna in Figure 11, a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response in response to the random access preamble. Refer to Sections 0036-0152. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one communication processor is configured to: control the RF circuit to transmit the random access preamble signal a set number of times until the RAR signal is received. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to transmit a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response, thereby ensuring UE random access response to facilitate random access control.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240259159 to Demir et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20040235593 to DuFlon et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230090516 to Zhang et al.
Park et al, Szini et al, Thorson et al, and Demir et al do not disclose wherein the at least one communication processor is further configured to: turn off the grip sensor after transiting to the RRC_IDLE state or the RRC_INACTIVE state.
DuFlon et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Section 0038 wherein when a game is not in play, the grip sensor is turned off using power control circuitry in order to conserve power. Although DuFlon et al do not disclose a claimed “RRC_IDLE state or the RRC_INACTIVE”, when a game is not in play, the system is in an idle/inactive state. Refer to Sections 0035-0108. Similarly, Zhang et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0088-0096 wherein to reduce power consumption, Wi-Fi radar of UE is switched off when UE is in an RRC idle or inactive state. Refer to Sections 0025-0187. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one communication processor is further configured to: turn off the grip sensor after transiting to the RRC_IDLE state or the RRC_INACTIVE state. One would have been motivated to do so to turn off a grip sensor when not in use to conserve power.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240259159 to Demir et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190142120 to Alghazi et al.
Park et al, Szini et al, Thorson et al, Demir et al do not disclose wherein the first status of the grip sensor includes one of grip touch or grip release.
Alghazi et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0037 wherein a node includes sensors 706 and 708 that sense a user touching the outer grip 702 and releasing the outer grip 702. Refer to Sections 0020-0085. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first status of the grip sensor includes one of grip touch or grip release. One would have been motivated to do so to since conventional grip positions are grip touch and grip release.
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160373170 to Szini et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240259159 to Demir et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110051609 to Ishii et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200187258 to Lee et al.
Park et al, Szini et al, Thorson et al, Demir et al, and Ishii et al do not disclose the random access preamble signal is capable of being transmitted a set number of times until the RAR signal is received.
Lee et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Section 0109 wherein UE transmits, via antenna in Figure 11, a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response in response to the random access preamble. Refer to Sections 0036-0152. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the random access preamble signal is capable of being transmitted a set number of times until the RAR signal is received. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to transmit a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response, thereby ensuring UE random access response to facilitate random access control.
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al.
Referring to claim 15, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 an operating method of an electronic device (terminal 10), comprising:
Transmitting (step 1402) a random access preamble signal based on first transmission power (transmission power) and a first tuning value (initial preamble repetition level). Step 1402/2502: terminal 10 transmits, via transmission unit 1820/2520, a random access preamble using a transmission power (claimed “first transmission power”) determined based on an initial preamble repetition level and using the initial preamble repetition level (claimed “first tuning value”).
Identifying (step 1404) whether a RAR signal is received via the RF circuit in response to the random access preamble signal. Step 1404: terminal 10 determines whether a RAR for a transmitted random access preamble has been received.
Identifying whether a set condition (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power) is satisfied (step 1408), based on the RAR signal not being received. Step 1408: when it is determined that the RAR for the transmitted random access preamble has not been received, terminal 10 increases the random access preamble transmission power in step 1408, and determines if the increased random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power. When the random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 retransmits the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1406.
Changing (step 1410) a tuning value … from the first tuning value to a second tuning value (increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level), based on the set condition being satisfied (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power). Step 1410: when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 performs a repetition level ramping by increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level, and determines the random access preamble transmission power based on the increased preamble repetition level in step 1412.
Transmitting (step 1402) the random access preamble signal based on the first transmission power (Sections 0177 and 0156; terminal 10 may maintain the random access preamble transmission power of the time before the repetition level ramping being performed) and the second tuning value. Step 1402: Terminal 10 then retransmits, via the via transmission unit 1820/2520, the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1412, and using the increased the preamble repetition level at the next level. Section 0177: terminal 10 can increase only the repetition level of the random access preamble transmission power, while maintaining the current transmission power; Section 0256: when terminal 10 performs the repetition level ramping, terminal 10 may maintain the random access preamble transmission power of the time before the repetition level ramping being performed. So, terminal 10 can retransmit the random access preamble using the claimed “first transmission power”. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Park et al do not disclose … changing a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor from the first tuning value to a second tuning value, based on the set condition being satisfied …
Thorson et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0006, 0019, and 0030-0039 wherein a grip sensor on UE generates sensing signals corresponding to a user grip, and a control unit in UE identifies a grip pattern based on the sensing signals to control transmit power and antenna tuning. A controller 602 tunes antennas based on grip profiles 604, wherein each grip profile indicates the relationship between a grip type and one or more of the RSSI, BER, RSRP, RSRQ, etc. of the antenna. Based on the grip type, controller 602 tunes the antenna according to the grip profile. For example: four fingers in the user's grip are positioned in close proximity to the antenna A1 and one finger is positioned in close proximity to the antenna A2, so antenna A1 is shadowed more than antenna A2, and controller 602 de-tunes the antennae such that RSSI of antenna A2 is greater than RSSI of antenna A1. Refer to Sections 0006 and 0017-0042. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … changing a tuning value of the at least one antenna tuning circuit which corresponds to the grip sensor from the first tuning value to a second tuning value, based on the set condition being satisfied … One would have been motivated to do so to tune the antenna according to user grip to improve communication quality of the antenna according to different user grips, since different user grips affect antenna communication quality differently.
Referring to claim 18, Park et al do not disclose wherein the second tuning value corresponds to a second status different from a first status of the grip sensor which corresponds to the first tuning value.
Thorson et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0006, 0019, and 0030-0039 wherein a grip sensor on UE generates sensing signals corresponding to a user grip, and a control unit in UE identifies a grip pattern based on the sensing signals to control transmit power and antenna tuning. So, a first grip pattern (claimed “first status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a first antenna tuning (claimed “first tuning value”) and a second grip pattern (claimed “second status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a second antenna tuning (claimed “second tuning value”). A controller 602 tunes antennas based on grip profiles 604, wherein each grip profile indicates the relationship between a grip type and one or more of the RSSI, BER, RSRP, RSRQ, etc. of the antenna. So, a first grip profile/type (claimed “first status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a first antenna parameter (claimed “first tuning value”) and a second grip profile/type (claimed “second status of the grip sensor”) corresponds to a second antenna parameter (claimed “second tuning value”). Refer to Sections 0006 and 0017-0042. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second tuning value corresponds to a second status different from a first status of the grip sensor which corresponds to the first tuning value. One would have been motivated to do so to tune the antenna according to user grip to improve communication quality of the antenna according to different user grips, since different user grips affect antenna communication quality differently.
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20110051609 to Ishii et al.
Referring to claim 16, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 wherein the set condition (when the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power) includes a condition that the first transmission power is greater to threshold transmission power. Step 1408: UE determines if the increased random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power. When the random access preamble transmission power is equal to or less than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 retransmits the random access preamble at step S1402 using the random access preamble transmission power which was determined in the step S1406. When the random access preamble transmission power is greater than a maximum transmission power, terminal 10 performs a repetition level ramping by increasing the preamble repetition level to the next level. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Park et al and Thorson et al do not disclose wherein the set condition includes a condition that the first transmission power is equal to threshold transmission power.
Ishii et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0069, 0088 wherein MS transmits a random access preamble at a first transmission power level and waits for a response from BS. Unless the transmission power level of the preamble is equal to the maximum transmission power level, the transmission power level of the preamble is increased, and MS retransmits the preamble. Refer to Sections 0035-0105. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the set condition includes a condition that the first transmission power is equal to threshold transmission power. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to perform tuning when the transmission power is equal to a threshold transmission power, thereby meeting a threshold to perform tuning.
Referring to claim 20, Park et al disclose in Figures 1-30 wherein the threshold transmission power includes maximum transmission power usable for transmitting the random access preamble signal. Sections 0009-0018, 0023-0035, 0105-0108, 0135, 0150, 0175-0179, and 0246-0250: the maximum transmission power PCMAX,c--(i) is the maximum transmission power for transmitting the random access preamble signal. Refer to Sections 0009-0036 and 0069-0285.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20200187258 to Lee et al.
Park et al and Thorson et al do not disclose the random access preamble signal is capable of being transmitted a set number of times until the RAR signal is received.
Lee et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Section 0109 wherein UE transmits, via antenna in Figure 11, a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response in response to the random access preamble. Refer to Sections 0036-0152. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the random access preamble signal is capable of being transmitted a set number of times until the RAR signal is received. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UE to transmit a random access preamble a predetermined number of times until UE receives a random access response, thereby ensuring UE random access response to facilitate random access control.
Claim 19 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20160255591 to Park et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140335916 to Thorson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190142120 to Alghazi et al.
Park et al and Thorson et al do not disclose wherein the first status of the grip sensor includes one of grip touch or grip release.
Alghazi et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0037 wherein a node includes sensors 706 and 708 that sense a user touching the outer grip 702 and releasing the outer grip 702. Refer to Sections 0020-0085. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first status of the grip sensor includes one of grip touch or grip release. One would have been motivated to do so to since conventional grip positions are grip touch and grip release.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20210212123 to Reial et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0128, 0152, and 0154 wherein UE transmits a RA preamble to BS; responsive to a RAR being not received, UE modifies the first RACH preamble transmission configuration to a second RACH preamble transmission configuration different from the first RACH preamble transmission configuration; and transmit second RA preamble using the second RACH preamble transmission configuration. Refer to Sections 0054-0162.
U.S. Publication No. 20170373890 to Fertonanai et al disclose in Figures 1-29 and Sections 0218-0219 wherein if the end-to-end latency is so large that the RAR cannot be received by UE within the window, UE tunes RRC parameter preambleTransMax. Refer to Sections 0046-0370.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
February 6, 2026