DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 6/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-30 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Qian et al (herein Qian) US PG PUB 2010/0228002 and Qian et al (herein Qian II) US PG PUB 2009/0202243 to address the new claim scope due to an amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al (herein Qian) US PG PUB 2010/0228002 and Qian et al (herein Qian II) US PG PUB 2009/0202243.
Re claim 21 and 30, Qian discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a transmitter configured to:
modulate data on a set of optical channels which is based on each of one or more wavelengths (ONUs 402-1 and 40-2, each of which respectively includes modulators 404-1, 404-2 for modulation of corresponding data streams 401-1, 401-2, to directly modulated lasers 406-1 406-2 for transmitting data stream on optical wavelengths l1 and l2 respectively ¶ [0038]); and
propagate, via a direct detection based passive optical network, an optical signal including the set of optical channels (Upon receiving optical signals from a multiplexer/demultiplexer 410, the OLT 412 employs a photo detector 414, an analogue to digital converter (ADC) 416 and a demodulator 418 to extract data originating from the ONUs ¶ [0038] wherein Fig. 4 is a block/flow diagram illustrating an OFDM/A-PON, such that it is a passive optical network).
Qian does not explicitly disclose that the modulation data on a set of optical channel is based on use of a pair of polarizations on each of one or more wavelengths, Qian does disclose that is it a block/flow diagram illustrating an OFDM/A-PON in Fig. 4, wherein it is an Orthogonal Frequency Division multiple access passive optical network. Qian discloses a diagram of an exemplary OFDM transmission employing direct detection in accordance within the invention ¶ [0009], wherein the system in drawn to an OFDM PON configuration and employing an inventing POLMUX with direction detection to realize 40 Gob/s transmission over 20 km, wherein OFDRM signals are combined by a polarization beam combiner and are split and received by a polarization beam splitter and direct-detected by two photodiodes ¶ [0011].
Qian and Qian II are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, OFDM communication systems. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian and Qian II before him or her, to modify the optical transmission system of Qian to include the OFDM configuration of combined using polarization states because it enables the realization of high transmission rate over long distances.
Re claim 28, Qian and Qian II disclose all the elements of claim 21, which claim 28 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian discloses wherein the apparatus comprises an optical line terminal (OLT) configured to be deployed in the passive optical network (the passive optical network contains an OLT 412 as part of the passive optical network, Fig. 4).
Re claim 29, Qian and Qian II disclose all the elements of claim 21, which claim 29 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian wherein the apparatus comprises an optical network unit (ONU) configured to be deployed in the passive optical network (the passive optical network of Fig. 4 disclose an ONU 402 at one end).
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian and Qian II as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Chien et al (herein Chien) US PG PUB 2014/0363159.
Re claim 22, Qian and Qian II disclose all the elements of claim 21, which claim 22 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian II discloses the transmission of two OFDM signals with two modulators and are then combined with a polarization beam combiner, Fig. 1, from a single source or wavelength, but does not explicitly states or disclose that each of the channels is part of the pair of polarization states along the wavelength, although it is suggested. However, Chien the details of the modulation of a second optical channel of the set of optical channel which is based on use of a second polarization of the pair of polarization on the first wavelength wherein the transmitter is configured to:
modulate data on a first optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a first polarization of the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) ¶ [0028], such that the transmitter of the first channel is the first wavelength);
modulate data on a second optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a second polarization of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) ¶ [0028]); and
multiplex the first optical channel and the second optical channel to form the set of optical channels (there is a polarization maintained optical combiner that multiplexed or combined the two signals channels, Fig. 1b).
Qian, Qian II, and Chien are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication using OFDM. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian II and Chien before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Chien to include the polarization beam splitter to generate a pair of polarized signals of Chien because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, generating orthogonally polarized signals to be transmitter and reduce interference.
Re claim 23, Qian and Qian II disclose all the elements of claim 21, which claim 23 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian discloses a laser configured to generate the first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (Qian discloses two transmitters each with its own lasers that outs its own wavelength, Fig. 4). Qian II, which is used in combination to disclose more details of modulation discloses a polarization multiplexed system. However, Chien discloses, wherein the transmitter includes:
a first modulator configured to modulate data on a first optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a first polarization of the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) ¶ [0028], such that the transmitter of the first channel is the first wavelength and the modulator on the x polarization axis tis the first polarization of the pair of polarizations);
a second modulator configured to modulate data on a second optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a second polarization of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) ¶ [0028], such that the transmitter of the first channel is the first wavelength and the modulator on the y polarization axis tis the second polarization and second channel of the pair of polarizations); and
a polarization beam combiner configured to combine the first optical channel and the second optical channel to form the optical signal including the set of optical channels (polarization beam combiner receives the output from the modulators of the x polarization and the y polarization ).
Qian, Qian II, and Chien are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication using OFDM. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian II and Chien before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Chien to include the polarization beam splitter to generate a pair of polarized signals of Chien because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, generating orthogonally polarized signals to be transmitter and reduce interference.
Re claim 24, Qian and Qian II disclose all the elements of claim 21, which claim 24 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian discloses a first and second wavelengths to be multiplexed together but does not disclose that each of the wavelengths have their own polarizations. Qian II wherein the OFDM transmitter has a first and second portion of the same signal source to be modulated separately and to be combined using a polarization beam combiner. To the extent that it is not explicitly that the modulation of data is a first pair of optical channels which is based on a pair of polarizations on the first wavelength, Chien discloses wherein the transmitter is configured to:
modulate data onto a first pair of optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) ¶ [0028] such that the modulators within optical transmitter of channel 1 are the elements that modulate data on the x and y polarization on the first wavelength or channel);
modulate data onto a second pair of optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) ¶ [0028], wherein the elements with the optical transmitter of channel 2 are the elements that modulate data on the x and y polarization on the second wavelength or channel); and
multiplex the first pair of optical channels and the second pair of optical channels to form the set of optical channels (polarization optical combiner discloses the combination of the two wavelengths output from the transmitter, Fig. 1b).
Qian, Qian II, and Chien are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication using OFDM. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian II and Chien before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Chien to include the polarization beam splitter to generate a pair of polarized signals of Chien because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, generating orthogonally polarized signals to be transmitter and reduce interference.
Re claim 25, Qian and Qian II discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 25 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian discloses the transmitter includes:
a first laser configured to generate a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths;
a second laser configured to generate a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (Qian discloses two transmitters each with its own lasers that outs its own wavelength, Fig. 4)
a wavelength division multiplexer configured to multiplex the first and second (Qian discloses the output of the transmission units 402 are combined through the multiplexer 410 which combines the signals).
Qian II, which was combined with Qian, discloses a first pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a first set of two optical channels which are based on use of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength (Qian II discloses that within the OFDM transmitter there exists an two transmitter connected each to their own modulators, such that there is a pair of optical modulators configured to modulated data onto said channel due to the combination). , wherein the first set of two optical channels includes a first optical channel based on the first wavelength and a first polarization and a second optical channel based on the first wavelength and a second polarization;
a second pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a second set of two optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on the second wavelength (Qian discloses a second optical transmitter operating at a second wavelength wherein the combination with Qian II discloses that within the OFDM transmitter there exists two modulators such that there are a pair of modulators for the single optical signal or frequency from the local oscillator, Fig. 1);
a first polarization beam combiner configured to combine the first optical channel and the second optical channel to form a first pair of optical channels based on the first wavelength (the combination of Qian II discloses the use of a polarization beam combiner to combine the outputs of the two modulators of a single wavelength);
a second polarization beam combiner configured to combine the third optical channel and the fourth optical channel to form a second pair of optical channels based on the second wavelength (Qian discloses the second wavelength and the combination of Qian II would teach a second polarization beam combiner present in Fig. 1 to be part of the transmitter of the second wavelength of Qian).
While Qian II teaches the polarization beam combiner such that the system suggest two polarization states, however, to the text that the system does not explicitly disclose that within the transmitter, the two channels are based on use of a pair of polarizations on the wavelengths, Chien discloses an all optical AO-OFDM transmitter in fig. 1b, which discloses that there are optical transmitters for a plurality of channels, wherein a two-carrier case is depicted. The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, a polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) by using a multiplexer (MUX) or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) ¶ [0028], such that each wavelength is made up of two channels based on a pair of polarizations states.
Qian, Qian II, and Chien are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication using OFDM. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian II and Chien before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Chien to include the polarization beam splitter to generate a pair of polarized signals of Chien because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, generating orthogonally polarized signals to be transmitter and reduce interference.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian and Qian II as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Chien et al (herein Chien) US PG PUB 2014/0363159 and Chen (herein Chen) US PG PUB .
Re claim 26, Qian and Qian II disclose all the elements of claim 21, which claim 26 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian discloses wherein the transmitter includes:
a first laser configured to generate a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths;
a second laser configured to generate a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (Qian discloses two transmitters each with its own lasers that outs its own wavelength, Fig. 4).
Qian was combined with Qian II to disclose a first pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a first set of two optical channels which are based on use of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength (Qian discloses a second optical transmitter operating at a second wavelength wherein the combination with Qian II discloses that within the OFDM transmitter there exists two modulators such that there are a pair of modulators for the single optical signal or frequency from the local oscillator, Fig. 1),
a second pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a second set of two optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on the second wavelength (Qian discloses a second optical transmitter operating at a second wavelength wherein the combination with Qian II discloses that within the OFDM transmitter there exists two modulators such that there are a pair of modulators for the single optical signal or frequency from the local oscillator, Fig. 1).
Qian II discloses the use of a polarization beam combiner, such as to suggest multiple polarization states. However, Qian II does not explicitly state wherein the first set of two optical channels includes a first optical channel based on the first wavelength and a first polarization and a second optical channel based on the first wavelength and a second polarization or wherein the second set of two optical channels includes a third optical channel based on the second wavelength and the first polarization and a fourth optical channel based on the second wavelength and the second polarization.
However, Chien discloses an all optical AO-OFDM transmitter in fig. 1b, which discloses that there are optical transmitters for a plurality of channels, wherein a two-carrier case is depicted. The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, a polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) by using a multiplexer (MUX) or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) ¶ [0028], such that each wavelength is made up of two channels based on a pair of polarizations states.
Qian, Qian II, and Chien are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication using OFDM. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian II and Chien before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Chien to include the polarization beam splitter to generate a pair of polarized signals of Chien because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, generating orthogonally polarized signals to be transmitter and reduce interference.
Lastly, while Chien discloses the use of a polarization beam combiner, and after the use of the polarization maintaining optical combiner to combine the wavelengths each with their own polarization states. Chien does not explicitly disclose a first wavelength division multiplexer configured to combine the first optical channel and the third optical channel to form a first pair of optical channels based on the first polarization;
a second wavelength division multiplexer configured to combine the second optical channel and the fourth optical channel to form a second pair of optical channels based on the second polarization; and
a polarization beam combiner configured to combine the first pair of optical channels based on the first polarization and the second pair of optical channels based on the second polarization to form the optical signal including the set of optical channels.
However, Chen discloses the of transmitter wavelength multiplexers 214, of which there is a first and second wavelength division multiplexer, Fig. 2a, such that there is a first wavelength division multiplexed system and a second wavelength division multiplexed system. Additionally, Chen discloses after the wavelength multiplexer 214 there is a transmitter polarization combiner 216. n this example, transmitter polarization combiner 216 includes a polarization beam splitter (PBS) and polarization beam rotator (PBR) ¶ [0050].
Qian, Qian II, Chien, and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical transmission using polarization multiplexed signals. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chien and Chen before him or her, to modify the combination system of Chien to include the multiplexing of different wavelength signals and then combined later used a polarization combiner of Chen because it enables for the transmission of a coherent wavelength division multiplexed system.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian and Qian II as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Chien et al (herein Chien) US PG PUB 2014/0363159. and Umnov US PG PUB 2012/0183305.
Re claim 27, Qian and Qian II discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 22 is dependent. Furthermore, Qian and Qian II discloses wherein the transmitter includes:
a first optical channel generator (Qian closes a transmitter that generates a first wavelength) configured to generate a first pair of optical channels based on modulation of data onto the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (the combination of Qian and Qian II discloses the generation of a pair of optical channels on said wavelength, wherein Qian discloses a first data to be put on the first wavelength and Qian II discloses a method of modulation to perform direct detection to be combined).
a second optical channel generator (Qian discloses a transmitter that generates a second optical wavelength) configured to generate a second pair of optical channels based on modulation of data onto the pair of polarizations on a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (the combination of Qian and Qian II discloses the generation of a pair of optical channels on said wavelength, wherein Qian discloses a first data to be put on the second wavelength and Qian II discloses a method of modulation to perform direct detection to be combined).
While Qian II teaches the polarization beam combiner such that the system suggest two polarization states, however, to the text that the system does not explicitly disclose that within the transmitter, the two channels are based on use of a pair of polarizations on the wavelengths. However, Chien discloses an all optical AO-OFDM transmitter in fig. 1b, which discloses that there are optical transmitters for a plurality of channels, wherein a two-carrier case is depicted. The modulation format of each optical channel is dual-polarization m-QAM, i.e., modulating m-QAM signals independently on the x- and y-polarization of a wavelength, and as illustrated there are two optical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitters for channel 1 (Ch1) and 2 (Ch2), respectively. A typical dual-polarization m-QAM transmitter (Tx) consists of two IQ modulators (each composes of two nested Mach-Zehnder modulators (MZM) for modulating the x- and y-polarized lights, a polarization beam splitter (PBS), a polarization beam combiner (PBC), four drivers for the Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy driving signals, respectively, which are originally from a client signal, e.g., the information signal that is to be transmitted, and are separated into four tributaries (Ix, Qx, Iy, Qy) by using a multiplexer (MUX) or a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) ¶ [0028], such that each wavelength is made up of two channels based on a pair of polarizations states.
Qian, Qian II, and Chien are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical communication using OFDM. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian II and Chien before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Chien to include the polarization beam splitter to generate a pair of polarized signals of Chien because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, generating orthogonally polarized signals to be transmitter and reduce interference.
Lastly, the prior art does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to dynamically activate and deactivate the second optical channel generator for controlling generation of the second pair of optical channels.
However, Umnov discloses during monitoring of parameters other than dispersion (e.g., power, wavelength, OSA, OSNR, etc.), tunable transmitter 32 may be deactivated such that a test signal is not transmitted to allow for monitoring of the actual signal instead of a test signal. ¶ [0039].
Qian, Qian II, Chien, and , Umnov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical transmission systems with multiple wavelengths. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Qian, Qian II, Chien, and , Goto before him or her, to modify the device controller of Jia to include the ability to deactivate certain transmitters of Goto because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to manage other signals within the communication system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TANYA MOTSINGER
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/TANYA T MOTSINGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2635