DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 and 1/5/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations/terms of “an elapsed time from a first reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the first (or second) axis becomes equal to a first reference angle” (lines 5-10) is vague and renders the claim indefinite. it’s unclear, for example, “an elapsed time from a first reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the first/second axis becomes equal to a first reference angle” – “an elapsed time from..” which is confusing here what is the elapsed time? From when to when? It seems that for the elapsed time there is only one reference point; thus, it’s unclear which the elapsed time refers to from when to when? Therefore, the scope of the claim 1 is indefinite; and further, the limitations of claim 1 “a first measurement portion that measures, as a first elapsed time, an elapsed time from a first reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the first axis becomes equal to a first reference angle; a second measurement portion that measures, as a second elapsed time, an elapsed time from a second reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the second axis becomes equal to a second reference angle; an information storage portion in which intensity information representing a correspondence relationship between the first elapsed time and the second elapsed time, and a signal intensity of the input image is stored; a readout portion that reads out the signal intensity corresponding to the first elapsed time measured by the first measurement portion and to the second elapsed time measured by the second measurement portion from the information storage portion; and a light emission control portion that causes a light emitting device to perform the intensity modulation of the light based on the signal intensity read out by the readout portion” (lines 5-18), are directed to method steps of making the device; claims 1-11 are directed to an apparatus, but many of the limitations thereof are methods of using said apparatus. These steps will be interpreted in terms of the structural limitations that they imply to the extent understood by the examiner and only the structural limitations therein will be given patentable weight. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 97 USPQ2d 1737 (Fed. Cir. 2011). (See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II)
Claims 2-11 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 1 through their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 12 has same undefined issues as that of claim 1 in lines 5-10.
Therefore proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurozuka (US20120169752).
Regarding claim 1, Kurozuka teaches a control device (Kurozuka, figs.1-9, abstract, a drive controller which outputs a drive signal to the scanning mirror) that controls a light scanning device (Kurozuka,figs.1 and 7, paragraph [0043], a laser beam is scanned..) which performs Lissajous scanning (Kurozuka, paragraphs [0010]-[0011], [0021], an image display apparatus configured such that Lissajous scanning is performed using a two-axis resonant MEMS mirror, [0043], a scanning beam forms a Lissajous pattern) of light by irradiating a movable mirror (Kurozuka, figs.1-2, and 7, the mirror 3) which swings (Kurozuka, fig.2, paragraph [0044] the movable mirror 3 which swings; paragraph [0044], a mirror 3 portion 21 is supported by a support portion 22, and is held to be pivotally movable with respect to an intermediate frame 23. The intermediate frame 23 is held on a support portion 24 to be pivotally movable with respect to a fixed frame 25) about a first axis and about a second axis (Kurozuka, paragraph [0043], the scanning mirror 3 is a two-axis resonant mirror which is resonantly driven in two directions i.e. a horizontal direction, a first direction, and a vertical direction, a second direction) with light which is subjected to intensity modulation in accordance with an input image (paragraph [0049], an input image is a moving image, a so-called double buffer is configured by securing a memory area corresponding to two frames as shown in FIG.1), the control device comprising:
a first measurement portion (Kurozuka, paragraph [0026] from first direction of light source portion) that measures (Kurozuka, paragraph [0104], can be measured in advance), as a first elapsed time (paragraph [0049], during a time; paragraph [0022], It is necessary to perform memory access a certain number of times for generation of an address at one pixel in order to read out plural pixel data for pixel data interpolation, and a certain access time is required; paragraph [0049], during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51), an elapsed time (paragraph [0049], during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51) from a first reference point (fig.4, P0(x,y)) at which a deflection angle (Kurozuka, deflection angle of P(x,y)) of the movable mirror (fig.1, paragraph [0039], the light source portion 1 is reflected, deflected on the scanning mirror 3 ---means deflection angle of the movable mirror) about the first axis becomes equal to a first reference angle (see Kurozuka, figs.3-4, P0 (x,y) of the first direction; paragraph [0067], point P in the scanning direction 44, paragraphs [0047]-[0048], In the usual raster scan system, the horizontal address i is defined rightward, and the vertical address j is defined downwardly, with the uppermost and leftmost position on the projection plane 7 where an image is displayed serving as the origin point, the value, pixel data, of a pixel is represented by P(i, j), thus Kurozuka has a function of a first measurement portion that measures, as a first elapsed time, an elapsed time from a first reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the first axis becomes equal to a first reference angle);
a second measurement portion (paragraph [0026], from second direction of the light source portion) that measures, as a second elapsed time (paragraph [0022], a certain access time is required; paragraph [0049], during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51), an elapsed time from a second reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the second axis becomes equal to a second reference angle (P0 (x,y) of the second direction);
an information storage portion in which intensity information (Kurozuka, paragraph [0016], DRAM stored information is lost as time elapses. Accordingly, it is necessary to rewrite information of the same content before the information is lost; paragraph [0041], The frame buffer 5 is constituted of e.g. a DRAM. A plurality of input pixel data 9 is temporarily stored in the frame buffer 5, information relating to the drive signal to be outputted to the scanning mirror 3; paragraph [0057], a case where display data P0(x, y) is obtained is described in the same manner as described above. Executing a two-word burst access to the frame buffer 5 using P(i, j) as a leading address enables to successively read out two pixel data i.e. pixel data P(i, j) and pixel data P(i+1, j) by a one-time memory access. Then, the pixel data P0(x, y) at the position of a point (x, y) representing a correspondence relationship between the first elapsed time and the second elapsed time (Kurozuka, paragraph [0026], second direction are respectively set near resonant frequencies of the scanning mirror in the first direction and in the second direction), and a signal intensity of the input image (fig.1, a drive signal inputted from the drive controller 6) is stored (fig.1, stored in buffer memory 41);
a readout portion (paragraph [0057], a two-word burst access to the frame buffer 5 using P(i, j) as a leading address enables to successively read out two pixel data) that reads out the signal intensity corresponding to the first elapsed time measured by the first measurement portion and to the second elapsed time measured by the second measurement portion (described above) from the information storage portion (Kurozuka, fig.1, the frame buffer 5); and
a light emission control portion that causes a light emitting device (Kurozuka, fig.1, paragraph [0039] laser beam 2 emitted from the light source portion 1 is reflected) to perform the intensity modulation of the light based on the signal intensity (paragraph [0051] an intended image by modulating the emission intensity of the laser beam 2 by the display controller4) read out by the readout portion (see Kurozuka, paragraph [0041],the display controller 4 reads out pixel data from the frame 52 during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51).
Regarding claim 2, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Kurozuka further teaches wherein the first measurement portion and the second measurement portion measure the first elapsed time and the second elapsed time, respectively, by counting a clock signal output from a clock generator (Kurozuka, paragraphs [0081]-[0083], The drive controller 60 generates a frequency of the drive signal 6 a by counting an operation clock of a system. the drive signal 6 a is determined by a clock count value).
Regarding claim 5, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the intensity information represents a correspondence relationship between a combination of the first elapsed time and the second elapsed time, and the signal intensity of the input image (see figs.1, 3-4, paragraph [0074] an image is displayed on the projection plane 7 by a scanning technique different from the usual raster scan, using the scanning mirror 3 which is resonantly driven along two axes; paragraph [0065], the display controller 4 calculates a scanning position (x, y) of the laser beam 2 on the projection plane 7 by the scanning mirror 3, based on information relating to a drive signal inputted from the drive controller 6;-- thus, Kurozuka teaches wherein the intensity information represents a correspondence relationship between a combination of the first elapsed time and the second elapsed time, and the signal intensity of the input image).
Regarding claim 11, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein an image forming apparatus (figs.5-6, paragraph [0040] the image forming apparatus) comprising:
the control device according to claim 1;
the light scanning device (described in claim 1); and
the light emitting device (described in claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kurozuka teaches a control method of controlling a light scanning device (Kurozuka, figs.1-9, abstract, a drive controller which outputs a drive signal to the scanning mirror; paragraph [0043], a laser beam is scanned) which performs Lissajous scanning of light (Kurozuka, paragraphs [0010], [0011],[0021], In an image display apparatus configured such that Lissajous scanning is performed using a two-axis resonant MEMS mirror; [0043], a scanning beam forms a Lissajous pattern) by irradiating a movable mirror which swings (Kurozuka, fig.2, paragraph [0044] the movable mirror 3 which swings) about a first axis and about a second axis (Kurozuka, paragraphs [0010], [0011],[0021], In an image display apparatus configured such that Lissajous scanning is performed using a two-axis resonant MEMS mirror), with light which is subjected to intensity modulation in accordance with an input image (Kurozuka, paragraph [0049], an input image is a moving image, a so-called double buffer is configured by securing a memory area corresponding to two frames as shown in FIG.1), the control method comprising:
first measurement processing of measuring (Kurozuka, paragraph [0026] from first direction of light source portion; paragraph [0104], can be measured in advance), as a first elapsed time (paragraph [0022], It is necessary to perform memory access a certain number of times for generation of an address at one pixel in order to read out plural pixel data for pixel data interpolation, and a certain access time is required; paragraph [0049], during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51), an elapsed time (paragraph [0049], during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51) from a first reference point (fig.4, P0(x,y)) at which a deflection angle (Kurozuka, deflection angle of P(x,y)) of the movable mirror (fig.1, paragraph [0039], the light source portion 1 is reflected, deflected on the scanning mirror 3 ---means deflection angle of the movable mirror) about the first axis becomes equal to a first reference angle (see Kurozuka, figs.3-4, P0 (x,y) of the first direction; paragraph [0067], point P in the scanning direction 44, paragraphs [0047]-[0048], In the usual raster scan system, the horizontal address i is defined rightward, and the vertical address j is defined downwardly, with the uppermost and leftmost position on the projection plane 7 where an image is displayed serving as the origin point, the value, pixel data, of a pixel is represented by P(i, j),--- thus Kurozuka has a function of a first measurement portion that measures, as a first elapsed time, an elapsed time from a first reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the first axis becomes equal to a first reference angle);
second measurement processing of measuring (paragraph [0026], from second direction of the light source portion), as a second elapsed time (paragraph [0022], a certain access time is required; paragraph [0049], during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51), an elapsed time from a second reference point at which a deflection angle of the movable mirror about the second axis becomes equal to a second reference angle (P0 (x,y) of the second direction);
readout processing of reading out (paragraph [0057], a two-word burst access to the frame buffer 5 using P(i, j) as a leading address enables to successively read out two pixel data), from an information storage portion (fig.1, buffer frame 51) in which intensity information (Kurozuka, paragraph [0016], DRAM stored information is lost as time elapses. Accordingly, it is necessary to rewrite information of the same content before the information is lost; paragraph [0041], The frame buffer 5 is constituted of e.g. a DRAM. A plurality of input pixel data 9 is temporarily stored in the frame buffer 5, information relating to the drive signal to be outputted to the scanning mirror 3; paragraph [0057], a case where display data P0(x, y) is obtained is described in the same manner as described above. Executing a two-word burst access to the frame buffer 5 using P(i, j) as a leading address enables to successively read out two pixel data i.e. pixel data P(i, j) and pixel data P(i+1, j) by a one-time memory access. Then, the pixel data P0(x, y) at the position of a point (x, y)) representing a correspondence relationship between the first elapsed time and the second elapsed time (Kurozuka, paragraph [0026], second direction are respectively set near resonant frequencies of the scanning mirror in the first direction and in the second direction), and a signal intensity of the input image (fig.1, a drive signal inputted from the drive controller 6) is stored (fig.1, stored in buffer memory 41), the signal intensity corresponding to the first elapsed time measured by the first measurement processing and to the second elapsed time measured by the second measurement processing (paragraph [0042], data at the time of executing various processing; paragraph [0043], he frame buffer 5 stores a plurality of pixel data 9 in address positions of the two-dimensional logical address space corresponding to the respective positions on the projection plane 7 in the order in which the pixel data is inputted); and
light emission control processing of causing a light emitting device (Kurozuka,fig.1, paragraph [0039] laser beam 2 emitted from the light source portion 1 is reflected) to perform the intensity modulation of the light (paragraph [0051],an intended image by modulating the emission intensity of the laser beam 2 by the display controller 4.) based on the signal intensity read out by the readout processing (see Kurozuka, paragraph [0041],the display controller 4 reads out pixel data from the frame 52 during a time when pixel data to be inputted is written into the frame 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurozuka (US20120169752).
Regarding claim 3, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Kurozuka of fig.1 does not explicitly teaches wherein further comprising:
a first reference point detection portion that detects the first reference point; and
a second reference point detection portion that detects the second reference point.
However, Kurozuka of fig.7 teaches in paragraph [0080], The display controller 40 controls the emission intensity of the laser beam 2 to be emitted from the light source portion 1. The drive controller 60 outputs a drive signal 6a to the scanning mirror 3, and at the same time, detects an amplitude and a phase difference of the scanning mirror 3 based on a feedback signal 6b from the scanning mirror 3 for controlling the driving of the scanning mirror 3;
thus, Kurozuka has a function of a first reference point detection portion that detects the first reference point; and a second reference point detection portion that detects the second reference point.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the detection portions of Kurozuka of fig.1 to have a first reference point detection portion that detects the first reference point; and a second reference point detection portion that detects the second reference point as taught by Kurozuka of fig.7 for the purpose of advantageous in determining a displacement amount of a resonant frequency with respect to a driving frequency based on a detected phase difference, and in accurately switching the driving frequency (Kurozuka, paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 6, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and further teaches wherein further comprising:
a scanning path changing portion that changes a scanning path of the Lissajous scanning by changing a frequency of at least one of the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis or the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis (paragraph [0077] since the high-speed scanning is performed in the vertical direction and the low-speed scanning is performed in the horizontal direction, the above arrangement is advantageous in setting the operating frequency of a focus control system to be operated in the horizontal direction to a low value).
Regarding claim 7, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and further teaches wherein further comprising:
a scanning path changing portion that changes a scanning path of the Lissajous scanning by changing a phase difference between the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis and the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis (Kurozuka, fig.7, paragraph [0080], detects an amplitude and a phase difference of the scanning mirror 3). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the detection portions of Kurozuka of fig.1 to have a scanning path changing portion that changes a scanning path of the Lissajous scanning by changing a phase difference between the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis and the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis as taught by Kurozuka of fig.7 for the purpose of advantageous in determining a displacement amount of a resonant frequency with respect to a driving frequency based on a detected phase difference, and in accurately switching the driving frequency (Kurozuka, paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 8, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and further teaches wherein further comprising:
a scanning path changing portion that changes a scanning path of the Lissajous scanning by changing an amplitude of at least one of the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis or the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis (Kurozuka, fig.7, paragraph [0080], detects an amplitude and a phase difference of the scanning mirror 3). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the detection portions of Kurozuka of fig.1 to have a scanning path changing portion that changes a scanning path of the Lissajous scanning by changing an amplitude of at least one of the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis or the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis as taught by Kurozuka of fig.7 for the purpose of advantageous in determining a displacement amount of a resonant frequency with respect to a driving frequency based on a detected phase difference, and in accurately switching the driving frequency (Kurozuka, paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 9, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and further teaches wherein further comprising:
a scanning path changing portion that changes a scanning path of the Lissajous scanning based on a combination of at least two of
changing a frequency of at least any one of the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis or the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis,
changing a phase difference between the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis and the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis (described in the claim 7, this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding dependent claim 7 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale), and
changing an amplitude of at least any one of the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis or the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis (Kurozuka, fig.7, paragraph [0080], detects an amplitude and a phase difference of the scanning mirror 3). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the detection portions of Kurozuka of fig.1 to have a scanning path changing portion that changes a scanning path of the Lissajous scanning based on a combination of changing a phase difference between the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis and the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis, and changing an amplitude of at least any one of the swing of the movable mirror about the first axis or the swing of the movable mirror about the second axis as taught by Kurozuka of fig.7 for the purpose of advantageous in determining a displacement amount of a resonant frequency with respect to a driving frequency based on a detected phase difference, and in accurately switching the driving frequency (Kurozuka, paragraph [0130]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurozuka (US20120169752), and further in view of Wang et al. (CN109752839 of record, see IDS dated 1/5/2024, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 4, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 3, Kurozuka does not explicitly teaches wherein the light scanning device includes a first angle sensor that outputs a first angle signal corresponding to the deflection angle of the movable mirror about the first axis, and a second angle sensor that outputs a second angle signal corresponding to the deflection angle of the movable mirror about the second axis,
the first reference point detection portion detects the first reference point based on the first angle signal output from the first angle sensor, and
the second reference point detection portion detects the second reference point based on the second angle signal output from the second angle sensor.
However, Wang teaches the analogous scanning device (Wang, paragraph [0182], the scanning mirror 31 may include a first rotating axis and a second rotating axis that are perpendicular to each other. The scanning mirror is capable of vibrating simultaneously about the first rotating axis and about the second rotating axis), and further teaches in Wang of fig.10, (Wang, paragraph [0183], the scanning projection display system may be equipped with two position detection sensors 40, each of which can be a capacitive sensor and can be integrated on the scanning mirror 31. One of the position detection sensors 40 can detect the position of the scanning mirror 31 on the vibration path of the first rotating axis and send a first detection signal to the processing module 101. Another position detection sensor 40 can detect the position of the scanning mirror 31 on the vibration path of the second rotating axis and send a second detection signal to the processing module 101.The processing module 101 can determine the first actual time when the scanning mirror 31 passes through the first target position based on the first detection signal, and can determine the second actual time when the scanning mirror 31 passes through the second target position based on the second detection signal. The first detection signal and the second detection signal can both be pulse signals. The process by which the processing module 101 determines the first actual time and the second actual time based on the pulse signal can be referred to the above description, and will not be repeated here), thus Wang teaches wherein the light scanning device includes a first angle sensor that outputs a first angle signal corresponding to the deflection angle of the movable mirror about the first axis, and a second angle sensor that outputs a second angle signal corresponding to the deflection angle of the movable mirror about the second axis the first reference point detection portion detects the first reference point based on the first angle signal output from the first angle sensor, and the second reference point detection portion detects the second reference point based on the second angle signal output from the second angle sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kurozuka to have angle sensors as taught by Wang for the purpose of the enables real-time correction of the image displayed on the projection surface, realizing closed-loop feedback control of the scanning projection display system and effectively improving the image quality displayed on the projection surface (Wang, paragraph [0178]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurozuka (US20120169752), and further in view of Asai et al. (WO2006082827. English translation attached).
Regarding claim 10, Kurozuka discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Kurozuka is silent on wherein a scanning period of the Lissajous scanning is longer than a frame period of the input image.
However, Asai teaches the analogous Lissajous scanning (Asai, paragraph [0197] since the scanning point is generally simply oscillated in both the horizontal scanning direction and the vertical scanning direction, the raster that is the locus drawn by the scanning point has a sine wave shape strictly. It is a Lissajous figure), and further teaches wherein a scanning period of the Lissajous scanning is longer than a frame period of the input image (Asai, paragraph [0027], for each frame of the image, the luminance signal is set so that any one of the unidirectional scanning period and the backward scanning period becomes the effective scanning period in the entire period of each reciprocating scanning in the main scanning direction).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/provide the apparatus of R1 to have/with the specific xxx as taught by R2 for the purpose of reducing the required main scanning frequency and reducing the required sub-scanning frequency by improving the scanning trajectory. The challenge was to enable at least one of the increase and the increase in the number of effective scanning lines per frame.(Asai, paragraph [0011]).
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872