DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 8 and 10. Claim 9 is cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikarashi et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0055077 A1) in view of Park (KR 20090110632 A), Hiroshi (CN107871684 A) and Eum et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0163900 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Ikarashi teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0002]) comprising: a stage (stage, 31) on which a substrate (substrate, S; Fig. 7) is placed; a support unit (wafer hold stage, 13) configured to support the substrate (S); and a cleaning unit (Fig. 7) configured to spray a dual fluid to clean the substrate (Paragraph [0126]); wherein the cleaning unit (Fig. 7) comprises: a spray nozzle (first and second nozzles, 101 and 102) comprising a spray hole (blowout openings, 101b and 102b) opened toward the stage (Fig. 7) and configured to spray a dual fluid through the spray hole (Fig. 7); a cover (cleaning head, 91) that comprises an inlet (105b), and that is spaced apart from the spray nozzle (101 and 102) by a predetermined distance (Fig. 7); and an air flow passage (105) formed in a space between the cover and the spray nozzle (Fig. 7) and through which air sucked from the inlet flows (Paragraph [0072]).
Ikarashi does not explicitly teach a support unit configured to rotate the substrate.
Park, however, teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus (subtract processing device, 100) comprising: a stage (Annotated Fig. 3) on which a substrate (substrate, W) is placed; a support unit (substrate support and rotation mechanism, 110) configured to support the substrate and to rotate the substrate (Fig. 3; Page 6); and a cleaning unit (Annotated Fig. 3) configured to spray a dual fluid to clean the substrate (Translation Page 7); wherein the cleaning unit comprises: a spray nozzle (two-fluid nozzle, 120) opened toward the stage (Annotated Fig. 3) and configured to spray a dual fluid through the spray hole (Translation Page 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ikarashi to further include a support unit configured to rotate the substrate, as taught by Park, to provide a cleaning where the cleaning time is reduced and ensures a uniform cleaning.
Ikarashi does not teach a cover that comprises an inlet surrounding at least a partial area of an outer circumferential surface of the spray hole; wherein the stage comprises an outlet that is disposed in a direction surrounding the substrate disposed on the support unit and is configured to suck air from the stage, and an area of the inlet is smaller than an area surrounded by the outlet.
Hiroshi, however, teaches a cover (61) that comprises an inlet (61c) surrounding at least a partial area of an outer circumferential surface of the spray hole (spray hole of 61a; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include an inlet surrounding at least a partial area of an outer circumferential surface of the spray hole, as taught by Hiroshi, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04).
Eum, further, teaches a cover (3840; Figs. 11 and 12) that comprises an inlet (Annotated Fig. 12) surrounding at least a partial area of an outer circumferential surface of the spray hole (3722), wherein the stage (directly under W; Fig. 13) comprises an outlet (exhaust space, 1248 with outlet, 3762) that is disposed in a direction surrounding the substrate (W; Fig. 13) disposed on the support unit (20) and is configured to suck air from the stage (Paragraph [0143] and Fig. 13), and an area of the inlet is smaller than an area surrounded by the outlet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include the stage comprises an outlet that is disposed in a direction surrounding the substrate disposed on the support unit and is configured to suck air from the stage, as taught by Eum, to provide a disposal of contaminated air, thus reducing pollutants.
Regarding Claim 2, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ikarashi does not teach the inlet surrounds an entire outer circumferential surface of the spray hole.
Hiroshi, however, teaches the inlet (61c) surrounds an entire outer circumferential surface of the spray hole (spray hole of 61a; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include the inlet surrounds an entire outer circumferential surface of the spray hole, as taught by Hiroshi, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 3, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ikarashi does not teach the substrate cleaning apparatus wherein the inlet is disposed relatively closer to the stage than the spray hole.
Hiroshi, however, teaches the inlet (61c) is disposed relatively closer to the stage (22) than the spray hole (spray hole of 61a; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include the inlet is disposed relatively closer to the stage than the spray hole, as taught by Hiroshi, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 4, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ikarashi does not teach the cover comprises a distal end portion extending to a position closer to the stage than the spray nozzle.
Hiroshi, however, teaches the cover (61) comprises a distal end portion (Annotated Fig. 5) extending to a position closer to the stage (22) than the spray nozzle (61a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include the cover comprises a distal end portion extending to a position closer to the stage than the spray nozzle, as taught by Hiroshi, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 5, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ikarashi does not explicitly teach the cleaning unit comprises: a gas line connected to the spray nozzle and configured to supply gas to the spray nozzle; and a liquid line connected to the spray nozzle and configured to supply de-ionized water (DIW) to the spray nozzle
Park, however, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (subtract processing device, 100) wherein the cleaning unit comprises: a gas line (via gas control unit, 151) connected to the spray nozzle (120) and configured to supply gas to the spray nozzle (120; Translation page 11) and a liquid line (via liquid control unit, 152) connected to the spray nozzle (120) and configured to supply de-ionized water (DIW) to the spray nozzle (120; Translation page 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include the cover comprises a distal end portion extending to a position closer to the stage than the spray nozzle, as taught by Park, to provide efficient gas and liquid mixing to enhance the cleaning of the substrate.
Regarding Claim 6, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ikarashi does not explicitly teach the cover comprises: a through hole through which the gas line and the liquid line pass; and a sealing member provided in the through hole.
Park, however, teaches the cover (54) comprises: a through hole (57 and 60) through which the gas line and the liquid line pass (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include a through hole through which the gas line and the liquid line pass, as taught by Park, to provide efficient gas and liquid mixing to enhance the cleaning of the substrate.
Park does not explicitly teach a sealing member provided in the through hole; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include the cover comprises a distal end portion extending to a position closer to the stage than the spray nozzle, as taught by Hiroshi, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 10, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the stage (31) comprises a guard ring (52; Fig. 9) surrounding the substrate (S) disposed on the support unit (13) and extending to an upper part of the stage (Fig. 9).
Claims 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikarashi et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0055077 A1) in view of Park (KR 20090110632 A), Hiroshi (CN107871684 A) and Lee (KR 20190077921 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ikarashi does not explicitly teach a chamber configured to accommodate the stage in the chamber.
Lee, however, teaches a chamber configured to accommodate the stage (122) in the chamber (Paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include a chamber configured to accommodate the stage in the chamber, as taught by Lee, to provide a cleaning in a sealed environment, thus preventing the influx of external particles and ensuring a quality cleaning.
Regarding Claim 8, Ikarashi, as modified, teaches the substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ikarashi does not explicitly teach the cleaning unit is configured to pass air sucked through the inlet through the air flow passage and discharge air to an outside of the chamber.
Lee, however, teaches the cleaning unit is configured to pass air sucked through the inlet through the air flow passage and discharge air to an outside of the chamber (Paragraphs [0011], [0051] and [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover to include the cleaning unit is configured to pass air sucked through the inlet through the air flow passage and discharge air to an outside of the chamber, as taught by Lee, to provide a cleaning in a sealed environment, thus preventing the influx of external particles and ensuring a quality cleaning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated June 9, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues that unexpected effects of the inlet rea is smaller than the area surrounding the outlet and that the references fail to teach the limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Eum teaches the limitations as claimed and as rejected above.
Contact Information
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723