DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the direction of engagement between the inner-side engaging piece and the outer-side engaging piece, and the direction of engagement between the engaging groove and the engaging claw, as required by claims 1 and 11; and the first and second directions, as required by claim 13, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) because section/enlarged view lines in drawings should refer to the view number of the sectional view where it is shown. Accordingly Figure 9A should have section line 9B—9B and 9C—9C. See also Figures 8A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 requires a second direction (of restriction/engagement) being opposite to the first direction. However, this appears contrary to the directions of engagement “intersecting” as required by claim 1, from which claim 13 depends.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the relationship between the direction of engagement of the inner side engaging piece and the outer side engaging piece (claim 1) and the second direction (claim 13); and the relationship between the direction of engagement between the engaging claw (claim 1) and the engaging groove and the first direction (claim 13). While the specification does not specifically mentions any of those directions, it appears that they refer to the same directions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (JP-2002 359042, cited on IDS) in view of Nagao (US JP-2014 112497, cited on IDS) and Hotta et al. (US 2018/0241051).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a joint connector formed by stacking connector cases each accommodating a connection terminal, wherein the connector cases each comprise: a main plate part (11a, 11b) configured to hold the connection terminal, and a pair of side plate parts (11c, 11d) perpendicular to the main plate part and parallel to each other, an inner-side surface of a distal end portion, distal to the main plate part of each of the pair of side plate parts is provided with an engaging claw (15) protruding in a direction toward an opposing side plate part of the pair of side plate parts, an outer-side surface of a proximal end portion, proximal to the main plate part of each of the pair of side plate parts is provided with an engaging groove (13) recessed in a direction toward the opposing side plate part, and the connector cases are stacked with the engaging claws of one of the connector cases and the engaging grooves of another of the connector cases engaged with each other, respectively (see Figs. 2 and 3).
Nagao discloses an inner-side plate (not labeled, between two 6 in Fig. 4b) parallel to the side plate parts is provided at an inner-side surface of the main plate part, an outer-side plate (16) perpendicular to the side plate parts is provided at an outer-side surface of the main plate part, and the connector cases are stacked with one side end face of the inner-side plate of one of the connector cases and an opposite side flat surface of the outer-side plate of another of the connector cases being in contact with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use inner plates and outer side-plates, as taught by Nagao, in order to properly separate and hold multiple terminals.
Hotta teaches that an inner-side engaging piece (122/124) protruding toward one side in a direction along the main plate and the side plate parts (D2/D3 Fig. 3) provided at the one side end face of the inner-side plate, an outer-side engaging piece (121B) protruding toward the other side in a direction along the main plate and the side plate parts (D2/D3 Fig. 3) is provided at the other side flat surface of the outer-side plate, and the connector cases stacked with the inner-side engaging piece of one of the connector cases and the outer-side engaging piece of another of the connector cases engaged with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use engaging pieces, as taught by Hotta, in order to provide a more secure fitting of the terminals and cases.
Please note that the combination of Yamamoto and Hotta results on a direction of engagement (V in Figure 8 of Yamamoto) between the inner-side engaging piece and the outer-side engaging piece intersects a direction of engagement (D2 in Figures 1-4 of Hotta) between the engaging groove and the engaging claw.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto discloses the engaging claw, at the distal end portion of each of the side plate parts, between one side end face and a middle portion in a direction along the main plate part and the side plate parts, the engaging groove is provided, at the proximal end portion of each of the side plate parts, between the one side end face and the middle portion in the direction along the main plate part and the side plate parts, and the connector cases are stacked with opposite side end faces of the engaging claws of one of the connector cases and opposite side end faces of the engaging grooves of another of the connector cases being in contact with each other, respectively (Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto discloses an extension portion comprising the engaging claw, at the distal end portion of each of the side plate parts, between one side end face and a middle portion in a direction along the main plate part and the side plate parts, a stepped portion comprising the engaging groove is provided, at the proximal end portion of each of the side plate parts, between the one side end face and the middle portion in the direction along the main plate part and the side plate parts, and the connector cases are stacked with opposite side end faces of the extension portions of one of the connector cases and opposite side end faces of the stepped portions of another of the connector cases being in contact with each other, respectively (Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto discloses a plurality of the connection terminals accommodated in each of the connector cases in parallel with a direction from one side to an opposite side, and the inner-side plate that is non-conductive is arranged between two adjacent connection terminals of the plurality of connection terminals and along the connection terminals (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto discloses an inner-side surface of each of the side plate parts is provided with a widened portion (at 12b) protruding in the direction toward the opposing side plate part, and a distal end face of the widened portion is opposed to the engaging claw or the engaging groove with the distal end face of the widened portion being in parallel with and at a constant interval from the engaging claw or the engaging groove (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto discloses an outer-side surface of each of the side plate parts is provided with a protrusion portion (17-19) protruding in the direction away from the opposing side plate part, and each of the protrusion portions in the connector cases stacked constitutes a guide passage for a band clamp (intended use).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto discloses a wire (W) connected to the connection terminal of each of the connector cases constituting the joint connector.
Regarding claim 11, Yamamoto discloses a connector case configured to accommodate a connection terminal, the connector case comprising: a main plate part (11a, 11b) configured to hold the connection terminal; and a pair of side plate parts (11c, 11d) perpendicular to the main plate part and parallel to each other, wherein an inner-side surface of a distal end portion of each of the pair of side plate parts is provided with an engaging claw (15) protruding in a direction toward an opposing side plate part of the pair of side plate parts, and an outer-side surface of a proximal end portion of each of the pair of side plate parts is provided with an engaging groove (13) recessed in the direction toward the opposing side plate part.
Nagao discloses an inner-side plate (not labeled, between two 6 in Fig. 4b) parallel to the side plate parts is provided at an inner-side surface of the main plate part, an outer-side plate (16) perpendicular to the side plate parts is provided at an outer-side surface of the main plate part, and the connector cases are stacked with one side end face of the inner-side plate of one of the connector cases and an opposite flat surface of the outer-side plate of another of the connector cases being in contact with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use inner plates and outer side-plates, as taught by Nagao, in order to properly separate and hold multiple terminals.
Hotta teaches that an inner-side engaging piece (122) protruding toward one side in a direction along the main plate and the side plate parts (D2/D3 Fig. 3)is provided at the one side end face of the inner-side plate, an outer-side engaging piece (121B) protruding toward an opposite side in a direction along the main plate and the side plate parts (D2/D3 Fig. 3)is provided at the flat surface of the outer-side plate, and the connector cases stacked with the inner-side engaging piece of one of the connector cases and the outer-side engaging piece of another of the connector cases engaged with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use engaging pieces, as taught by Hotta, in order to provide a more secure fitting of the terminals and cases.
Please note that the combination of Yamamoto and Hotta results on a direction of engagement (V in Figure 8 of Yamamoto) between the inner-side engaging piece and the outer-side engaging piece intersects a direction of engagement (D2 in Figures 1-4 of Hotta) between the engaging groove and the engaging claw.
Regarding claim 12, Hotta teaches the inner-side engaging piece and the outer-side engaging piece are arranged at a middle portion in the direction along the main plate part and the side plate parts (along 3D, Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Yamamoto, as modified, discloses opposite side end faces of the engaging claws and the engaging grooves are configured to restrict movement of the connector cases in a first direction along the main plate part and the side plate parts, and engagement between the inner-side engaging piece and the outer-side engaging piece is configured to restrict movement of the connector cases in a second direction opposite (different/perpendicular) to the first direction along the main plate part and the side plate parts.
Regarding claim 14, Yamamoto discloses the side plate parts and the main plate part define an internal space that is open (at 20, Fig. 3) on a side opposite to the main plate part.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto, Nagao and Hotta, and further in view of Komiyama (US 7,186,151).
Regarding claim 10, Komiyama teaches the use of a wire on at least one side being a flexible flat cable (2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a number of known wires/cables, such as a flexible flat cable, in order to expedite connection to the terminals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833