Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-13, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (20230350456 A1) in view of Shin et al (US Patent No. 20220061168 A1), Um et al. (US Patent No. 20200176538 A1), Tan et al. (US Patent No. 20210223455 A1), and Li et al. (CN 114035358 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a display device comprising: a panel including a display area and a non-display area (paragraph 67 - A non-display area needs to be provided around the through hole 09 (display area) on the display panel, Fig. 1), wherein a camera area including a first hole area is in the display area (paragraph 67- The through hole 09 can be used to arrange peripheral devices such as cameras); a plate (07) on the panel (paragraph 67, Fig. 1), wherein each of the panel and the plate has a through-hole defined therein in the camera area (paragraph 67, Fig. 1).
However, Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose the plate including a support member and a metal plate.
On the other hand, Shin et al. disclose a support member (BRL) and a metal plate (PLT) (paragraph 120, 123, Fig. 10).
Neither Wang et al. nor Shin et al. explicitly disclose a cover member under the panel.
On the other hand, Um et al. disclose a cover member (100) under the panel (paragraph 59, Fig. 5A).
None of the above references mention a light-shielding tape is disposed along and attached to an inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the panel and the plate.
On the other hand, Tan et al. disclose a light shielding tape (1000) may cover the side surface (paragraph 60).
None of the prior references disclose a light-shielding tape includes a first part extending in a first direction and is disposed along and attached to an inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the panel and the plate, and the light-shielding tape includes a second part directly on an upper surface of the cover member, the second part extending in a second direction toward the first hole area and the second direction intersects with the first direction.
However, Li et al. disclose a light-shielding tape includes a first part (320, Fig. 7) extending in a first direction (Y), and the light-shielding tape (300) includes a second part (310) directly on an upper surface of the cover member, the second part extending in a second direction (X) toward the first hole area (160, Fig. 7) and the second direction intersects with the first direction (310 intersects with 320, as shown in the Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al. according to the teachings of Um et al., Shin et al., Tan et al. and Li et al. so that the light shielding tape is attached to the inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the panel and the plate, and the light-shielding tape includes a second part directly on an upper surface of the cover member, the second part extending in a second direction toward the first hole area and the second direction intersects with the first direction. Doing so would block light from coming into the sensor and camera, and prevent warping around irregular shapes.
With respect to claim 3, Wang et al. does not teach the light shielding tape includes a black color.
With respect to claim 3, Tan et al. teach the light-shielding tape includes a black color material (paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 4, Wang et al. do not teach the light-shielding tape includes a circular body having a through-hole defined in a center area thereof.
With respect to claim 4, Tan et al. teach the light-shielding tape includes: a circular body having a through-hole defined in a center area thereof; and a plurality of legs extending outwardly from the circular body (paragraph 60, Fig. 7).
With respect to claim 5, Wang et al. does not teach the camera area further includes a second hole area overlapping with a camera.
On the other hand, Shin et al. teaches a second hole area (HL2) overlapping with a camera (CM1) (Fig. 11, paragraph 167)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al. according to the teachings of Shin et al. such that the second hole area overlaps with the camera. Doing so would allow the camera to be properly placed in the device, reducing the size of the camera bump in the non-display area.
With respect to claim 6, Wang et al. does not teach a camera area includes: a first area surrounding the second hole area and extending to an outer end of the second hole area; a second area extending from an outer end of the first area to an inner side surface of the through-hole of the panel; a third area extending from an outer end of the second area to an inner side end of the metal plate; and a fourth area extending from an outer end of the third area to an outer end of the light- shielding tape.
On the other hand, Um et al. teach the camera area includes: a first area (MA1) surrounding the second hole area (MA1) and extending to an outer end of the second hole area; a second area extending from an outer end of the first area to an inner side surface of the through-hole of the panel; a third area (MA1) extending from an outer end of the second area to an inner side end of the metal plate; and a fourth area (MA1) extending from an outer end of the third area to an outer end of the light- shielding tape (paragraph 81, Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 7 Wang et al. disclose the first hole area of the panel overlaps the second hole area.
However, Wang et al. does not disclose the first hole area of the panel, the first area, and the second area.
On the other hand, Um et al. disclose the first area (MA1) and second area (MA1) of a camera area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the teachings to provide an overlap of the first hole area of the panel, the second hole area, the first area, and the second area to allow the camera to take a clear picture.
With respect to claim 9, Shin et al. disclose a width of the through-hole of the support member (BRL) is different from a width of the through-hole of the metal plate (PLT) (Figure 10).
With respect to claim 10, none of the above references disclose the width of the through-hole of the metal plate is larger than the width of the through-hole of the support member.
On the other hand, Shin et al. disclose the width of the through-hole of the support member (BRL) is different from a width of the through-hole of the metal plate (PLT) (Figure 10).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination as discussed above, with Shin et al. such that the width of the through-hole of the metal plate is larger than the width of the through-hole of the support member to allow the light-shielding tape of Tan et al. to attach to the inner side surface of the through-hole properly. Doing so would allow minimal glare coming into the camera sensor and allow the camera to take an unobstructed picture.
With respect to claim 12, none of the above references teach a first adhesive layer and an optical control layer under the panel; and a cover adhesive layer between the optical control layer and the cover member.
However, Shin et al. teach a first adhesive layer (AL2) and an optical film layer (LF) (paragraph 115, Fig. 10), and a cover layer and cover adhesive layer (AL3) (paragraph 134, Fig. 10). Rearrangement of parts is within the routine skill level of one in the art. This is a design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ70 (CCPA 1950).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination as discussed above with Shin et al. such that the optical layer is below the panel, and the cover adhesive is between the optical layer and cover member so that you may have less glare and increase optical efficiency.
With respect to claim 13, Shin et al. disclose each of the optical control layer (LF), the first adhesive layer (AL2), and the cover adhesive layer (AL3) has a through-hole defined therein in the camera area (paragraph 115, Fig. 10).
With respect to claim 16, none of the references above disclose a diameter of the through-hole of each of the support member, the panel, the optical control layer, the first adhesive layer, and the cover adhesive layer is smaller than a diameter of the through-hole of each of the metal plate and a third adhesive layer.
However, Shin et al. disclose the diameter of the through holes of each of the layers can be different lengths (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shin et al. such that the diameter of the through-hole of each of the support member, panel, optical control layer, first adhesive layer, and cover adhesive layer is smaller than a diameter of the through-hole of each of the metal plate and a third adhesive layer to allow the light-shielding tape to conform with minimal gaps between the tape and inner surface.
With respect to claim 20, Wang et al. disclose the display device further comprises a camera and a light source disposed in the camera area (paragraph 97).
However, Wang et al. does not disclose a sensor in the camera area.
On the other hand, Um et al. disclose a sensor in the camera area (paragraph 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang et al. according to the teachings of Um et al. such that there is a sensor in the camera area. Doing so would allow the sensor to capture light and convert it into electrical signals, forming a digital photo.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (20230350456 A1) in view of Shin et al (US Patent No. 20220061168 A1), Um et al. (US Patent No. 20200176538 A1) and Tan et al. (US Patent No. 20210223455 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daigaku et al. (US Patent No. 20130004767 A1)
With respect to claim 2, none of the above references disclose the light-shielding tape includes a conductive material.
However, Daigaku et al. disclose an electroconductive adhesive tape (paragraph 55, 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tan et al. according to the teachings of Daigaku et al. such that the light-shielding tape includes conductive material to provide EMI/RF shielding at the camera aperture.
Claim(s) 8, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (20230350456 A1) in view of Shin et al (US Patent No. 20220061168 A1), Um et al. (US Patent No. 20200176538 A1) and Tan et al. (US Patent No. 20210223455 A1) as applied to claim 1, 5-6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 20200328257 A1).
Wang, Shin, Um, and Tan fail to disclose the camera area includes: a first pattern area overlapping the third area; and a first dam area, a second pattern area, and a routing line area overlapping the fourth area.
With respect to claim 8, Kim et al. disclose a first pattern area (SP1) overlapping the third area (SP1H) (paragraph 125-126); and a first dam area (DMP) (paragraph 180), a second pattern area (SP2) (paragraph 127-128), and a routing line (connection line) (paragraph 21).
However, Kim et al. fail to disclose a routing line area overlapping the fourth area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of Kim et al. to place the routing line over the fourth area because the fourth area is described as the outer circle of the camera area, as described in Um et al., to connect the sensing electrodes and process the image.
With respect to claim 21, Wang et al. disclose the display device further comprises a driving circuit disposed in the non-display area (paragraph 75).
However, Wang et al. does not disclose a dam area in the non-display area.
On the other hand, Kim et al. disclose a dam area disposed in the non-display area (paragraph 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al. and the combination as discussed above according to the teachings of Kim et al. to dispose a dam area in the non-display area to restrict the area in which the organic layer is formed into a predetermined area and to prevent the organic area from expanding (paragraph 180).
Claim(s) 11, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (20230350456 A1) in view of Shin et al (US Patent No. 20220061168 A1), Um et al. (US Patent No. 20200176538 A1), and of Tan et al. (US Patent No. 20210223455 A1) as applied to claims 1, 12-13 above, in further view of Li et al. (US Patent No. 20220271263 A1).
With respect to claim 11, none of references above disclose the plurality of legs of the light-shielding tape extends in a straight line in an upward direction from an edge of a bottom surface of the cover member along the inner side surface of the through-hole of the support member, and is attached to the inner side surface of the through-hole of the support member, wherein each of the plurality of legs of the light-shielding tape covers and is attached to a portion of an upper surface of the support member, and is bent from an end of the portion of the upper surface of the support member so as to cover and be attached to a portion of an upper surface of the metal plate.
However, Li et al. disclose a circular light-shielding structure is disposed around an inner wall of the through hole (paragraph 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the combination as discussed above, including the light-shielding structure described in Li et al. in view of the tape structure described in Tan et al. to extend the plurality of legs of the light shielding tape through the through-hole, attach the light-shielding tape to the inner side wall, bend the ends of the legs, and attach the tape to the upper surface of the plate to create a complete seal of the light-shielding tape. Doing so would reduce glare coming into the sensor and allow the camera to take a clearer photograph.
With respect to claim 14, none of the references above disclose the light-shielding tape is attached to an inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the support member, the panel, the optical control layer, the first adhesive layer, and the cover adhesive layer.
On the other hand, Tan et al. disclose a light shielding tape may cover the side surface (paragraph 60) and Li et al. disclose a circular light shielding structure (Fig. 3) is disposed along the inner wall of the through hole (paragraph 51)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination discussed above, specifically using Tan et al. according to the teachings of Li et al. so that the light shielding tape is attached to the inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the support member, panel, optical control layer, first adhesive layer and cover adhesive layer. Doing so would reduce glare from coming into the sensor and allow the camera to take a clearer photograph.
With respect to claim 15, none of the references above disclose the circular body of the light- shielding tape is attached to the inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the support member, the panel, the optical control layer, the first adhesive layer, and the cover adhesive layer.
On the other hand, Tan et al. disclose a light shielding tape may cover the side surface (paragraph 60) and Li et al. disclose a circular light shielding structure (Fig. 3) is disposed along the inner wall of the through hole (paragraph 51)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination discussed above, specifically using Tan et al. according to the teachings of Li et al. so that the circular body of the light shielding tape is attached to the inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the support member, panel, optical control layer, first adhesive layer and cover adhesive layer to block light from coming into the sensor and camera.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (20230350456 A1) in view of Shin et al (US Patent No. 20220061168 A1), Um et al. (US Patent No. 20200176538 A1), and of Tan et al. (US Patent No. 20210223455 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Wang et al. (‘217) (US Patent No. 20240407217 A1)
With respect to claim 17, none of the references disclose a plurality of pixels are in the display area and each of the plurality of pixels includes sub-pixels, wherein each of the sub-pixels includes a pixel circuit.
On the other hand, Wang et al. (‘217) disclose a plurality of pixels are in the display area and each of the plurality of pixels includes sub-pixels (P), wherein each of the sub-pixels includes a pixel circuit (7) (paragraph 133).
With respect to claim 18, none of the references disclose the pixel circuit of each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes at least one transistor, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes a first electrode electrically connected to the at least one transistor, a light-emissive layer, and a second electrode.
On the other hand, Wang et al. (‘217) disclose the pixel circuit of each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes at least one transistor, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes a first electrode electrically connected to the at least one transistor, a light-emissive layer, and a second electrode (paragraph 139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al. according to the teachings of Wang et al. (‘217) such that each sub pixel includes a transistor and electrodes. Doing so would hold the pixel’s brightness level to create sharp, fast-moving images.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed March 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li et al. (CN 114035358 A). With respect to applicant’s arguments against the rejection of claim 1 that Tan fails to disclose or suggest the features of "wherein a light-shielding tape includes a first part extending in a first direction and is disposed along and attached to an inner side surface of the through-hole of each of the panel and the plate, and the light-shielding tape includes a second part directly on an upper surface of the cover member, the second part extending in a second direction toward the first hole area and the second direction intersects with the first direction.” However, Li et al. disclose a first part (320, Fig. 7) extending in a first direction (Y), and the light-shielding tape (300) includes a second part (310) directly on an upper surface of the cover member, the second part extending in a second direction (X) toward the first hole area (160, Fig. 7) and the second direction intersects with the first direction (310 intersects with 320, as shown in the Fig. 7).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817