DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki et al. (JP 2005192915 hereinafter “Onuki”) in view of Kosaku (JP 2007130399) and Harui (US 4469106).
Regarding Claim 1, Onuki teaches (Figs 3) A clamping device comprising:
a positioning shank (1AC);
a clamping module (1AB) connected with an end of the positioning shank (1AC);
an ultrasonic searcher (10) clamped by the clamping module (1AB);
a fixture (1Be) mounted on the positioning shank (1AC);
a needle holder (1Ba) pivotally connected with the fixture (1Be); and
a needle hub (Na or Nb or Nc) mounted on and inserted into the needle holder (See Fig 4 showing example needles Na, Nb, Nc within the needle holder 1Ba) ; wherein:
the needle holder (1Ba) extends downward from the fixture (1Be);
the clamping module (1AB) includes a positioning frame (combination of 1ABa, 1ABb, 1ABc), multiple abutting pieces (1ABa, 1ABb) mounted in the positioning frame (combination of 1ABa, 1ABb, 1ABc), and push knob (1ABc) rotatably mounted on the positioning frame (combination of 1ABa, 1ABb, 1ABc) and pressing the abutting pieces (1ABa, 1ABb);
the abutting pieces (1ABa, 1ABb) are arranged in every direction in the positioning frame (See Fig 4 1AB is positioned in every direction around probe 10);
the abutting pieces (1ABa, 1ABb) are moved to press the ultrasonic searcher (10; see [0038] "The ultrasonic probe 10 is held between the holding member 1ABa and the holding door 1ABb, and the fixing member 1ABc is used to fix the holding door 1ABb to the holding member 1ABa");
Onuki does not specify the clamping module includes multiple push knobs, the push knobs are rotated to move the abutting pieces forward and backward; the abutting pieces at a left side, a right side, and an outside of the positioning frame are pushed by the push knobs to move forward and backward; and the abutting pieces are pushed inward by the push knobs so that the clamping module is used to mount ultrasonic searchers of different sizes.
Kosaku teaches (Fig 2) a clamping module (all elements of Fig 2) that includes abutting pieces (21a, 21b, 42) are arranged in every direction, push knobs (22, 43, 33) that are rotated to move the abutting pieces to tighten the clamping module around an ultrasonic probe (see [0017]); the abutting pieces at a left side (21a), a right side (21b), and an outside (42) of the positioning frame are pushed by the push knobs (22, 43, 33) to move forward and backward (See [0017] teaching how 22 is used to fix the pieces 21a, 21b; see [0018] and [0020] teaching how 33 and 43 assist with fixing the device securely); and the abutting pieces are pushed inward by the push knobs so that the clamping module is used to mount ultrasonic searchers of different sizes (this is considered a functional recitation; all structural limitations are met by Kosaku therefore, it is interpreted that Kosaku meets the functional recitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamping module of Onuki such that it includes multiple knobs, and the push knobs are rotated to move the abutting pieces forward and backward; the abutting pieces at a left side, a right side, and an outside of the positioning frame are pushed by the push knobs to move forward and backward; and the abutting pieces are pushed inward by the push knobs so that the clamping module is used to mount ultrasonic searchers of different sizes as taught by Kosaku. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to firmly fix and sandwich the ultrasonic probe into the clamping module (Kosaku [0017]).
The combination does not specify a clamping module pivotally connected with an end of the positioning shank.
Harui (US 4469106) teaches (Fig 4) a clamping module (12) pivotally connected (32 is a pivoting plate) with a positioning shank (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection between the clamping module and positioning shank of Onuki such that it is a pivotable connection as taught by Harui. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to help the user adjust and determine the appropriate angle for the needle to enter the patient (Harui Col 3 lines 6-13).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki (JP 2005192915) in view of Kosaku (JP 2007130399) and Harui (US 4469106) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Onik et al. (US 5494039 hereinafter “Onik”).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Onuki, Kosaku and Harui teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. The combination does not specify the clamping device wherein the positioning frame of the clamping module is provided with a ruler for measuring a size of the ultrasonic searcher.
Onik teaches (fig 10) a clamping device (8) with a frame (4) that includes a ruler (7). The examiner notes that the recitation "for measuring a size of the ultrasonic searcher" is considered functional language. As Onik teaches the structure of a ruler on a positioning frame of a clamping device, it is interpreted that Onik would meet the functional limitation of using the ruler to measure a size of an ultrasonic searcher.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positioning frame of Onuki such that it includes a ruler as taught by Onik. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the user an indication mark regarding the position of an ultrasound probe and needle that are used with the clamping device (Onik Col 5 lines 10-18).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki (JP 2005192915) in view of Kosaku (JP 2007130399) and Harui (US 4469106) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie (CN 114146264).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Onuki, Kosaku and Harui teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. The combination does not specify the clamping device wherein each of the abutting pieces in the positioning frame of the clamping module is provided with an antiskid layer pressing the ultrasonic searcher steadily to prevent the ultrasonic searcher from slipping.
Xie teaches (fig 1) a clamping device (10) with an anti-skid layer (104) pressing the ultrasonic searcher (Fig 7, 2000).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamping device of Onuki such that it each of the abutting pieces in the positioning frame of the clamping module is provided with an antiskid layer pressing the ultrasonic searcher steadily to prevent the ultrasonic searcher from slipping as taught by Xie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent damage to the ultrasonic probe by the clamping device (See Xie Pg. 11 fifth full paragraph).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 20050267373) teaches an insertion guide used with a medical imaging tool.
Huang (US 20070167817) teaches a needle guide that attaches to an ultrasound probe through clip structures.
Wang (US 20210259726) teaches a needle guide and needle guide system that completely surrounds an ultrasonic probe.
/NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783