DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1, 4, 10-11 were amended, claim 3 was canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-12 are pending.
Status Identifiers for Claims
Under 37 C.F.R. 1.121 each amendment document must include status identifiers indicating the current status of each of the claims in the application. Examiner notes that the amendment document filed 1/23/2026 includes an incorrect status identifier for claim 4. While the current amendments have been entered for consideration, all further amendments to the claims must comply with the requirements set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.121. Future such issues will accordingly result in a notice of non-compliance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein the side walls comprise " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The upper side and lower side are introduced in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Forshee (US 4366905 A).
With respect to claim 1, Forshee discloses a container, comprising: a bottom (19); side walls (14a, 16a, 32) connected to the bottom wall; at least one encoding body (28, far left one on figure 1) that is adapted to project into an encoding body receptacle of another container; at least one encoding body receptacle (30) having an opening that is sized to receive an encoding body of a further container; the at least one encoding body (28) being fastened to an upper side of one of the side walls by a connecting device (38), which is releasable without destruction, and having a projection (34); and the encoding body receptacle (30) being fastened to a lower side of one of the side walls, which lies opposite to the upper side, by a connecting device (40) which is releasable without destruction and at least one encoding body lock (20, 22, 24) configured to block the introduction of the encoding body of the further container, the encoding body lock being fastened to one of the side walls by a connecting device which is releasable without destruction; and the lower side is in a region of a bottom of the container.
Examiner Note: “at least one encoding body lock configured to block the introduction of the encoding body of the further container” is a broad statement and will be read as such. Item 24 of Forshee does not allow for a direct connection of item 28 and can be considered “blocking” the introduction of an encoding body of a further container from the hole that item 24 is in.
With respect to claim 2, Forshee discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connecting device (38) which is releasable without destruction by which the at least one encoding body (28) is fastened or is fastenable to one of the side walls is a first connecting device (38), and the connecting device (40) which is releasable without destruction by which the at least one encoding body receptacle (30) is fastened or is fastenable to one of the side walls is a second connecting device (40).
With respect to claim 4, Forshee discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the connecting device (38) for the encoding body or the connecting device (40) for the encoding body receptacle forms a positively locking connection.
Examiner Note: The present applications specification [0013] states “A connecting device which can be released without destruction is understood to mean an arrangement, with the aid of which two components can be connected to one another, the combination of components remaining intact in a temporally unlimited manner without external action, and it being possible for this component combination to be released again by way of a defined external action without damage of the connecting device. A connecting device which can be released without destruction in this way can be non-positive and/or positively locking connections.”
With respect to claim 5, Forshee discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the connecting device (38) for the encoding body or the connecting device (40) for the encoding body receptacle forms a non-positive locking connection.
Examiner Note: Specification [0013] states “A connecting device which can be released without destruction is understood to mean an arrangement, with the aid of which two components can be connected to one another, the combination of components remaining intact in a temporally unlimited manner without external action, and it being possible for this component combination to be released again by way of a defined external action without damage of the connecting device. A connecting device which can be released without destruction in this way can be non-positive and/or positively locking connections.”
With respect to claim 6, Forshee discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the connecting device (38) for the encoding body or the connecting device for the encoding body receptacle comprises a plug-in connection.
With respect to claim 7, Forshee further discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein the side walls comprise a lower side and an upper side (top and bottom of 32) which lies opposite the lower side which in each case is in a region of the bottom, at least one of the at least one encoding body, the at least one encoding body receptacle (30), or the at least one encoding body lock being fastened or being fastenable by the respective connecting device on or to the lower side of a respective one of the side wall.
With respect to claim 8, Forshee further discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein the side walls comprise a lower side and an upper side (top and bottom of 32) which lies opposite the lower side which is in a region of the bottom, at least one of the at least one encoding body (28), the at least one encoding body receptacle, or the at least one encoding body lock being fastened or being fastenable by the respective connecting device on or to the upper side of a respective side wall.
With respect to claim 9, Forshee further discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the connecting devices for the at least one encoding body (28), the at least one encoding body receptacle (30), or the at least one encoding body lock is actuatable either manually or without tools.
With respect to claim 10, Forshee further discloses the container as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the at least one encoding body, the at least one encoding body receptacle, or the at least one encoding body lock is configured in a different color than at least one of the side walls or the bottom. (This feature would at least be inherent between the encoding body lock, which is a conventional bolt made of metal [col 5 lines 25-45], and the side walls or bottom, which is made of plastic. Being composed of two different materials, such as plastic and metal, would inherently result in different colors)
With respect to claim 11, Forshee discloses an arrangement comprising at least two of the containers as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the at least one encoding body, the at least one encoding body receptacle, or the at least one encoding body lock (20, 22, 24 - item 22, a washer can be considered disk-shaped) includes a disk-shaped element, and the disk-shaped element includes a part of the connecting device is releasable without destruction.
With respect to claim 12, Forshee discloses an arrangement comprising at least two of the containers as claimed in claim 1, the containers being stackable on one another, wherein the at least one encoding body (28) which is fastened to a first one of the containers is introducible exclusively in a single stack position sufficiently far into the at least one encoding body receptacle (40) which is fastened to a second one of the containers in order to stack the containers on one another. (as discussed in abstract)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner has used the same reference but altered the mapping of the encoding body lock to read on the amended claims.
Applicants amendments to claims 10 and 11 overcome the previous 112b rejection.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-4366905-A OR US-5466057-A OR US-7472969-B2 OR US-5647181-A OR US-3874753-A OR US-3754805-A OR US-20210029976-A1 OR US-20180273314-A1 OR US-20240092531-A1 OR US-20220106076-A1 OR US-20140291193-A1 OR US-20170327270-A1 OR US-20160095430-A1
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735