DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s cancellation of the various claim limitations have resolved the USC 112(b) issues.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim (page 3) recites “the first light splitter is arranged at an intersection of the first main light path…configured to…as well as transmit part of the second light rays and reflect rest of the second light rays to the second direction” which is unclear in light of Applicant’s specification and what the first direction, second direction, and first light splitter art. Essentially this appears to be typographical error of: first direction.
As shown in Figure 2, the first light splitter is (141). The first direction is left-right. The second direction is up-down. The second light rays are (1321). Thus, the first light splitter (141) is configured to transmit part of the second light rays (1321 being transmitted down through 141) and reflect the rest of the second light rays (1321) to the first direction (141 reflects 1321 to the right (first direction)).
Examiner will understand claim 1 consistent with Figures 2 and 4.
Claims 3, 6-7, 26-27 are rejected as dependent upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Krijn et al. (US 2008/0094577 - Krijn; of record).
As to claim 1 (as understood), an RGB three-color laser light source synthesis and beam splitting device (Krijn Fig. 9), having main light paths extending in a first direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - light paths from left to right (first direction); see marked up Fig. 9 below) and side light paths extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - light paths up/down; see marked up Fig. 9 below), wherein the main light paths comprise a first main light path (Kirjn Fig. 9 - light path from 902 to 936; see below) and a second main light path (Kirjn Fig. 9 - light path from 912 to 938; see below), the second main light path is disposed in parallel with the first main light path (Krijn Fig. 9), the side light paths comprise a first side light path (Krijn Fig. 9 - light path from 904 to 912) and a second side light path (Krijn Fig. 9 - light path from 906 to 916), and the second side light path is disposed in parallel with the first side light path, the device comprising (Krijn Fig. 9), the device comprising
a light source assembly comprising a first light source (Krijn Fig. 9 - 902; para. [0044]), a second light source (Krijn Fig. 9 - 904; para. [0044]), and a third light source (Krijn Fig. 9 - 906; para. [0044]) emitting different colors (Krijn para. [0049], [0037] - as discussed, the LEDs can be any of red, blue, green, or other necessary colors),
wherein the first light source is disposed in the first main light path and is configured to emit first light rays in the first direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 902, right), the second light source is disposed in the first side light path and is configured to emit second light rays in the second direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 904, down), and the third light source is disposed in the second side light path and is configured to emit third light rays in the second direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 906, down);
a plurality of light splitters comprising a first light splitter (Krijn Fig. 9 - 910; para. [0044]) and a second light splitter (Krijn Fig. 9 - 914; para. [0044]), wherein the first light splitter is arranged at an intersection of the first main light path and the first side light path (Krijn Fig. 9 - 910; see below) and is configured to:
transmit part of the first light rays and reflect rest of the first light rays to the second direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 910; para. [0044]-[0046] - as discussed, PBS 910 passes one polarization light right from 902 and reflects another polarization light down),
as well as transmit part of the second light rays and reflect rest of the second light rays to the second (first) direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 910; para. [0044]-[0046] - as discussed, PBS 910 passes one polarization light down from 904 and reflects another polarization light right);
and wherein the second light splitter is arranged at an intersection of the first main light path and the second side light path (Krijn Fig. 9 - 914; see below), and is configured to transmit both the first light rays and the second light rays from the first light splitter (Krijn Fig. 9 - 914; para. [0044]-[0046] - as discussed, light from 910 of one polarization can be transmitted by 914),
as well as transmit part of the third light rays and reflect the rest of the third light rays to the first direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 914; para. [0044]-[0046] - as discussed, light from 906 having one polarization is transmitted through 914 and is reflected right by 914);
a reflector (Krijn Fig. 9 - 912; para. [0044]) arranged at an intersection of the second main light path and the first main light path (Krijn Fig. 9 - 912; see below), wherein the reflector is configured to reflect both the first light rays and the second light rays from the second direction to the first direction (Krijn Fig. 9; para. [0044]-[0046] - as discussed, light from second direction (down) reflected by (914) to the first direction (right));
and a light filter (Krijn Fig. 9 - 916; para. [0044]-[0046]) at an intersection of the second main light path and the second side light path (Krijn Fig. 9 - 916; see below), wherein the light filter is configured to transmit both the first light rays and the second light rays from the reflector (Krijn Fig. 9 - 916; para. [0044]-[0046]) and reflect the third light rays from the second light splitter to the first direction (Kirjn Fig. 9 - 916, 914).
As to claim 3, Krijn teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Krijn further teaches the first light splitter is configured to transmit 1/2 of the first light rays and reflect 1/2 of the first light rays, and transmit 1/2 of the second light rays and reflect 1/2 of the second light rays (Krijn Fig. 9 - 910; para. [0044]-[0046] - splitters are polarization splitters passing s- or p- polarization and reflecting the other of s- or p- polarization, thus any beam with a 50/50 split of s- versus p- polarization is necessarily split at 50/50);
the second light splitter is configured to transmit 1/2 of the third light rays and reflect 1/2 of the third light rays (Krijn Fig. 9 - 914; para. [0044]-[0046] - splitters are polarization splitters passing s- or p- polarization and reflecting the other of s- or p- polarization, thus any beam with a 50/50 split of s- versus p- polarization is necessarily split at 50/50).
As to claim 27, Krijn teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Krijn further teaches the light filter is disposed at an included angle of 45 degrees to the first direction and the second direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 916), respectively;
the light splitters each are disposed at an included angle of 45 degrees to the first direction and the second direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 910, 914), respectively; and
the reflector is disposed at an included angle of 45 degrees to the first direction and the second direction (Krijn Fig. 9 - 912), respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirjn (cited above).
As to claim 6, Krijn teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 1, while Krijn includes an additional column (Krijn Fig. 9 - 908, 918, 920) Kirjn doesn’t specify and additional row, and thus a third main light path, a third light splitter, a fourth light splitter, the third splitter at the intersection of the second main light path and first side light path and the respective reflection/transmission, the fourth splitter at the intersection of the second main light path and the second side light path and the respective reflective/transmission, the reflector at the intersection of the third main light path and first side light path, the light filter at the intersection of the third main light path and the second side light path.
Such additional row of splitters and locations of the reflector and filter is a duplication of parts of a row of Kirjn - i.e. duplicating the row of 912, 916, 920. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to duplicate the row of splitters, etc, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Such additional row of splitters and locations of the reflector and filter also constitutes a rearrangement of the third column of Krijn as a third row. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to rearrange the third column as a third row, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
As to claim 7, Krijn as modified teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Krijn further teaches the splitters are polarization beam splitters splitting between s- polarization and p-polarization (Krijn para. [0044]-[0047]), and thus would reflect and transmit either 1/2 or 1/3 or 2/3 of the beam given the beam s- and p- polarization state make up;
the reflectors are configured to reflect the first light rays and the second light rays (Krijn Fig. 9 - 912; para. [0044]-[0046]);
the light filters are configured to transmit the first light rays and the second light rays and reflect the third light rays (Krijn Fig. 9 - 916; para. [0044]-[0046]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krijn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2021/0286248 - Lin; of record).
As to claim 26, Krijn teaches all the limitations as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Krijn further teaches the first light rays, the second light rays, and the third light rays are of different colors (Krijn para. [0031], [0037]-[0038], [0049] - light sources being LEDs of red, green, blue), however Krijn doesn’t specify the sources are lasers.
In the same field of endeavor Lin teaches providing lasers as the color light sources for projection/illumination (Lin Fig. 2 - 111, 112, 113, 115; para. [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide lasers as the light sources since, as taught by Lin, such lasers are well known in the art for providing different color illumination (Lin Fig. 2 - 111, 112, 113, 115; para. [0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chien et al. (US 11,531,261; 2022/0004092) teach Applicant’s claimed invention; Zhang et al. (US 9,215,032); Yamada et al. (US 7,679,614); Zhu (US 7,184,621); Kitahara et al. (US 2023/0319245); Wu (US 2014/0176913) are cited as additional examples of such beam combining and splitting device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 22, 2026