CTNF 18/469,778 CTNF 87839 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 23, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-36-01 Configurations 200 and 270 in Figures 2A and 2B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the configuration of claim 3 must be shown where the first plurality of cathode tabs extend from a first end of the first battery stack, the second plurality of cathode tabs extend from a first end of the second battery stack, the first plurality of anode tabs extend from a second end of the first battery stack, and the second plurality of anode tabs extend from a first end of the second battery stack, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. 06-22 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3, 10 and 17 include the limitation that the second plurality of anode tabs extend from a first end of the second battery stack, but such a limitation is contrary to Applicant’s figure 2B. Notably, in the configuration of figure 2B, the second plurality of anode tabs 262 extend from a second end of the second battery stack 220, not the first end where cathode tabs 255 and 260 extend from, and while generic language supporting the claim language is disclosed in the specification (see e.g., paragraph [0013] of the published application), no configuration reading on this claim limitation is depicted. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification is unclear. For purposes of this Office action, this limitation is taken to mean that the second plurality of anode tabs extend from a second end of the second battery stack. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Daidoji (US Pub. No. 2008/0060189) . Regarding claims 1 and 8, Daidoji teaches a stacked battery (claimed battery cell) comprising a first battery stack that includes a first plurality of positive electrode (cathode) tabs 7B extending from the first battery stack, and a second battery stack adjacent below the first battery stack, the second battery stack includes a second plurality of cathode tabs 7A extending from the second battery stack, wherein the second plurality of tabs are shorter than the first plurality of tabs, and a weld plate 9 is welded to the first and second plurality of tabs (without trimming the first plurality of tabs is a limitation directed to a method of manufacture of the battery cell, and not the article itself, and as such does not further limit the claim) (paragraphs [0058]-[0063]; figures 1 and 3B). Regarding claims 2 and 9, Daidoji teaches a first plurality of negative electrode (anode) tabs extending from the battery stack (top plurality of anode tabs 8 in figure 1) and a second plurality of anode tabs extending from the battery stack (bottom plurality of anode tabs 8 in figure 1), wherein the second plurality of anode tabs are shorter than the first plurality of anode tabs, and a second weld plate 10 is welded to the first and second plurality of anode tabs (without trimming the first plurality of anode tabs is a limitation directed to a method of manufacture of the battery cell, and not the article itself, and as such does not further limit the claim) (paragraphs [0052]-[0057]; figure 1). Regarding claims 3 and 10, Daidoji teaches that the first plurality of cathode tabs extend from a right (claimed first) end of the first battery stack, the second plurality of cathode tabs extend from a right (claimed first) end of the second battery stack, the first plurality of anode tabs extend from a left (claimed second) end of the first battery stack, the second plurality of anode tabs extend from a left (claimed second) end of the second battery stack, the first end of the first battery stack is opposite the second end of the first battery stack, and the first end of the second battery stack is opposite the second end of the second battery stack (figure 1). Regarding claims 4-6 and 11-13, Daidoji teaches aluminum in the positive electrode (paragraph [0054]) and copper in the negative electrode (paragraph [0055]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daidoji (US Pub. No. 2008/0060189) . Regarding claim 15, Daidoji teaches that stacked lithium ion batteries can be used in electric bicycles (claimed vehicle) (paragraph [0005]), as well as teaching a stacked battery (claimed battery cell) comprising a first battery stack that includes a first plurality of positive electrode (cathode) tabs 7B extending from the first battery stack, and a second battery stack adjacent below the first battery stack, the second battery stack includes a second plurality of cathode tabs 7A extending from the second battery stack, wherein the second plurality of tabs are shorter than the first plurality of tabs, and a weld plate 9 is welded to the first and second plurality of tabs (without trimming the first plurality of tabs is a limitation directed to a method of manufacture of the battery cell, and not the article itself, and as such does not further limit the claim) (paragraphs [0058]-[0063]; figures 1 and 3B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the battery cell of Daidoji in an electric bicycle because it is a stacked lithium ion battery (paragraphs [0050]-[0054]) and such a battery type is used in electric bicycles (paragraph [0005]). Such an electric bicycle inherently requires an electric motor in order to function as intended. Regarding claim 16, Daidoji teaches a first plurality of negative electrode (anode) tabs extending from the battery stack (top plurality of anode tabs 8 in figure 1) and a second plurality of anode tabs extending from the battery stack (bottom plurality of anode tabs 8 in figure 1), wherein the second plurality of anode tabs are shorter than the first plurality of anode tabs, and a second weld plate 10 is welded to the first and second plurality of anode tabs (without trimming the first plurality of anode tabs is a limitation directed to a method of manufacture of the battery cell, and not the article itself, and as such does not further limit the claim) (paragraphs [0052]-[0057]; figure 1). Regarding claim 17, Daidoji teaches that the first plurality of cathode tabs extend from a right (claimed first) end of the first battery stack, the second plurality of cathode tabs extend from a right (claimed first) end of the second battery stack, the first plurality of anode tabs extend from a left (claimed second) end of the first battery stack, the second plurality of anode tabs extend from a left (claimed second) end of the second battery stack, the first end of the first battery stack is opposite the second end of the first battery stack, and the first end of the second battery stack is opposite the second end of the second battery stack (figure 1). Regarding claims 18-19, Daidoji teaches aluminum in the positive electrode (paragraph [0054]) and copper in the negative electrode (paragraph [0055]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daidoji as applied to claim s 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Oh (US Pub. No. 2018/0026254) . Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Daidoji does not specifically disclose the tab lengths. Oh teaches a preferable length of electrode tabs of from 6 to 23 mm (paragraph [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use tab lengths as taught by Oh in the battery cell of Daidoji as a known preferable range of electrode tab length. Such would result in ratios of from 26% (6/23) to 100% (23/23), overlapping the claimed range. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHILIP N SCHWARTZ whose telephone number is (571)270-1612. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 9:00-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Katelyn Smith can be reached at 571-270-5545. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 April 29, 2026 /KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/469,778 Page 2 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/469,778 Page 3 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/469,778 Page 4 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/469,778 Page 5 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/469,778 Page 6 Art Unit: 1749 Application/Control Number: 18/469,778 Page 7 Art Unit: 1749