CTNF 18/469,744 CTNF 87406 ULTRATHIN REFERENCE ELECTRODE AND ELECTROCHEMICAL DEVICES INCLUDING THE SAME DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/5/2023 and 7/24/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2014/0375325 A1) . Regarding claims 1, 3, and 8 , Wang et al. teach a battery cell (Abstract; Fig. 4) , comprising: an anode, a cathode, and a reference electrode (Fig. 4 shows a positive, negative, and a reference electrode.) , wherein the reference electrode is interposed between the anode and the cathode (Fig. 4 shows a reference electrode assembled between a negative and positive electrode.) ; wherein the reference electrode comprises an active material layer disposed on a current collector (Fig. 4 shows the reference electrode comprises lithium containing materials on a metal current collector. Further, paragraph 0082 discloses the current collector can comprise a copper foil.) ; and wherein the active material layer comprises lithium, a lithium aluminum alloy, sodium, a sodium potassium alloy, a sodium calcium alloy, a sodium-lithium-magnesium alloy, a sodium-lithium-aluminum alloy, a sodium lead alloy, a sodium silicon alloy, a sodium antimony alloy, or a sodium zinc alloy (Paragraph 0022 discloses lithium metal or lithium-aluminum alloy.) . Regarding claim 2 , Wang et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, further comprising a first separator interposed between the anode and the reference electrode; and a second separator interposed between the cathode and the reference electrode (Fig. 4 shows negative electrode-separator-reference electrode-separator-positive electrode.) . Regarding claim 7 , Wang et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the active material layer is deposited on the current collector before assembly of the battery cell (Paragraph 0137 discloses the reference electrode is made from lithium metal compressed onto a copper foil and assembled prior to assembly of the entire cell.) . Regarding claim 9 , Wang et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the anode comprises at least one of silicon, silicon mixed with graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, a silicon oxide (SiO x , 0<x<2), tin, tin dioxide, or titanium dioxide (Paragraph 0114 discloses the negative electrode can comprise graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, Si, or Sn.) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (US 2021/0091424 A1) . Regarding claims 1, 3, and 8 , Gao et al. teach a battery cell (Abstract; Fig. 2, element 110 discloses an electrochemical device.) , comprising: an anode, a cathode, and a reference electrode (Paragraphs 0088-0090; Fig. 2 disclose a negative electrode, element 112, a positive electrode, element 114, and a reference electrode assembly, element 120.) , wherein the reference electrode is interposed between the anode and the cathode (Paragraph 0089; Fig. 2 disclose the reference electrode assembly, element 120, is deposed between the negative electrode, element 112, and the positive electrode, element 114.) ; wherein the reference electrode comprises an active material layer disposed on a current collector (Paragraph 0090; Fig. 2 disclose the reference electrode assembly, element 120, comprises a reference electrode, element 130, and a reference electrode current collector, element 132. Paragraph 0096 discloses the reference electrode current collector may comprise gold.) and wherein the active material layer comprises lithium, a lithium aluminum alloy, sodium, a sodium potassium alloy, a sodium calcium alloy, a sodium-lithium-magnesium alloy, a sodium-lithium-aluminum alloy, a sodium lead alloy, a sodium silicon alloy, a sodium antimony alloy, or a sodium zinc alloy (Paragraph 0095 discloses lithium containing materials or lithium-aluminum alloy.) . Regarding claim 2 , Gao et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, further comprising a first separator (Fig. 2, element 134) interposed between the anode (Fig. 2, element 112) and the reference electrode (Fig. 2, element 130) ; and a second separator (Fig. 2, element 122) interposed between the cathode (Fig. 2, element 114) and the reference electrode (Fig. 2, element 130) . Regarding claims 4 and 5 , Gao et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the active material layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers to 3000 nanometers (Claim 10 discloses the reference electrode layer can have a thickness of 0.2-1 µm or 200-1000 nm.) ; wherein the current collector has a thickness of 10 nanometers to 1000 nanometer (Paragraph 0019 discloses the reference electrode current collector can have a thickness of 25-100 nm.) . Regarding claim 7 , Gao et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the active material layer is deposited on the current collector before assembly of the battery cell (Paragraph 0079). Regarding claim 9 , Gao et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the anode comprises at least one of silicon, silicon mixed with graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, a silicon oxide (SiO x , 0<x<2), tin, tin dioxide, or titanium dioxide (Paragraph 0077 discloses carbon-based materials and lithium-silicon compounds.) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (CN 116759527 A) . Regarding claims 1-3 , Ding et al. teach a battery cell (Abstract; Fig. 2 discloses an electrochemical device.) , comprising: an anode, a cathode, and a reference electrode (Paragraphs 0009; 0024 disclose a negative electrode, element 4, a positive electrode, element 1, and a reference electrode, element 2.) , wherein the reference electrode is interposed between the anode and the cathode (Paragraph 0009 discloses the battery is assembled in the following order: positive electrode plate, separator, LTO reference electrode, separator, lithium foil strip reference, separator, and negative electrode plate.) ; wherein the reference electrode comprises an active material layer disposed on a current collector (Paragraphs 0007; 0010 disclose the reference electrode has a current collector comprising copper or nickel.) and wherein the active material layer comprises lithium, a lithium aluminum alloy, sodium, a sodium potassium alloy, a sodium calcium alloy, a sodium-lithium-magnesium alloy, a sodium-lithium-aluminum alloy, a sodium lead alloy, a sodium silicon alloy, a sodium antimony alloy, or a sodium zinc alloy (Paragraph 0009 discloses the active material comprises lithium such as lithium titanate.) . Regarding claim 6, Ding et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1 , wherein the active material layer is derived from in-situ lithium plating of the current collector (Paragraphs 0013-0014) . Regarding claims 10 and 14 , Ding et al. teach a method of forming a battery cell (Paragraphs 0007-0009; 0013-0014) comprising an anode, a cathode, and a reference electrode, wherein the reference electrode is interposed between the anode and the cathode (Paragraph 0009 discloses the battery is assembled in the following order: positive electrode plate, separator, LTO reference electrode, separator, lithium foil strip reference, separator, and negative electrode plate.) , wherein the reference electrode comprises an active material layer disposed on a current collector (Paragraphs 0007; 0010 disclose the reference electrode has a current collector comprising copper, aluminum, or nickel.) , and wherein the active material layer comprises lithium, a lithium aluminum alloy, sodium, a sodium potassium alloy, a sodium calcium alloy, a sodium-lithium-magnesium alloy, a sodium-lithium-aluminum alloy, a sodium lead alloy, a sodium silicon alloy, a sodium antimony alloy, or a sodium zinc alloy, the method comprising forming the active material layer on the current collector (Paragraph 0009 discloses the active material comprises lithium such as lithium titanate.) . Regarding claim 13 , Ding et al. teach the method of claim 10, wherein the forming comprises potentiostatic lithiation, galvanostatic lithiation, or electrical shorting of the current collector (Paragraphs 0013-0014 disclose in situ lithiation comprising potentiostatic cycling.) . Regarding claim 17 , Ding et al. teach the method of claim 10, wherein the anode comprises at least one of silicon, silicon mixed with graphite, soft carbon, hard carbon, a silicon oxide (SiO x , 0<x<2), tin, tin dioxide, or titanium dioxide (Paragraph 0010 discloses the negative electrode can comprise activated carbon which is a hard carbon.) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 10, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Dadheech et al. (US 2021/0091369 A1) . Regarding claims 10 and 14 , Dadheech et al. teach a method of forming a battery cell (Abstract; paragraph 0025) comprising an anode, a cathode, and a reference electrode, wherein the reference electrode is interposed between the anode and the cathode (Paragraph 0106; Fig. 4 discloses a first electrode or negative electrode, element 212, a second electrode or positive electrode, element 216, and a reference electrode assembly, element 110.) , wherein the reference electrode comprises an active material layer disposed on a current collector (Paragraph 0088; Figs. 2A-2C disclose the reference electrode assembly, element 110, has an electroactive layer, element 118, and current collectors, element 114 and 116 which can be made of nickel and gold, respectively (Claim 3).) and wherein the active material layer comprises lithium, a lithium aluminum alloy, sodium, a sodium potassium alloy, a sodium calcium alloy, a sodium-lithium-magnesium alloy, a sodium-lithium-aluminum alloy, a sodium lead alloy, a sodium silicon alloy, a sodium antimony alloy, or a sodium zinc alloy, the method comprising forming the active material layer on the current collector (Paragraph 0103 discloses lithium aluminum alloy.). Regarding claim 11 , Dadheech et al. teach the method of claim 10, wherein the forming comprises sputter deposition, thermal evaporation, or e-beam evaporation (Claim 1 discloses sputter deposition.) . Regarding claim 16 , Dadheech et al. teach the method of claim 10, wherein the current collector has a thickness of 10 nanometers to 1000 nanometers (Claim 2 discloses he first current collector layer comprises nickel and defines a first thickness of greater than or equal to about 200 nm to less than or equal to about 300 nm; and the second current collector layer comprises gold and defines a second thickness of greater than or equal to about 25 nm to less than or equal to about 100 nm.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-22-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 116759527 A) or Dadheech et al. (US 2021/0091369 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2021/0091424 A1) . Regarding claim 15 , Ding or Dadheech teach the method of claim 10. However, they do not teach wherein the active material layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers to 3000 nanometers. Gao et al. teach wherein the active material layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers to 3000 nanometers (Claim 10 discloses the reference electrode layer can have a thickness of 0.2-1 µm or 200-1000 nm.) ; wherein the current collector has a thickness of 10 nanometers to 1000 nanometer (Paragraph 0019 discloses the reference electrode current collector can have a thickness of 25-100 nm.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding or Dadheech with Gao in order to improve cell performance . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 12 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of claims 12 and 18-20 are not disclosed in the prior art of record . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL S GATEWOOD whose telephone number is (571)270-7958. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ula Tavares-Crockett can be reached at 571-272-1481. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D. Primary Examiner Art Unit 1729 /DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 March 18 th , 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 2 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 4 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 5 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 6 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 7 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 9 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 10 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 11 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/469,744 Page 12 Art Unit: 1729