Claims 1-30 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 6, 16 & 21-23 have been amended.
Rejections to claims 1-30 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 3/27/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 6, 16 & 21-23. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections under 35 USC 103 have been introduced based on new references Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 6/11/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-30 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103 in view of new reference Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”).
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that amendments to this claim traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/27/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/27/2026. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Kaur. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 6, 16 & 22, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/27/2026 due to similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claims 6, 16 & 22 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 3/27/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections to claims 6, 16 & 22 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Kaur.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7-15, 17-21 & 23-30, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 based on amendments to claims 1, 6, 16 & 22 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 6, 16 or 22. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claims 2-5, 7-15, 17-21 & 23-30 under 35 USC 103. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces rejection of claims 2-5, 7-15, 17-21 & 23-30 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Kaur.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “includes one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B or C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 21-24 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”), and further in view of Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”).
Regarding claim 1, Novak discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting user equipment (Tx UE) (Fig 3 & col 12, lines 45-58 disclose a UE apparatus including a wireless communication subsystem which includes a transmitter.), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig 3 & col 12, lines 45-58 disclose a computer readable storage memory such as ROM or flash memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Fig 3 & col 12, lines 45-58 disclose a processing unit 302), at least one of the one or more processors configured to cause the Tx UE to:
receive a configuration for communication with multiple receiving UEs (Rx UEs) (Fig 5A & col 17, lines 64-67, col 18 lines 1-67 and col 19 lines 1-5 disclose a UE receiving IDS-configuration information that includes an IDS-RNTI that may be a “session IDS-RNTI” for communication with all UEs participating in an inter-device session or may be a “unidirectional IDS-RNTI” for communication from a first UE to a second UE.);
transmit a message in accordance with the configuration (Fig 5A & col 18, lines 46-67 and col 19 lines 1-5 disclose UE1 transmitting data traffic over a PUSCH to UE2 using the IDS-RNTI configured for transmission from UE1.); and
receive feedback associated with the message via the transmitting network node, the feedback being associated with one or more feedback messages output by the multiple Rx UEs (Fig 5B & col 29, lines 60-67 and col 30, lines 1-5 disclose UE1 receiving ACK/NACK feedback from an eNB, the ACK/NACK feedback being associated with the ACK/NACK feedback from UE2.).
Novak fails to disclose, but Byun2 teaches wherein the transmitting and receiving is via a Uu interface, and the transmitting is of a V2N2X message to a serving transmitting network node, the transmitting network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to an Rx UE (Table 1 and [0161] & [0163] disclose a UE transmitting a V2X message to a first base station (BS) (i.e. a serving transmitting network node), the first BS is configured to transmit the V2X message to a second BS and a third BS (i.e. multiple receiving network nodes), wherein the second BS and the third BS are configured to broadcast the V2X message to the coverage areas of the second BS and the third BS. [0048] discloses that the UE and first BS are connected by means of a Uu interface (i.e. the transmitting of the V2X message from the UE to the first base station, and receiving of any V2X messages by the UE from the first base station is via a Uu interface). [0157] discloses that the first BS may provide the V2X message to other BSs belonging to the same MBSFN area as the first BS for performing the broadcasting of the V2X message. [0133] discloses that UEs in the service area of an MBMS service provided by a BS may receive the MBMS service (i.e. multiple receiving UEs may receive the broadcast of the V2X message from the second BS and the third BS.). Because the V2X message is sent from a first UE, to a first BS, to second and third BSs, and ultimately to multiple receiving UEs in the coverage area of the second and third BSs, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message. Further, combining the teachings of Byun with that disclosed by Novak by transmitting V2N2X messages from the first UE to the network of BSs (i.e. the first, second and third BSs of Byun) to multiple receiving UEs makes the configuration of Novak a V2N2X configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication that can receive a configuration for communication with multiple Rx UEs; transmit a message in accordance with the configuration, as disclosed by Novak, wherein the configuration is a vehicle-to-network-to-everything (V2N2X) configuration; wherein the transmitting and receiving is via a Uu interface, and the transmitting is of a V2N2X message to a transmitting network node, the transmitting network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to Rx UEs, as taught by Byun2. The motivation to do so would be to have a first UE capable of being configured for V2N2X communication with multiple other UEs that opted in to a traffic information sharing service, send a V2N2X message, related to an incident such as being in a car crash and providing location information for the car accident, to a first BS, the first BS forwards the message to neighboring second and third base stations, and the neighboring second and third base stations broadcast the V2N2X message to the multiple UEs in the coverage area of the second and third BSs so that the multiple UEs, that may not be within close enough proximity of the UE for direct communication, can be made aware of the car accident and take a different route to avoid traffic delays due to the accident.
Novak fails to disclose but Kaur further teaches wherein each receiving network node is in communication with a single corresponding RX UE, of the multiple RX UEs, and configured to transmit the V2N2X message to the single corresponding RX UE (Fig 6 & [0077]-[0083] discloses a first vehicle transmitting a V2X message to a first access point, which may be a first base station, the first base station sends the V2X message to a second access point, which may be a second base station, and a third access point, which may be a third base station, through a V2X system. The second base station is in communication with a single third vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single third vehicle. The third base station is in communication with a single fourth vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single fourth vehicle. Because the V2X message sent by the first vehicle is forwarded to multiple other vehicles through a V2X system, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication that can receive a configuration for communication with multiple Rx UEs; transmit a message in accordance with the configuration, wherein the configuration is a vehicle-to-network-to-everything (V2N2X) configuration; wherein the transmitting and receiving is via a Uu interface, and the transmitting is of a V2N2X message to a transmitting network node, the transmitting network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to Rx UEs, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2, wherein each receiving network node is in communication with a single corresponding RX UE, of the multiple RX UEs, and configured to transmit the V2N2X message to the single corresponding RX UE, as further taught by Kaur. The motivation to do so would be to have a first UE capable of being configured for V2N2X communication with two other UEs that opted in to a groupcast, send a V2N2X message, related to the groupcast such as a parent telling their two children when to be home for dinner, to a first BS, the first BS forwards the V2N2X message to a neighboring second base station for which the first child’s wireless device is in coverage and a neighboring third base station for which the second child’s wireless device is in coverage, the neighboring second base station sends the V2N2X to the first child’s wireless device and the neighboring third base station sends the V2N2X message to the second child’s wireless device, so that the parent only needs to send a single message that will reach both of their children.
Novak fails to disclose but Lee3 further teaches wherein the receiving is of feedback associated with the message via the serving transmitting network node, the feedback being associated with feedback messages output by the multiple Rx UEs and received by the transmitting network node from the multiple receiving network nodes (Fig 6 & [0090]-[0092] discloses a UE1 receiving a response message (i.e. feedback associated with a message) via an eNobeB1 (i.e. a serving transmitting network node), the response message being associated with a response message from UE2 and received by eNodeB1 from eNodeB2 (i.e. a receiving network node). Lee3 can be combined with Novak & Byun to teach of receiving responses associated to the V2N2X message from the first BS, wherein the responses are output from a second UE in the coverage area of the second BS and a third UE in the coverage area of the third BS, and received by the first BS from the second BS and the third BS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting user equipment (Tx UE), transmit, via a Uu interface, a V2N2X message to a transmitting network node, the transmitting network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to Rx UEs, and receive feedback associated with the message via the serving network node, the feedback being associated with one or more feedback messages output by the multiple Rx UEs, as disclosed by Novak in view of Kaur and Byun2, wherein the receiving is of feedback associated with the message via the transmitting network node, the feedback being associated with feedback messages output by the multiple Rx UEs and received by the transmitting network node from the multiple receiving network nodes, as further taught by Lee3. The motivation to do so would be to have a parent’s wireless device capable of being configured for V2N2X communication with two of their children’s wireless devices that opted in to a groupcast, send a V2N2X message, related to the groupcast such as the parent telling their two children when to be home for dinner, to a first base station (BS), the first BS forwards the V2N2X message to a neighboring second BS for which the first child’s wireless device is in coverage and a neighboring third BS for which the second child’s wireless device is in coverage, the neighboring second BS sends the V2N2X to the first child’s wireless device and the neighboring third BS sends the V2N2X message to the second child’s wireless device, the first child’s wireless device sends a response from the first child to the V2N2X message back to the second BS that is forwarded to the first BS and sent to the parent’s wireless device, and the second child’s wireless device sends a response from the second child to the V2N2X message back to the third BS that is forwarded to the first BS and sent to the parent’s wireless device, so that the parent only needs to send a single message that will reach both of their children and will be able to receive responses from both of their children.
Regarding claim 3, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Novak discloses wherein the feedback messages each includes one of an acknowledgement (ACK) message or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) message (Fig 5B & col 29, lines 60-67 disclose that feedback messages from UEs, such as UE2, can be ACK/NACK feedback messages.).
Regarding claim 6, Novak discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving user equipment (Rx UE) (Fig 3 & col 12, lines 45-58 disclose a UE apparatus including a wireless communication subsystem which includes a receiver.), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig 3 & col 12, lines 45-58 disclose a computer readable storage memory such as ROM or flash memory.); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Fig 3 & col 12, lines 45-58 disclose a processing unit 302.), at least one of the one or more processors configured to cause the Rx UE to:
receive, one or more messages associated with a transmitting UE (Tx UE) (Fig 5A & col 18, lines 46-67 and col 19 lines 1-5 disclose UE2 receiving data traffic over a PUSCH from UE.);
receive one or more uplink feedback configurations from the receiving network node (Fig 5A & col 18 lines 46-67 and col 19 lines 1-5 disclose a UE receiving IDS-configuration information from an eNB (i.e. a receiving network node) that includes an IDS-RNTI that may be a “unidirectional IDS-RNTI” for feedback communication from UE2 to UE1.); and
transmit, one or more feedback messages to the receiving network node in accordance with the one or more uplink feedback configurations (Fig 5B & col 18, lines 46-65 and col 29, lines 60-67 and col 30, lines 1-5 disclose UE2 transmitting ACK/NACK feedback to an eNB (i.e. a receiving network node), based on the configured IDS-RNTI for UE2 transmissions.).
Novak fails to disclose, but Byun2 teaches wherein the transmitting and receiving is via a Uu interface and the receiving is from a corresponding network node of multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to receive the one or more V2N2X messages from a transmitting network node and configured to transmit the one or more V2N2X messages to Rx UEs, the one or more V2N2X messages each being associated with a transmitting UE (TX UE) (Table 1 and [0161] & [0163] disclose a UE transmitting a V2X message to a first base station (BS) (i.e. a transmitting network node), wherein a second BS and a third BS (i.e. each representing a network node of multiple receiving network nodes) are configured to receive the V2X message from the first BS, wherein the second BS and the third BS are configured to broadcast the V2X message to the coverage areas of the second BS and the third BS, wherein the V2X message is associated with (i.e. was received from) the first BS. [0157] discloses that the first BS may provide the V2X message to other BSs belonging to the same MBSFN area as the first BS for performing the broadcasting of the V2X message. [0133] discloses that UEs in the service area of an MBMS service provided by a BS may receive the MBMS service (i.e. an Rx UE in the coverage area of the second BS may receive the broadcast of the V2X message from the corresponding second BS and an Rx UE in the coverage area of the third BS may receive the broadcast of the V2X message from the corresponding third BS, the second BS and the third BS acting as receiving network nodes.). [0048] discloses that the UE and BS are connected by means of a Uu interface (i.e. the broadcasting of the V2X message from the second and third BSs to the receiving UEs and receiving of feedback from the receiving UEs is via a Uu interface). Because the V2X message is sent from a first UE, to a first BS, to second and third BSs, and ultimately to multiple receiving UEs in the coverage area of the second and third BSs, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving user equipment (Rx UE): receive, one or more messages associated with a transmitting UE (Tx UE); receive one or more uplink feedback configurations from the receiving network node; and transmit, one or more feedback messages to the receiving network node in accordance with the one or more uplink feedback configurations, as disclosed by Novak, wherein the receiving is via a Uu interface and the receiving is from a corresponding network node of multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to receive the one or more V2N2X messages from a transmitting network node and transmitting the one or more V2N2X messages to one or more associated Rx UEs, the one or more V2N2X messages each being associated with a transmitting UE (TX UE), as taught by Byun2. The motivation to do so would be to have an Rx UE, that has opted in to a groupcast service, receive a V2N2X message, such as a groupcast message from a Tx UE, over a Uu interface from a second BS, which is one of multiple receiving network nodes, that was forwarded from a first BS, acting as a transmit network node for which the Tx UE is in coverage, to the second BS and the multiple receiving network nodes that neighbor the first BS, so that the Rx UE in the coverage area of the second BS, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, can receive and reply to the groupcast message.
Novak fails to disclose but Kaur further teaches wherein each receiving network node is in communication with a single corresponding RX UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and configured to transmit the one or more V2N2X messages to the single corresponding Rx UE (Fig 6 & [0077]-[0083] discloses a first vehicle transmitting a V2X message to a first access point, which may be a first base station, the first base station sends the V2X message to a second access point, which may be a second base station, and a third access point, which may be a third base station, through a V2X system. The second base station is in communication with a single third vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single third vehicle. The third base station is in communication with a single fourth vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single fourth vehicle. Because the V2X message sent by the first vehicle is forwarded to multiple other vehicles through a V2X system, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving user equipment (Rx UE): receive, one or more messages associated with a transmitting UE (Tx UE); receive one or more uplink feedback configurations from the receiving network node; and transmit, one or more feedback messages to the receiving network node in accordance with the one or more uplink feedback configurations, wherein the receiving is via a Uu interface and the receiving is from a corresponding network node of multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to receive the one or more V2N2X messages from a transmitting network node and transmitting the one or more V2N2X messages to one or more associated Rx UEs, the one or more V2N2X messages each being associated with a transmitting UE (TX UE), as disclosed by Novak and Byun2, wherein each receiving network node is in communication with a single corresponding RX UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and configured to transmit the one or more V2N2X messages to the single corresponding Rx UE, as further taught by Kaur. The motivation to do so would be to have an Rx UE, that has opted in to a groupcast service, receive a V2N2X message, such as a groupcast message from a Tx UE, over a Uu interface from a second BS, which is one of multiple receiving network nodes which is providing coverage to an area where the Rx UE is the only UE that has opted into the groupcast service, that was forwarded from a first BS, acting as a transmit network node for which the Tx UE is in coverage, to the second BS and the multiple receiving network nodes that neighbor the first BS, so that the Rx UE in the coverage area of the second BS, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, can receive and reply to the groupcast message.
Novak fails to disclose, but Lee3 further teaches wherein the transmitting is to the receiving network node, which is configured to transmit the one or more feedback messages to the transmitting network node, the transmitting network node configured to further receive one or more feedback messages from other receiving network nodes of the multiple receiving network nodes (Fig 6 & [0090]-[0092] discloses a UE2 transmitting a response message (i.e. feedback associated with a message) to an eNobeB2 (i.e. a receiving network node), which is configured to transmit the response message to eNodeB1 (i.e. a transmitting network node). Lee3 can be combined with Novak & Byun to teach of eNobeB1 receiving responses associated to the V2N2X message from multiple eNodeBs (e.g. from BS2 and BS3 in Byun).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving user equipment (Rx UE): receive, one or more messages associated with a transmitting UE (Tx UE); receive one or more uplink feedback configurations from the receiving network node; and transmit, one or more feedback messages to the receiving network node in accordance with the one or more uplink feedback configurations, wherein the receiving is via a Uu interface and the receiving is from a corresponding network node of multiple receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to receive the one or more V2N2X messages from a transmitting network node and transmitting the one or more V2N2X messages to one or more associated Rx UEs, the one or more V2N2X messages each being associated with a transmitting UE (TX UE), wherein each receiving network node is in communication with a single corresponding RX UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and configured to transmit the one or more V2N2X messages to the single corresponding Rx UE, as disclosed by Novak and Byun2 and Kaur, wherein the transmitting is to the receiving network node, which is configured to transmit the one or more feedback messages to the transmitting network node, the transmitting network node configured to further receive one or more feedback messages from other receiving network nodes of the multiple receiving network nodes, as further taught by Lee3. The motivation to do so would be to have an Rx UE, that has opted in to a groupcast service, receive a V2N2X message, such as a groupcast message from a Tx UE, over a Uu interface from a second BS, which is one of multiple receiving network nodes which is providing coverage to an area where the Rx UE is the only UE that has opted into the groupcast service, that was forwarded from a first BS, acting as a transmit network node for which the Tx UE is in coverage, to the second BS and the multiple receiving network nodes that neighbor the first BS, so that the Rx UE in the coverage area of the second BS, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, can receive and reply to the groupcast message and the Tx UE can receive the reply through the first Ba and the second BS.
Regarding claim 9, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Novak discloses wherein transmitting the one or more feedback messages includes transmitting the one or more feedback messages with a group identifier (Figs 5A & 5B and col 18, lines 26-45 disclose a “session IDS-RNTI” that may be used by all UEs participating in an inter-device session (e.g. a groupcast). When UE1 sends a message to UE2, as shown in figs 5A & 5B, using a “session IDS-RNTI” with a UE-ID for UE2 configured by the eNB, then the ACK/NAK feedback message from UE2 would be with the “session IDS-RNTI” (i.e. with a group identifier) and the UE-ID for UE1.).
Regarding claim 10, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Novak discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to receive the one or more uplink feedback configurations, are configured to cause the Rx UE to receive the one or more uplink feedback configurations as one or more separate or multiplexed uplink feedback configurations (Figs 5A & 5B and col 19, lines 1-5 discloses that a UE may be configured with two or more IDS-RNTIs. Thus, UE2 in figs 5B & 5B may receive configurations for two separate IDS-RNTIs for providing ACK/NAK feedback to two different UE1s.).
Regarding claim 12, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Novak discloses wherein the one or more feedback messages each include one of an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (Fig 5B & col 29, lines 60-67 disclose UE2 sending an ACK/NACK feedback message.).
Regarding claim 13, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Novak discloses wherein the one or more uplink feedback configurations are received via radio resource control signaling, downlink control information signaling, or medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling (Figs 5A & 5B and col 11, lines 33-52 disclose that the IDS configuration information received by UE2 for feedback communication may be received through an RRC message.).
Regarding claim 16, Novak discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting network node (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 15-38 disclose a wireless communication subsystem (i.e. an apparatus) at a network node 200 for wireless communication that can send (i.e. transmit) IDS configuration information to UEs.), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig 2. & col 11, lines 15-26 disclose that network node 200 may include a processing module 202 that may include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM) or secondary storage such as flash memory for storing instructions (i.e. code) that can be executed by processors or CPUs.); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 15-32 discloses one or more processors or CPUs.), at least one of the one or more processors configured to cause the transmitting network node to:
receive one or more feedback messages from corresponding RX UEs (Fig 5B & col 18, lines 46-65 and col 29, lines 60-67 and col 30, lines 1-5 disclose an eNB receiving ACK/NACK feedback from corresponding UE2.); and
transmit feedback to the Tx UE, the feedback being associated with the one or more feedback messages received from the Rx UEs (Fig 5B & col 29, lines 60-67 and col 30, lines 1-5 disclose the eNB transmitting to UE1 ACK/NACK feedback, the ACK/NACK feedback being associated with the ACK/NACK feedback from UE2.).
Novak fails to disclose, but Byun2 teaches identifying receiving network nodes, each in communication with receiving user equipments (UEs) (Rx UEs) (Table 1 and [0161] & [0163] disclose a UE transmitting a V2X message to a first base station (BS) (i.e. a serving transmitting network node), the first BS is configured to transmit the V2X message to a second BS and a third BS (i.e. the first base station identifies multiple receiving network nodes to transmit the V2X message to), wherein the second BS and the third BS are configured to broadcast the V2X message to the coverage areas of the second BS and the third BS. [0133] discloses that UEs in the service area of an MBMS service provided by a BS may receive the MBMS service (i.e. multiple receiving UEs may receive the broadcast of the V2X message from the second BS and the third BS.).);
wherein the receiving of the V2N2X message from the TX UE, and transmitting feedback to the TX UE, is via a Uu interface [0048] discloses that the UE and first BS are connected by means of a Uu interface (i.e. the transmitting of the V2X message from the UE to the first base station, and receiving of any V2X messages by the UE from the first base station is via a Uu interface); and
transmit the V2N2X message to the receiving network nodes via an X2 interface, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to Rx UEs with which the receiving network node is associated (Table 1 and [0161] & [0163] disclose the first BS is configured to transmit the V2X message to a second BS and a third BS. [0157] discloses that the first BS may provide the V2X message to other BSs belonging to the same MBSFN area as the first BS, through an X2 interface, for performing the broadcasting of the V2X message. [0133] discloses that UEs in the service area of an MBMS service provided by a BS may receive the MBMS service (i.e. multiple receiving UEs may receive the broadcast of the V2X message from the second BS and the third BS.). Because the V2X message is sent from a first UE, to a first BS, to second and third BSs, and ultimately to multiple receiving UEs in the coverage area of the second and third BSs, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting network node that can receive one or more feedback messages from Rx UEs; and transmit feedback to the Tx UE, the feedback being associated with the one or more feedback messages received from the Rx UEs, as disclosed by Novak, and identify receiving network nodes, each associated with receiving user equipments (UEs) (Rx UEs); wherein the receiving of the V2N2X message from the Tx UE, and transmitting feedback to the Tx UE, is via a Uu interface; and transmit the V2N2X message to the receiving network nodes via an X2 interface, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to Rx UEs with which the receiving network node is associated, as taught by Byun2. The motivation to do so would be to have a first BS receive a V2N2X message via the Uu interface, related to a groupcast message, from a Tx UE, the first BS identifies and forwards the V2N2X message to neighboring second and third base stations, and the neighboring second and third base stations send the V2N2X message to Rx UEs in the coverage area of the second and third BSs that have opted in to the groupcast service so that the Rx UEs, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, can receive the groupcast V2N2X message.
Novak fails to disclose but Kaur further teaches wherein the identified network nodes are each in communication with a single corresponding Rx UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and transmit the V2N2X message to the single corresponding Rx UE, and wherein the feedback of corresponding Rx UEs is from a single corresponding Rx UE received by each receiving network node, and wherein the feedback of corresponding Rx UEs is from single corresponding UEs associated with each receiving network node and transmitted to the Tx UE (Fig 6 & [0077]-[0083] discloses a first vehicle transmitting a V2X message to a first access point, which may be a first base station, the first base station sends the V2X message to a second access point, which may be a second base station, and a third access point, which may be a third base station, through a V2X system. The second base station is in communication with a single third vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single third vehicle. The third base station is in communication with a single fourth vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single fourth vehicle. Because the V2X message sent by the first vehicle is forwarded to multiple other vehicles through a V2X system, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message. Because the second base station is only in communication with a single third vehicle, feedback to the second base station and forwarded to the first base station and the Tx UE would only be from the single third vehicle and because the third base station is only in communication with a single fourth vehicle, feedback to the third base station and forwarded to the first base station and the Tx UE would only be from the single fourth vehicle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting network node that can receive one or more feedback messages from Rx UEs; and transmit feedback to the Tx UE, the feedback being associated with the one or more feedback messages received from the Rx UEs, and identify receiving network nodes, each associated with receiving user equipments (UEs) (Rx UEs); wherein the receiving of the V2N2X message from the Tx UE, and transmitting feedback to the Tx UE, is via a Uu interface; and transmit the V2N2X message to the receiving network nodes via an X2 interface, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to Rx UEs with which the receiving network node is associated, as disclosed by Novak and Byun2, wherein the identified network nodes are each in communication with a single corresponding Rx UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and transmit the V2N2X message to the single corresponding Rx UE, and wherein the feedback of corresponding Rx UEs is from a single corresponding Rx UE received by each receiving network node, and wherein the feedback of corresponding Rx UEs is from single corresponding UEs associated with each receiving network node and transmitted to the Tx UE, as further taught by Kaur. The motivation to do so would be to have a first BS receive a V2N2X message via the Uu interface, related to a groupcast message, from a Tx UE, the first BS identifies and forwards the V2N2X message to neighboring second and third base stations, and the neighboring second base station sends the V2N2X message to a single first Rx UE, which is the only UE in the coverage area of the second base station that has opted in to the groupcast, and the neighboring third base station sends the V2N2X message to a single second Rx UE, which is the only UE in the coverage area of the third base station that has opted in to the groupcast, so that the single first and second Rx UEs, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, can receive the groupcast V2N2X message.
Novak fails to disclose but Lee3 further teaches wherein the receiving of the one or more feedback messages is from each of the receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to receive the one or more feedback messages from corresponding Rx UEs with which the receiving network node is associated (Fig 6 & [0090]-[0092] discloses a UE1 receiving a response message (i.e. feedback associated with a message) via an eNobeB1 (i.e. a serving transmitting network node), the response message being associated with a response message from corresponding UE2 and received by eNodeB1 from eNodeB2 (i.e. a receiving network node). Lee3 can be combined with Novak & Byun to teach of receiving one or more responses by the first BS, wherein the responses are from each of the second BS and the third BS, wherein the second BS is configured to receive the one or more responses from a UE2 in the coverage area associated with the second BS and the third BS is configured to receive the one or more responses from a UE2 in the coverage area associated with the third BS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting network node that can receive one or more feedback messages from Rx UEs; and transmit feedback to the Tx UE, the feedback being associated with the one or more feedback messages received from the Rx UEs, and identify receiving network nodes, each associated with receiving user equipments (UEs) (Rx UEs); wherein the receiving of the V2N2X message from the Tx UE, and transmitting feedback to the Tx UE, is via a Uu interface; and transmit the V2N2X message to the receiving network nodes via an X2 interface, each receiving network node configured to transmit the V2N2X message to Rx UEs with which the receiving network node is associated, wherein the identified network nodes are each in communication with a single corresponding Rx UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and transmit the V2N2X message to the single corresponding Rx UE, and wherein the feedback of corresponding Rx UEs is from a single corresponding Rx UE received by each receiving network node, and wherein the feedback of corresponding Rx UEs is from single corresponding UEs associated with each receiving network node and transmitted to the Tx UE, as disclosed by Novak and Byun2 and Kaur, wherein the receiving of the one or more feedback messages is from each of the receiving network nodes, each receiving network node configured to receive the one or more feedback messages from corresponding Rx UEs with which the receiving network node is associated, as further taught by Lee3. The motivation to do so would be to have a first BS receive a V2N2X message via the Uu interface, related to a groupcast message, from a Tx UE, the first BS identifies and forwards the V2N2X message to neighboring second and third base stations, and the neighboring second base station sends the V2N2X message to a single first Rx UE, which is the only UE in the coverage area of the second base station that has opted in to the groupcast, and the neighboring third base station sends the V2N2X message to a single second Rx UE, which is the only UE in the coverage area of the third base station that has opted in to the groupcast, so that the single first and second Rx UEs, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, can receive the groupcast V2N2X message transmit feedback so that the Tx UE can receive the feedback through the first base station from the second and third base stations.
Regarding claim 17, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 16.
Novak discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to transmit the V2N2X message to the receiving network nodes, are configured to cause the transmitting network node to transmit the V2N2X message with a group identifier (Figs 5A & 5B and col 18, lines 26-45 disclose a “session IDS-RNTI” (i.e. a group identifier) that may be transmitted by the eNB to all UEs participating in an inter-device session (e.g. a groupcast).).
Regarding claim 21, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 16.
Novak discloses wherein the feedback is associated with an implicit acknowledgement or an explicit acknowledgement, from the one or more of the receiving network nodes, that the V2N2X message was received by the single corresponding Rx UE (Fig 5B & col 29, lines 60-67 disclose UE2 sending an explicit ACK/NACK feedback message that indicates that the V2N2X message was received either successfully (ACK) or received unsuccessfully (NACK) by UE2 (i.e. a single corresponding Rx UE).).
Regarding claim 22, Novak discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving network node (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 15-38 disclose a wireless communication subsystem (i.e. an apparatus) at a network node 200 for wireless communication. Col 13, lines 17-20 disclose that the network node may receive a feedback message from a UE.), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig 2. & col 11, lines 15-26 disclose that network node 200 may include a processing module 202 that may include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM) or secondary storage such as flash memory for storing instructions (i.e. code) that can be executed by processors or CPUs.); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Fig 2 & col 11, lines 15-32 discloses one or more processors or CPUs.), at least one of the one or more processors configured to cause the receiving network node to:
transmit one or more uplink feedback configurations to corresponding user equipments (Rx UEs) (Fig 5A & col 18 lines 46-67 and col 19 lines 1-5 disclose an eNB transmitting, to corresponding UE2, IDS-configuration information that includes an IDS-RNTI that may be a “unidirectional IDS-RNTI” for feedback communication from corresponding UE2 to a UE1.);
receive one or more feedback messages, each associated with corresponding Rx UEs (Fig 5B & col 18, lines 46-65 and col 29, lines 60-67 and col 30, lines 1-5 disclose the eNB receiving ACK/NACK feedback from corresponding UE2.).
Novak fails to disclose but Byun2 teaches wherein the transmitting of the one or more uplink feedback configurations to the corresponding RX UEs is via a Uu interface ([0048] discloses that a corresponding UE and first BS are connected by means of a Uu interface (i.e. the transmitting of the one or more uplink feedback configurations to the one or more RX UEs is via a Uu interface).); and
wherein the receiving of the one or more feedback messages associated with the corresponding Rx UEs is via the Uu interface ([0048] discloses that a corresponding UE and first BS are connected by means of a Uu interface (i.e. the receiving of the one or more feedback messages associated with the one or more RX UEs is via a Uu interface).);
receiving, via an X2 interface, a vehicle-to-network-to-everything (V2N2X) message from a transmitting network node, which is configured to transmit the V2N2X message to one or more other receiving network nodes (Table 1 and [0161] & [0163] disclose a UE transmitting a V2X message to a first base station (BS) (i.e. a serving transmitting network node), the first BS is configured to transmit the V2X message to a second BS and a third BS (i.e. multiple receiving network nodes) such that the second and third BSs receive the V2X message. [0157] discloses that the first BS may provide the V2X message to other BSs belonging to the same MBSFN area as the first BS, through an X2 connection, for performing the broadcasting of the V2X message. [0133] discloses that UEs in the service area of an MBMS service provided by a BS may receive the MBMS service (i.e. multiple receiving UEs may receive the broadcast of the V2X message from the second BS and the third BS.). Because the V2X message is sent from a first UE, to a first BS, to second and third BSs, and ultimately to multiple receiving UEs in the coverage area of the second and third BSs, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message.);
wherein transmitting to the transmitting network node is via the X2 interface ([0012] discloses that neighboring base station may exchange V2X messages via the X2 interface. Thus, any transmission of messages from the second and third BSs to the first BS may be via the X2 interface.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving network node that can transmit one or more uplink feedback configurations to corresponding receiving user equipments (Rx UEs); and receive one or more feedback messages, each associated with the corresponding Rx UEs, as disclosed by Novak, wherein the transmitting of the one or more uplink feedback configurations to the corresponding RX UEs is via a Uu interface; wherein the receiving of the one or more feedback messages associated with the corresponding Rx UEs is via the Uu interface; receiving, via an X2 interface, a vehicle-to-network-to-everything (V2N2X) message from a transmitting network node, which is configured to transmit the V2N2X message to one or more other receiving network nodes; and wherein transmitting to the transmitting network node is via the X2 interface, as taught by Byun2. The motivation to do so would be to have a second or third BS capable of receiving, via an X2 interface, a V2N2X message, related to groupcast message, from a Tx UE through a first BS, wherein the second or third BS transmits the V2N2X message, and configuration information for uplink feedback, to the corresponding RX UEs in the coverage area of the second and third BSs so that the corresponding Rx UEs, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, and that have opted in to the groupcast, can receive the V2N2X message and transmit feedback messages to their corresponding second or third BS for which they are associated with, so that the second and third BS can transmit the feedback messages, via the X2 interface, to the first BS, in order for the first BS to be able to transmit the feedback messages to the Tx UE to allow the Tx UE to get the feedback from the corresponding RX UEs.
Novak fails to disclose but Kaur further teaches wherein the receiving network node and the other receiving network nodes are each in communication with a single corresponding Rx UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and wherein the one or more feedback messages received by the receiving network node from the corresponding Rx UE is from a single corresponding Rx UE, and wherein the one or more feedback configurations of the corresponding Rx UEs transmitted to the corresponding Rx UE is for a single corresponding UE associated with the receiving network node (Fig 6 & [0077]-[0083] discloses a first vehicle transmitting a V2X message to a first access point, which may be a first base station, the first base station sends the V2X message to a second access point, which may be a second base station, and a third access point, which may be a third base station, through a V2X system. The second base station is in communication with a single third vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single third vehicle. The third base station is in communication with a single fourth vehicle and sends the V2X message to the single fourth vehicle. Because the V2X message sent by the first vehicle is forwarded to multiple other vehicles through a V2X system, the V2X message may be interpreted as a V2N2X message. Because the second base station is only in communication with a single third vehicle, feedback configuration from the second base station would only be to the single third vehicle and because the third base station is only in communication with a single fourth vehicle, feedback configuration from the third base station would only be to the single fourth vehicle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving network node that can transmit one or more uplink feedback configurations to corresponding receiving user equipments (Rx UEs); and receive one or more feedback messages, each associated with the corresponding Rx UEs, wherein the transmitting of the one or more uplink feedback configurations to the corresponding RX UEs is via a Uu interface; wherein the receiving of the one or more feedback messages associated with the corresponding Rx UEs is via the Uu interface; receiving, via an X2 interface, a vehicle-to-network-to-everything (V2N2X) message from a transmitting network node, which is configured to transmit the V2N2X message to one or more other receiving network nodes; and wherein transmitting to the transmitting network node is via the X2 interface, as disclosed by Novak and Byun2, wherein the receiving network node and the other receiving network nodes are each in communication with a single corresponding Rx UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and wherein the one or more feedback messages received by the receiving network node from the corresponding Rx UE is from a single corresponding Rx UE, and wherein the one or more feedback configurations of the corresponding Rx UEs transmitted to the corresponding Rx UE is for a single corresponding UE associated with the receiving network node, as further taught by Kaur. The motivation to do so would be to have a second or third base station (BS) capable of receiving, via an X2 interface, a V2N2X message, related to groupcast message, from a Tx UE through a first BS, wherein the second BS transmits the V2N2X message, and configuration information for uplink feedback, to the corresponding RX UE in the coverage area of the second BS and the third BS transmits the V2N2X message, and configuration information for uplink feedback, to the corresponding RX UE in the coverage area of the third BS so that the corresponding Rx UEs, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, and that have opted in to the groupcast, can receive the V2N2X message and transmit feedback messages to their corresponding second or third BS.
Novak fails to disclose, but Lee3 further teaches transmitting each of the one or more feedback messages to the transmitting network node, the transmitting network node further configured to receive one or more feedback messages transmitted by the one or more other receiving network nodes (Fig 6 & [0090]-[0092] discloses an eNobeB1 (i.e. a transmitting network node), configured to receive a response message transmitted by eNodeB2 (i.e. a receiving network node). Lee3 can be combined with Novak & Byun to teach of receiving one or more responses, associated with the V2N2X message, by the first BS, wherein each of the one or more responses are transmitted from a second BS or a third BS to the first BS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a receiving network node that can transmit one or more uplink feedback configurations to corresponding receiving user equipments (Rx UEs); and receive one or more feedback messages, each associated with the corresponding Rx UEs, wherein the transmitting of the one or more uplink feedback configurations to the corresponding RX UEs is via a Uu interface; wherein the receiving of the one or more feedback messages associated with the corresponding Rx UEs is via the Uu interface; receiving, via an X2 interface, a vehicle-to-network-to-everything (V2N2X) message from a transmitting network node, which is configured to transmit the V2N2X message to one or more other receiving network nodes; and wherein transmitting to the transmitting network node is via the X2 interface, wherein the receiving network node and the other receiving network nodes are each in communication with a single corresponding Rx UE, of the multiple Rx UEs, and wherein the one or more feedback messages received by the receiving network node from the corresponding Rx UE is from a single corresponding Rx UE, and wherein the one or more feedback configurations of the corresponding Rx UEs transmitted to the corresponding Rx UE is for a single corresponding UE associated with the receiving network node, as disclosed by Novak and Byun2 and Kaur. The motivation to do so would be to have a second or third base station (BS) capable of receiving, via an X2 interface, a V2N2X message, related to groupcast message, from a Tx UE through a first BS, wherein the second BS transmits the V2N2X message, and configuration information for uplink feedback, to the corresponding RX UE in the coverage area of the second BS and the third BS transmits the V2N2X message, and configuration information for uplink feedback, to the corresponding RX UE in the coverage area of the third BS so that the corresponding Rx UEs, that may not be within close enough proximity of the Tx UE for direct communication, and that have opted in to the groupcast, can receive the V2N2X message and transmit feedback messages to their corresponding second or third BS, so that the second and third BS can transmit the feedback messages, via the X2 interface, to the first BS, in order for the first BS to be able to transmit the feedback messages to the Tx UE to allow the Tx UE to get the feedback from the corresponding RX UEs.
Regarding claim 23, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 22.
Novak discloses wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to transmit the one or more uplink feedback configurations to the single corresponding Rx UE, are configured to cause the receiving network node to transmit the one or more uplink feedback configurations to the single corresponding Rx UE via downlink control information signaling (Figs 5A & 5B, col 18, lines 46-67 and col 19, lines 1-5 disclose that the transmission of configuration information for an IDS-RNTI for feedback transmissions from a corresponding UE2 to UE1 may be sent via downlink control messaging in a PDCCH.).
Regarding claim 24, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 22.
Novak discloses wherein at least one of the one or more uplink feedback configurations includes a semi-static uplink grant (Figs 5A & 5B, col 6, lines 28-44 and col 23, lines 27-32 disclose allocation of an IDS-SPS resource grant for semi-persistent scheduling of HARQ feedback for UE2 (i.e. a semi-static uplink grant).).
Regarding claim 28, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 22.
Novak discloses wherein receiving the V2N2X message includes receiving the V2N2X message with a group identifier, and wherein transmitting the one or more uplink feedback configurations includes transmitting the one or more uplink feedback configurations with the group identifier (Figs 5A & 5B and col 18, lines 26-45 disclose a “session IDS-RNTI” that may be used by all UEs participating in an inter-device session (e.g. a groupcast). When UE1 sends a message to UE2, as shown in figs 5A & 5B, using a “session IDS-RNTI” (i.e. with a group identifier) with a UE-ID for UE2 configured by the eNB, then the ACK/NAK feedback message from UE2 would be with the “session IDS-RNTI” (i.e. with the group identifier) and the UE-ID for UE1.).
Claims 2 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claims 1 & 6 respectively, and further in view of Yin et al. (CN 112583872)(herein after “Yin”).
Regarding claim 2, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Novak fails to disclose, but Yin further teaches wherein the V2N2X message includes a distance-based V2N2X message or a zone-based V2N2X message (Fig 3 & Page 33, 1st paragraph discloses a road side camara with an edge server sending a V2X message to a V2X server with distance information between a first vehicle and a second vehicle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the V2N2X message includes a distance-based V2N2X message or a zone-based V2N2X message, as further taught by Yin. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE device, such as a roadside camera with an edge server, capable of transmitting a V2N2X message to a V2X server including distance information between two vehicles in order to help avoid collisions for autonomous vehicles.
Regarding claim 11, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 discloses the apparatus of claim 6.
Novak fails to disclose wherein the one or more V2N2X messages include one or more distance-based V2N2X messages or one or more zone-based V2N2X messages.
However, Yin further teaches wherein the one or more V2N2X messages include one more distance-based V2N2X messages or one or more zone-based V2N2X messages. (Fig 3 & discloses a road side camara with and edge server sending a V2X message to a V2X server with distance information between a first vehicle and a second vehicle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 6, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the V2N2X message includes one or more distance-based V2N2X message or one or more zone-based V2N2X message, as further taught by Yin. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE device, such as a roadside camera with an edge server, capable of transmitting a V2N2X message to a first moving UE device (e.g. a UE in an autonomous car) through a V2X server including distance information between the first moving UE device and a second moving UE device in order to assist the first moving UE device in avoiding collisions with the second moving UE device.
Claims 4 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively, and further in view of Fehrenback et al. (US 20200092685)(herein after “Fehrenback”).
Regarding claim 4, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Novak fails to disclose but Fehrenback further teaches wherein the feedback includes aggregated feedback associated with feedback messages output by the multiple Rx UEs (Fig 2 & [0415]-[0419] discloses a group manager UE 11 sending a combined transmission consisting of HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of multiple UEs 12A and 12B of UE Group 17.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the feedback includes aggregated feedback associated with feedback messages output by the multiple Rx UEs, as further taught by Fehrenback. The motivation to do so would be to reduce resource overhead over a Uu interface by having a UE capable of receiving aggregated HARQ ACK/NACK feedback from a first BS associated with feedback from multiple Rx UEs rather than having to receive separate HARQ ACK NACK feedback from the first BS for every RX UE.
Regarding claim 20, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 16.
Novak fails to disclose but Fehrenback further teaches wherein the feedback includes aggregated feedback associated with feedback messages output by the one or more of the receiving network nodes (Fig 2 & [0415]-[0419] discloses a group manager UE 11 sending a combined transmission consisting of HARQ ACK/NACK feedback of multiple UEs 12A and 12B of UE Group 17. Combining the teachings of Fehrenback with the teachings of Novak, Byun2 and Lee3, discloses that the combined HARQ ACK/NACK feedback from the multiple UEs 12A and 12B is forwarded to the transmitting bases station and to the TX UE. Thus, the feedback includes aggregated feedback associated with feedback output by UEs 12A and 12B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 16, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the feedback includes aggregated feedback associated with feedback messages output by the one or more of the receiving network nodes, as further taught by Fehrenback. The motivation to do so would be to reduce resource overhead over a Uu interface by having a first BS capable of transmitting aggregated HARQ ACK/NACK feedback to a UE associated with feedback from multiple Rx UEs rather than having to transmit separate HARQ ACK NACK feedback from the first BS for every RX UE.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 20210160808)(herein after “Yang) and Lee et al. (US 20220183092)(herein after “Lee2”).
Regarding claim 5, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Novak fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein the V2N2X configuration for communication with the multiple Rx UEs includes a configuration for a broadcast communication ([Fig 5 & [0192] disclose a UE receiving broadcast information for V2X application.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the V2N2X configuration for communication with the multiple Rx UEs includes a configuration for a broadcast communication, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE capable of receiving a V2N2X configuration for broadcast communication with multiple Rx UEs in order for the UE to be able to broadcast a V2N2X message to multiple RX UEs to request for help in situations like a car accident.
Novak fails to disclose but Lee2 further teaches wherein the V2N2X configuration for communication with the one or more Rx UEs includes a configuration for a connected groupcast communication, or a configuration for a connectionless groupcast communication ([0116]-[0117] & [0155] discloses a UE being instructed (i.e. configured) by a base station to use option 2 HARQ feedback when performing connection-based groupcast or instructed by the base station to use option 1 HARQ feedback when performing connectionless groupcast.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Lee3, wherein the V2N2X configuration for communication with the multiple Rx UEs includes a configuration for a connected groupcast communication, or a configuration for a connectionless groupcast communication, as further taught by Lee2. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE capable of receiving a V2N2X configuration for connection-based or connectionless groupcast communication with multiple Rx UEs in order for the UE to be able to groupcast a V2N2X message to multiple RX UEs to request for help in situations like a car accident.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220183092)(herein after “Lee2”).
Regarding claim 7, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Novak discloses wherein each of the one or more uplink feedback configurations is associated with a different communication (Fig 5A & col 17, lines 64-67, col 18 lines 1-67 and col 19 lines 1-5 disclose a UE receiving IDS-configuration information that includes an IDS-RNTI that may be a “unidirectional IDS-RNTI” for communication from a first UE to a second UE. For example, there could be one IDS-RNTI configured for a second UE to provide uplink feedback to a first UE and a different IDS-RNTI configured for a third UE to provide uplink feedback to the first UE.).
Novak fails to disclose, but Lee2 further teaches wherein the communication is groupcast communication ([0116]-[0117] & [0155] discloses a UE being instructed (i.e. configured) by a base station to use either option 1 or 2 HARQ feedback when performing groupcast communication.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1 wherein each of the one or more uplink feedback configurations is associated with a different communication, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the communication is groupcast communication, as further taught by Lee2. The motivation to do so would be to have multiple different groups of RX UEs, each group associated with a different groupcast mode based on an RX UE’s capability to support connection-based or connectionless groupcast, capable of providing V2X feedback messages to a TX UE that may have been in a car accident and requesting help through a request V2X message.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20200034603)(herein after “Lee”).
Regarding claim 8, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Novak fails to disclose, but Lee further teaches wherein transmitting the one or more feedback messages includes transmitting the one or more feedback messages associated with an ith groupcast of N number of connected groupcasts, wherein i is equal to a slot number mod N ([0152]-[0153] discloses transmitting groupcast feedback messages periodically using the modulo operation on the slot index. Specifically, for a feedback period of P slots, the feedback channel would be sent on the slot number mod P. For the case where there are N groupcasts, the period of feedback would be P=N. Thus, the ith groupcast of N groupcasts would be sent when the slot number mod N is equal to i.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 6, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein transmitting the one or more feedback messages includes transmitting the one or more feedback messages associated with an ith groupcast of N number of connected groupcasts, wherein i is equal to a slot number mod N, as further taught by Lee. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE device capable of participating in N different groupcasts and providing periodic HARQ feedback for the ith groupcast on the slot where the slot number mod N is equal to i in order to reduce overhead associated with having to schedule every HARQ feedback for each groupcast in which the UE is participating.
Claims 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Hassan et al. (US 2024/0053493)(herein after “Hassan2”).
Regarding claim 14, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the Rx UE to receive the V2N2X message.
Novak fails to disclose, but Hassan2 further teaches wherein the Rx UE transmits the message to a different Rx UE via a sidelink interface (Fig 11 & [0087]-[0092] discloses a target UE 10a (an RX UE) transmitting a discovery request message to an anchor UE 10 (i.e. a different Rx UE) via sidelink-based positioning (i.e. via a sidelink interface).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 6, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to cause the Rx UE to receive the V2N2X message, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the Rx UE transmits the message to a different Rx UE via a sidelink interface, as further taught by Hassan2. The motivation to do so would be to have a target UE device capable or relaying a V2N2X message, such as a V2N2X discovery message, from a Tx UE through an eNB to a remote anchor UE through sidelink positioning in order to extend coverage to Rx UEs that may not be in the coverage area of the eNB.
Regarding claim 15, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 and Hassan2 disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to transmit a message from to the receiving network node via the Uu interface.
Novak fails to disclose, but Hassan2 further teaches wherein the Rx UE is further configured to receive a sidelink feedback message from the different Rx UE and transmit the sidelink feedback message from the different Rx UE to the receiving network node via the Uu interface (Fig 11 & [0087]-[0094] disclose that the target UE 10a switch to a Uu-interface to send a positioning response from anchor UE 10 to the eNB (i.e. the receiving network node).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to transmit a message from to the serving network node via the Uu interface, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 and Hassan2, wherein the Rx UE is further configured to receive a sidelink feedback message from the different Rx UE and transmit the sidelink feedback message from the different Rx UE to the serving network node via the Uu interface, as further taught by Hassan2. The motivation to do so would be to have a target UE device capable or relaying a V2N2X response message, such as response to a V2N2X discovery message, from a remote anchor UE to an eNB through sidelink positioning in order to extend coverage to Rx UEs that may not be in the coverage area of the eNB.
Claims 18 & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claims 16 & 22 respectively, and further in view of Baghel et al. (US 2017/0006622)(herein after “Baghel”).
Regarding claim 18, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to transmit the V2N2X message to the one or more receiving network nodes, are configured to cause the transmitting network node to transmit the V2N2X message.
Novak fails to disclose, but Baghel further teaches wherein the transmitting of the V2N2X message is with a message type indication (Fig 4 & [0063] disclose a message type indicating component 416 that may determine a type based on information in the header of a transmitted V2X communications message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 16, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to transmit the V2N2X message to the one or more receiving network nodes, are configured to cause the transmitting network node to transmit the V2N2X message, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the transmitting of the V2N2X message is with a message type indication, as further taught by Baghel. The motivation to do so would be to have a gNB capable of transmitting to a neighboring gNBs a V2N2X messages indicating a message type, that can be relayed from a first UE in the coverage area of the gNB to a second UE not in the coverage area of the gNB but in the coverage area of a neighboring gNB, in order for the neighboring gNBs to be able to determine a priority level for relaying the message to the second UE (e.g. a collision warning message type would have higher priority than a periodic status report).
Regarding claim 29, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 22, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to receive the V2N2X message, are configured to cause the receiving network node to receive the V2N2X message.
Novak fails to disclose, but Baghel further teaches wherein the receiving of the V2N2X message is with a message type indication (Fig 4 & [0063] disclose a message type indicating component 416 that may determine a type upon receiving information in the header of a transmitted V2X communications message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 22, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to receive the V2N2X message, are configured to cause the receiving network node to receive the V2N2X message, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein the receiving of the V2N2X message is with a message type indication, as further taught by Baghel. The motivation to do so would be to have a neighboring gNB capable of receiving from a gNBs V2N2X messages indicating a message type, that can be relayed from a first UE in the coverage area of the gNB to a second UE not in the coverage area of the gNB but in the coverage area of a neighboring gNB, in order for the neighboring gNBs to be able to determine a priority level for relaying the message to the second UE (e.g. a collision warning message type would have higher priority than a periodic status report).
Claims 19 & 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”) and Baghel et al. (US 2017/0006622)(herein after “Baghel”), as applied to claims 18 & 29 respectively, and further in view of 3GPP et al. (3GPP TS 23.287, “Architecture enhancements for 5G System (5GS) to support Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) services”, Release 18, V18.0.0.0, 3/31/2023.)(herein after “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 19, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 and Baghel disclose the apparatus of claim 18.
Novak fails to disclose, but 3GPP further teaches wherein the message type indication identifies the V2N2X message as a broadcast message, a connected groupcast message, or a connectionless groupcast message (Page 23, Sections 5.2.1.1-5.2.1.3 disclose message type identifiers for V2X communication including messages for broadcast mode, groupcast mode for Application Layer connection-less groups (i.e. connectionless groupcast) and Application Layer managed groups (i.e. connected groupcast).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 18, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 and Baghel, wherein the wherein the message type indication identifies the V2N2X message as a broadcast message, a connected groupcast message, or a connectionless groupcast message, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a gNB capable of communicating with neighboring gNBs for relaying V2N2X messages indicating a message type of broadcast, connected groupcast or connectionless groupcast, between a first UE in the coverage area of the gNB and a second UE not in the coverage area of the gNB but in the coverage area of a neighboring gNB, in order for the neighboring gNBs to be able to determine how the neighboring gNBs may be able to relay the message to the second UE over the Uu interface (e.g. as part of a broadcast message or as part of a groupcast message over Uu).
Regarding claim 30, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 and Baghel disclose the apparatus of claim 29.
Novak fails to disclose, but 3GPP further teaches wherein the message type indication identifies the V2N2X message as a broadcast message, a connected groupcast message, or a connectionless groupcast message (Page 23, Sections 5.2.1.1-5.2.1.3 disclose message type identifiers for V2X communication including messages for broadcast mode, groupcast mode for Application Layer connection-less groups (i.e. connectionless groupcast) and Application Layer managed groups (i.e. connected groupcast).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 29, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 and Baghel, wherein the wherein the message type indication identifies the V2N2X message as a broadcast message, a connected groupcast message, or a connectionless groupcast message, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a gNB capable of communicating with neighboring gNBs for relaying V2N2X messages indicating a message type of broadcast, connected groupcast or connectionless groupcast, between a first UE in the coverage area of the gNB and a second UE not in the coverage area of the gNB but in the coverage area of a neighboring gNB, in order for the neighboring gNBs to be able to determine how the neighboring gNBs may be able to relay the message to the second UE over the Uu interface (e.g. as part of a broadcast message or as part of a groupcast message over Uu).
Claims 25 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claim 24, and further in view of Dou et al. (US 2019/0260544)(herein after “Dou”).
Regarding claim 25, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 24.
Novak fails to disclose, but Dou further teaches wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the receiving network node to deactivate the semi-static uplink grant after a predetermined amount of time since the V2N2X message was received from the transmitting network node ([0025] discloses deactivating semi-persistent transmission after a preconfigured (i.e. predetermined) period of time. A broadest reasonable assumption is that the preconfigured period of time could be after the receiving network node receives the V2N2X message from the transmitting network node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 24, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the receiving network node to deactivate the semi-static uplink grant after a predetermined amount of time since the V2N2X message was received from the transmitting network node, as further taught by Dou. The motivation to do so would be to have a neighboring gNB capable of communicating with a gNB for relaying V2N2X messages from a first UE to a second UE, receiving feedback from the second UE through semi-persistent transmissions, and deactivating the semi-persistent transmissions from the second UE after a period of time since the V2N2X message from the first UE was sent by the gNB in order to release uplink resources to other UEs during extended time periods between V2N2X transmissions from the first UE.
Regarding claim 26, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 24.
Novak fails to disclose , but Dou further teaches wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the receiving network node to deactivate the semi-static uplink grant after a predetermined amount of time since a last communication associated with the V2N2X message was received from the transmitting network node ([0025] discloses deactivating semi-persistent transmission after a preconfigured (i.e. predetermined) period of time. A broadest reasonable assumption is that the preconfigured period of time could be after a last communication associated with the V2N2X message between the receiving network node and the transmitting network node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 24, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is further configured to cause the receiving network node to deactivate the semi-static uplink grant after a predetermined amount of time since a last communication associated with the V2N2X message was received from the transmitting network node, as further taught by Dou. The motivation to do so would be to have a neighboring gNB capable of communicating with a gNB for relaying V2N2X messages from a first UE to a second UE, receiving feedback from the second UE through semi-persistent transmissions, and deactivating the semi-persistent transmissions from the second UE after a period of time since the last message exchange with the gNB in order to release uplink resources to other UEs during extended time periods between communications with the gNB.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novak et al. (US 9699589)(herein after “Novak”) in view of Byun et al. (US 20180124574)(herein after “Byun2”) and Kaur et al. (US 2023/0303121)(herein after “Kaur”) and Lee et al. (US 20140342747)(herein after “Lee3”), as applied to claim 22, and further in view of Yeo et al. (US 2020/0106566)(herein after “Yeo”).
Regarding claim 27, Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3 disclose the apparatus of claim 22.
Novak fails to disclose, but Yeo further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more uplink feedback configurations includes a configuration for an uplink grant to occur a number of slots after reception of a connected groupcast message ([0101] discloses configuration of K1 information through a DCI indicating that HARQ-ACK feedback is to be transmitted (i.e. UL grant for sending HARQ-ACK feedback is to occur) K1 slots after a PDSCH message is transmitted (e.g. after a groupcast message using a PDSCH is transmitted).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 22, as disclosed by Novak in view of Byun2 and Kaur and Lee3, wherein at least one of the one or more uplink feedback configurations includes a configuration for an uplink grant to occur a number of slots after reception of a connected groupcast message, as further taught by Yeo. The motivation to do so would be to have a gNB capable of configuring a UE to provide HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback a number of slots after receiving a groupcast message in order to reduce overhead that would be associated with sending uplink scheduling grants to the UE for each groupcast message the UE receives.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kang et al. (US 2018/0035276) discloses a Method and Device for Inter-Device Communication.
Vanderveen et al. (US 11076262) discloses a Method and System for Vehicle Location Tracking Using V2X Communication.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409