DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 1/2/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-20 of copending Application No. 18469815. Claims 12-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18469815. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they have nearly identical claim language where the flat griddle with a single surface is a known and common feature that would be obvious for the claims in the copending applications in view of the art below and other cited prior art by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-5,7,10-12,14-15,17,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent 5676043 to Best.
As to claim 1, Best discloses A cooktop defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction, the cooktop comprising: a plurality of heating elements (Col 2, Line 45-60); a griddle (20) removably positioned (Col 5, Line 4-8) over the plurality of heating elements, the griddle defining a single flat and contiguous cooking surface (Col 5, Line 4-10) having first heating zone and a second heating zone (Zone 1,2 Fig 7); a temperature sensing assembly operably coupled to the griddle for monitoring a first zone temperature of the first heating zone and a second zone temperature of the second heating zone (65, Col 7, Line 34-44); and a controller (50) in operative communication with the plurality of heating elements and the temperature sensing assembly, the controller being configured to: receive a request to perform a griddle cooking operation, the request comprising a first target temperature and a second target temperature (User set, Col 7, Line 34-44; Col 9, Line 5-53); obtain the first zone temperature and the second zone temperature using the temperature sensing assembly; and operate the plurality of heating elements to drive the first zone temperature to the first target temperature and the second zone temperature to the second target temperature (Col 7, Line 34-44; Col 9, Line 5-53).
As to claim 3, Best discloses a first temperature sensor embedded in the first heating zone of the griddle and a second temperature sensor embedded in the second heating zone of the griddle (Col 7, Line 34-44).
As to claim 4,14, Best discloses the first temperature sensor is positioned in a middle of the first heating zone and the second temperature sensor is positioned in a middle of the second heating zone (65, Fig 1, 2 middle as seen Fig 1).
As to claim 5,15, Best discloses operating the plurality of heating elements to drive the first zone temperature to the first target temperature and the second zone temperature to the second target temperature comprises: implementing a closed-loop feedback control algorithm based on the first zone temperature and the second zone temperature (Col 7, Line 34-44; Col 9, Line 5-53; closed loop, takes temperature reading and adjusts output to accommodate accordingly in a loop).
As to claim 7,17, Best discloses the griddle further defines a third heating zone, the temperature sensing assembly monitors a third zone temperature of the third heating zone, and the controller is further configured to: receive a third target temperature; obtain the third zone temperature using the temperature sensing assembly; and operate the plurality of heating elements to drive the third zone temperature to the third target temperature (Fig 7; Col 7, Line 34-44; Col 9, Line 5-53).
As to claim 10, Best discloses wherein each of the plurality of heating elements are gas burners (Col 6, Line 18-25), the cooktop further comprising: a grate positioned above the gas burners for supporting the griddle (15/19; Claim 11).
As to claim 11,20, Best discloses comprising a control knob assembly for regulating a first heating element of the plurality of heating elements (50), the first heating element being associated with the first heating zone of the griddle, the control knob assembly comprising: a manual valve for manually regulating a heating level of the first heating element or placing the first heating element in a griddle mode; and an encoder for selecting the first target temperature of first heating zone in the griddle mode (Col 7, line 57-65).
As to claim 12, Best discloses A method of operating a cooktop, the cooktop comprising a plurality of heating elements, a griddle removably positioned over the plurality of heating elements, the griddle defining a single flat and contiguous cooking surface (Col 5, Line 4-10) having first heating zone and a second heating zone, and a temperature sensing assembly operably coupled to the griddle for monitoring a first zone temperature of the first heating zone and a second zone temperature of the second heating zone, the method comprising: receiving a request to perform a griddle cooking operation, the request comprising a first target temperature and a second target temperature; obtaining the first zone temperature and the second zone temperature using the temperature sensing assembly; and operating the plurality of heating elements to drive the first zone temperature to the first target temperature and the second zone temperature to the second target temperature (As cited and rejected Claim 1 above: Fig 7, Col 7, Line 34-44; Col 9, Line 5-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5676043 to Best as applied to claim 1,12 above in view of US Publication 20210095854 to Trice
As to claim 2, Best does not expressly disclose a griddle detection system, wherein the controller is configured to determine that the griddle is present on the cooktop using the griddle detection system before implementing the griddle cooking operation which is disclosed by Trice : (Par 0045).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Best to include a griddle detection system, wherein the controller is configured to determine that the griddle is present on the cooktop using the griddle detection system before implementing the griddle cooking operation using the teachings of Trice so as to activate the correct griddle cooking schemes and avoid implementing the incorrect cooking condition risking fire or food damage.
Claims 4,8-9,14,18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5676043 to Best as applied to claim 1,12 above.
As to claim 4,14, Best discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for the first temperature sensor is positioned in a middle of the first heating zone as viewed from front and side directions and the second temperature sensor is positioned in a middle of the second heating zone as viewed from front and side directions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the sensors in the middle as viewed from front and side directions, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Further as the intention of the device is uniform heating of the griddle zone it would be reasonable to consider any location in the zone to determine the temperature including the middle as viewed from front and side directions.
As to claim 8,18, Best does not expressly disclose the first target temperature and the second target temperature are different by greater than 100 degrees Fahrenheit. Best does disclose how one heating element can be cooking hamburger while an adjacent could be holding raw meat (Col 6, Line 34-38). As such at the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the system would be capable of maintaining two different temperatures with a difference of over 100 degrees F such as searing steak and keeping a steak warm on an adjacent griddle.
As to claim 9,19, Best while does not expressly disclose the griddle cooking operation may operate to regulate the first target temperature and the second target temperature to a uniform temperature At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the user was cooking the same thing on two zones and would therefore set the temperature of the two zones to be the same for the same cooking item, then Best would regulate the first target temperature and the second target temperature to a uniform temperature to equally cook the equivalent food.
Claims 5-6,15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5676043 to Best as applied to claim 1,12 above in view of US Publication 20180010804 to Bach.
As to claim 5,15, Best discloses using a feedback look using temperature sensor to control the temperature of zones to a specific temperature respectively (Col 7, Line 34-44; Col 9, Line 5-53; closed loop, takes temperature reading and adjusts output to accommodate accordingly in a loop) but does not expressly disclose it uses a computerized closed-loop feedback control algorithm based on the first zone temperature and the second zone temperature, which is taught by Bach (Par 0042-0043).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Best to include wherein operating the plurality of heating elements to drive the first zone temperature to the first target temperature and the second zone temperature to the second target temperature comprises: implementing a computerized closed-loop feedback control algorithm based on the first zone temperature and the second zone temperature using the teachings of Bach so as to more accurately control the temperature of the zones minimizing temperature overshoot.
As to claim 6,16, Best discloses wherein the closed-loop feedback control algorithm comprises a proportional control algorithm, a proportional-integral control algorithm, or a proportional-integral-derivative control algorithm (Bach: Par 0042-0043).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the provisional patenting does not need to be addressed until allowability, the examiner will maintain the rejection until such time.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “Applicant respectfully submits that that griddle 20 does not define a cooking surface. Instead, Best teaches the use of plates 30 which define the separate cooking surface and cooking zones. Best, col. 5, lines 42-47. Moreover, griddle 20 is not flat as recited in the amended claims but instead has studs 33 protruding therefrom. See, e.g.,Best, FIG. 3. Notably, plates 30 would also not be considered equivalent to the claimed griddle, e.g., as Best teaches the use of airgaps or insulation strips 35 to thermally isolate each plate and each plate defines a single temperature zone. Best, col. 6, lines 47-49. Accordingly, neither griddle 20, plates 30, or the combination thereof disclose, teach, or suggest a griddle defining a single, flat, and contiguous cooking surface having first heating zone and a second heating zone.” the examiner is unconvinced. Griddle 20 is where the food is prepared and thus expressly constitutes the cooking surface. Griddle 20 is a single flat piece (Col 5, Line 4-10) meeting the new limitation. Studs 33 emanate below the griddle and do not impede the cooking surface, as such 20 is still a single flat piece. Plates 30 are not the griddle cooking surface, though they are part of the griddle assembly and facilitate the separate zones of cooking and are located below 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JESSE SAMUEL. BOGUE
Examiner
Art Unit 3748
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746