DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this 2. application because in the replacement sheet Figure 1 filed on 11/06/2025, item # 125" for "Conn" should be "120". Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkin et ak (pat# 5,198,756).
As to claim 1, Jenkin et al disclose a power calibration adapter as shown in figures 2-3 having at least at least one carrier substrate (16), at least one first landing pad (17), for releasably contacting a prober tip of the prober (10a); and a power meter interface (21,22) configured to couple to the at least one first landing pad and that is configured to couple the at least one first landing pad to a meter (M). It is noted that Jenkin et al do not mention that the meter (M) is a power measurement device and the power meter interface comprises a connector configured to couple to the power measurement device, wherein the power measurement device is external to the power calibration adapter. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the meter (M) is a power measurement device since it has to verify the conductivity of the probes (10a) by measuring the current flowing through the probes and the pads. Furthermore, it appears that the power meter interface (21,22) comprises a connector (wire “21”) coupled to the power measurement device (M) and the power measurement device (M) is not a part of the power calibration adapter m therefore it is external to the power calibration adapter.
As to claim 5, Jenkin et al also disclose at least one carrier substrate (16), wherein at least one first landing pad (17) is arranged on each one of the carrier substrates (16).
As to claim 6, Jenkin et al also disclose a housing base (12) as shown in figure 3, wherein the carrier substrate (16) is arranged at least in part on the housing base.
As to claim 7, Jenkin et al teach that the carrier substrate is fixed to the housing base but do not mention about fixing the carrier substrate (16) to the housing base (12) by at least one of gluing, soldering, screwing, and clamping. However, it would have been obvious and well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use glue, soldering, screwing or clamping for fixing the carrier substrate (16) to the housing base (12).
As to claim 8, in the device of Jenkin et al, it appears that the carrier substrate (16) is releasably arranged on the housing base (12). As to claim 9, in the device of Jenkins et al, power measurement unit (M) is formed on the carrier substrate (16). As to claim 10, in the device of Jenkins et al, a power measurement unit (M) that is coupled to the at least one first landing pad (17).
As to claim 9, in the device of Jenkins et al, power measurement unit (M) is formed on the carrier substrate (16).
As to claim 10, in the device of Jenkins et al, a power measurement unit (M) that is coupled to the at least one first landing pad (17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 14-15 are allowed. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not disclose Power calibration adapter for wafer probers, the power calibration adapter comprising: a carrier substrate; at least one first landing pad arranged on the carrier substrate, for releasably contacting a wafer prober tip of the wafer prober; a power meter interface configured to couple to the at least one first landing pad and that is arranged on the carrier substrate and that is configured to couple the at least one first landing pad to a power measurement device; and at least one second landing pad, for releasably contacting the wafer prober tip, and a calibration standard coupled to each one of the second landing pads as recited in claim 2. Claims 3-4 depend from allowed claim 2, they are also allowed accordingly.
The prior art does not disclose a Measurement application system, comprising: a power calibration adapter comprising: a carrier substrate; at least one first landing pad arranged on the carrier substrate, for releasably contacting a wafer prober tip of the wafer prober; and a power meter interface configured to couple to the at least one first landing pad and that is arranged on the carrier substrate and that is configured to couple the at least one first landing pad to a power measurement device; and a power measurement device coupled to at least one power meter interface of the power calibration adapter, and configured to determine a signal power of a signal that is applied to a wafer prober tip of a wafer prober while the wafer prober tip is contacting a respective first landing pad of the power calibration adapter as recited in claim 14. Claim 15 depends from allowed claim 14, it is also allowed accordingly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grebner et al (Pat# 6,897,646) disclose Method For Testing Wafers To Be Tested And Calibration Apparatus.
Flach et al (pat# 7,414,421) disclose Insertable Calibration Device.
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858