DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 12 June 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the additional surface structure (claim 6). must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 7, the limitation “wherein at least one of the first or the second channels is plasma-treated” should read “wherein at least one of the first and the second channels is plasma-treated.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "wherein at least one of the first and second side surface of the membrane is coated with a mixture comprising at least one of" in lines 1-2. However, it is unclear which elements among the fibronectin, collagen I and Collagen IV are included in the mixture.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al (US 2019/0093077; hereinafter “Hamilton”) in view of Humes et al. (US 2011/0190679; hereinafter “Humes”).
Regarding claim 1, Hamilton discloses a cell culture chamber, comprising: a first channel comprising an inner wall, through which a first flow can pass (FIGS. 27A-27B: microchannel (203); [0167], [0174]); a second channel comprising an inner wall, through which a second flow can pass (FIGS. 27A-27B: microchannel (203); [0167], [0174]); and a porous membrane (FIGA. 27A-27B: membrane (208); [0167], [0172]; wherein the first and second channels are arranged one above the other and are separated from one another by the membrane (FIGS. 27A-27B; [0174]), wherein the membrane has a first side surface oriented towards the first channel and a second side surface oriented towards the second channel (FIGS. 27A-27B; [0174], [0340]), and wherein the first and second side surfaces form a cell substrate (membrane (208) includes first side surface (208A) and second side surface (208B); [0210]). Hamilton does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner walls of the first channel and the second channel consist of polybutylene terephthalate (PBT). However, Hamilton does disclose wherein the cell culture chamber can be formed of any desired materials ([0170]). Humes discloses a cell culture chamber (FIGS. 15 and 16). Humes discloses wherein components of the cell culture chamber can be formed from various materials including polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) ([0135]). In view of Humes, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the first and second channel of Hamilton with polybutylene terephthalate, as disclosed by Humes, because Hamilton discloses that the cell culture chamber can be formed of any desired materials ([0170]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hamilton further discloses wherein the membrane has a thickness of 10 μm to 75 μm (membrane thickness can be from about 1 μm to 300 μm; [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hamilton further discloses wherein the membrane has a thickness of 10 μm to 50 μm (membrane thickness can be from about 1 μm to 300 μm; [0017]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hamilton further discloses wherein the membrane has a thickness of μm to 13 μm (membrane thickness can be from about 1 μm to 300 μm; [0017]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hamilton further discloses wherein the membrane consists of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), or an elastic polyurethane (TPU) (membrane can be elastic and formed from polyurethane ([0205], [0212], [0340]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hamilton further discloses wherein the at least one side surface of the membrane has an additional surface structure (surface of membrane (208) is patterned to include micro and/or nanoscopic patterns such as grooves and ridges ([0217]); further, surface of membrane (208) can be coated with materials; [0220]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hamilton further discloses wherein at least one of the first and second side surfaces of the membrane is plasma-treated, and/or wherein at least one of the first or the second channels is plasma-treated ([0223]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hamilton further discloses wherein at least one of the first and second side surface of the membrane is coated with a mixture comprising at least one of: 0.5 μg/ml to 5 μg/ml fibronectin, 100 μg/ml to 300 μg/ml collagen I, and 100 μg/ml to 300 μg/ml collagen IV ([0163], [0344]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton in view of Humes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bear et al (WO 2019/104069-A1; hereinafter “Bear”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hamilton discloses cell culture chamber according to claim 1. Modified Hamilton discloses a carrier molecule covalently bound to the membrane, and cell-adhesion factor covalently bound to said carrier including fibronectin, vitronectin or fragments or analogs having cell binding domain thereof ([0221]), to improve cell attachment and stabilize cell growth. Modified Hamilton does not disclose wherein the membrane is coupled to dextran chains to which fibronectin peptides, arginine-glycine-aspartic acid (RGD) tripeptides, vitronectin peptides, or bone sialoprotein peptides are bound with an RGD sequence. Bear discloses dextran as a known, biocompatible polysaccharide material used to form cell-culture scaffolds ([0058], [0069]), and separately discloses fibronectin, vitronectin and BSP peptides bearing an RGD sequence as known adhesion-promoting peptides for coating scaffold ([0076]-[0077]). In view of Bear, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating of modified Hamilton by substituting the carrier and peptides with the dextran and RGD-bearing peptide as disclosed by Bear ([0058], [0069], [0076]-[0077]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because modified Hamilton discloses that the carrier and the adhesion factor as independently selectable components of the coating ([0220]-[0221]). Further, one would have made said modification because said medication would resulted in the substitution of art recognized elements for the same intended purpose of improve cell attachment and stabilize cell growth.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton in view of Humes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zamora et al (US 6,342,591; hereinafter “Zamora”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hamilton discloses cell culture chamber according to claim 1. Modified Hamilton discloses a carrier molecule covalently bound to the membrane, and cell-adhesion factor covalently bound to said carrier including fibronectin, vitronectin or fragments or analogs having cell binding domain thereof ([0221]), to improve cell attachment and stabilize cell growth. Modified Hamilton does not disclose wherein the membrane is coupled to dextran chains to which fibronectin peptides, arginine-glycine-aspartic acid (RGD) tripeptides, vitronectin peptides, or bone sialoprotein peptides are bound with an RGD sequence. Zamora discloses heparin covalently bound within a coating, with an adhesive molecule such as fibronectin, vitronectin, or a peptide containing an RGD adhesive sequence together with a heparin-binding sequence. See col. 2, ll. 37-42; Claims 1 and 9-10. In view of Zamora, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating of modified Hamilton by substituting the carrier and peptides with the heparin and RGD-bearing peptide as disclosed by Zamora (see col. 2, ll. 37-42; Claims 1 and 9-10.). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because modified Hamilton discloses that the carrier and the adhesion factor as independently selectable components of the coating ([0220]-[0221]). Further, one would have made said modification because said medication would resulted in the substitution of art recognized elements for the same intended purpose of improve cell attachment and stabilize cell growth.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton in view of Humes as applied to claim above, and further in view of Gretzer et al. (US 9,295,531; hereinafter “Gretzer”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hamilton discloses cell culture chamber according to claim 1. Modified Hamilton further discloses wherein collagen I and/or collagen IV with a concentration of more than 100 μg/ml is coupled to at least one of the first or second side surfaces of the membrane ([0163]). Modified Hamilton does not explicitly disclose wherein the collagen I and IV are human origin. However, modified Hamilton does disclose wherein the material employed for form the cell culture chamber to be biocompatible and that do not induce a significant immune response of deleterious tissue reaction, e.g., toxic reaction or significant irritation, over time when implanted into or placed adjacent to the biological tissue of a subject ([0170]). Gretzer discloses that collagen I of human origin is preferred, for the express purpose of avoiding immunogenic response (col. 11, ll. 17-21). In view of Gretzer, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the collagen of modified Hamilton with the collagen of Gretzer for the purpose of reducing immunogenic response as motivated by Gretzer (col. 11, ll. 17-21) and Hamilton ([0170]). Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799