DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 2/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-40 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-20 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellenc (US 20110185579 A1) in view of Suda (US 20170036359 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Pellenc teaches a garden tool, comprising:
a shaft (housing of 1) extending along a linear direction (see Figure 5);
a blade position sensing system (assembly of 13 and 14), the system comprising:
a magnet (13) integrated to a driveshaft (assembly of 8 and 10), the driveshaft operably coupled to the motor to selectively rotate the driveshaft (paragraph 0064, see Figure 5), wherein a stationary outer sleeve (portion of 1 without trigger, see Figure 5) includes a slot (slot for 14, see Figure 5) extending along the linear direction, the stationary outer sleeve surrounding the magnet at the slot (see Figure 5), the stationary outer sleeve surrounding the threaded portion of the driveshaft (thread with in 8 for threads on 9) such that rotation of the driveshaft causes linear translation of the magnet on a threaded portion of the driveshaft and along the slot at the stationary outer sleeve (See Figures 6-9); and
a proximity sensor (14) affixed to the stationary outer sleeve is one part with the second end of the shaft (see Figure 6-9) and positioned over the slot of the stationary outer sleeve in magnetic communication with the magnet integrated to the driveshaft over the threaded portion (paragraph 0067 and 0069), wherein a change in distance between the proximity sensor and the driveshaft changes an output voltage by the proximity sensor (paragraph 0067 and 0069, see Figures 6-9).
Pellenc fails to teach a stationary outer sleeve is coupled to the second end of the shaft, a power supply configured to provide power to operate a motor, the power supply positioned proximate to a first end of the shaft and configured to selectively transmit energy to a motor shaft to articulate a blade assembly positioned proximate to a second end of the shaft distal to the first end.
Regarding the limitation of “a stationary outer sleeve is coupled to the second end of the shaft”, since the Pellenc teaches the stationary outer sleeve is one part with the second end of the shaft (the housing 1, see Figure 6-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Pellenc to make a integral housing into two part, such that a stationary outer sleeve is coupled to the second end of the shaft. Since the courts have held that making separable parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. MPEP 2144.05 V. C.
Suda teaches a cutting tool including a power supply (120) configured to provide power to operate a motor, the power supply positioned proximate to a first end of the shaft and configured to selectively transmit energy to a motor shaft to articulate a blade assembly positioned proximate to a second end of the shaft distal to the first end (paragraph 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Pellenc to added a power supply, as taught by Suda, in order to power the cutting tool (paragraph 0049 of Suda).
Regarding claim 22, modified Pellenc further teaches a controller (6) configured to receive a signal corresponding to the output voltage from the proximity sensor, the controller configured to selectively discontinue transmission of energy from the power supply to the motor based on the signal corresponding to the output voltage (paragraphs 0012, 0060 and 0069-0070 of Pellenc and paragraph 0049 of Suda).
Regarding claim 23, modified Pellenc further teaches the proximity sensor is operably coupled to the controller and comprising an upper limit and a lower limit corresponding to linear limits of translation of the driveshaft (paragraph 0012 and 0069-0070 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 24, modified Pellenc further teaches the upper limit and the lower limit correspond to an open position and a closed position of the blade assembly (see Figures 6-9 Pellenc).
Regarding claim 25, modified Pellenc further teaches the proximity sensor comprises a Hall effect sensor (paragraph 0012 and 0069-0070 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 26, modified Pellenc further teaches the proximity sensor is mechanically decoupled from direct connection to the driveshaft (see Figures 6-9 Pellenc).
Regarding claim 27, modified Pellenc further teaches a threaded shaft (9) about which the driveshaft rotates, the threaded shaft and the driveshaft together comprising a threaded interface forming complimentary threads corresponding to one another (inside 8 and outside of 9, see Figure 7 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 28, modified Pellenc further teaches the threaded shaft comprises a threaded lead screw (left tip of 9), wherein rotation of the driveshaft along the linear direction moves the driveshaft parallel to the threaded lead screw (see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 29, modified Pellenc further teaches the driveshaft is coupled to a moveable blade of the blade assembly (see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 30, modified Pellenc further teaches the stationary outer sleeve radially surrounds the driveshaft at the threaded shaft, and wherein the magnet is positioned radially over the threaded shaft and radially within the proximity sensor and the stationary outer sleeve surrounding the threaded shaft (over thread shaft 9, see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 31, modified Pellenc further teaches the proximity sensor and the magnet comprise a limit system positioned in line with the driveshaft (shape of the housing, see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 32, modified Pellenc further teaches the limit system is positioned in line with a transmission system operably coupled to the driveshaft and the motor, wherein the stationary outer sleeve extends along the linear direction from the motor and the transmission system (paragraph 0008, see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 33, modified Pellenc further teaches the shaft extends along the linear direction between the power supply and a trigger positioned at the first end of the shaft and the blade assembly positioned at the second end of the shaft (see Figures 3-4 and 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 34, modified Pellenc further teaches the proximity sensor comprises a Hall effect sensor, and wherein the proximity sensor and the magnet are positioned along the linear direction between the first end of the shaft and the second end of the shaft (paragraph 0012 and 0069-0070 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 35, modified Pellenc further teaches the magnet is positioned on the threaded portion of the driveshaft and within the slot at the stationary outer sleeve (see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 36, modified Pellenc further teaches a transmission system operably coupled to the driveshaft and the motor, wherein the stationary outer sleeve extends along the linear direction from the motor and the transmission system (paragraph 0008, see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 37, modified Pellenc further teaches the driveshaft is coupled to a moveable blade of the blade assembly (see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc).
Regarding claim 38, modified Pellenc further teaches the proximity sensor is positioned radially adjacent to the threaded portion of the driveshaft and the slot of the stationary outer sleeve such that a radial gap is formed between the proximity sensor and the driveshaft at which the magnet is integrated (see Figures 6-9 of Pellenc)..
Regarding claim 39, modified Pellenc further teaches the garden tool comprises a lopper (as the tool of Pellenc can cut roots around the tree, therefore meeting the limitation of Lopper).
Regarding claim 40, modified Pellenc further teaches the garden tool comprises a pruner (as the tool of Pellenc can cut branches, therefore meeting the limitation of pruner).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Pellenc fails to teach a stationary outer sleeve is coupled to the second end of the shaft. The examiner agrees, however, since Pellenc teaches the stationary outer sleeve is one part with the second end of the shaft (the housing 1, see Figure 6-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Pellenc to make an integral housing into two part, such that a stationary outer sleeve is coupled to the second end of the shaft. Since the courts have held that making separable parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. MPEP 2144.05 V. C.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 8/20/2026