DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The Response, filed on January 12, 2026, has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action dated October 10, 2025, figure 2, the specification at paragraphs [0044] and [0047], and claims 5, 12, 16 and 18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the objection to the drawings, figure 2 has been amended to address the inconsistency in labeling. Therefore, the objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1-7 and 15-20, Applicant first asserts that fails to describe a “stationary magnet” (Remarks, p. 13). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ito is clearly found to teach one or more fixed magnets, i.e., stationary (e.g., figs. 2A and 2B, element(s) MX, MYA, MYB, MZA, MZB, and MZC; [0067-69], teaching fixed). The Examiner notes that the claim provides no other limitations on the magnet, does not provide any additional structural restraints or anchor requirements, and is not found to further limit any interpretation of a stationary magnet.
Applicant also asserts that Ito fails to describe “"a transversal coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, moves the image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to the optical axis," and "an axial coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis," as recited in claim 1 (Remarks. P. 13). Again, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ito is clearly found to teach a traversal coil, in that Ito teaches at least one of element(s) CX, CYA and CYB of figures 2A and 2B, that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, moves the image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0072], [0074-75], wherein the coils generate thrust in the X and Y directions in response to the corresponding magnets, moving element 61, which holds the image sensor, [0078-79]). Further, Ito also teaches an axial coil, in that Ito teaches at least one of element(s) CZA, CZB and CZC of figure 2A, that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0073], [0080], wherein the coils generate thrust in the Z direction in response to the corresponding magnets, moving element 61, which holds the image sensor, and which can then be tilted about one or more directions [0080-81]).
In light of at least the above, the Examiner stands behind the teaching of the art as applied to the claims as currently written.
As to the dependent claims 2-7 and 16-20, Applicant relies on dependence upon the arguments as they relate to independent claim rejections (claims 1and 15).
Applicant is not found to specifically address the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 8-14 as they apply to the teachings and disclosures of 2018/0367711 to Topliss et al.
* * * * * * * *
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0155816 to Ito et al. (hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding claim 1, Ito teaches a camera, comprising an optical assembly having one or more lens defining an optical axis (e.g., fig. 1, element 101; [0060]), an image sensor (e.g., figs. 1 and 2, element 31; [0060]), an actuator assembly to move the image sensor relative to the optical assembly (e.g., figs. 1, 2A and 2B; [0061] and [0063]), and a flexure that suspends the image sensor from a stationary structure of the camera and that allows motion of the image sensor enabled by the actuator assembly (e.g., [0087], FPC), wherein the actuator assembly comprises a stationary magnet (e.g., figs. 2A and 2B, elements MX, MYA, MYB, MZA, MZb and MZC; [0067-69]), a transversal coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, moves the image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., figs, 2A and 2B, at least one of elements CX, CYA and CYB; [0072], [0074-75]), and an axial coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., fig. 2A, at least one of elements CZA, CZB and CZC, [0073], [0080]).
Regarding claim 2, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the optical assembly comprises a static optical assembly (fig. 1, element 101; [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 3 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein a holder fixedly attached to the stationary structure of the camera retains the stationary magnet (e.g., figs. 1 and 2, element 62; [0067], fixed).
Regarding claim 4, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 4 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the transversal coil and the axial coil are retained by a carrier fixedly coupled with the image sensor (e.g., figs 1 and 2, element 61; [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 5 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the actuator assembly comprises a plurality of stationary magnets (e.g., figs. 2A and 2B, elements MX, MYA, MYB, MZA, MZB and MZC; [0067-69]), a plurality of transversal coils (e.g., figs, 2A and 2B, a elements CX, CYA and CYB; [0072], [0074-75]), and a plurality of axial coils (e.g., fig. 2A, elements CZA, CZB and CZC, [0073], [0080]), wherein a respective transversal coil of the plurality of transversal coils, when receiving a magnetic field from a respective stationary magnet of the plurality of stationary magnets, moves the image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0067-68], [0072], [0074-79]), and a respective axial coil of the plurality of axial coils, when receiving a magnetic field from the respective stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0069], [0073], [0080]).
Regarding claim 6, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 6 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 5, supra) including teaching wherein the actuator assembly is configured to move the image sensor along the optical axis (e.g., [0063], translate in the Z-direction; can also be achieved by [0061], focusing optical system, not shown)
move the image sensor along a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0063], translate in the X-direction), move the image sensor along a second direction orthogonal to the optical axis and orthogonal to the first direction (e.g., [0063], translate in the Y-direction), tilt the image sensor about the first direction (e.g., [0063], rotate about X-direction) and tilt the image sensor about the second direction (e.g., [0063], rotate about Y-direction).
Regarding claim 7, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 7 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 5, supra) including teaching wherein a position sensor is located proximate respective axial coils of the plurality of axial coils (e.g., fig. 2A, at least one of elements HZA, HZB, HZC; [0082-86]), and wherein a position sensor is located proximate at least two respective transversal coils of the plurality of transversal coils (e.g., fig. 2A, elements HX on left of element 31 and HX on right of element 31; also see elements HYB and HYB; [0082-86]).
Regarding claim 15, Ito teaches an actuator assembly for a camera module (e.g., figs. 2A and 2B), comprising a stationary magnet (e.g., figs. 2A and 2B, elements MX, MYA, MYB, MZA, MZB and MZC; [0067-69]), a transversal coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, moves an image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to an optical axis of the camera module (e.g., figs, 2A and 2B, at least one of elements CX, CYA and CYB; [0072], [0074-75]), and an axial coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., fig. 2A, at least one of elements CZA, CZB and CZC, [0073], [0080]).
Regarding claim 16, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 16 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 15, supra) including teaching wherein the optical assembly comprises a static optical assembly (fig. 1, element 101; [0061]).
Regarding claim 17, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 17 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 15, supra) including teaching wherein the transversal coil and the axial coil are retained by a carrier fixedly coupled with the image sensor (e.g., figs 1 and 2, element 61; [0066]).
Regarding claim 18, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 18 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 15, supra) including teaching the actuator assembly further comprising a plurality of stationary magnets (e.g., figs. 2A and 2B, elements MX, MYA, MYB, MZA, MZB and MZC; [0067-69]), a plurality of transversal coils (e.g., figs, 2A and 2B, a elements CX, CYA and CYB; [0072], [0074-75]), and a plurality of axial coils (e.g., fig. 2A, elements CZA, CZB and CZC, [0073], [0080]), wherein a respective transversal coil of the plurality of transversal coils, when receiving a magnetic field from a respective stationary magnet of the plurality of stationary magnets, moves the image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0067-68], [0072], [0074-79]), and a respective axial coil of the plurality of axial coils, when receiving a magnetic field from the respective magnet stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0069], [0073], [0080]).
Regarding claim 19, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 19 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 18, supra) including teaching wherein the actuator assembly is configured to move the image sensor along the optical axis (e.g., [0063], translate in the Z-direction; can also be achieved by [0061], focusing optical system, not shown)
move the image sensor along a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., [0063], translate in the X-direction), move the image sensor along a second direction orthogonal to the optical axis and orthogonal to the first direction (e.g., [0063], translate in the Y-direction), tilt the image sensor about the first direction (e.g., [0063], rotate about X-direction) and tilt the image sensor about the second direction (e.g., [0063], rotate about Y-direction).
Regarding claim 20, Ito teaches all the elements of claim 20 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 18, supra) including teaching wherein a position sensor is located proximate respective axial coils of the plurality of axial coils (e.g., fig. 2A, at least one of elements HZA, HZB, HZC; [0082-86]), and wherein a position sensor is located proximate at least two respective transversal coils of the plurality of transversal coils (e.g., fig. 2A, elements HX on left of element 31 and HX on right of element 31; also see elements HYB and HYB; [0082-86]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0367711 to Topliss et al. (hereinafter “Topliss”).
Regarding claim 8, Ito teaches a device (e.g., fig 1), comprising one or more processors (e.g., fig. 1, element 20; [0060]) and the camera comprising an optical assembly having one or more lens defining an optical axis (e.g., fig. 1, element 101; [0060]), an image sensor (e.g., figs. 1 and 2, element 31; [0060]), an actuator assembly to move the image sensor relative to the optical assembly (e.g., figs. 1, 2A and 2B; [0061] and [0063]), and a flexure that suspends the image sensor from a stationary structure of the camera and that allows motion of the image sensor enabled by the actuator assembly (e.g., [0087], FPC), wherein the actuator assembly comprises a stationary magnet (e.g., figs. 2A and 2B, elements MX, MYA, MYB, MZA, MZB and MZC; [0067-69]), a transversal coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, moves the image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., figs, 2A and 2B, at least one of elements CX, CYA and CYB; [0072], [0074-75]), and an axial coil that, when receiving a magnetic field from the stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis (e.g., fig. 2A, at least one of elements CZA, CZB and CZC, [0073], [0080]). Ito, however, has not been found by the Examiner to expressly disclose a memory storing program instructions executable by the one or more processors to control operation of a camera.
Although a memory storing program instructions executable by the one or more processors to control operation of a camera is generally considered a necessity for the functionality of a CPU of a camera, Topliss is introduced for this express teaching (e.g., [0046], [0058], [0108], [0289]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Topliss with the device as taught by Ito in order to provide express means for storing the means to direct CPU functionality for the camera, as well as to provide an element that may be easier or less expensive to replace in the event of upgrades or patches to the camera’s functionality, instead of a more intricate hardwired circuit or a processor with instructions that are embedded into hardware.
Regarding claim 9, Ito and Topliss teach all the elements of claim 9 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 8, supra) including teaching wherein the optical assembly comprises a static optical assembly (‘816 – e.g., fig. 1, element 101; [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Ito and Topliss teach all the elements of claim 10 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 8, supra) including teaching wherein a holder fixedly attached to the stationary structure of the camera retains the stationary magnet (‘816 – e.g., figs. 1 and 2, element 62; [0067], fixed).
Regarding claim 11, Ito and Topliss teach all the elements of claim 11 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 8, supra) including teaching wherein the transversal coil and the axial coil are retained by a carrier fixedly coupled with the image sensor (‘816 – e.g., figs 1 and 2, element 61; [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, Ito and Topliss teach all the elements of claim 12 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 8, supra) including teaching wherein the actuator assembly comprises a plurality of stationary magnets (‘816 – e.g., figs. 2A and 2B, elements MX, MYA, MYB, MZA, MZB and MZC; [0067-69]), a plurality of transversal coils (‘816 – e.g., figs, 2A and 2B, a elements CX, CYA and CYB; [0072], [0074-75]), and a plurality of axial coils (‘816 – e.g., fig. 2A, elements CZA, CZB and CZC, [0073], [0080]), wherein a respective transversal coil of the plurality of transversal coils, when receiving a magnetic field from a respective stationary magnet of the plurality of stationary magnets, moves the image sensor in one or more directions orthogonal to the optical axis (‘816 – e.g., [0067-68], [0072], [0074-79]), and a respective axial coil of the plurality of axial coils, when receiving a magnetic field from the respective stationary magnet, tilts the image sensor in one or more directions about an axis orthogonal to the optical axis (‘816 – e.g., [0069], [0073], [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Ito and Topliss teach all the elements of claim 13 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 12, supra) including teaching wherein the actuator assembly is configured to move the image sensor along the optical axis (‘816 – e.g., [0063], translate in the Z-direction; can also be achieved by [0061], focusing optical system, not shown), move the image sensor along a first direction orthogonal to the optical axis (‘816 – e.g., [0063], translate in the X-direction), move the image sensor along a second direction orthogonal to the optical axis and orthogonal to the first direction (‘816 – e.g., [0063], translate in the Y-direction), tilt the image sensor about the first direction (‘816 – e.g., [0063], rotate about X-direction) and tilt the image sensor about the second direction (‘816 – e.g., [0063], rotate about Y-direction).
Regarding claim 14, Ito and Topliss teach all the elements of claim 14 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 12, supra) including teaching wherein a position sensor is located proximate respective axial coils of the plurality of axial coils (‘816 – e.g., fig. 2A, at least one of elements HZA, HZB, HZC; [0082-86]), and wherein a position sensor is located proximate at least two respective transversal coils of the plurality of transversal coils (‘816 – e.g., fig. 2A, elements HX on left of element 31 and HX on right of element 31; also see elements HYB and HYB; [0082-86]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638