DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 21 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the temperature adjusting module, the first plasma active gas removing module and the second plasma active gas removing module must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “plasma generating unit” in claim 1, “fluid control module” in claim 1, “degassing unit” in claim 2, “coaxial dielectric barrier discharge module” in claim 3, “surface-oriented dielectric barrier discharge module” in claim 3, “flat-plate-type dielectric barrier discharge module” in claim 3, “corona discharge module” in claim 3, “first plasma active gas removing module” in claim 7, “second plasma active gas removing module” in claim 7, “catalyst component for removing the first plasma active gas” and “a heating component” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “fluid control module” in claim 1, “degassing unit” in claim 2, “surface-oriented dielectric barrier discharge module” in claim 3, “flat-plate-type dielectric barrier discharge module” in claim 3, “corona discharge module” in claim 3, “first plasma active gas removing module” in claim 7, “second plasma active gas removing module” in claim 7, “catalyst component for removing the first plasma active gas” and “a heating component” in claim 7 each invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specific structure of each of the above elements is not disclosed. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the plasma active gas" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected under §112(b) as being dependent upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Golkowski et al. (US 2023/0355818; hereinafter “Golkowski”).
In regard to claim 1, Golkowski discloses a plasma-activated gas disinfection device (system 900), comprising a plasma generating unit (ozone generator 925 which is a plasma free radical generator; see [0101]), a disinfection chamber (chamber 905), an air pump (circulation fan 910) and a fluid control module (mass airflow sensor 970), wherein the plasma generating unit, the disinfection chamber, the air pump and the fluid control module form a first loop (see Figure 9). See Figure 9 and [0156]-[0158]. In regard to the limitation regarding the plasma generating unit working in a first working mode during a first time period and in a second working mode during a second time period, Golkowski teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, the limitation does not further distinguish the patentability of the apparatus claim.
In regard to claim 3, Golkowski discloses wherein the plasma generator of the ozone generator 925 can be in the form of any kind of dielectric barrier discharge device which would necessarily include the recited coaxial, surface-oriented and flat-plate-type dielectric barrier discharge modules, or in the form of a electrical corona device which is equivalent to the recited corona discharge module. See [0101].
In regard to claim 4, it is noted that the limitation does not explicitly require the plasma generating unit to be in the form of a coaxial dielectric barrier module. Therefore, the ozone generator 925 of Golkowski being in the form of any of the other kinds of dielectric barrier discharge devices or electrical corona device anticipates the explicitly recited subject matter of claim 4.
In regard to claims 6 and 8, the limitations of the claims merely regard a manner of operating or function of the apparatus during an intended manner of operating the apparatus. Golkowski teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, the limitations do not further distinguish the patentability of the apparatus claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski in view of Hill et al. (US 2005/0084431; hereinafter “Hill”).
In regard to claim 2, Golkowski discloses a degassing unit (exhaust filter 915) and wherein gas can be switched from the first loop to the degassing unit by a switching device (valve 940). See Figure 9, [0156] and [0184].
Golkowski is silent to wherein the degassing unit is in a second loop.
Hill discloses a decontamination system wherein a catalytic destroyer 92 is located in a second loop (flow path A) which can be bypassed by a first loop (flow path B). Hill discloses that the use of two flow paths enables the concentration of sterilant species in the gas to be reduced to a desired level by repeated circulation through the catalytic destroyer. See Figure 1 and paragraphs [0019]-[0023] and [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the closed-system design of Hill having two loops with the system of Golkowski such that gas can be repeatedly cycled through the exhaust filter for the purpose of ensuring that the sterilant gases are removed from the gas prior to removing the object(s) being treated in the chamber or exhausting the gas. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski in view of Fraser et al. (US 3,851,436; hereinafter “Fraser”).
In regard to claim 5, Golkowski is silent in regard to a temperature adjusting module for the plasma generating unit as claimed.
Fraser discloses wherein it is desirable to use a water cooling module (water cooling jacket 10) to cool a gas plasma generator conduit 5. See col. 1, lines 48-54 and Figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the water cooling jacket of Fraser with the ozone generator of Golkowski for the purpose of removing residual heat from the plasma generator and without creating any new or unexpected results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski in view of Hill and Bergeron et al. (US 2007/0140932; hereinafter “Bergeron”).
In regard to claim 7, Golkowski discloses wherein the degassing unit (exhaust filter 915) comprises a HEPA filter and an activated carbon filter for removing ozone from the gas flow. Golkowski and Hill do not disclose the recited structure capable of removing both nitrogen oxides and ozone from the plasma gas flow.
Bergeron discloses a plasma reactor which includes a manganese dioxide catalyst for removing ozone and NOx which is created by the plasma reactor. See [0008]-[0009]. While Bergeron does not explicitly recite the recited structure of two plasma active gas removing modules, the recited removal catalyst of Bergeron is viewed to be functionally equivalent to the recited two modules as both ozone and nitrogen oxides can be removed by the catalyst.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted and/or combined the catalyst of Bergeron into the exhaust filter of the above combined apparatus of Golkowski and Hill for the purpose of enabling the apparatus to remove multiple active gas species from the gas flow prior to exhausting the gas and/or removing the treated objects from the decontamination chamber. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774