DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101/112 Hybrid Claim
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they are directed to a “system for forming a radiopaque product” but have the active step “wherein the diene containing moieties of the iodinated compound couple with the dienophile containing moieties of the multi-arm polymer”. The way this is drafted, it does not appear to be intended use or functional limitation, but an active step.
Claims 1-15 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As noted above, it is unclear how a “system” claim can have an active step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for use as radiomarkers, does not reasonably provide enablement for the broadest reasonable interpretation of “treatment” which includes treating any known condition. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Examiner notes there is no evidence or data to suggest any ability of the compounds to provide any therapeutic effect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delaney et al ‘183 (US 2021/060183) in view of Delaney et al ‘004 (US 2021/062004), Schneider et al (AU 2014/340095), and Gevrek et al (Euro Polymer J, v 153, 2021).
Delaney et al ‘183 teaches multi-arm polymers, in particular 8-arm PEGs having succinimidyl-glutarate end groups, which are covalently attached to a radiopaque iodinated compound that appear to read on the instant compounds claimed (see Fig 7D). The reference further discloses a system of a first composition comprising multi-arm polymers and a second composition comprising multifunctional compounds comprising functional groups which are reactive with the reactive end group of the multi-arm polymer (¶ 22 and claims 12-19). The system is contained in syringes (claim 34).
Delaney et al ‘183 does not teach the iodinated compounds comprising one or more diene containing moieties or the multi-arm polymer comprises a plurality of dienophile containing moieties.
Delaney et al ‘004 teaches multi-arm PEG polymer covalently linked to radiopaque iodinated compounds that appear to read on the instant compounds claimed (see Fig 1). The reference further teaches multifuctional compound 220 comprising reactive groups on the mult-arm polymer 210 to form products 230.
Delaney et al ‘004 does not teach the iodinated compound comprises one or more diene containing moieties.
Schneider et al teaches it was well known to use multi-arm PEGs with reactive groups, such as dienes, furans, and maleimides (¶¶ 56-59).
Gevrek et al discloses furan containing polymeric materials may be crosslinked by employing a Diels-Alder reaction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the components of Delaney et al ‘183 and Delany et al ‘004 to include know reactive groups, such as dienes, furans, and maleimides as taught by Schneider et al. It would then have been obvious to use known reactions to produce the desired cross-linked polymer.
Examiner notes that with regards to claims 1-16, the subject matter is a “system” which includes two components. As discussed above in the 101/112 rejections, the claims only require the presence of the two components.
With regards to claims 17-20, the claims include product by process limitations where the claims are directed to a product and use of the product. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(I). Even so, Examiner notes there is motivation to use known means of cross-polymerizing the two components, as discussed above.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims of copending Application No. 18/614,277 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
It appears the claims of ‘277 these are directed to a subset of the instant dienophile compounds where the diene compounds are limited in ‘277 to electron-rich or electron-poor diene containing moieties. In the event they are not a subset but simply overlapping in subject matter, then the following provisional non statutory double patenting rejection applies:
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/614,277 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘277 are directed to a system, crosslinked polymer, and treatment, same as instantly claimed by with the multi-arm polymer being a plurality of electron-poor diene containing moieties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612