DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim of priority from JP2022-158387, filed September 30, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed on September 19, 2023 was reviewed and the listed references were noted.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: VEHICLE-INSTALLED IMAGE PROCESSING DEVICE AND IMAGE DISPLAY DEVICE.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “emphasis processing unit configured to generate”, “smoothing unit configured to generate”, “combination unit configured to generate”, “priority calculation unit configured to calculate”, “sharpening unit configured to generate”, “image acquisition unit configured to acquire” and “image processing unit configured to perform” in claims 1-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 9,336,574 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an image processing device, comprising:
an emphasis processing unit configured to generate an emphasized image yielded by performing an emphasis process on an image captured of surroundings of a vehicle (Zhang, Col. 5, lines 28-42 the term “sharpening filter” refers to a filter utilized to enhance sharpness in the identified region of interest of the image frame, and thus, reduces image blurring. The sharpening filter includes an unsharp masking (USM) filter. Fig. 3 illustrates an exemplary USM filter for sharpness enhancement of a captured raw image. Col. 3, lines 49-59, a raw image is captured by the camera device illustrating the FOV rearward of the vehicle);
a smoothing unit configured to generate a smoothed image yielded by performing a smoothing process on the image (Zhang, Col. 4 line 52 – Col. 5, line 27, One example of spatially-implemented super-resolution includes application of a de-noising filter. As used herein, the term “de-noising filter” refers to a filter to reduce noise within the identified region of interest. A non-limiting exemplary de-noising filter includes a bilateral filter that reduces noise within the identified region of interest through smoothing identified image planes while preserving identified edges within the identified region of interest); and
a combination unit configured to generate, for each of a plurality of regions into which the image is divided, a display image to be displayed in a display using any of the smoothed image, the emphasized image, and the image (Zhang, Col. 6, lines 42-65, The resulting image 309 is perceived as being sharpened by the sharpening filter. In one embodiment, the resulting image 309 can be displayed upon the rearview mirror display device 24 of FIG. 1. In another embodiment, the resulting image 309 in combination with one or more other resulting images of the same scene and having sharpening filters applied thereto, can be subjected to temporally-implemented super-resolution to the resulting images dependent upon a location within each of the resulting images).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the image processing device according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the emphasis process is a sharpening process of emphasizing edges of the image (Zhang, Col. 5, lines 28-65 the term “sharpening filter” refers to a filter utilized to enhance sharpness in the identified region of interest of the image frame, and thus, reduces image blurring. The sharpening filter includes an unsharp masking (USM) filter. The intensity threshold controls a minimum intensity change of pixels, e.g., brightness, associated with identified edges that will be sharpened).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches a display device, comprising:
an image acquisition unit configured to acquire an image captured of surroundings of a vehicle (Zhang, Col. 2, lines 33-47, the vision-based imaging system captures images surrounding the vehicle based on the location of one or more vision-based camera devices);
a display unit configured to display a display image based on the image (Zhang, Col. 2 line 48 – Col. 3 line 4, a non-transitory processing device that processes the image data to generate images that can be displayed on a rearview mirror display device); and
an image processing unit configured to perform image processing on the image to generate the display image (Zhang, Col. 2 line 48 – Col. 3 line 4, a non-transitory processing device (e.g., processor) that processes the image data to generate images that can be displayed on a rearview mirror display device),
wherein the image processing unit includes:
an emphasis processing unit configured to generate an emphasized image yielded by performing an emphasis process on the image (Zhang, Col. 5, lines 28-42 the term “sharpening filter” refers to a filter utilized to enhance sharpness in the identified region of interest of the image frame, and thus, reduces image blurring. The sharpening filter includes an unsharp masking (USM) filter. Fig. 3 illustrates an exemplary USM filter for sharpness enhancement of a captured raw image. Col. 3, lines 49-59, a raw image is captured by the camera device illustrating the FOV rearward of the vehicle);
a smoothing unit configured to generate a smoothed image yielded by performing a smoothing process on the image (Zhang, Col. 4 line 52 – Col. 5, line 27, One example of spatially-implemented super-resolution includes application of a de-noising filter. As used herein, the term “de-noising filter” refers to a filter to reduce noise within the identified region of interest. A non-limiting exemplary de-noising filter includes a bilateral filter that reduces noise within the identified region of interest through smoothing identified image planes while preserving identified edges within the identified region of interest); and
a combination unit configured to generate, for each of a plurality of regions into which the image is divided, the display image using any of the smoothed image, the emphasized image, and the image (Zhang, Col. 6, lines 42-65, The resulting image 309 is perceived as being sharpened by the sharpening filter. In one embodiment, the resulting image 309 can be displayed upon the rearview mirror display device 24 of FIG. 1. In another embodiment, the resulting image 309 in combination with one or more other resulting images of the same scene and having sharpening filters applied thereto, can be subjected to temporally-implemented super-resolution to the resulting images dependent upon a location within each of the resulting images).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 9,336,574 B2) in view of Austin et al. (US 2022/0121865 A1, filed October 20, 2020).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the image processing device according to claim 1, as described above.
Although Zhang teaches applying de-noising and sharpening to an image (Zhang, Col. 4 line 52 – Col. 5, line 42), Zhang does not explicitly teach “a priority calculation unit configured to calculate a degree of priority of the emphasis process or the smoothing process for each of the plurality of partitioned regions into which the image is divided” and “wherein the combination unit selects, for each of pixels of the plurality of partitioned regions, whether to use the smoothed image, the emphasized image, or the image based on the degree of priority, to generate the display image”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Austin teaches an aspect is to quickly sharpen image regions/lines in an image in anticipation of a person shifting their head to a new focus vision area. By softening image regions/lines outside of the focus vision area of a driver's vision, the cognitive resources freed up by blurring or softening image regions/lines of task-irrelevant images in the periphery can be reallocated to other brain regions necessary for supporting the driver, to use cognitive resources efficiently while driving a vehicle, especially when performing mission-critical tasks. An abrupt change from softer to sharper image regions/lines may help to draw attention in order to reduce time in focusing on a display image so that the driver can revert back to focusing on the task at hand. Conversely, a gradual, inconspicuous change from sharp to softer image regions/lines may minimize—or potentially eliminate—the drawing of attention to task-irrelevant information in the periphery so that the driver can continue focusing on the task at hand (Austin, Para. [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhang with the teachings of Austin by including determining softening or sharpening image regions based on the priority of a driver focusing their vision on that area of the display. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for minimizing or eliminating the drawing of a driver’s attention to task-irrelevant information, as recognized by Austin. Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches an image processing device, comprising:
a sharpening unit configured to generate a sharpened image yielded by sharpening edges of an image captured of surroundings of a vehicle (Zhang, Col. 5, lines 28-42 the term “sharpening filter” refers to a filter utilized to enhance sharpness in the identified region of interest of the image frame, and thus, reduces image blurring. The sharpening filter includes an unsharp masking (USM) filter. Fig. 3 illustrates an exemplary USM filter for sharpness enhancement of a captured raw image. Col. 3, lines 49-59, a raw image is captured by the camera device illustrating the FOV rearward of the vehicle).
Although Zhang teaches applying de-noising and sharpening to an image (Zhang, Col. 4 line 52 – Col. 5, line 42), Zhang does not explicitly teach “a priority calculation unit configured to calculate a degree of priority of the sharpening for each of a plurality of partitioned regions into which the image is divided” and “a combination unit configured to select, for each of pixels of the plurality of partitioned regions, whether to use the image or the sharpened image based on the degree of priority, to generate a display image to be displayed in a display”. However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Austin teaches an aspect is to quickly sharpen image regions/lines in an image in anticipation of a person shifting their head to a new focus vision area. By softening image regions/lines outside of the focus vision area of a driver's vision, the cognitive resources freed up by blurring or softening image regions/lines of task-irrelevant images in the periphery can be reallocated to other brain regions necessary for supporting the driver, to use cognitive resources efficiently while driving a vehicle, especially when performing mission-critical tasks. An abrupt change from softer to sharper image regions/lines may help to draw attention in order to reduce time in focusing on a display image so that the driver can revert back to focusing on the task at hand. Conversely, a gradual, inconspicuous change from sharp to softer image regions/lines may minimize—or potentially eliminate—the drawing of attention to task-irrelevant information in the periphery so that the driver can continue focusing on the task at hand (Austin, Para. [0035]).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Zhang and Austin references presented in the rejection of Claim 2, apply to Claim 6 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in Claim 6 is met by Zhang in view of Austin.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 9,336,574 B2) in view of Austin et al. (US 2022/0121865 A1, filed October 20, 2020), as applied to claims 2 and 6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0381578 A1, filed February 22, 2022).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Austin teaches the image processing device according to claim 2, as described above.
Although Zhang in view of Austin teaches performing softening and sharpening based on a driver’s attention to regions of a display (Austin, Para. [0035]), they do not explicitly teach “wherein the priority calculation unit acquires speed information indicating a speed of the vehicle, and calculates the degree of priority based on information of a degree of emphasis of the emphasis process set in advance for each of the plurality of partitioned regions, and the speed information”. However in an analogous field of endeavor, Kim teaches the controller may determine whether a moving speed is less than the reference speed based on the moving speed information, determine whether the distance from the current location (i.e., distance from body of vehicle) to the destination is less than or equal to a set distance based on the current location information and the location information of the destination when it is determined that the moving speed is less than the reference speed, recognized a subject image corresponding to the destination information and control the display device to display an emphasized object image indicating the destination on the image of the recognized subject (Kim, Para. [0164]). Kim teaches the vehicle may further include a speed detector for detecting a travelling speed (i.e., a moving speed of the vehicle) (Kim, Para. [0239]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhang in view of Austin with the teachings of Kim by including acquiring speed information indicating the speed of the vehicle and determines if it should display the emphasized object image (i.e., degree of priority) based on the speed and distance from the current location. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these references because doing so would allow for updating a vehicle display based on speed and location, as recognized by Kim. Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Austin further in view of Kim teaches the image processing device according to claim 3, and further teaches wherein the information of the degree of emphasis of the emphasis process is set in advance for each of the plurality of partitioned regions based on a distance from a body of the vehicle (Kim, Para. [0164], determine whether the distance from the current location (i.e., distance from body of vehicle) to the destination is less than or equal to a set distance based on the current location information and the location information of the destination when it is determined that the moving speed is less than the reference speed, recognized a subject image corresponding to the destination information and control the display device to display an emphasized object image indicating the destination on the image of the recognized subject).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Zhang, Austin and Kim references presented in the rejection of Claim 3, apply to Claim 4 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the device recited in Claim 4 is met by Zhang in view of Austin further in view of Kim.
Conclusion
/Emma Rose Goebel/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662