DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks July 16, 20261 as they pertain to the nature of laser light in section C, such remarks are not entirely correct regarding lasers and laser light. While laser is an acronym for Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission Radiation, and stimulated emission produces second/additional photons from a first photon having the same wavelength (and thus energy), direction, and polarization, a laser device as a whole is not so specific. Laser devices themselves routinely produce outputs with a range of wavelengths and bandwidths from narrow (e.g. continuous wave type such as a HeNe2) to broad bandwidth (e.g. pulsed lasers such as Ti:sapphire3).
Thus Applicant’s position that laser light sources produce coherent, polarized light at a narrow bandwidth is correct, but only for some, not all lasers. Applicant’s specification has not specified what type of lasers and their associated bandwidths beyond generic semiconductors. Thus, so long as the prior art’s sources are lasers, the limitation the first, second, third light rays are laser light rays will be considered met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1),(a2) as being anticipated by Chien et al. (US 2022/0004092; Chien; of record).
Examiner’s note: Chien’s disclosures uses the term “dichroic lens”, yet states such lens is also a beamsplitter, or any other optical component (Chien para. [0039]). In other words, Chien appears to be using “lens” as a stand-in for any optical component, which includes beamsplitters.
As to claim 1, Chien teaches an RGB three-color laser light source synthesis and beam splitting device (Chien Figs. 2-6)
having main light paths extending in a first direction (Chien Fig. 2 - left/right light paths; see below) and side light paths extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Chien Fig. 2 - up/down paths; see below) wherein the main light paths comprise a first main light path (Chien Fig. 2 - path from 44…36…32) and a second main light path (Chien Fig. 2 - path from 38…34), the second main light path is disposed in parallel with the first main light path (Chien Fig. 2), the side light paths comprise a first side light path (Chien Fig. 2 - path from 42…36…38) and a second side light path (Chien Fig. 2 - path from 40…32…34), and the second side light path is disposed in parallel with the first side light path (Chien Fig. 2);
the device comprising
a light source assembly comprising a first light source (Chien Fig. 2 - 44; para. [0002], [0023]), a second light source (Chien Fig. 2 - 42; para. [0002], [0023]), and a third light source (Chien Fig. 2 - 40; para. [0002], [0023]), emitting different colors (Chien Fig. 2 - B1, B2, B3; para. [0022]), the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source being configured to emit light simultaneously (Chien Fig. 2); wherein the first light source is disposed in the first main light path and is configured to emit first light rays in the first direction (Chien Fig. 2 - 44, B3), the second light source is disposed in the first side light path and is configured to emit second light rays in the second direction (Chien Fig. 2 - 42, B2), the third light source is disposed in the second side light path and is configured to emit third light rays in the second direction (Chien Fig. 2 - 40, B1), and the first light rays, the second light rays, and the third light rays are laser light rays (Chien para. [0002]);
plurality of light splitters comprising a first light splitter (Chien Fig. 2 - 36; para. [0039], [0023]) and a second light splitter (Chien Fig. 2 - 32; para. [0039], [0023]), wherein each of the first light splitter and the second light splitter is a non-polarizing beam splitter configured to split incident light based on a predetermined intensity ratio independent of polarization states of the incident light (Chien Fig. 2 - 36, 32; para. [0039], [0032] - dichroic beam splitters split light based on wavelength, not polarization state);
wherein the first light splitter is arranged at an intersection of the first main light path and the first side light path (Chien Fig. 2 - 36), and is configured to transmit part of the first light rays and reflect rest of the first light rays to the second direction (Chien Fig. 2 - B3; para. [0026]), as well as transmit part of the second light rays and reflect rest of the second light rays to the first direction (Chien Fig. 2 - B2; para. [0026]); and
wherein the second light splitter is arranged at an intersection of the first main light path and the second side light path (Chien Fig. 2 - 32), and is configured to transmit both the first light rays and the second light rays from the first light splitter (Chien Fig. 2 - 32, B3, B2), as well as transmit part of the third light rays and reflect rest of the third light rays to the first direction (Chien Fig. 2 - 32, B1; para. [0026]);
a reflector (Chien Fig. 2 - 38; para. [0023], [0039]) arranged at an intersection of the second main light path and the first side light path (Chien Fig. 2 - 38), wherein the reflector is configured to reflect both the first light rays and the second light rays from the second direction to the first direction (Chien Fig. 2 - 38);
a wavelength-selective light filter (Chien Fig. 2 - 34; para. [0023], [0039]) arranged at an intersection of the second main light path and the second side light path (Chien Fig. 2 - 34), wherein the wavelength-selective light filter is configured to transmit both the first light rays and the second light rays from the reflector, and reflect the third light rays from the second light splitter to the first direction (Chien Fig. 2 - 34).
As to claim 27, Chien teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chien further teaches the wavelength selective light filter is disposed at an included angle of 45 degrees to the first direction and the second direction, respectively (Chien Fig. 2 - 34);
the light splitters each are disposed at an included angle of 45 degrees to the first direction and the second direction, respectively (Chien Fig. 2 - 36, 32);
the reflector is disposed at an included angle of 45 degrees to the first direction and the second direction, respectively (Chien Fig. 2 - 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (cited above).
As to claim 6, Chien teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and while Chien discloses duplicating the synthesis and beam splitting device (Chien Fig. 3 - 54, 56; Fig. 4 - 54, 56, 72; Fig. 6 - 54, 56, 76, 72), but doesn’t specify an additional row, and thus a third main light path, a third light splitter, a fourth light splitter, the third splitter at the intersection of the second main light path and first side light path and the respective reflection/transmission, the fourth splitter at the intersection of the second main light path and the second side light path and the respective reflective/transmission, the reflector at the intersection of the third main light path and first side light path, the light filter at the intersection of the third main light path and the second side light path.
Such additional row of splitters and locations of the reflector and filter is a duplication of parts of a row of Chien - i.e. duplicating the row of 36, 32. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to duplicate the row of splitters, etc., since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien as applied to claims 1, 6 above, and further in view of Ogino (US 2017/0176845; of record).
As to claim 3, Chien teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify the splitting ratios of the first and second splitters.
In the same field of endeavor Kurita teaches providing a light source synthesis and beam splitting device where the splitters are half mirrors - i.e. 1/2 transmit, 1/2 reflect (Ogino Fig. 4 - 761; para. [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the split as 1/2 since, as taught by Ogino, half mirrors are well known in the art for the purpose of reflecting 1/2 and transmitting 1/2 of the incident light (Ogino para. [0048]).
As to claim 7, Chien teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, but doesn’t specify the splitting ratios of the beam splitters.
In the same field of endeavor Kurita teaches providing a light source synthesis and beam splitting device where the splitters are half mirrors - i.e. 1/2 transmit, 1/2 reflect (Ogino Fig. 4 - 761; para. [0048]) as well as well as 1/3 - 2/3 splitters (Ogino para. [0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the split as 1/2, 1/3 or 2/3 since, as taught by Ogino, such mirrors are well known in the art for the purpose of reflecting the desired 1/2, 1/3, or 2/3 amount of light (Ogino para. [0048], [0100]).
Conclusion
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 September 1, 2026
1 Remarks July 16, 2026, page 21
2 https://www.rp-photonics.com/helium_neon_lasers.html
3 https://www.rp-photonics.com/titanium_sapphire_lasers.html