DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 31-40 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II that is drawn to receive multiple signals with different polarization states, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/7/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al (herein Jia) US PG PUB 2017/0346568.
Re claim 21, Jia discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a transmitter configured to:
modulate data on a set of optical channels which is based on use of a pair of polarizations on each of one or more wavelengths (In some embodiments, each coherent trunk link of system 300 is based on a dual polarization quadrature phase shift keying ¶ [0038], which is a method of digital modulation that convey data by modulating the phase of a constant frequency carrier wave, and is performed upon two or dual polarization signals within this frequency carrier wave); and
propagate, via a passive optical network, an optical signal including the set of optical channels (system 300 implements a PON and a DWDM PON architecture ¶ [0030], such that a PON is a passive optical network, and the DWDM discloses a group or set of optical wavelengths or channels).
Re claim 28, Jia discloses the apparatus of claim 21, which claim 28 is dependent. Furthermore, Jia discloses wherein the apparatus comprises an optical line terminal (OLT) configured to be deployed in the passive optical network (the OHE includes an OLT 316 ¶ [0032], such that it is understood that the link system includes an OLT).
Re claim 29, Jia discloses the apparatus of claim 21, which claim 29 is dependent. Additionally, Jia discloses wherein the apparatus comprises an optical network unit (ONU) configured to be deployed in the passive optical network (units 308 may be, for example, an ONU ¶ [0029], such that the system includes an ONU).
Re claim 30, Jia discloses a method, comprising:
modulating data on a set of optical channels which is based on use of a pair of polarizations on each of one or more wavelengths (In some embodiments, each coherent trunk link of system 300 is based on a dual polarization quadrature phase shift keying ¶ [0038], which is a method of digital modulation that convey data by modulating the phase of a constant frequency carrier wave, and is performed upon two or dual polarization signals within this frequency carrier wave); and
propagating, via a passive optical network, an optical signal including the set of optical channels (system 300 implements a PON and a DWDM PON architecture ¶ [0030], such that a PON is a passive optical network, and the DWDM discloses a group or set of optical wavelengths or channels).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Rashidinejad et al (herein Rashidinejad) US PG PUB 2022/0021450.
Re claim 22, Jia discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 22 is dependent. Furthermore, while Jia discloses the dual polarization quadrature phase shift keying, but does not explicitly disclose the modulation structure that imparts said modulation. However, Rashidinejad wherein the transmitter is a polarization multiplexed or dual polarization modulated optical signal onto the optical fiber 140, wherein Fig. 4 discloses the details that the transmitter is configured to:
modulate data on a first optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a first polarization of the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (a light beam output from the laser 124 (also included in the optics block 112) is split such that a first portion of the light is supplied to a first MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-1 and 120-2 ¶ [0056] wherein the optical outputs of the MZMs 120-1 and 120-2 are combined to provide an X polarized optical signal including I and Q components and fed to a polarization beam combiner (PBC 132) provided in the optics block 112. ¶ [0059]);
modulate data on a second optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a second polarization of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (a second portion of the light is supplied to a second MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-3 and 120-4. ¶ [0056], wherein the outputs of the MZMs 120-3 and 120-4 are combined to provide an optical signal that is fed to a polarization rotator 136, further provided in the optics block 112, that rotates the polarization of such optical signal to provide a modulated optical signal having a Y (or TM) polarization ¶ [0059]) ); and
multiplex the first optical channel and the second optical channel to form the set of optical channels (The Y polarized modulated optical signal is also provided to a PBC 132, which combines the X and Y polarized modulated optical signals to provide a polarization multiplexed (“dual-pol”) modulated optical signal onto an optical fiber 140 ¶ [0059]).
Jia and Rashidinejad are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, dual polarization modulated signals. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia and Rashidinejad before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Jia to include the details of the transmitter of Rashidinejad because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to generate a dual polarized signals.
Re claim 23, Jia discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 23 is dependent. Furthermore, while Jia discloses the dual polarization quadrature phase shift keying, but does not explicitly disclose the modulation structure that imparts said modulation. However, Rashidinejad where the transmitter is a polarization multiplexed or dual polarization modulation optical signal onto the optical fiber 140, wherein Fig. 4 discloses the details of the transmitter including, wherein the transmitter includes:
a laser configured to generate the first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (Each of the MZMs 120-1 to 120-4 of the D/A and optics block 112 may be a Mach-Zehnder Modulator (MZM) that modulates the phase and/or amplitude of the light output from a laser 124 ¶ [0056], such that the optical signal inherently has a wavelength to be considered the first wavelength);
a first modulator configured to modulate data on a first optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a first polarization of the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (a light beam output from the laser 124 (also included in the optics block 112) is split such that a first portion of the light is supplied to a first MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-1 and 120-2 ¶ [0056] wherein the optical outputs of the MZMs 120-1 and 120-2 are combined to provide an X polarized optical signal including I and Q components and fed to a polarization beam combiner (PBC 132) provided in the optics block 112. ¶ [0059]);
a second modulator configured to modulate data on a second optical channel of the set of optical channels which is based on use of a second polarization of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (a second portion of the light is supplied to a second MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-3 and 120-4. ¶ [0056], wherein the outputs of the MZMs 120-3 and 120-4 are combined to provide an optical signal that is fed to a polarization rotator 136, further provided in the optics block 112, that rotates the polarization of such optical signal to provide a modulated optical signal having a Y (or TM) polarization ¶ [0059]) ); and
a polarization beam combiner configured to combine the first optical channel and the second optical channel to form the optical signal including the set of optical channels (The Y polarized modulated optical signal is also provided to a PBC 132, which combines the X and Y polarized modulated optical signals to provide a polarization multiplexed (“dual-pol”) modulated optical signal onto an optical fiber 140 ¶ [0059]).
Jia and Rashidinejad are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, dual polarization modulated signals. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia and Rashidinejad before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Jia to include the details of the transmitter of Rashidinejad because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to generate a dual polarized signals.
Re claim 24, Jia discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 24 is dependent. Furthermore, while Jia discloses the dual polarization quadrature phase shift keying, but does not explicitly disclose the modulation structure that imparts said modulation. However, Rashidinejad where the transmitter is a polarization multiplexed or dual polarization modulation optical signal onto the optical fiber 140, wherein Fig. 4 discloses the details of the transmitter is configured to:
modulate data onto a first pair of optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (a light beam output from the laser 124 (also included in the optics block 112) is split such that a first portion of the light is supplied to a first MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-1 and 120-2 ¶ [0056] The first portion of the light is further split into third and fourth portions, such that the third portion is modulated by the MZM 120-1 to provide an in-phase (I) component of an X (or TE) polarization component of a modulated optical signal, and the fourth portion is modulated by the MZM 120-2 and fed to a phase shifter 128-1 to shift the phase of such light by 90 degrees in order to provide a quadrature (Q) component of the X polarization component of the modulated optical signal ¶ [0057]);
modulate data onto a second pair of optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (a second portion of the light is supplied to a second MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-3 and 120-4. ¶ [0056] the second portion of the light is further split into fifth and sixth portions, such that the fifth portion is modulated by the MZM 120-3 to provide an I component of a Y (or TM) polarization component of the modulated optical signal, and the sixth portion is modulated by the MZM 120-4 and fed to a phase shifter 128-2 to shift the phase of such light by 90 degrees to provide a Q component of the Y polarization component of the modulated optical signal ¶ [0058]); and
multiplex the first pair of optical channels and the second pair of optical channels to form the set of optical channels (The Y polarized modulated optical signal is also provided to a PBC 132, which combines the X and Y polarized modulated optical signals to provide a polarization multiplexed (“dual-pol”) modulated optical signal onto an optical fiber 140 ¶ [0059]).
Jia and Rashidinejad are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, dual polarization modulated signals. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia and Rashidinejad before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Jia to include the details of the transmitter of Rashidinejad because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to generate a dual polarized signals.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Rashidinejad et al (herein Rashidinejad) US PG PUB 2022/0021450 and Goto et al (herein Goto) US PG PUB 2017/0014067.
Re claim 25, Jia discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 25 is dependent. Furthermore, while Jia discloses the dual polarization quadrature phase shift keying, but does not explicitly disclose the modulation structure that imparts said modulation. However, Rashidinejad where the transmitter is a polarization multiplexed or dual polarization modulation optical signal onto the optical fiber 140, wherein Fig. 4 discloses the details of the transmitter including, wherein the transmitter includes:
a first laser configured to generate a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (Each of the MZMs 120-1 to 120-4 of the D/A and optics block 112 may be a Mach-Zehnder Modulator (MZM) that modulates the phase and/or amplitude of the light output from a laser 124 ¶ [0056], such that the optical signal inherently has a wavelength to be considered the first wavelength);
a first pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a first set of two optical channels which are based on use of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength (modulations 120-3 and 120-3 are disclose which output a pair of polarizations on the same signal or wavelength), wherein the first set of two optical channels includes a first optical channel based on the first wavelength and a first polarization (also included in the optics block 112) is split such that a first portion of the light is supplied to a first MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-1 and 120-2 ¶ [0056] wherein the optical outputs of the MZMs 120-1 and 120-2 are combined to provide an X polarized optical signal including I and Q components and fed to a polarization beam combiner (PBC 132) provided in the optics block 112. ¶ [0059])and a second optical channel based on the first wavelength and a second polarization (a second portion of the light is supplied to a second MZM pairing including the MZMs 120-3 and 120-4. ¶ [0056], wherein the outputs of the MZMs 120-3 and 120-4 are combined to provide an optical signal that is fed to a polarization rotator 136, further provided in the optics block 112, that rotates the polarization of such optical signal to provide a modulated optical signal having a Y (or TM) polarization ¶ [0059]);
a first polarization beam combiner configured to combine the first optical channel and the second optical channel to form a first pair of optical channels based on the first wavelength (The Y polarized modulated optical signal is also provided to a PBC 132, which combines the X and Y polarized modulated optical signals to provide a polarization multiplexed (“dual-pol”) modulated optical signal onto an optical fiber 140 ¶ [0059]);
Jia and Rashidinejad are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, dual polarization modulated signals. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia and Rashidinejad before him or her, to modify the optical transmitter of Jia to include the details of the transmitter of Rashidinejad because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to generate a dual polarized signals.
Rashidinejad does not explicitly disclose the operation of the additional wavelength within the transmitter to also send a DP-QPSK signal, such that it includes
a second laser configured to generate a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths;
a second pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a second set of two optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on the second wavelength, wherein the second set of two optical channels includes a third optical channel based on the second wavelength and the first polarization and a fourth optical channel based on the second wavelength and the second polarization;
a second polarization beam combiner configured to combine the third optical channel and the fourth optical channel to form a second pair of optical channels based on the second wavelength; and
a wavelength division multiplexer configured to multiplex the first pair of optical channels based on the first wavelength and the second pair of optical channels based on the second wavelength to form the optical signal including the set of optical channels.
However, Goto discloses an optical transmission method wavelength multiplex and transmit multiple channels, wherein the optical transmission device 1000, includes a plurality of optical transmitting/receiving units 1100-1 to 1100-N ¶ [0053], wherein the optical transmitting/receiving unit 1100-i includes an optical transmitter 1110-i, wherein the i denotes an index for an optical carrier ¶ [0055], such that one transmitter operates at a different optical carrier than then other.
Jia, Rashidinejad, and Goto are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical transmission of WDM systems and dual polarization modulation methods. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia, Rashidinejad, and Goto before him or her, to modify the transmitter system of Jia and Rashidinejad to include the multiple transmitters operating at multiple wavelengths of Goto because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to transmitter DP-QPSK signals along multiple wavelengths.
Furthermore, as a result of the combination of Jia, Rashidinejad, and Goto would result in a second laser configured to generate a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths, a second pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a second set of two optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on the second wavelength, wherein the second set of two optical channels includes a third optical channel based on the second wavelength and the first polarization and a fourth optical channel based on the second wavelength and the second polarization, a second polarization beam combiner configured to combine the third optical channel and the fourth optical channel to form a second pair of optical channels based on the second wavelength as the combination would result in a duplication of the circuit disclosed in Rashidinejad operating at a different wavelength as the first as there are optical transmitter that operate a different wavelength according to Goto.
Additionally, Goto discloses a wavelength division multiplexer configured to multiplex the first pair of optical channels based on the first wavelength and the second pair of optical channels based on the second wavelength to form the optical signal including the set of optical channels (The optical multiplexer 1200 multiplexes the respective optical signals input from the optical transmitters 1110-1 to 1110-N, and outputs it to the optical transmission section 2100 ¶[0075], wherein The polarization-multiplexing I/Q optical modulator 54 modulates the non-modulated light input from the light source 53 by using the amplified digital or analog electrical signal input from the modulator driver 54, and outputs it to an external unit (the optical multiplexer 1200) ¶ [0074], such that the pairs of polarization signals would be wavelength multiplexed).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Winzer US PG PUB 2021/0376950 and Chen et al (herein Chen) US PG PUB 2025/0158720.
Re claim 26, Jia discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 26 is dependent. Furthermore, Jia discloses an DP-QPSK signals on WDM signals. Additionally, Winzer discloses
a first laser configured to generate a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths;
a second laser configured to generate a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths (the transmit module 600 may receive light from optical port 24 of the optical power supply 290 contained within the optical power supply module 103 via optical interface 510 ¶ [0114] in the embodiment of optical power supply 290 shown in FIG. 4E, two laser sources 410 and 420 may emit polarized light at different respective wavelengths λ1 and λ2 ¶ [0105]);
a first pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a first set of two optical channels which are based on use of the pair of polarizations on the first wavelength, wherein the first set of two optical channels includes a first optical channel based on the first wavelength and a first polarization and a second optical channel based on the first wavelength and a second polarization (polarization splitter 515 may split light incident on its input port into transversal-magnetic (TM) and transversal-electric (TE) polarizations at its two outputs 516 and 517, respectively ¶ [0111] and an optical splitter 620 may be constructed, e.g., as known in the pertinent art, using one or more of: optical power splitters, wavelength splitters, and spatial-distribution splitters, such as spatial-mode splitters or multi-core-fiber fanouts ¶[0114], such that the output from the combination of the optical splitter would that of one form of polarization state, and then additionally split amongst multiple wavelength, such that the system has optical modulators of the first wavelength along two polarizations);
a second pair of modulators configured to modulate data onto a second set of two optical channels which is based on use of the pair of polarizations on the second wavelength, wherein the second set of two optical channels includes a third optical channel based on the second wavelength and the first polarization and a fourth optical channel based on the second wavelength and the second polarization (polarization splitter 515 may split light incident on its input port into transversal-magnetic (TM) and transversal-electric (TE) polarizations at its two outputs 516 and 517, respectively ¶ [0111] and an optical splitter 620 may be constructed, e.g., as known in the pertinent art, using one or more of: optical power splitters, wavelength splitters, and spatial-distribution splitters, such as spatial-mode splitters or multi-core-fiber fanouts ¶[0114], such that the output from the combination of the optical splitter would that of one form of polarization state, and then additionally split amongst multiple wavelength, such that the system has optical modulators of the first wavelength along two polarizations).
Jia and Winzer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical transmission system with polarization multiplexed signals. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia and Winzer before him or her, to modify the optical transmission system of Jia to include the multiple signals to be transmitted to be dual polarized signals of Jia and Winzer because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to modulate the different polarization on multiple wavelengths.
Additionally, Winzer discloses modulated light on modulator outputs 532 may be multiplexed in wavelength, polarization, or spatial distribution of the optical field using one or more multiplexers 624 to generate one or more optical multiplexed signals 652. ¶ [0120]. However, Winzer does not explicitly disclose a first wavelength division multiplexer configured to combine the first optical channel and the third optical channel to form a first pair of optical channels based on the first polarization;
a second wavelength division multiplexer configured to combine the second optical channel and the fourth optical channel to form a second pair of optical channels based on the second polarization; and
a polarization beam combiner configured to combine the first pair of optical channels based on the first polarization and the second pair of optical channels based on the second polarization to form the optical signal including the set of optical channels.
However, Chen discloses the of transmitter wavelength multiplexers 214, of which there is a first and second wavelength division multiplexer, Fig. 2a, such that there is a first wavelength division multiplexed system and a second wavelength division multiplexed system. Additionally, Chen discloses after the wavelength multiplexer 214 there is a transmitter polarization combiner 216. n this example, transmitter polarization combiner 216 includes a polarization beam splitter (PBS) and polarization beam rotator (PBR) ¶ [0050].
Winzer, Jia, and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical transmission using polarization multiplexed signals. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Winzer and Chen before him or her, to modify the multiplexer of Winzer to include the multiplexing of different wavelength signals and then combined later used a polarization combiner of Chen because it enables for the transmission of a coherent wavelength division multiplexed system.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Umnov US PG PUB 2012/0183305.
Re claim 27, Jia discloses all the elements of claim 21, which claim 27 is dependent. Furthermore, Jai discloses a plurality of transceivers 338, Fig. 3, and wherein each coherent trunk link of system 300 is based on dual-polarization quadrature phase-shift keying (DP-QPSK) ¶ [0038], such that there are a plurality of transceivers transmitting dual polarization signals. However, the details of a first optical channel generator configured to generate a first pair of optical channels based on modulation of data onto the pair of polarizations on a first wavelength of the one or more wavelengths or a second optical channel generator configured to generate a second pair of optical channels based on modulation of data onto the pair of polarizations on a second wavelength of the one or more wavelengths. However, Goto discloses an optical transmission device 1000, wherein the device includes a multiple (N) optical transmitter/receiving units 1100-1 to 1100-N, wherein N denotes the number of multiplexed optical carriers ¶ [0053], such that these transmitter are operating on different wavelengths. Additionally, Goto discloses that optical transmitters 1110-i includes an optical signal generator 18 ¶ [0056], wherein Fig. 6 discloses an internal configuration of the optical signal generator 18 and includes a polarization multiplexed I/Q optical modulator 54 ¶ [0056] such that each of these transmitters operate at their own wavelength and are capable of output a polarization multiplexed signals on each wavelength, such that they output a pair of polarizations.
Jia and Goto are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical transmission systems. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia and Goto before him or her, to modify the transceivers of Jia to include the transmitters operating at different wavelengths of Goto because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, in this case, enables the production of qual polarization QPSK signals.
Furthermore, Goto discloses the device controller 1400 that control the entire optical transmission device. ¶ [0097], wherein the device controller 1400 determines channel numbers of the respective channels and notifies the data pattern controller 15 for the respective channels i of the channel number of the respective channels ¶ [0099], but does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to dynamically activate and deactivate the second optical channel generator for controlling generation of the second pair of optical channels. However, Umnov discloses during monitoring of parameters other than dispersion (e.g., power, wavelength, OSA, OSNR, etc.), tunable transmitter 32 may be deactivated such that a test signal is not transmitted to allow for monitoring of the actual signal instead of a test signal. ¶ [0039].
Jia, Goto, and Umnov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical transmission systems with multiple wavelengths. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jia, Goto, and Umnov before him or her, to modify the device controller of Jia to include the ability to deactivate certain transmitters of Umnov because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to manage and monitor other signals within the communication system.
Conclusion
TANYA MOTSINGER
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/TANYA T MOTSINGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2635