DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s remarks filed March 25, 2026.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn due to the remarks filed.
Specification
The objection to the title of the invention has been withdrawn due to the remarks filed.
The objection to the specification has been withdrawn due to the remarks filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claims 1 and 8, it is not understood how the second fuse conductor can be in the same metallization level as itself (the second fuse conductor) in line 3 of both claims.
Claims 2-7 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1. Claims 9-14 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
As best understood, claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min et al. (US 2010/0213570 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Min et al. teach an antifuse structure 40 comprising: a first fuse conductor 23’; a second fuse conductor 25’ in the same metallization level as the second fuse conductor 25’; and a tapered (Tapered describes an object becoming gradually thinner, narrower, or smaller toward one end.) fuse dielectric 42 (See page 2, paragraph [0020]) between and separating the first fuse conductor 23’ from the second fuse conductor 25’ (Figure 3, pages 2-3, paragraphs [0017]-[0021]).
In regard to claim 3, Min et al. teach a lateral width of the tapered fuse dielectric 42 measured at a topmost surface of the first and second fuse conductors 23’/25’ is larger than a lateral width of the tapered fuse dielectric 42 measured at a bottommost of the first and second fuse conductors 23’/25’ (Figure 3, pages 2-3, paragraphs [0017]-[0021]).
In regard to claim 4, Min et al. teach the tapered fuse dielectric 42 extending beneath both the first fuse conductor 23’ and the second fuse conductor 25’ (Figure 3, pages 2-3, paragraphs [0017]-[0021]).
In regard to claim 16, Min et al. teach a first dielectric layer 35’/37’ (outer portions), wherein both the first and second fuse conductors 23’/25’ are directly on the first dielectric layer 35’/37’ (outer portions); and a second dielectric layer 35’/37’ (inner portions) surrounding the tapered fuse dielectric 42 (Figure 3, pages 2-3, paragraphs [0017]-[0021]).
In regard to claim 17, Min et al. teach a lateral width of the tapered fuse dielectric 42 measured at a topmost surface of the first and second fuse conductors 23’/25’ is larger than a lateral width of the tapered fuse dielectric 42 measured at a bottommost of the first and second fuse conductors 23’/25’ (Figure 3, pages 2-3, paragraphs [0017]-[0021]).
In regard to claim 18, Min et al. teach the tapered fuse dielectric 42 (See page 2, paragraph [0020]) extending beneath both the first fuse conductor 23’ and the second fuse conductor 25’ (Figure 3, pages 2-3, paragraphs [0017]-[0021]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 7 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon objected claim 5.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon objected claim 19.
As best understood, claims 8-14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 15 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose, make obvious, or otherwise suggest the structure of the applicant's claimed invention, such as the configuration of flushed upper surfaces of the first fuse conductor, second fuse conductor and tapered fuse dielectric.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Min et al. does indeed disclose the upper side surfaces of tapered fuse dielectric 42 (See page 2, paragraph [0020]) between and separating the first fuse conductor 23’ from the second fuse conductor 25’.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to antifuse structures:
Adusumilli et al. (US 10,056,329B1) Cestero et al. (US 2009/0108400 A1)
Cheng et al. (US 2017/0148734 A1) Hafez et al. (US 8,101,471 B2)
Hafez e al. (US 2013/0270559 A1) Huang (US 2021/0257297 A1)
Yang et al. (US 2021/0233843 A1) Yen et al. (5,550,404)
Zhou et al. (US 2021/0391256 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IMS
April 23, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898