DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-21-2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Independent claims 1, 5, and 13 have been amended.
There are no new claims.
No claims have been canceled.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allport (US 20100312917 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Allport discloses, one or more processors (Allport: [0074] The computer system 900 includes any number of processors); and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Allport: [0059] computer readable media that include program instructions) storing instructions (Allport: [0059] computer readable media that include program instructions), which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to: receive an operator input to control a plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0041] The core unit 210 may also include a control unit 240 that exchanges information with external devices, such as an input device 190 (shown in FIG. 3). This can provide, for example, various functions for controlling assets through a joystick or other input device. The control unit can be configured, based on particular scripts, to recognize certain inputs and associate them with particular vehicle, payload or sensor controls ... [0042] The detecting unit 250 can be used to detect modules that are associated with the core unit. In exemplary embodiments this may include initializing a recognition sequence on start-up or other designated schedule. It may also be initiated on user command, or in response to received communication, such as from a newly installed module. The detecting unit 250 provides flexibility in adding additional modules, or features to modules, in operation, with minimal time, and reconfiguration of the core unit 210 itself); map the operator input to a plurality of common control data streams (Allport: [0013] Other aspects of the present subject matter may include recognizing/detecting, and configuring the system for, unknown vehicles, subscriptions for designated feeds to the remote assets, assigning input channels and parameters to feeds from the remote assets, remote asset control functions, sensor functions, sensor feeds, control link, and asset tracking; [0016] The core unit may also include a control unit that exchanges information with an input device; a detecting unit that detects modules that are associated with the core unit; a subscription unit that logs parameters associated with the detected modules and determines types of data to send to the detected units based on the parameters; a script unit that receives and implements command and control scripts for the detected modules; and a display output that provides display information to display a combined representation of information from the detected modules and map information, including locations of the vehicles and sensors under control and the estimated location of the indeterminate object; [0041] The control unit can be configured, based on particular scripts, to recognize certain inputs and associate them with particular vehicle, payload or sensor controls; [0043-0046] The subscription unit 260 may log parameters associated with the detected modules and determine types of data to send to the detected units based on the parameters ... The script unit 270 may download, receive and implement command and control scripts for the detected modules and associated assets. A script may be understood as a file containing a list of commands, allowing them to be invoked once to execute in sequence, or, more broadly in the sense of a script language which is a set of commands or programming language that controls an application ... [0046] The script unit 270 may receive the scripts from a variety of sources. For example, the asset itself may provide the script needed to control it and/or associated payload via the module 120. Alternatively, the asset may provide a script identifier, which is an identifier typically with less data content than the full script, which allows the command system 100 to acquire the script, such as from another network location 194 or local memory. The use of a script identifier can provide several benefits in the context of the present subject matter, such as separating the script needed to control an asset from communications emanating from the asset. That is, instead of the asset communicating the script itself, which could potentially be intercepted and decrypted (if encrypted), the script identifier is only useful to those that have access to the actual script that is identified. Thus, a simple script identifier can be transmitted unencrypted to establish the control protocol, which may be more reliable and robust, and even more secure, than sending encrypted control scripts. Script identifiers may also provide benefits in low-bandwidth communications by minimizing the amount of data that must be transmitted between the asset and the command station; [0073] The display may also be responsive to user commands that alter the display with respect to a particular asset, target, or other object. For example, the format of the display may be changed to present information that is particularly relevant to the type of asset under control and the current circumstances, e.g. altitude and topography for low-flying UAVs, or depth and underwater topography for AUVs that are close to shore. Such display changes may be beneficially used to avoid information overload as previously discussed) wherein each data stream of the plurality of common control data streams is mapped to a corresponding vehicle type for each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [ABS] The asset tracking module estimates a location of an indeterminate object. A control unit exchanges information with an input device. A detecting unit detects modules that are associated with the core unit. A subscription unit logs parameters associated with the detected modules and determines types of data to send to the detected units based on the parameters. A script unit receives and implements command and control scripts for the detected modules; [0016] a subscription unit that logs parameters associated with the detected modules and determines types of data to send to the detected units based on the parameters; a script unit that receives and implements command and control scripts for the detected modules; [0043] The subscription unit 260 may log parameters associated with the detected modules and determine types of data to send to the detected units based on the parameters. For example, as depicted in FIG. 4, multiple UV modules 120 and sensor modules 140 may be detected by the detecting unit. The UVs 170 associated with the various UV modules 120 may be of different types, such as UAVs, UUVs etc. Likewise, the various sensors 180 associated with the different sensor modules 140 do not require, or provide, the same information as the UVs; [0063]; [0073] the format of the display may be changed to present information that is particularly relevant to the type of asset under control and the current circumstances, e.g. altitude and topography for low-flying UAVs, or depth and underwater topography for AUVs that are close to shore; [Claim 1]); determine, based on the plurality of common control data streams for the plurality of vehicles, a plurality of sets of multiple movement control models for controlling the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0010] The types of assets may include, ground elements, such as infantry units, ground vehicles, piloted aircraft, boats, and UVs. Each type of asset may have different significance with respect to a particular asset under control. Thus, it would be helpful to identify new ways to selectively screen out the display of assets of less significance to those assets under control of a particular command and control system; [0016] a subscription unit that logs parameters associated with the detected modules and determines types of data to send to the detected units based on the parameters; a script unit that receives and implements command and control scripts for the detected modules; [0023] validate commands on a control side against limits of the vehicle or sensor under control, the limits received from the vehicle or sensor), wherein each set of multiple movement control models is associated with a corresponding vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0023] validate commands on a control side against limits of the vehicle or sensor under control, the limits received from the vehicle or sensor; [0043] The UVs 170 associated with the various UV modules 120 may be of different types, such as UAVs, UUVs etc), and wherein each movement control model (Allport: [ABS] A script unit receives and implements command and control scripts for the detected modules; [0018] Embodiments may include wherein the script unit is configured to download a script identifier from a vehicle or sensor detected by the system, and retrieve a script based on the script identifier; [0023] validate commands on a control side against limits of the vehicle or sensor under control, the limits received from the vehicle or sensor) of the plurality of sets of the multiple movement control models (Allport: [0023] validate commands on a control side against limits of the vehicle or sensor under control, the limits received from the vehicle or sensor; [0041] The control unit can be configured, based on particular scripts, to recognize certain inputs and associate them with particular vehicle, payload or sensor controls) translates commands into movement instructions for corresponding vehicles (Allport: [0018] Embodiments may include wherein the script unit is configured to download a script identifier from a vehicle or sensor detected by the system, and retrieve a script based on the script identifier. The script may be implemented by one of the command and control modules to control or monitor the vehicle or sensor; [0041] The control unit can be configured, based on particular scripts, to recognize certain inputs and associate them with particular vehicle, payload or sensor controls); determine, for a first vehicle of the plurality of vehicles, a first movement control model of a plurality of movement control models for executing a command for a first data stream of the plurality of common control data streams (Allport: [0010] The types of assets may include, ground elements, such as infantry units, ground vehicles, piloted aircraft, boats, and UVs. Each type of asset may have different significance with respect to a particular asset under control. Thus, it would be helpful to identify new ways to selectively screen out the display of assets of less significance to those assets under control of a particular command and control system; [0016] a subscription unit that logs parameters associated with the detected modules and determines types of data to send to the detected units based on the parameters; a script unit that receives and implements command and control scripts for the detected modules; [0023] validate commands on a control side against limits of the vehicle or sensor under control, the limits received from the vehicle or sensor); translate, using the first movement control model, the first data stream into a set of movement instructions for the first vehicle (Allport: [0045] Scripts may be tailored to the remote asset under control, and to specific modules. For example, based on different data requirements, a data exchange may be tailored to capabilities … [0046] The use of a script identifier can provide several benefits in the context of the present subject matter, such as separating the script needed to control an asset from communications emanating from the asset ... Thus, a simple script identifier can be transmitted unencrypted to establish the control protocol, which may be more reliable and robust, and even more secure, than sending encrypted control scripts); and transmit the set of movement instructions to the first vehicle (Allport: [0044] The script unit 270 may download, receive and implement command and control scripts for the detected modules and associated assets. A script may be understood as a file containing a list of commands, allowing them to be invoked once to execute in sequence, or, more broadly in the sense of a script language which is a set of commands or programming language that controls an application. Scripts are often considered to be distinct from programs, which execute independently from other applications. In the context of UVs, a script may provide, for example, a range of commands, control parameters).
Allport does not explicitly recite the terminology “mapping” or “translate, using the first movement control model, the command into a set of movement instructions for the vehicle; and transmit the set of movement instructions to the vehicle”. However, Allport discloses tailored scripts for specific assets for controlling and commanding assets (“UV’s”, aerial, ground, submersible) based upon movement type, monitoring capabilities (sensors), and payloads ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046]). In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, the control unit 240, based upon inputs, will “map” a particular script to a particular vehicle based upon sensor types and payloads (see at least ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046])).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tailored scripts for control and command disclosed by Allport. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control/command associated assets.
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Allport discloses, receiving an operator input to control a plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0041-0042]); mapping the operator input to a plurality of common control data streams (Allport: [0013]; [0016]; [0041]; [0043-0046]; [0073]) wherein each data stream of the plurality of common control data streams is mapped to a corresponding vehicle type for each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [ABS]; [0016]; [0043]; [0063]; [0073]; [Claim 1]); determining, based on the plurality of common control data streams for the plurality of vehicles, a plurality of sets of multiple movement control models for controlling the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0010]; [0016]; [0023]), wherein each set of multiple movement control models is associated with a corresponding vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0023]; [0043]), and wherein each movement control model (Allport: [ABS]; [0018]; [0023]) of the plurality of sets of the multiple movement control models (Allport: [0023]; [0041]) translates commands into movement instructions for corresponding vehicles (Allport: [0018]; [0041]); determining, based on the operator input, one or more movement control models of a plurality of movement control models for executing a command for a first data stream of the plurality of common control data streams (Allport: [0010]; [0016]; [0023]); translating, using the one or more movement control models, the command into a set of movement instructions for a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0045-0046]); and transmitting the set of movement instructions to the vehicle (Allport: [0044]).
Allport does not explicitly recite the terminology “mapping” or “translate, using the first movement control model, the command into a set of movement instructions for the vehicle; and transmit the set of movement instructions to the vehicle”. However, Allport discloses tailored scripts for specific assets for controlling and commanding assets (“UV’s”, aerial, ground, submersible) based upon movement type, monitoring capabilities (sensors), and payloads ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046]). In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, the control unit 240, based upon inputs, will “map” a particular script to a particular vehicle based upon sensor types and payloads (see at least ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046])).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tailored scripts for control and command disclosed by Allport. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control/command associated assets.
REGARDING CLAIM 6, remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Allport also discloses, determining, for the vehicle, a communication protocol for communicating with the vehicle (Allport: [0046]); and formatting the set of movement instructions according to the communication protocol (Allport: [0046]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Allport discloses, receiving an operator input to control a plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0041-0042]); mapping the operator input to a plurality of common control data streams (Allport: [0013]; [0016]; [0041]; [0043-0046]; [0073]) wherein each data stream of the plurality of common control data streams is mapped to a corresponding vehicle type for each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [ABS]; [0043]; [0063]; [0073]; [Claim 1]); determining, based on the plurality of common control data streams for the plurality of vehicles, a plurality of sets of multiple movement control models for controlling the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0010]; [0016]; [0023]), wherein each set of multiple movement control models is associated with a corresponding vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0023]; [0043]), and wherein each movement control model (Allport: [ABS]; [0018]; [0023]) of the plurality of sets of the multiple movement control models (Allport: [0023]; [0041]) translates commands into movement instructions for corresponding vehicles (Allport: [0018]; [0041]); determining, based on the operator input, one or more movement control models of a plurality of movement control models for executing a command for a first data stream of the plurality of common control data streams (Allport: [0010]; [0016]; [0023]); translating, using the one or more movement control models, the command into a set of movement instructions for a vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0045-0046]); and transmitting the set of movement instructions to the vehicle (Allport: [0044]).
Allport does not explicitly recite the terminology “mapping” or “translate, using the first movement control model, the command into a set of movement instructions for the vehicle; and transmit the set of movement instructions to the vehicle”. However, Allport discloses tailored scripts for specific assets for controlling and commanding assets (“UVs”: aerial, ground, submersible) based upon movement type, monitoring capabilities (sensors), and payloads ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046]). In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, the control unit 240, based upon inputs, will “map” a particular script to a particular vehicle based upon sensor types and payloads (see at least ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046])).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tailored scripts for control and command disclosed by Allport. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control/command associated assets.
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Allport remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Allport also discloses, determining, for the vehicle, a communication protocol for communicating with the vehicle (Allport: [0046]); and formatting the set of movement instructions according to the communication protocol (Allport: [0046]).
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allport (US 20100312917 A1) as applied to claims 1, 5, and 13 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20210405661 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Allport remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Allport also discloses, identify, for the first vehicle, the first movement control model (Allport: [0044-0046] see above); input movement data into the first movement control model (Allport: [ABS]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, determine that the command instructs the plurality of vehicles to move in a first direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determine that the command instructs the plurality of vehicles to move in a first direction (Liu: [ABS]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Allport remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Allport does not explicitly disclose, determine that the command instructs the plurality of vehicles to track one or more objects located in a second direction; identify, based on a corresponding payload device of each vehicle, one or more vehicles having a tracking payload; and input the second direction into a corresponding tracking payload control model associated with each unmanned vehicle having the tracking payload.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determine that the command instructs the plurality of vehicles to track one or more objects located in a second direction (Liu: [ABS]); identify, based on a corresponding payload device of each vehicle, one or more vehicles having a tracking payload (Liu: [0013]); and input the second direction into a corresponding tracking payload control model associated with each unmanned vehicle having the tracking payload (Liu: [0013]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Allport remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Allport also discloses, determine that the command requires an autonomous mode of operation for the first vehicle of the plurality of vehicles (Allport: [0001]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, periodically, generate and transmit subsequent sets of movement instructions to the first vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, periodically, generate and transmit subsequent sets of movement instructions to the first vehicle (Liu: [0014]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Allport remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Allport also discloses, inputting movement data into the first movement control model (Allport: [ABS]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to move in a first direction; identifying, for the vehicle, a first movement control model that enables movement of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to move in a first direction (Liu: [ABS]); identifying, for the vehicle, a first movement control model that enables movement of the vehicle (Liu: [ABS]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Allport remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Allport does not explicitly disclose, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to track an object located in a second direction; determining, based on a payload device associated with the vehicle, that the vehicle includes a tracking payload; and inputting the second direction into a tracking payload control model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to track an object located in a second direction (Liu: [ABS]); determining, based on a payload device associated with the vehicle, that the vehicle includes a tracking payload (Liu: [0013]); and inputting the second direction into a tracking payload control model (Liu: [0013]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Allport remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Allport also discloses, determining that the command requires an autonomous mode of operation for the vehicle (Allport: [0001]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, periodically, generate and transmit subsequent sets of movement instructions to the first vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, periodically, generate and transmit subsequent sets of movement instructions to the first vehicle (Liu: [0014]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Allport remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Allport also discloses, retrieving a flying movement control model (Allport: [ABS]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, determining that the vehicle is an aerial vehicle having a rotating camera; a hovering movement control model, gimbal movement control model, and a video control model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determining that the vehicle is an aerial vehicle having a rotating camera (Liu: [0013]); a hovering movement control model (Liu: [0014]), gimbal movement control model (Liu: [0013]), and a video control model (Liu: [0013]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of movements to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Allport, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Liu discloses, determining that the command requires the aerial vehicle to hover at a particular location (Liu: [0014]); inputting coordinates associated with the particular location into the hovering movement control model (Liu: [0014]); receiving from the hovering movement control model a set of hovering instructions (Liu: [0014]); and transmitting the set of hovering instructions to the aerial vehicle (Liu: [0014]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Allport, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Liu discloses, determining that the command requires the aerial vehicle to record a video stream of a particular location (Liu: [0013]; [0014]); inputting coordinates associated with the particular location into the gimbal movement control model (Liu: [0013]; [0014]); receiving from the gimbal movement control model a set of instructions for moving a camera into position (Liu: [0013]; [0014]); and transmitting, to the aerial vehicle, the set of instructions for moving the camera into the position (Liu: [0013]; [0014]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Allport remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Allport also discloses, inputting movement data into the first movement control model (Allport: [ABS]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to move in a first direction; identifying, for the vehicle, a first movement control model that enables movement of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to move in a first direction (Liu: [ABS]); identifying, for the vehicle, a first movement control model that enables movement of the vehicle (Liu: [ABS]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of movements to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Allport remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Allport does not explicitly disclose, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to track an object located in a second direction; determining, based on a payload device associated with the vehicle, that the vehicle includes a tracking payload; and inputting the second direction into a tracking payload control model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determining that the command instructs the vehicle to track an object located in a second direction (Liu: [ABS]); determining, based on a payload device associated with the vehicle, that the vehicle includes a tracking payload (Liu: [0013]); and inputting the second direction into a tracking payload control model (Liu: [0013]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Allport remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Allport also discloses, determining that the command requires an autonomous mode of operation for the vehicle (Allport: [0001]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, periodically, generate and transmit subsequent sets of movement instructions to the first vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, periodically, generate and transmit subsequent sets of movement instructions to the first vehicle (Liu: [0014]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of drones to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Allport remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Allport also discloses, retrieving a flying movement control model (Allport: [ABS]).
Allport does not explicitly disclose, determining that the vehicle is an aerial vehicle having a rotating camera; a hovering movement control model, gimbal movement control model, and a video control model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses, determining that the vehicle is an aerial vehicle having a rotating camera (Liu: [0013]); a hovering movement control model (Liu: [0014]), gimbal movement control model (Liu: [0013]), and a video control model (Liu: [0013]), for the benefit of tracking a target and creating a view representative of what the target is viewing.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Allport to include commanding a plurality of movements to track taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to track a target and create a view representative of what the target is viewing.
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Allport, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Liu also discloses, determining that the command requires the aerial vehicle to hover at a particular location (Liu: [0014]); inputting coordinates associated with the particular location into the hovering movement control model (Liu: [0014]); receiving from the hovering movement control model a set of hovering instructions (Liu: [0014]); and transmitting the set of hovering instructions to the aerial vehicle (Liu: [0014]).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Allport, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Liu also discloses, determining that the command requires the aerial vehicle to record a video stream of a particular location (Liu: [0013-0014]); inputting coordinates associated with the particular location into the gimbal movement control model (Liu: [0013-0014]); receiving from the gimbal movement control model a set of instructions for moving a camera into position (Liu: [0013-0014]); and transmitting, to the aerial vehicle, the set of instructions for moving the camera into the position (Liu: [0013-0014]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11-21-2025, beginning on page 13, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended Allport (US 20100312917 A1) fails to disclose, “mapping the operator input to a plurality of common control data streams wherein each data stream of the plurality of common control data streams is mapped to a corresponding vehicle type for each vehicle of the plurality of vehicles”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited above, Allport (US 20100312917 A1) discloses “mapping” and “translat[ing]” scripts for movement control based upon UV movement type, monitoring capabilities (sensors), and payloads ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046]). In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, the control unit 240, based upon inputs, will “map” a particular script to a particular vehicle based upon sensor types and payloads (see at least ([0038-0041]; [0044-0046])). The examiner agrees that Allport (US 20100312917 A1) does not explicitly recite the terminology relied upon in the independent claims. However, Allport (US 20100312917 A1) discloses a parallel process understood by one of ordinary skill when to disclosure is reviewed for content, context, and information extraction. Because Allport (US 20100312917 A1) discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Perrone (US 20180095467 A1)
Hutchins (US 20050078006 A1)
Koubaa (US 20210088337 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663