DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on August 03, 2026, is being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed August 20, 2026, have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claims 2 and 6, the limitation “a first input terminal tube port…a second input terminal tube port… wherein the first input terminal tube is connected to an electrically conductive input terminal tab… wherein the second input terminal tube is connected to the electrically conductive input terminal tab” is indefinite or unclear.
It is not clear how wherein the first input terminal tube is connected to an electrically conductive input terminal tab… wherein the second input terminal tube is connected to the electrically conductive input terminal tab; because claim do not mention that the first input terminal tube and the first input terminal tube are conductive and how the electrically conductive input terminal tab such outer peripheral side or through. Therefore, critical structure is required.
Furthermore, it is unclear that what is terminal port, is it entrance or exit of through hole or opening of the tube or something; It is not clear how is configured to receive an electrical coolant, not necessary structure clarified. MPEP Clearly states all the critical structure are required in the claim without any unclarity. Please clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection of claims 3-5, 7-14, and 16, claims are rejected by the same reason applied to rejection of claim 2 or 6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Florence et al. (US6776421, herein referred to as Nakajima) or Nakajima et al. (US5556138, herein referred to as Nakajima) or McKenny et al. (US1165530, herein referred to as McKenny) in view of Krupnicki et al. (US5004865, herein referred to as Krupnicki). .
Rejection of claim 2, Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (Figure 4) discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first input terminal tube comprising(see figure 8 of Florence wherein a first tube 312 having first end section at reference numerical 322 and opposite end section at reference numerical 312 have capacity to or intended to use for fluid communication or conductor; alternatively, see figure 3-4 of Nakajima wherein a first aluminum tube 15 having first end section at reference numerical 17 and opposite end at reference numerical 15, have capacity to or intended to use for fluid communication or conductor; see both ends in metal tube at 41 of figure 4 of McKenny have capacity to or intended to use for fluid communication or conductor; Note that “configure to” defines intended use or having capacity, product is what it is, not what it does, it does not carry positive structure, therefore, do not get patentable weight, see MPEP);
a second input terminal tube comprising a second input terminal tube first end configured to receive another electrical conductor, a second input terminal tube second end, and (see figure 8 of Florence wherein a second tube 314 having first end section at reference numerical 322 and opposite end at reference numerical 314 have capacity to or intended to use for fluid communication or conductor; alternatively, see figure 2 of Nakajima wherein a second tube 16 having first end section at reference numerical 18 and opposite end at reference numerical 16 have capacity to or intended to use for fluid communication or conductor; both ends of metal tube at 42 in figure 4 of McKenny have capacity to or intended to use for fluid communication; Note that “configure to” defines intended use or having capacity, product is what it is, not what it does, it does not carry positive structure, therefore, do not get patentable weight, see MPEP); and
wherein the first input terminal tube is connected to an electrically conductive input terminal tab; wherein the second input terminal tube is connected to the electrically conductive input terminal tab an input terminal tab connecting the first Input terminal tube to the second input terminal tube (a tab 324 in figure 8 of Florence; alternatively, a tab 20 in figure 2 of Nakajima; or see metallic tab between both tubes in figure 4 of McKenny; Note that “configure to” defines intended use or having capacity, product is what it is, not what it does, it does not carry positive structure, therefore, do not get patentable weight, see MPEP ).
Furthermore, Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (Figure 4) discloses a first input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the first input terminal tube and extending between the first input terminal tube first end and the first input terminal tube second end, a second input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the second input terminal tube and extending between the second input terminal tube first end and the second input terminal tube second end; wherein the first input terminal tube fluid pathway and the second input terminal tube fluid pathway are each configured to carry the coolant to cool the electrically conductive input terminal tab (see specification and figures of Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (Figure 4)).
Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (Figure 4) fail to disclose a first input terminal tube port disposed near the first input terminal tube first end and configured to receive coolant, a first input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the first input terminal tube and extending between the first input terminal tube port and the first input terminal tube second end, a second input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the second input terminal tube and extending between the second input terminal tube port and the second input terminal tube second end.
Krupnicki discloses terminal tube port having hole disposed near the terminal tube first end.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Florence or Nakajima or McKenny to have hole near each end of tube as taught by Krupnicki into each of the tube of the apparatus in order to allow fluid to flow substantially uninterrupted from one cable length, through the tubular member, to the other cable length as well as it help enter necessary or extra fluid or exit necessary or extra access fluid. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Rejection of claim 3, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnicki disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the input terminal tab further comprises an input terminal tab opening (see an opening in the tab 324 in figure 8 of Florence; alternatively, see an opening in the tab 20 in figure 2 of Nakajima or see the opening in tab in figure 4 of McKenny).
Rejection of claims 4 and 5, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnicki disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first input terminal tube further comprises: a first plurality of first input terminal tube barbs disposed at the first input terminal tube first end; and a second plurality of first input terminal tube barbs disposed at the first input terminal tube second end (claim 4), and wherein the second input terminal tube further comprises: a first plurality of second input terminal tube barbs disposed at the second input terminal tube first end; and a second plurality of second input terminal tube barbs disposed at the second input terminal tube second end (claim 5).
Examiner makes official notice that it was well known and old that having plurality of Barbs in each end of tube so that another elongated tubular portions securely or tightly fit over the ends of tube by increasing contact resistance and/or pressure at mating or coupling between the another elongated tubular portions and the tubes.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnicki to have tubes ends with barbs into the Florence or Nakajima in order to given reason above.
Rejection of claims 6-8, Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (figure 4) discloses an apparatus comprising: a first input terminal tube comprising, a first input terminal tube first end configured to receive an electrical conductor; a first input terminal tube second end (claim 6) (see explanation of Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima 9 (figure 2 of Nakajima) in the rejection of claim 2 above; see both ends in metal tube at 41 of figure 4 of McKenny; Note that “configure to” defines intended use or having capacity, product is what it is, not what it does, it does not carry positive structure, therefore, do not get patentable weight, see MPEP) ;
a second input terminal tube comprising, a second input terminal tube first end configured to receive an electrical conductor; a second input terminal tube second end; (claim 7) (see explanation of Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima 9 (figure 2 of Nakajima) in in the rejection of claim 2 above; see both ends in metal tube at 42 of figure 4 of McKenny; Note that “configure to” defines intended use or having capacity, product is what it is, not what it does, it does not carry positive structure, therefore, do not get patentable weight, see MPEP);
an electrically conductive input terminal tab; a first input terminal tube attached to the electrically conductive input terminal tab (claim 6), a second input terminal tube attached to the electrically conductive input terminal tab (claim 7), wherein the second input terminal tube comprises an electrically conductive input terminal tube (claim 8) (a tab 324 between metal tubes in figure 8 of Florence; alternatively, a tab 20 between metal tubes in figure 2 of Nakajima; or see metallic tab between both metal tubes in figure 4 of McKenny; Note that “configure to” defines intended use or having capacity, product is what it is, not what it does, it does not carry positive structure, therefore, do not get patentable weight, see MPEP );
Furthermore, Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (Figure 4) discloses a first input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the first input terminal tube and extending between the first input terminal tube first end and the first input terminal tube second end, a second input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the second input terminal tube and extending between the second input terminal tube first end and the second input terminal tube second end; wherein the first input terminal tube fluid pathway and the second input terminal tube fluid pathway are each configured to carry the coolant to cool the electrically conductive input terminal tab (see specification and figures of Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (Figure 4)).
Florence (figure 8 of Florence) or Nakajima (figure 2 of Nakajima) or McKenny (Figure 4) fail to disclose a first input terminal tube port disposed near the first input terminal tube first end and configured to receive coolant, a first input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the first input terminal tube and extending between the first input terminal tube port and the first input terminal tube second end, a second input terminal tube fluid pathway being inside the second input terminal tube and extending between the second input terminal tube port and the second input terminal tube second end.
Krupnicki discloses terminal tube port having hole disposed near the terminal tube first end.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Florence or Nakajima or McKenny to have hole near each end of tube as taught by Krupnicki into each of the tube of the apparatus in order to allow fluid to flow substantially uninterrupted from one cable length, through the tubular member, to the other cable length.
Rejection of claim 9, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick disclose the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the input electrically conductive terminal tab further comprises an input terminal tab opening (see an opening in the tab 324 in figure 8 of Florence; alternatively, see an opening in the tab 20 in figure 2 of Nakajima; or see figure 4 of McKenny).
Rejection of claims 10-11, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick disclose the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first input terminal tube further comprises a first plurality of first input terminal tube barbs disposed at the first input terminal tube first end (claim 10); and a second plurality of first input terminal tube barbs disposed at the first input terminal tube second end (claim 11).
Examiner makes official notice that it was well known and old that having plurality of Barbs in each end of tube so that another elongated tubular portions securely or tightly fit over the ends of tube by increasing contact resistance and/or pressure at mating or coupling between the another elongated tubular portions and the tubes.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick to have tube(s) ends with barbs into the Florence or Nakajima in order to give reason above in the official notice.
Rejection of claims 12-13, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick disclose the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the second input terminal tube further comprises a first plurality of second input terminal tube barbs disposed at the second input terminal tube first end (claim 13); and a second plurality of second input terminal tube barbs disposed at the second input terminal tube second end (claim 14).
Examiner makes official notice that it was well known and old that having plurality of Barbs in each end of tube so that another elongated tubular portions securely or tightly fit over the ends of tube by increasing contact resistance and/or pressure at mating or coupling between the another elongated tubular portions and the tubes.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick to have tube(s) ends with barbs into the Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in order to given reason above in the official notice.
Rejection of claim 14, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick disclose the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first input terminal tube comprises an electrically conductive input terminal tube (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Rejection of claim 15, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein each of the first input terminal tube and the second input terminal tube comprises an electrically conductive input terminal tube (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Rejection of claim 16, Florence or Nakajima or McKenny in view of Krupnick disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first input terminal tube comprises an electrically conductive input terminal tube configured to electrically connect to the electrical conductor received at the first input terminal tube first end (see rejection of claim 6 above; note that configure to defines intended use or capacity, do not carry any positive structure ).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various liquid channel assemblies.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s)have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847